Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2019, 03:01:36 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 [416] 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5782745 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 3 users deleted.)
tealover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 01:48:19 AM
 #8301

Ok I'm using cgminer.exe now

Using (4) 5830 overclocked to 945 mhz, and temps are at 60c

I'll see how it goes
1556031696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556031696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556031696
Reply with quote  #2

1556031696
Report to moderator
1556031696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556031696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556031696
Reply with quote  #2

1556031696
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1556031696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556031696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556031696
Reply with quote  #2

1556031696
Report to moderator
1556031696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556031696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556031696
Reply with quote  #2

1556031696
Report to moderator
tealover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 02:01:49 AM
 #8302

GPU1: Invalid nonce HW error this is coming up infrequently.

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1

GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1022



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 02:05:06 AM
 #8303

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1
GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.

Looks like hw issue with that GPU. I wouldn't be surprised if phoenix reported incorrect hashrate for that GPU...

tealover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 02:09:43 AM
 #8304

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1
GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.

Looks like hw issue with that GPU. I wouldn't be surprised if phoenix reported incorrect hashrate for that GPU...

That GPU is only getting about half the shares as my other 3 GPUs now Sad
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 03:03:40 AM
 #8305

GPU1: Invalid nonce HW error this is coming up infrequently.

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1

GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.

I would lower the clock on that GPU till you don't get any hardware error's.  It has probably taken some stress and can't run that high anymore.  My 5830 used to do 975 till stratum support then I had to lower it to 960.

But I don't recall ever seeing an "invalid nonce" error??
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
tealover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 03:11:40 AM
 #8306

GPU1: Invalid nonce HW error this is coming up infrequently.

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1

GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.

I would lower the clock on that GPU till you don't get any hardware error's.  It has probably taken some stress and can't run that high anymore.  My 5830 used to do 975 till stratum support then I had to lower it to 960.

But I don't recall ever seeing an "invalid nonce" error??
Sam

Lowered overclock to default and still getting 1/2 HW Errors on that 1 GPU Sad Temps on it are good though, around 60c
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 03:20:24 AM
 #8307

GPU1: Invalid nonce HW error this is coming up infrequently.

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1

GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.

I would lower the clock on that GPU till you don't get any hardware error's.  It has probably taken some stress and can't run that high anymore.  My 5830 used to do 975 till stratum support then I had to lower it to 960.

But I don't recall ever seeing an "invalid nonce" error??
Sam

Lowered overclock to default and still getting 1/2 HW Errors on that 1 GPU Sad Temps on it are good though, around 60c

The default being 800Mhz right?  What's your memory clock set to?

I would say that GPU may have taken some damage/stress.  If you've been running it for a year and a half that's probably a pretty good run though.

I'd run it at stock clock till it died.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
tealover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 03:39:26 AM
 #8308

GPU1: Invalid nonce HW error this is coming up infrequently.

Up above it says HW:12 next to GPU1

GPU1 is still getting me shares, but less than my other GPUs.

I would lower the clock on that GPU till you don't get any hardware error's.  It has probably taken some stress and can't run that high anymore.  My 5830 used to do 975 till stratum support then I had to lower it to 960.

But I don't recall ever seeing an "invalid nonce" error??
Sam

Lowered overclock to default and still getting 1/2 HW Errors on that 1 GPU Sad Temps on it are good though, around 60c

The default being 800Mhz right?  What's your memory clock set to?

I would say that GPU may have taken some damage/stress.  If you've been running it for a year and a half that's probably a pretty good run though.

I'd run it at stock clock till it died.
Sam

Yes 800 mhz and memory at 500
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 04:23:48 AM
 #8309

Interesting. The only thing I can think of that could cause this is trying to submit a share even before gbt is fully set up, or the gbt structures sent by the pool are corrupt somehow. Does this happen shortly after startup? Is the GBT pool somewhere I can test it publicly or is this your custom pool? Thanks.
This does happen shortly after startup, and I am only running one 5830, so trying to submit a share that quickly seems unlikely.  I only ran it once, though, so not impossible by any means.  The pool is the one previously run by he who shall not be named.  (aka eligius)

ETA, I was running in screen, so I don't know if this is the same error I was getting before.  I can tell you that on 2.9.4 it first ran quite a while before crashing, and then crashed on startup when I ran it again, at which point I went back to 2.8.7 (and then when 2.9.5 came out, I got the segfault instead of the error I was getting in 2.9.4 [which I quoted someone else mentioning a few pages back]).  That said, 2.9.5 crashed on startup more than once, and this is why I didn't go for a second test run when 2.9.6 crashed at startup.
Well the crash is happening in the share submission path, so it must be trying to submit a share. That said, I found something else that might be a problem. Try current git master please.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 04:53:29 AM
 #8310


I'm wondering if there is a way get get cgminer to use GBT with bitcoind (satoshi client), I know bitcoind doesn't support longpoll but it does support coinbase/append which should be enough to use GBT (i'm guessing) but it seems I can only get it to use getwork with bitcoind.

