Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2017, 02:41:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 [419] 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 ... 835 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5292273 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 08:08:58 PM
 #8361

The sudden interruption of work when a GPU is running flat out overclocked to the max is a great way of exposing instability, and has been there for as long as I can remember and is nothing to do with how cgminer handles failover, yet has to do with how tightly overclocked the GPUs are. It goes away if you lower the clocks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1500561701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500561701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500561701
Reply with quote  #2

1500561701
Report to moderator
1500561701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500561701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500561701
Reply with quote  #2

1500561701
Report to moderator
Decentralized search
Search for products or services and get paid for it
pre-sale Token CAT
25 July 50% discount
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500561701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500561701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500561701
Reply with quote  #2

1500561701
Report to moderator
1500561701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500561701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500561701
Reply with quote  #2

1500561701
Report to moderator
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:11:14 PM
 #8362

Still seeing backup pools that use stratum+tcp URLs detected as down by cgminer (2.9.6)

e.g. neither of these seem to work right as backup pools :

stratum+tcp://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
stratum+tcp://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

However specifying them as http (even though they're not) seems to work:

http://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
http://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

(Note I only see this problem for backup pools - specifying stratum+tcp for my first pool seems to work fine)

roy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 09:24:24 PM
 #8363

Still seeing backup pools that use stratum+tcp URLs detected as down by cgminer (2.9.6)

e.g. neither of these seem to work right as backup pools :

stratum+tcp://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
stratum+tcp://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

However specifying them as http (even though they're not) seems to work:

http://us3.eclipsemc.com:3333
http://eustratum.ozco.in:3333

(Note I only see this problem for backup pools - specifying stratum+tcp for my first pool seems to work fine)

roy
Yeah, not ideal, is it? Just get rid of *any* prefix and let cgminer figure it out. eg eustratum.ozco.in:3333

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:28:29 PM
 #8364

Yeah, not ideal, is it? Just get rid of *any* prefix and let cgminer figure it out. eg eustratum.ozco.in:3333

Hmm, I thought I tried that - lemme give it another go....
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:32:22 PM
 #8365

Yeah, not ideal, is it? Just get rid of *any* prefix and let cgminer figure it out. eg eustratum.ozco.in:3333

Hmm, I thought I tried that - lemme give it another go....

Yep, seems to work - don't know what I did wrong when I tried that in the past...

Thanks

roy
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:45:53 PM
 #8366

Ah, OK, so you can enter it without any scheme prefix (http: or stratum+tcp:) in either cgminer.conf or in pool management.

But, either way pool management just displays it as http: (regardless of what it actually is).  And when you resave your config file the URLs just get saved to cgminer.conf as http URLs (even if you entered them without the http and even if they're really stratum).

It is a bit confusing, but it doesn't cause any real problems.  It seems that in cgminer http: seems to actually mean autodetect... (ETA: and stratum+tcp: seems to be broken and best avoided)

roy
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:59:51 PM
 #8367

Oh darn, seems like building on a 64 bit ubuntu with 64bit curl makes problem, when it tries to include it. mmmh. well, i guess ill try a 32bit ubuntu to cross compile cgminer... I'll report...

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 10:08:02 PM
 #8368

Oh darn, seems like building on a 64 bit ubuntu with 64bit curl makes problem, when it tries to include it. mmmh. well, i guess ill try a 32bit ubuntu to cross compile cgminer... I'll report...
No, that makes no sense as full 64bit ubuntu is the main development platform for it and where the binaries come from.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 11:27:01 PM
 #8369

Well the crash is happening in the share submission path, so it must be trying to submit a share. That said, I found something else that might be a problem. Try current git master please.
Just cloned the master & installed.  Didn't crash at startup, but apparently that doesn't mean much.  If there's a crash, I'll provide the debug info.
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 02:43:01 AM
 #8370

Oh darn, seems like building on a 64 bit ubuntu with 64bit curl makes problem, when it tries to include it. mmmh. well, i guess ill try a 32bit ubuntu to cross compile cgminer... I'll report...
No, that makes no sense as full 64bit ubuntu is the main development platform for it and where the binaries come from.
was (trying) to compile it for 32bit mipseb... I am trying under a 32bit system soon, i will report, this is not a cgminer problem, when googling, found out, that debian has trouble offering the right stuff when cross compiling.


compiling it to run under the 64bit ubuntu is no problem...

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 04:01:39 AM
 #8371

Could someone tell me how to make a .bat file to mine with both gpu and cpu at same time what is the commands needed to use both gpu and cup at same time usin cgimner and amd cpu??
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 04:35:28 AM
 #8372

Could someone tell me how to make a .bat file to mine with both gpu and cpu at same time what is the commands needed to use both gpu and cup at same time usin cgimner and amd cpu??
As per the README
Quote
Q: What happened to CPU mining?
A: Being increasingly irrelevant for most users, and a maintenance issue, it is no longer under active development and will not be supported ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 09:31:03 AM
 #8373

Could someone tell me how to make a .bat file to mine with both gpu and cpu at same time what is the commands needed to use both gpu and cup at same time usin cgimner and amd cpu??
Cgminer CPU mining code is obsolete, use another CPU miner you will get 2x hash rate.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
CheezWiz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31



View Profile
December 06, 2012, 12:59:21 AM
 #8374

I think there's still something awry with gracefully handling disconnects.  It isn't unique to stratum, as I've seen it on LPs as well.

