Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 06:17:32 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 [406] 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756859 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 12:57:28 AM
 #8101

the dos prompt wont disappear...

And for those of you young enough not to remember that abomination they now call it a cmd window.
Heh, sorry, it's been 13 years since I used windows in any capacity...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1531851452
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531851452

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531851452
Reply with quote  #2

1531851452
Report to moderator
1531851452
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531851452

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531851452
Reply with quote  #2

1531851452
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jborkl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249
Merit: 250


Team Heritage Motorsports


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 01:01:06 AM
 #8102

Is it possible to implement/integrate stratum direct for solo mining. Or write/rewrite the proxy to launch with cgminer?

I know how to borrow stratum or longpoll, but I do not prefer to.

Windows

Wondering if it is possible. Thank you


SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 22, 2012, 01:05:01 AM
 #8103

the dos prompt wont disappear...

And for those of you young enough not to remember that abomination they now call it a cmd window.
Heh, sorry, it's been 13 years since I used windows in any capacity...

No problem it has been almost exactly the same here (whenever RH 5.2 came out 98-99??) since I went linux but you have definitely taken those linux skills to a level I have not got too yet..
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 03:44:48 AM
 #8104

Is there any way to keep the cgminer window open long enough for me to read it? It's strange, as the very first time I set cgminer up it worked a treat, but after a reboot it's never been the same. I'm quite new to this game, and very new to cgminer, so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Start cgminer from a dos prompt instead of a bat file or clicking on it and the dos prompt wont disappear... Also add -T and it will just scroll the text output instead of formatting it.

Thanks for the reply ckolivas,

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 03:58:26 AM
 #8105

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

Run:  cmd

A black window with a prompt will pop up and not go away.  At that prompt, run cgminer. 

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 04:27:32 AM
 #8106

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

Run:  cmd

A black window with a prompt will pop up and not go away.  At that prompt, run cgminer. 

Hi Twmz,

Yes, that's exactly what I'm doing......as administrator too.....UAC is off etc. The black window will not go away UNTIL I run cgminer - then phoom! Gone.

This ain't normal......lol

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 04:33:37 AM
 #8107

Is there any way to keep the cgminer window open long enough for me to read it? It's strange, as the very first time I set cgminer up it worked a treat, but after a reboot it's never been the same. I'm quite new to this game, and very new to cgminer, so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Start cgminer from a dos prompt instead of a bat file or clicking on it and the dos prompt wont disappear... Also add -T and it will just scroll the text output instead of formatting it.

Thanks for the reply ckolivas,

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

I  had this happen in the past when my AV software removed some cgminer files. It happened while cgminer was running. After that I setup the AV software to ignore the entire directory and re-downloaded cgminer and extracted into that directory. Funny thing is cgminer ran for weeks prior to that, so the definitions must have gotten updated and a scan got me. False positive of course...

Edit: Look for missing files in your cgminer folder (check against the archived file contents).

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 04:39:23 AM
 #8108

Is there any way to keep the cgminer window open long enough for me to read it? It's strange, as the very first time I set cgminer up it worked a treat, but after a reboot it's never been the same. I'm quite new to this game, and very new to cgminer, so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Start cgminer from a dos prompt instead of a bat file or clicking on it and the dos prompt wont disappear... Also add -T and it will just scroll the text output instead of formatting it.

Thanks for the reply ckolivas,

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

I  had this happen in the past when my AV software removed some cgminer files. It happened while cgminer was running. After that I setup the AV software to ignore the entire directory and re-downloaded cgminer and extracted into that directory. Funny thing is cgminer ran for weeks prior to that, so the definitions must have gotten updated and a scan got me. False positive of course...

Yeah, I thought that, but I've already set my AV to ignore all my mining bits & bobs as I'd heard they can cause some problems. So far I've reinstalled my AMD stuff after completely wiping it all with driver sweeper, reinstalled cgminer, reconfigured my conf file - but still the disappearing cmd window continues......

