Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:39:42 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 [401] 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821073 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Ginsley
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 06:27:33 AM
 #8001

Hi,

i had the same problems on my Windows system too.
Running a ZTex 1.15x with CGMiner result in the following.



Where do all the HW Errors come from? Its no real problem, the hashrate is shown right on CGMiner and the Pool i am mining on. But its not nice to see these errors counting Wink

1HYeuyxKHGmFs1ARvAPGgmEW9pW6u8L26U
"You Asked For Change, We Gave You Coins" -- casascius
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107182
Reply with quote  #2

1481107182
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 06:30:48 AM
 #8002

Hey guys.  I turned the help text files into one HTML help file.

Let me know what you think!

http://test.the47.net/cgminer/readme.html
You'll need to find any '<' and '>' and replace them with &lt; and &gt;
in:
 API-README
 FPGA-README
 README
 linux-usb-cgminer
 windows-build.txt

Oh, also any '&' with &amp;
 in README and API-README

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 06:32:14 AM
 #8003

Ok, one of my cards has a fan on it that is dying, but it has given me a chance to observe a behavior in cgminer that, I believe, needs tweaking, when it comes to auto-fan and auto-gpu.

I notice repeatedly, that the temps of my card are fluctuating a lot, and this is why...

I'm using the following options (I was using hysteresis 4, changed it to 2 a few days ago thinking it might do better at holding the temp on card #2 set to 2 instead, didn't work out that way)

"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-engine" : "600-825,600-825",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memdiff" : "200,200",
"intensity" : "9,5",
"temp-hysteresis" : "2",
"temp-target" : "70,70",
"temp-overheat" : "80,80",
"temp-cutoff" : "90,90"

What ends up happening, is the #2 card, immediately sets up at 825 engine, 50 fan, upon startup.

Ok... would rather have it start out of the gate at default with 85 fan, but no big deal, it'll find its sweet spot in a few minutes, right? wrong...

There is some lag time between the heat being generated, and the sensor picking it up, so my temp is constantly fluctuating at least 5 degrees.

First, since the temp hasn't risen yet, cgminer starts stepping down the fan. Usually with bigger steps when the temp is below 68. At the same time, the clock is already at 825, and is building up heat. By the time the sensors pick it up, it is raising the fan speed quickly up to 85, at which point the temp is usually over 72-73, and then starts dropping the clock speed step by step to generate less heat.

So far so good. It will make its way, most of the time, all the way down to 600 before the temp starts to come down. The fan speed gets reduced along the way as expected... but when my temp finally drops below 68 degrees, instead of gradually bringing the clock speed back up 1 step at a time like I would expect, it slams it back up to full in one go, from 600-650 directly to 825 again.

Since the temp is still low, the fan speed continues to be reduced, until finally the heat being generated, reaches the sensor, which then starts ramping up the fan again, quickly, as the sensor's temp is rising fast, and the cycle continues, over and over and over again.

These temp fluctuations can't be good at all for the card. Granted, the fan on that card isn't operating as efficiently as it used to, but it is still running, it just doesn't spin as freely as it should. This just gave me a chance to see auto-fan and auto-gpu do its thing over a long period of time.

I have observed my card's temp fluctuate like this for days now, never finding a sweet-spot to settle into, which I would expect it should, since the card does cool down when the engine is at a certain point.

My suggestion would be a change in behavior to auto-fan and auto-gpu...

for auto-fan: allow the fan speed to rise as quickly as it needs to, but never lower it by more than a single step at a time.

for auto-gpu: allow the engine speed to fall as quickly as it needs to, but never raise it by more than a single step at a time.

It should never go directly to the maximum overclock speed, but get there gradually.

Making them adjust more slowly, in the direction that would raise the temp of the card, gives the sensors on the card more time to pick up the heat being built up, since heat isn't an instant indicator, there is some lag time for heat to propogate, but don't limit how fast the card can react when the temp needs to be cut down.

The rationale is, that while the sensor may think the card's chips are at 80-85 degrees that instant, those chips may actually be at 90-95, but that the heat just hasn't reached the sensor yet, giving the chips even more of a pronounced heat/cool cycle than they should.

-- Smoov
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 06:40:57 AM
 #8004

Hey guys.  I turned the help text files into one HTML help file.