Right now have three units running... one with 1 GPU, one with 2 GPUs, and one with 3 GPUs.  At the time all were pointed to stratum pools with bitcoind (LP) as a backup.

My internet connection dropped for a short bit.  The 1GPU machine recovered properly.  The 2GPU crashed, the 3GPU hung.

I've seen this before, where those with multiple GPUs crash or hang when the 1GPU continues working.  The 1 and 3 GPU machines are window 7 x64, the 2 GPU is windows 8 x64.

Using 2.9.6.

M

I just started using cgminer after over a year with phoenix and no issues and I am seeing this behavior. If there is a network issue, cgminer crashes in Windows and I get the not responding...searching for a resolution dialog from Windows. I can replicate the behavior like clockwork because I am mining over an SSH tunnel and I have a scheduled task that kills plonk every 30 minutes and restarts it. When plonk gets killed, cgminer crashes. So it does not like losing its network connection at all.

Additionally, I think the issue only happens when connected via the stratum protocol, but I am investigating the details...

-------------
Cheez\/\/iz
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 01:08:35 AM
 #8375

Longstanding bug on windows for when network goes down; it's my secret way to get people to move to linux.

Obviously not the case, but anyway I've not been able to reproduce it myself so must be some combination of windows or other issue. You could always try helping debug it following instructions in here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

I suspect it's just the libcurl implementation on windows... which would be bad news since it won't be something I can personally fix.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
CheezWiz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31



View Profile
December 06, 2012, 01:25:43 AM
 #8376

Longstanding bug on windows for when network goes down; it's my secret way to get people to move to linux.

Obviously not the case, but anyway I've not been able to reproduce it myself so must be some combination of windows or other issue. You could always try helping debug it following instructions in here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

I suspect it's just the libcurl implementation on windows... which would be bad news since it won't be something I can personally fix.


 Grin  between linux and mac users, the jabs never end...

Will do on the debug.... I may be working in an uncommon setup which may be compounding the issue. I run plonk to create an ssh tunnel on port 3333 to the pool via my home DDWRT router. Because the SSH tunnel can collapse at the slightest of network hiccups, which we have many, I restart plonk every 30 minutes. I believe the issue only happens when connected via stratum protocols. Too early to tell, I just started with cgminer since my pool switched over to stratum. However, I wish I had looked at it sooner because I am getting much better hash rates with cgminer!

Thanks!!

-------------
Cheez\/\/iz
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
December 06, 2012, 02:18:58 AM
 #8377

Longstanding bug on windows for when network goes down; it's my secret way to get people to move to linux.

Obviously not the case, but anyway I've not been able to reproduce it myself so must be some combination of windows or other issue. You could always try helping debug it following instructions in here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

I suspect it's just the libcurl implementation on windows... which would be bad news since it won't be something I can personally fix.


 Grin  between linux and mac users, the jabs never end...

Will do on the debug.... I may be working in an uncommon setup which may be compounding the issue. I run plonk to create an ssh tunnel on port 3333 to the pool via my home DDWRT router. Because the SSH tunnel can collapse at the slightest of network hiccups, which we have many, I restart plonk every 30 minutes. I believe the issue only happens when connected via stratum protocols. Too early to tell, I just started with cgminer since my pool switched over to stratum. However, I wish I had looked at it sooner because I am getting much better hash rates with cgminer!

Thanks!!

You might try downloading the cgminer source and following the windows-build.txt instructions for building your own binary of cgminer. That would get you the latest version of libcurl. If it is a libcurl issue this may fix it as C. kolivas does not update his dependencies  that often. Good Luck Smiley

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 02:48:47 AM
 #8378

mingw32-curl 7.27.0-1 is what I'm distributing libcurl from.
The one people usually post as a bug is that their own IP address changed or something like that.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226



View Profile
December 06, 2012, 04:04:59 AM
 #8379

Longstanding bug on windows for when network goes down; it's my secret way to get people to move to linux.

Obviously not the case, but anyway I've not been able to reproduce it myself so must be some combination of windows or other issue. You could always try helping debug it following instructions in here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

I suspect it's just the libcurl implementation on windows... which would be bad news since it won't be something I can personally fix.
One might note that I fixed this in BFGMiner a while ago, thanks to much debugging help from jddebug. It's not the most elegant fix, but it does do the job.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 10:36:21 AM
 #8380

There will shortly be some massive changes to the git master tree - no unfortunately it still isn't any ASIC driver, but it will be stuff to prepare for it. In anticipation, I have created a 2.9 branch for those who want just fixes to the stable tree in the meantime. Some fixes to existing issues have already been committed to the 2.9 branch, but lots of potential breakage will be making its way into the master tree.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 [419] 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 ... 835 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!