I'm flumoxed man.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 04:49:48 AM
 #8109

Is there any way to keep the cgminer window open long enough for me to read it? It's strange, as the very first time I set cgminer up it worked a treat, but after a reboot it's never been the same. I'm quite new to this game, and very new to cgminer, so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Start cgminer from a dos prompt instead of a bat file or clicking on it and the dos prompt wont disappear... Also add -T and it will just scroll the text output instead of formatting it.

Thanks for the reply ckolivas,

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

I  had this happen in the past when my AV software removed some cgminer files. It happened while cgminer was running. After that I setup the AV software to ignore the entire directory and re-downloaded cgminer and extracted into that directory. Funny thing is cgminer ran for weeks prior to that, so the definitions must have gotten updated and a scan got me. False positive of course...

Yeah, I thought that, but I've already set my AV to ignore all my mining bits & bobs as I'd heard they can cause some problems. So far I've reinstalled my AMD stuff after completely wiping it all with driver sweeper, reinstalled cgminer, reconfigured my conf file - but still the disappearing cmd window continues......

I'm flumoxed man.

Still might be worth it to check your cgminer folder against the cgminer archive file you downloaded.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 05:08:27 AM
 #8110

Is there any way to keep the cgminer window open long enough for me to read it? It's strange, as the very first time I set cgminer up it worked a treat, but after a reboot it's never been the same. I'm quite new to this game, and very new to cgminer, so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Start cgminer from a dos prompt instead of a bat file or clicking on it and the dos prompt wont disappear... Also add -T and it will just scroll the text output instead of formatting it.

Thanks for the reply ckolivas,

Yup, tried that too - still disappears too quickly to read it....even with the -T flag.  Been a few years since I used DOS, but I'm sure this is right:

START Users\<User>\Desktop\Mining\cgminer-2.9.4-win32\cgminer.exe

The miner starts, then I get a very fast error message and it closes......

I'm doing something stupidly wrong here......... Huh

I  had this happen in the past when my AV software removed some cgminer files. It happened while cgminer was running. After that I setup the AV software to ignore the entire directory and re-downloaded cgminer and extracted into that directory. Funny thing is cgminer ran for weeks prior to that, so the definitions must have gotten updated and a scan got me. False positive of course...

Yeah, I thought that, but I've already set my AV to ignore all my mining bits & bobs as I'd heard they can cause some problems. So far I've reinstalled my AMD stuff after completely wiping it all with driver sweeper, reinstalled cgminer, reconfigured my conf file - but still the disappearing cmd window continues......

I'm flumoxed man.

Still might be worth it to check your cgminer folder against the cgminer archive file you downloaded.

Yup, checked and double checked. Erased and replaced - still the same. Just ran sfc too - no problems......

Might try going back to the latest AMD drivers again, but I had the same problem with those too.....

Weird.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 05:21:45 AM
 #8111

pat. try reaper to see if it will run. you might have opencl issue. reinstall driver if neither program detects your cards. happenee to me randomly before. reaper would only show cpu and cgminer would suddenly quit on start

              ▄▄▄█████████████▄▄▄
           ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▄
        ▄██████▀▀             ▀▀██████▄
      ▄█████▀▀                    ▀▀█████▄
     █████▀                          ▀█████
    ████▀          ▄▄███████▄▄         ▀████
   ████▌        ▄██▀▀▀    ▀▀▀██▄        ▐████
  ████▌       ▄██▀            ▀██▄       ▐████
 ▐████       ██▀   ▄▄█▀▀▀█▄▄    ▀██       ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▀  ▄▄   ▀▀             ▐████
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
▐████       ██  ▐█  ▐█                     ████▌
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▄  ▀▀   ▄▄    ██▀      ▐████
 ▐████       ██▄   ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀    ██▌       ████▌
  █████       ▀██▄            ▄██▀       █████
   █████        ▀██▄▄▄    ▄▄▄██▀        █████
    █████          ▀▀███████▀▀         █████
     █████▄                          ▄█████
      ▀█████▄▄                    ▄▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄             ▄▄██████▀
           ▀████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀
              ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀▀
Global Cryptocurrency
          ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