Let me know what you think!

http://test.the47.net/cgminer/readme.html
You'll need to find any '<' and '>' and replace them with &lt; and &gt;
in:
 API-README
 FPGA-README
 README
 linux-usb-cgminer
 windows-build.txt

Oh, also any '&' with &amp;
 in README and API-README

I have done this for stuff in <p> tags, and other text I have surrounded with <pre> so it doesn't need escaping yet.

But I will continue to work on it.


EDIT: looks like the <pre></pre> tags still need its contents to be escaped.  Well, that's an easy fix.  [strike]Working on that right now.[/strike]  Fixed.

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 06:52:51 AM
 #8005

Hey guys.  I turned the help text files into one HTML help file.

Let me know what you think!

http://test.the47.net/cgminer/readme.html
You'll need to find any '<' and '>' and replace them with &lt; and &gt;
in:
 API-README
 FPGA-README
 README
 linux-usb-cgminer
 windows-build.txt

Oh, also any '&' with &amp;
 in README and API-README

I have done this for stuff in <p> tags, and other text I have surrounded with <pre> so it doesn't need escaping yet.

But I will continue to work on it.
Yeah I just checked the source now and noticed most of them had already been done.
Not sure if any others were missed, but there are some brackets in linux-usb-cgminer that were missed - in the first part '4)'

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


I got scammed Jan2014


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 07:02:18 AM
 #8006

Sometimes Windows (7 x64) thinks cgminer has crashed when I ask it to stop mining after xxxx shares. Perhaps it IS a crash, because it doesn't happen all the time.

here is the latest info:
Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
  Application Name: cgminer.exe
  Application Version: 0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp: 508e1955
  Fault Module Name: libusb-1.0.dll
  Fault Module Version: 1.0.12.10532
  Fault Module Timestamp: 503cda37
  Exception Code: c0000005
  Exception Offset: 0000196d
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Information 1: 0a9e
  Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Additional Information 3: 0a9e
  Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Cgminer 287 with two cards on my everyday PC. It mined 10001 of the 10000 requested, and it quits normally, but windows thinks it quit unexpectedly. Win pops up a dialog box asking if I want to quit cgminer.  Of course I want to quit... because I have it on a loop.


EDIT: Happened on my new build too... using version 285

Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
  Application Name: cgminer.exe
  Application Version: 0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp: 508663c0
  Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
  Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16559
  Fault Module Timestamp: 4ba9b29c
  Exception Code: c0000005
  Exception Offset: 000328bf
  OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Information 1: 0a9e
  Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Additional Information 3: 0a9e
  Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I had it mine 10K shares and loop. Has looped a few times, and then this happens.  Wish there was a way to tell windows "it's okay, let it quit/crash and don't worry about it" and my loop would restart it w/o babysitting it.

My Litecoin address: Lf9WKM61AhmXchG2Ph2cftHKSQhxHutcdk
My Bitcoin address: 1Hwem4GSQWPCtBTKcSpXg2jYwxF6PtTjZx
--> Have you tried Triplemining.com? <--
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 09:29:25 AM
 #8007

yes but it turns off the prompt for everything.
Change a single value at this point in registry.
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting
Item is called
DontShowUI
Change to 1
or enabled.
Restart.
Magic it doesn't dick around anymore.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 09:33:37 AM
 #8008

2.9.3 works fine for me in Win7 but when I get into the settings area, there's a 2 second lag. Weird. Older versions did not have this weird lag.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 11:54:10 AM
 #8009

2.9.3 works fine for me in Win7 but when I get into the settings area, there's a 2 second lag. Weird. Older versions did not have this weird lag.
Intentional due to other changes, it's clearing the screen and it doesn't update that frequently.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 11:55:16 AM
 #8010


Cgminer 287 with two cards on my everyday PC. It mined 10001 of the 10000 requested, and it quits normally, but windows thinks it quit unexpectedly. Win pops up a dialog box asking if I want to quit cgminer.  Of course I want to quit... because I have it on a loop.

I had it mine 10K shares and loop. Has looped a few times, and then this happens.  Wish there was a way to tell windows "it's okay, let it quit/crash and don't worry about it" and my loop would restart it w/o babysitting it.
Probably because cgminer returns a "failure" type return code if the number of shares it mined isn't exact.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 12:02:35 PM
 #8011

Ok, one of my cards has a fan on it that is dying, but it has given me a chance to observe a behavior in cgminer that, I believe, needs tweaking, when it comes to auto-fan and auto-gpu.

