Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:18:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 [420] 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823870 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
December 06, 2012, 04:04:59 AM
 #8381

Longstanding bug on windows for when network goes down; it's my secret way to get people to move to linux.

Obviously not the case, but anyway I've not been able to reproduce it myself so must be some combination of windows or other issue. You could always try helping debug it following instructions in here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

I suspect it's just the libcurl implementation on windows... which would be bad news since it won't be something I can personally fix.
One might note that I fixed this in BFGMiner a while ago, thanks to much debugging help from jddebug. It's not the most elegant fix, but it does do the job.

1481242734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242734
Reply with quote  #2

1481242734
Report to moderator
1481242734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242734
Reply with quote  #2

1481242734
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481242734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242734
Reply with quote  #2

1481242734
Report to moderator
1481242734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242734
Reply with quote  #2

1481242734
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 10:36:21 AM
 #8382

There will shortly be some massive changes to the git master tree - no unfortunately it still isn't any ASIC driver, but it will be stuff to prepare for it. In anticipation, I have created a 2.9 branch for those who want just fixes to the stable tree in the meantime. Some fixes to existing issues have already been committed to the 2.9 branch, but lots of potential breakage will be making its way into the master tree.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
December 06, 2012, 12:13:18 PM
 #8383

Found an issue, Unsure on the cause but it could just be windows.

Win7 64 bit, CGMiner 2.9.6, BFL single.

Pool: Eclipse.

Eclipse seemed to have failed. US2, US3, on stratum marked dead as well as US3 GBT. US1 marked alive but no hashes submitted in 30 mins. Disabling US1 knocked me back to my backup pool and Bitpenny is working as shares are being submitted.

Debug showed all stratum pools marked dead as initiate failed, but US1 didn't seem to be doing anything. No rolling work messages, just test messages about the failed pools and a dropping hashrate when I re-enabled to double check the messages. Actually it shows a can't initiate for pool 1 (us1.eclipsemc.com:3333) so it should be dropping back to my backup pool and marking US1 dead too right?

Oh when I first came back and saw the issue I had 2 New block detected I can't remember if it was a LP, Stratum, or on network before the pool. Sadly I wish I hadn't tried to correct the lost money first and had typed what I noticed.

EDIT: It looks like there was an underlying issue with my internet connection. After eclipse died on me bitpenny worked for a while. Router log showed some errors. LRP router so the information was some better then consumer units. Once corrected well once a new IP was procured everything is running smooth. Strangely despite a duplicate IP message (unsure if someone was assigned mine or there was a spoof going on) some data still went out. I don't think it should have.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
December 06, 2012, 07:36:11 PM
 #8384

Receiving unusual error when trying to connect to BitMinter:

Code:
JSON stratum auth failed: <unknown reason>

cgminer works fine at all the other pools I use it at though. Any ideas?
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 08:26:19 PM
 #8385

Seems to be a strange problem with CGMiner and EMC as far as Stratum goes:

If I start cgminer with stratum pointed at one of my servers, it works fine and mines via stratum.  However, if I have one of the servers as backup and it's listed as stratum, it shows as dead and won't switch to it. 

Put another way, if I start with stratum on one of my servers, no problem.  If I try to add/switch to stratum on one of my servers, CGMiner won't work. 

Any ideas?  This is for version 2.9.6, I haven't tried previous versions.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 08:43:53 PM
 #8386

Seems to be a strange problem with CGMiner and EMC as far as Stratum goes:

If I start cgminer with stratum pointed at one of my servers, it works fine and mines via stratum.  However, if I have one of the servers as backup and it's listed as stratum, it shows as dead and won't switch to it. 

Put another way, if I start with stratum on one of my servers, no problem.  If I try to add/switch to stratum on one of my servers, CGMiner won't work. 

Any ideas?  This is for version 2.9.6, I haven't tried previous versions.

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 11:32:52 PM
 #8387

Receiving unusual error when trying to connect to BitMinter:

Code:
JSON stratum auth failed: <unknown reason>

cgminer works fine at all the other pools I use it at though. Any ideas?

I have the same error on v2.9.3 but it works fine on v2.9.5.
Weird.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 12:45:08 AM
 #8388

New version: 2.9.7, 7th December 2012

Bugfix only release. There are lots of pending changes which will be a new point release, but this is concentrating only on the known bugs that have fixes for 2.9.


Human readable changelog

Fixed the problem where backup stratum pools specified with stratum+tcp:// first would never come online.
Fixed another crash with GBT.
Decrease rejects with stratum by tying in target difficulty only with the work difficulty, as discussed on this forum thread with slush et. al
Don't show WU with scrypt mining since the number is wrong.
Windows builds are built and shipped with a new libcurl (and libusb) dll that hopefully improves stability.
Better load balance with stratum.


