Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2018, 01:43:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 [420] 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761143 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 08:43:53 PM
 #8381

Seems to be a strange problem with CGMiner and EMC as far as Stratum goes:

If I start cgminer with stratum pointed at one of my servers, it works fine and mines via stratum.  However, if I have one of the servers as backup and it's listed as stratum, it shows as dead and won't switch to it. 

Put another way, if I start with stratum on one of my servers, no problem.  If I try to add/switch to stratum on one of my servers, CGMiner won't work. 

Any ideas?  This is for version 2.9.6, I haven't tried previous versions.

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1534556631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534556631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534556631
Reply with quote  #2

1534556631
Report to moderator
1534556631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534556631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534556631
Reply with quote  #2

1534556631
Report to moderator
1534556631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534556631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534556631
Reply with quote  #2

1534556631
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 11:32:52 PM
 #8382

Receiving unusual error when trying to connect to BitMinter:

Code:
JSON stratum auth failed: <unknown reason>

cgminer works fine at all the other pools I use it at though. Any ideas?

I have the same error on v2.9.3 but it works fine on v2.9.5.
Weird.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 12:45:08 AM
 #8383

New version: 2.9.7, 7th December 2012

Bugfix only release. There are lots of pending changes which will be a new point release, but this is concentrating only on the known bugs that have fixes for 2.9.


Human readable changelog

Fixed the problem where backup stratum pools specified with stratum+tcp:// first would never come online.
Fixed another crash with GBT.
Decrease rejects with stratum by tying in target difficulty only with the work difficulty, as discussed on this forum thread with slush et. al
Don't show WU with scrypt mining since the number is wrong.
Windows builds are built and shipped with a new libcurl (and libusb) dll that hopefully improves stability.
Better load balance with stratum.


Full changelog

- Set pool probed to true on successful authorisation with stratum to avoid it
being pinged later with pool_getswork.
- Allow pool active to be called on stratum or disabled pools in the watchpool
thread if the pool has not been probed.
- Remove unused variable.
- Use a variable length string array in submit_upstream_work to cope with
massive GBT submissions.
- Remove unused getwork times in getswork.
- Don't show broken WU value with scrypt mining.
- The specification for stratum has been elaborated to say that a changed diff
applies only to new work so do not retarget when submitting shares.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 07, 2012, 12:53:20 AM
 #8384

Either I was too quick on the draw or you have not updated the version string as a fresh git clone tells me I will compile a version 2.9.6.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 01:31:48 AM
 #8385

Either I was too quick on the draw or you have not updated the version string as a fresh git clone tells me I will compile a version 2.9.6.
You're right, it wasn't tagged. Tagged now (and be aware it's on the 2.9 branch).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 07, 2012, 10:36:18 AM
 #8386

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

I'm not adding the stratum+tcp:// specification, but the program does add it automatically when I run it even though I am specifically pointing it at http://mint.bitminer.com:8332

I think it might be like Inaba was saying with it being a problem with the pools listed as a failover because I am also attempting to use BitMinter as a failover while receiving this error.

I will test by switching it's order and report back.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 10:37:24 AM
 #8387

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

I'm not adding the stratum+tcp:// specification, but the program does add it automatically when I run it even though I am specifically pointing it at http://mint.bitminer.com:8332

I think it might be like Inaba was saying with it being a problem with the pools listed as a failover because I am also attempting to use BitMinter as a failover while receiving this error.

I will test by switching it's order and report back.
Make sure to test latest, it was addressed in 2.9.7

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 07, 2012, 10:42:31 AM
 #8388

Yeah, are you specifying the stratum server with stratum+tcp:// ? There's an issue with backup pools specified that way at the moment. Try leaving out the prefix, or specify them as http:// and it will just do stratum.

I'm not adding the stratum+tcp:// specification, but the program does add it automatically when I run it even though I am specifically pointing it at http://mint.bitminer.com:8332

I think it might be like Inaba was saying with it being a problem with the pools listed as a failover because I am also attempting to use BitMinter as a failover while receiving this error.

I will test by switching it's order and report back.
Make sure to test latest, it was addressed in 2.9.7

LOL, was just coming back to post that I upgraded to latest version and the problem is fixed... Thank you for cgminer ckolivas!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2012, 10:45:20 AM
 #8389

LOL, was just coming back to post that I upgraded to latest version and the problem is fixed... Thank you for cgminer ckolivas!
You're welcome Smiley The price of continued development is temporary instability, and it's users that give feedback that allow me to achieve stability once more.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 07, 2012, 11:14:12 AM
 #8390

LOL, was just coming back to post that I upgraded to latest version and the problem is fixed... Thank you for cgminer ckolivas!
You're welcome Smiley The price of continued development is temporary instability, and it's users that give feedback that allow me to achieve stability once more.