Any ideas? or is this just not possible at this point.
Nope, bitcoind does not support the extensions required by pool mining for cgminer to work with it at this time.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337
Merit: 250


dafq is goin on


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 07:06:22 PM
 #8311

Hey,

I am trying to cross compile the newest cgminer for a tp-link 1043nd and I am failing. Anyone did that already and has a binary? Maybe it is not worth it, when asics come out, cpu of the router might be too slow?

the latest mistake compiling it is:
Quote
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/rampone/cgminerarm/cgminer'
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
In file included from /usr/include/curl/curl.h:35:0,
                 from cgminer.c:39:
/usr/include/curl/curlrules.h:142:3: error: size of array '__curl_rule_01__' is negative
/usr/include/curl/curlrules.h:152:3: error: size of array '__curl_rule_02__' is negative
In file included from miner.h:9:0,
                 from cgminer.c:44:
/usr/include/pthread.h:665:6: warning: '__regparm__' attribute directive ignored [-Wattributes]
/usr/include/pthread.h:677:3: warning: '__regparm__' attribute directive ignored [-Wattributes]
/usr/include/pthread.h:700:6: warning: '__regparm__' attribute directive ignored [-Wattributes]
/usr/include/pthread.h:713:3: warning: '__regparm__' attribute directive ignored [-Wattributes]
/usr/include/pthread.h:722:6: warning: '__regparm__' attribute directive ignored [-Wattributes]
cgminer.c:2207:13: warning: 'disable_pool' defined but not used [-Wunused-function]
make[2]: *** [cgminer-cgminer.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/rampone/cgminerarm/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/rampone/cgminerarm/cgminer'


mmmh... its not that important... but hashing with it would be cool

(someone made a version for dd-wrt, but that is mips little endian, tp-link's mips is Big Endian)

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 07:13:03 PM
 #8312

I think there's still something awry with gracefully handling disconnects.  It isn't unique to stratum, as I've seen it on LPs as well.

Right now have three units running... one with 1 GPU, one with 2 GPUs, and one with 3 GPUs.  At the time all were pointed to stratum pools with bitcoind (LP) as a backup.

My internet connection dropped for a short bit.  The 1GPU machine recovered properly.  The 2GPU crashed, the 3GPU hung.

I've seen this before, where those with multiple GPUs crash or hang when the 1GPU continues working.  The 1 and 3 GPU machines are window 7 x64, the 2 GPU is windows 8 x64.

Using 2.9.6.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 08:08:58 PM
 #8313

The sudden interruption of work when a GPU is running flat out overclocked to the max is a great way of exposing instability, and has been there for as long as I can remember and is nothing to do with how cgminer handles failover, yet has to do with how tightly overclocked the GPUs are. It goes away if you lower the clocks.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:11:14 PM
 #8314

Still seeing backup pools that use stratum+tcp URLs detected as down by cgminer (2.9.6)

e.g. neither of these seem to work right as backup pools :

stratum+tcp://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
stratum+tcp://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

However specifying them as http (even though they're not) seems to work:

http://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
http://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

(Note I only see this problem for backup pools - specifying stratum+tcp for my first pool seems to work fine)

roy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 09:24:24 PM
 #8315

Still seeing backup pools that use stratum+tcp URLs detected as down by cgminer (2.9.6)

e.g. neither of these seem to work right as backup pools :

stratum+tcp://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
stratum+tcp://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

However specifying them as http (even though they're not) seems to work:

http://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
http://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

(Note I only see this problem for backup pools - specifying stratum+tcp for my first pool seems to work fine)

roy
Yeah, not ideal, is it? Just get rid of *any* prefix and let cgminer figure it out. eg eustratum.ozco.in:3333

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:28:29 PM
 #8316

Yeah, not ideal, is it? Just get rid of *any* prefix and let cgminer figure it out. eg eustratum.ozco.in:3333

Hmm, I thought I tried that - lemme give it another go....
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:32:22 PM
 #8317

Yeah, not ideal, is it? Just get rid of *any* prefix and let cgminer figure it out. eg eustratum.ozco.in:3333

Hmm, I thought I tried that - lemme give it another go....

Yep, seems to work - don't know what I did wrong when I tried that in the past...

Thanks

roy
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:45:53 PM
 #8318

Ah, OK, so you can enter it without any scheme prefix (http: or stratum+tcp:) in either cgminer.conf or in pool management.

But, either way pool management just displays it as http: (regardless of what it actually is).  And when you resave your config file the URLs just get saved to cgminer.conf as http URLs (even if you entered them without the http and even if they're really stratum).

It is a bit confusing, but it doesn't cause any real problems.  It seems that in cgminer http: seems to actually mean autodetect... (ETA: and stratum+tcp: seems to be broken and best avoided)

roy
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337
Merit: 250


dafq is goin on


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:59:51 PM
 #8319

Oh darn, seems like building on a 64 bit ubuntu with 64bit curl makes problem, when it tries to include it. mmmh. well, i guess ill try a 32bit ubuntu to cross compile cgminer... I'll report...

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 10:08:02 PM
 #8320

Oh darn, seems like building on a 64 bit ubuntu with 64bit curl makes problem, when it tries to include it. mmmh. well, i guess ill try a 32bit ubuntu to cross compile cgminer... I'll report...
No, that makes no sense as full 64bit ubuntu is the main development platform for it and where the binaries come from.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 [416] 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!