I notice repeatedly, that the temps of my card are fluctuating a lot, and this is why...

SNIP

Creating a PID type controller for every fan/gpu combination out there with different heat generation qualities, different cooling capacities, different fan speed change effects, different fan speed acceleration capabilities, etc. etc. etc....  is basically impossible. As per the the readme, the algorithm is an algorithm designed to work in most places well most of the time with most hardware, and will not get it right occasionally. Since GPUs mining are dead long term, I have zero interest in rewriting the algorithm or developing it further. It won't be long before GPU miners will be the poor relatives that give me nothing for further development when ASICs hit. Sad, since I really liked GPU mining, but that's the reality. Probably best to find some static fan speed workaround in your case.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 12:06:24 PM
 #8012

Thanks. That is quite different actually. I've uploaded another set of executables into that temporary directory which may get us even further. Can you try them please? There is no way on earth it will compile on VS.

This is more like what I was expecting.  The debug version is much much larger than the production one.  But the output looks about the same...

Code:
cgminerdebug.exe caused an Access Violation at location 0040cb33 in module cgminerdebug.exe Reading from location 00000000.

Registers:
eax=00000000 ebx=624836d0 ecx=74712e09 edx=07c51858 esi=00000000 edi=00770ea0
eip=0040cb33 esp=03fff3d0 ebp=00801480 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010202

Call stack:
0040CB33  cgminerdebug.exe:0040CB33
7713FAF6  ntdll.dll:7713FAF6  RtlAnsiCharToUnicodeChar
77140093  ntdll.dll:77140093  LdrGetDllHandleEx
7713FD2F  ntdll.dll:7713FD2F  LdrGetDllHandle
76641A35  KERNELBASE.dll:76641A35  GetModuleFileNameW
7666734E  KERNELBASE.dll:7666734E  IsNLSDefinedString
76641CFB  KERNELBASE.dll:76641CFB  GetModuleFileNameW
7666734E  KERNELBASE.dll:7666734E  IsNLSDefinedString
76641CFB  KERNELBASE.dll:76641CFB  GetModuleFileNameW
74AF3362  kernel32.dll:74AF3362  RegKrnInitialize

How about Watcom?  I can dust it off and see if I can get it to run there.
Whatever you can try or think of is most welcome. These latest builds totally disable creating threads for either getting or submitting work, serialising all work of that kind so the idea that it might be due to generating too many threads is basically not the issue here. RtlAnsiCharToUnicodeChar suggests perhaps it's some string function overflow, but that's not very definitive about which one or where...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
November 15, 2012, 12:16:47 PM
 #8013

Creating a PID type controller for every fan/gpu combination out there with different heat generation qualities, different cooling capacities, different fan speed change effects, different fan speed acceleration capabilities, etc. etc. etc....  is basically impossible.
What creating a different type of controller for every combination out there? I'm not even asking for that.

When the temp is below temp-target, don't slam the clock up to max, raise it one step at a time instead, and don't drop the fan fast, lower it one step at a time.

A couple if-statements, and that's it... why complicate it with pretending you'd have to make new algorithms for every card out there?

I know you think I'm stupid, but I'm not THAT stupid.

Believe it or not, this _is_ an issue that the auto-fan and auto-gpu aren't behaving as well as they should be, and all it is, is how fast it adjusts the fan and clock speed. There is NO reason why, just because the temp drops below temp-target minus hysteresis, that the clock speed has to be pushed back up to max, instead of being raised step by step the same as it does as if the temp is within the hysteresis.

-- Smoov

Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
November 15, 2012, 04:38:08 PM
 #8014

With Windows 8 there's a different result for some reason:

Code:
cgminer.exe caused an Access Violation at location 0040cb33 in module cgminer.exe Reading from location 00000000.