Well, you do fantastic work. Your program has been my favorite gpu miner since I started.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 11:46:06 AM
 #8391

The rewrite of how work is gathered into a getwork scheduler is well underway and in the git master tree now undergoing testing. It would not be surprising if it introduces new instability, but I'm hoping for the master branch to be tested and debugged over the next week paving the way for the next version. For what it's worth, it's currently running fine for me. Other goodies including new mmq and ztex code are in there too.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 02:15:49 PM
 #8392

Just experienced a crash with cgminer 2.9.7 on Windows. Two miners crashed at the same time. I'm using stratum on BitMinter. Didn't have any crashing problems before with 2.9.x versions, and I saw this on the patch notes:

"Windows builds are built and shipped with a new libcurl (and libusb) dll that hopefully improves stability."

Could this be actually causing problems instead of improving stability? If it's possible, I'd be interested in trying out a build with the old dlls.

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gincoin, Raven
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 08, 2012, 02:21:42 PM
 #8393

Fixed the problem where backup stratum pools specified with stratum+tcp:// first would never come online.

Thanks, Con, it's working nicely now.

roy
OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1309


I 💚 Bitcoin


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 06:02:59 PM
 #8394

This code doesn't seem to be working for me in the config file.  It sticks to mining on pool 0 even though there are 5 connected.  I'm running the program directly from the cgminer-fpgaonly.exe file.

Code:
"balance" : true,

Any ideas why?  

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2012, 08:42:02 PM
 #8395

Just experienced a crash with cgminer 2.9.7 on Windows. Two miners crashed at the same time. I'm using stratum on BitMinter. Didn't have any crashing problems before with 2.9.x versions, and I saw this on the patch notes:

"Windows builds are built and shipped with a new libcurl (and libusb) dll that hopefully improves stability."

Could this be actually causing problems instead of improving stability? If it's possible, I'd be interested in trying out a build with the old dlls.
No, likely it's the same windows special crash to do with internet going down which has been there a while. The new dll was there in the hope it fixed this, but obviously it does not.

Anyone debugging on windows could you try the instructions and builds in http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/ and use the debug build of libcurl dll that's in there as well please. Thanks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Math Man
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 09, 2012, 06:43:24 AM
 #8396

I just did a git pull to update cgminer on my rigs, and I noticed that it says I'm running version 2.10.0.  Did I time warp to the future?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 06:45:43 AM
 #8397

I just did a git pull to update cgminer on my rigs, and I noticed that it says I'm running version 2.10.0.  Did I time warp to the future?
Nope. It's not tagged as such, but it's there to demonstrate the substantially different code base if anyone's running it. That will be the version when it is finally released. Release versions are tagged in git (except when I forget to do it).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Math Man
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 09, 2012, 06:49:19 AM
 #8398

I just did a git pull to update cgminer on my rigs, and I noticed that it says I'm running version 2.10.0.  Did I time warp to the future?
Nope. It's not tagged as such, but it's there to demonstrate the substantially different code base if anyone's running it. That will be the version when it is finally released. Release versions are tagged in git (except when I forget to do it).

Dang.  I was hoping I just figured out how to time travel.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 06:51:02 AM
 #8399

I just did a git pull to update cgminer on my rigs, and I noticed that it says I'm running version 2.10.0.  Did I time warp to the future?
Nope. It's not tagged as such, but it's there to demonstrate the substantially different code base if anyone's running it. That will be the version when it is finally released. Release versions are tagged in git (except when I forget to do it).

Dang.  I was hoping I just figured out how to time travel.
Shit if you did that, you'd go back and mine with your current hardware 2 years ago.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 09, 2012, 09:32:21 AM
 #8400

I just did a git pull to update cgminer on my rigs, and I noticed that it says I'm running version 2.10.0.  Did I time warp to the future?
Nope. It's not tagged as such, but it's there to demonstrate the substantially different code base if anyone's running it. That will be the version when it is finally released. Release versions are tagged in git (except when I forget to do it).
Dang.  I was hoping I just figured out how to time travel.
Shit if you did that, you'd go back and mine with your current hardware 2 years ago.
Do we finally have an answer for February/March of 2011?!
http://bitcoin.atspace.com/mysteryminer.html

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: « 1 ... 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 [420] 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!