  DECENTRALISING PRODUCTION, LOGISTICS AND PAYMENT 
                ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   3D SERVICE      32 BAY     GCC WEBWALLET
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 05:31:05 AM
 #8112

pat. try reaper to see if it will run. you might have opencl issue. reinstall driver if neither program detects your cards. happenee to me randomly before. reaper would only show cpu and cgminer would suddenly quit on start

While having issues with cgminer, guiminer ran fine - apart from the miserable 20%+ stale/DOA rate, that's why I wanted to try cgminer out, and it worked great the first time I ran it with half the DOA/Stale rate. But only once, not worked properly since then. I'm wiping & reinstalling the latest AMD drivers now.....fingers crossed.

Also, the first time I ran it it detected all my cards and I could change all settings on the fly, after a reboot that just a show & go cmd window.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 06:06:52 AM
 #8113

OK, this is new.

Done the driver thing, still the same. The only way I could get the miner window to stay open was by not inputting any pool server in the config file so that it asked me, then I can read the message:.......if only I knew how to upload a capture I'd show you........damn these newfangled computerthingys.

It says:

ADL found less devices than opencl
There are possibly more than one display attached to a GPU  (there isn't)
Use the gnu map feature to reliably match ADL to open cl
WARNING: Number of open cl and ADL devices do not match!


Why this all of a sudden? And what does it mean? Where and who am I?

Confused. Mightily.

Help?

EDIT: Time for sleep - it's 6am here - been up all night with this.........answers gratefully accepted for breakfast in a few hours.....lol manana peeps  Cry

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 08:52:30 AM
 #8114

- Run cmd
- navigate to cgminer directory
- run "cgminer.exe -n"
It shows you opencl devices it see.
- backup/delete cgminer.conf
- run "cgminer.exe"
- input pool address/user/pass
- after it start working press keys: S W <enter> to save config
If it crash somewhere at this point copy output form cmd window and post it.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 12:37:41 PM
 #8115

I've always run with 1 main pool and 1 backup.  Today I tried with 3 total (1 main and 2 backup).

I understand that there might be some work leakage if the main pool is slow but I don't understand how cgminer picks which backup pool to leak to.
What I'm seeing is the main pool is priority 0 but the leakage is going to the priority 2 pool instead of the priority 1 pool.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 12:42:44 PM
 #8116

I've always run with 1 main pool and 1 backup.  Today I tried with 3 total (1 main and 2 backup).

I understand that there might be some work leakage if the main pool is slow but I don't understand how cgminer picks which backup pool to leak to.
What I'm seeing is the main pool is priority 0 but the leakage is going to the priority 2 pool instead of the priority 1 pool.
It rotates through them one by one. However recently it sends one work request each minute to see if pools are still up, and that's due to trying find a way to keep gbt pools meaningfully current in case we switch to one, and those work items are sneaking through increasing the amount going to backup pools. Try to find yourself a good stratum pool and then you will never leak work to the backup pools.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 12:47:44 PM
 #8117

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 12:51:42 PM
 #8118

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?
Most pools are in the process of implementing it. Of the other ones that already have it, ozcoin is my favourite, but emc also does it (though with too unstable a variable difficulty IMO).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 01:47:50 PM
 #8119

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?
Most pools are in the process of implementing it. Of the other ones that already have it, ozcoin is my favourite, but emc also does it (though with too unstable a variable difficulty IMO).
Good to know Cheesy
Thanks ckolivas  Cool

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2012, 02:01:37 PM
 #8120

The semi-official Bitcoin Pool Comparison Chart only shows 2 stratum pools, BTCGuild and Slush's.  Are there others?
Most pools are in the process of implementing it. Of the other ones that already have it, ozcoin is my favourite, but emc also does it (though with too unstable a variable difficulty IMO).
Good to know Cheesy
Thanks ckolivas  Cool
* ckolivas rattles the donation jar and whistles innocently

j/k

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 [406] 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!