Registers:
eax=00000000 ebx=624836d0 ecx=77052ad2 edx=00879bb8 esi=00000000 edi=00852968
eip=0040cb33 esp=048ef3cc ebp=00876c60 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na po nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010206

Call stack:
0040CB33  cgminer.exe:0040CB33
004663A0  cgminer.exe:004663A0
0045917C  cgminer.exe:0045917C
Screenshot:


Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2012, 03:04:09 AM
 #8015

It's not a mistake. Previously cgminer did not check the backup pools were working. Now it does check them even if not mining on them.
I know that, but Mt. Red couldn't possibly be going down as often as cgminer is saying. Also, I'm pretty sure us1.ozco.in is currently running just fine.
It is advantageous if a pool goes down for cgminer to not try to switch to another one that hasn't been working. 1 failed getwork is enough to do it. It's the same mechanism it uses on startup to see if a pool is alive. Overkill? Dunno, I wasn't expecting pools to fail sending getworks so often.

What if cgminer just queued up the next pool in line, rather than all of them?
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2012, 03:05:43 AM
 #8016

Incidently, I'm now running a debug version (stock 2.9.3) on my router. Hopefully the core dump will tell us what's going on.
vedalken254
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111



View Profile WWW
November 16, 2012, 03:15:36 AM
 #8017

Yo guys... Just encountered this issue on 2.9.3 running on Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64:

[2012-11-15 21:09:43] List of devices:                   
 [2012-11-15 21:09:43]    0   Cypress                   
 [2012-11-15 21:09:43] Selected 0: Cypress                   
 [2012-11-15 21:09:43] Error -6: Creating Command Queue. (clCreateCommandQueue) <--- is the debug shits (cgminer -D -T --verbose)

Worked fine until today. Now it refuses to start. Should i try to re-install FGLRX?

You've read my forum signature. That's enough social interaction for one day.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2012, 03:19:55 AM
 #8018

Yo guys... Just encountered this issue on 2.9.3 running on Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64:

[2012-11-15 21:09:43] List of devices:                    
 [2012-11-15 21:09:43]    0   Cypress                    
 [2012-11-15 21:09:43] Selected 0: Cypress                    
 [2012-11-15 21:09:43] Error -6: Creating Command Queue. (clCreateCommandQueue) <--- is the debug shits (cgminer -D -T --verbose)

Worked fine until today. Now it refuses to start. Should i try to re-install FGLRX?

Code:
CL_OUT_OF_HOST_MEMORY                       -6
No idea why in your case, but that's what the error means.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2012, 03:21:59 AM
 #8019

It's not a mistake. Previously cgminer did not check the backup pools were working. Now it does check them even if not mining on them.
I know that, but Mt. Red couldn't possibly be going down as often as cgminer is saying. Also, I'm pretty sure us1.ozco.in is currently running just fine.
It is advantageous if a pool goes down for cgminer to not try to switch to another one that hasn't been working. 1 failed getwork is enough to do it. It's the same mechanism it uses on startup to see if a pool is alive. Overkill? Dunno, I wasn't expecting pools to fail sending getworks so often.

What if cgminer just cued up the next pool in line, rather than all of them?
Doesn't really cut if for spilling of work to all the backup pools and other failover strategies. If the shit going on at the moment ever calms down I'll look to just do it silently and not call the backup pools dead visibly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2012, 03:27:47 AM
 #8020

Creating a PID type controller for every fan/gpu combination out there with different heat generation qualities, different cooling capacities, different fan speed change effects, different fan speed acceleration capabilities, etc. etc. etc....  is basically impossible.
What creating a different type of controller for every combination out there? I'm not even asking for that.

When the temp is below temp-target, don't slam the clock up to max, raise it one step at a time instead, and don't drop the fan fast, lower it one step at a time.

A couple if-statements, and that's it... why complicate it with pretending you'd have to make new algorithms for every card out there?

I know you think I'm stupid, but I'm not THAT stupid.

Believe it or not, this _is_ an issue that the auto-fan and auto-gpu aren't behaving as well as they should be, and all it is, is how fast it adjusts the fan and clock speed. There is NO reason why, just because the temp drops below temp-target minus hysteresis, that the clock speed has to be pushed back up to max, instead of being raised step by step the same as it does as if the temp is within the hysteresis.
The clock raising to the max was put in there to workaround a problem with the driver where it drops to low power during any relatively idle period and even if you try to set it to high speed it ignores you, and the return values from the driver reporting back its current speed get stuck at low speed confusing the feedback mechanism.

I'll think about a possible workaround, when time permits me to code once more.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 [401] 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!