Full changelog

- Set pool probed to true on successful authorisation with stratum to avoid it
being pinged later with pool_getswork.
- Allow pool active to be called on stratum or disabled pools in the watchpool
thread if the pool has not been probed.
- Remove unused variable.
- Use a variable length string array in submit_upstream_work to cope with
massive GBT submissions.
- Remove unused getwork times in getswork.
- Don't show broken WU value with scrypt mining.
- The specification for stratum has been elaborated to say that a changed diff
applies only to new work so do not retarget when submitting shares.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
December 07, 2012, 12:53:20 AM
 #8389

Either I was too quick on the draw or you have not updated the version string as a fresh git clone tells me I will compile a version 2.9.6.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 01:31:48 AM
 #8390

Either I was too quick on the draw or you have not updated the version string as a fresh git clone tells me I will compile a version 2.9.6.
You're right, it wasn't tagged. Tagged now (and be aware it's on the 2.9 branch).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
December 07, 2012, 10:36:18 AM
 #8391

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

I'm not adding the stratum+tcp:// specification, but the program does add it automatically when I run it even though I am specifically pointing it at http://mint.bitminer.com:8332

I think it might be like Inaba was saying with it being a problem with the pools listed as a failover because I am also attempting to use BitMinter as a failover while receiving this error.

I will test by switching it's order and report back.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 10:37:24 AM
 #8392

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

I'm not adding the stratum+tcp:// specification, but the program does add it automatically when I run it even though I am specifically pointing it at http://mint.bitminer.com:8332

I think it might be like Inaba was saying with it being a problem with the pools listed as a failover because I am also attempting to use BitMinter as a failover while receiving this error.

I will test by switching it's order and report back.
Make sure to test latest, it was addressed in 2.9.7

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
December 07, 2012, 10:42:31 AM
 #8393

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

I'm not adding the stratum+tcp:// specification, but the program does add it automatically when I run it even though I am specifically pointing it at http://mint.bitminer.com:8332

I think it might be like Inaba was saying with it being a problem with the pools listed as a failover because I am also attempting to use BitMinter as a failover while receiving this error.

I will test by switching it's order and report back.
Make sure to test latest, it was addressed in 2.9.7

LOL, was just coming back to post that I upgraded to latest version and the problem is fixed... Thank you for cgminer ckolivas!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 10:45:20 AM
 #8394

LOL, was just coming back to post that I upgraded to latest version and the problem is fixed... Thank you for cgminer ckolivas!
You're welcome Smiley The price of continued development is temporary instability, and it's users that give feedback that allow me to achieve stability once more.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
December 07, 2012, 11:14:12 AM
 #8395

LOL, was just coming back to post that I upgraded to latest version and the problem is fixed... Thank you for cgminer ckolivas!
You're welcome Smiley The price of continued development is temporary instability, and it's users that give feedback that allow me to achieve stability once more.

Well, you do fantastic work. Your program has been my favorite gpu miner since I started.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 11:46:06 AM
 #8396

The rewrite of how work is gathered into a getwork scheduler is well underway and in the git master tree now undergoing testing. It would not be surprising if it introduces new instability, but I'm hoping for the master branch to be tested and debugged over the next week paving the way for the next version. For what it's worth, it's currently running fine for me. Other goodies including new mmq and ztex code are in there too.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
December 08, 2012, 02:15:49 PM
 #8397

Just experienced a crash with cgminer 2.9.7 on Windows. Two miners crashed at the same time. I'm using stratum on BitMinter. Didn't have any crashing problems before with 2.9.x versions, and I saw this on the patch notes:

"Windows builds are built and shipped with a new libcurl (and libusb) dll that hopefully improves stability."

Could this be actually causing problems instead of improving stability? If it's possible, I'd be interested in trying out a build with the old dlls.
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
December 08, 2012, 02:21:42 PM
 #8398

Fixed the problem where backup stratum pools specified with stratum+tcp:// first would never come online.

Thanks, Con, it's working nicely now.

roy
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Powered by NastyFans


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 06:02:59 PM
 #8399

This code doesn't seem to be working for me in the config file.  It sticks to mining on pool 0 even though there are 5 connected.  I'm running the program directly from the cgminer-fpgaonly.exe file.

Code:
"balance" : true,

Any ideas why?  

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 08:42:02 PM
 #8400

Just experienced a crash with cgminer 2.9.7 on Windows. Two miners crashed at the same time. I'm using stratum on BitMinter. Didn't have any crashing problems before with 2.9.x versions, and I saw this on the patch notes:

"Windows builds are built and shipped with a new libcurl (and libusb) dll that hopefully improves stability."

Could this be actually causing problems instead of improving stability? If it's possible, I'd be interested in trying out a build with the old dlls.
No, likely it's the same windows special crash to do with internet going down which has been there a while. The new dll was there in the hope it fixed this, but obviously it does not.

Anyone debugging on windows could you try the instructions and builds in http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/ and use the debug build of libcurl dll that's in there as well please. Thanks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 [420] 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!