Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 07:59:41 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 [446] 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4820080 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 02:33:17 PM
 #8901

Hello CGminer support forum if I could butt in here for a second.
I currently download and am happy with CGminer but seem to have a few issues.

*System. CGminer 2.10.5, Windows 7 64bit, x4 5830's

So I downloaded and installed AMD's 13.2 Beta Catalyst Control Center (to try and get rid of artifacts during mining) and it worked at removing artifacts. But now after a few hours my GPU that displays the desktop dies (the thread dies) and does not restart automatically, I must restart CGMiner. It also sometimes simply crashes showing me the BSOD.....  I then can restart the computer and CGminer like nothing happened.


What version of AMD driver should I have, and what version of CGminer should I have?
- It looks like I need specific AMD SoftwareDevelopmentKit (SDK), and specific ApplicationProgrammerInterface(API). Anyway to know which ones work the best with 5830's specifically?

Does anyone have a good config file for me to base mine off of for 5830's?!



(I remember reading I might have to reinstall CGminer because of the binaries made on initial first strat up, which was before my AMD 13.2 update; so do I need to reinstall CGminer and see what happens?)

1481054381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054381
Reply with quote  #2

1481054381
Report to moderator
1481054381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054381
Reply with quote  #2

1481054381
Report to moderator
1481054381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054381
Reply with quote  #2

1481054381
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054381
Reply with quote  #2

1481054381
Report to moderator
1481054381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054381
Reply with quote  #2

1481054381
Report to moderator
1481054381
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054381

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054381
Reply with quote  #2

1481054381
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 05:34:23 PM
 #8902


What version of AMD driver should I have, and what version of CGminer should I have?


I'm using Catalyst 12.1 SDK 2.5 and CGMiner 2.10.4.

Seems to work well with my 5830.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
March 04, 2013, 06:05:51 PM
 #8903

Hi ckolivas/kano, I'm curious if in previous versions (2.8.0/2.9.0) has been known bug where cgminer switched from Stratum back to Getwork? Today some people reported that although they're using newer cgminers with Stratum support, they're still mining on getwork interface (although pool reports X-Stratum correctly and Stratum backend works). They also reported that Stratum worked for them for some time, but then "it switched itself".

I recommended them to update, but I'd feel safer if this has been known and fixed...

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2013, 08:30:12 PM
 #8904

Hi ckolivas/kano, I'm curious if in previous versions (2.8.0/2.9.0) has been known bug where cgminer switched from Stratum back to Getwork? Today some people reported that although they're using newer cgminers with Stratum support, they're still mining on getwork interface (although pool reports X-Stratum correctly and Stratum backend works). They also reported that Stratum worked for them for some time, but then "it switched itself".

I recommended them to update, but I'd feel safer if this has been known and fixed...
So many stratum bugs have been fixed since then I can't even tell you exactly. I would certainly recommend upgrading to the stable 2.10.5 release.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
brox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
March 04, 2013, 08:37:10 PM
 #8905

kano, do you cross-compile for rpi or build natively within?

Save dolphins! Donate to 1BTC4brox2pd14QubXGsXwarp9zV9tc8CZ
Mine Bitcoins in the cloud at cex.io
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 09:58:25 PM
 #8906

kano, do you cross-compile for rpi or build natively within?
Native build on my rpi (yep it's not very fast Tongue)
The xubu build (and when I build windows myself) are in VMs so they are effectively native also.
I don't cross-compile anything in case you were wondering Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2013, 11:44:38 PM
 #8907

Hello guys,

I seem to be having some issues communicating with apcupsd via usb connection now and then since updating to 2.11.0, the message I get is:

Error contacting apcupsd @ localhost:3551: Connection refused

I also notice my hash rate dips slightly on every card on the rig until I pull the usb cable out then re-insert it again, after a few seconds the hash rate goes back up and I can communicate with apcupsd again, after restarting the service. Is there any chance that the new usb code is interfering with my apcupsd driver do you think? Or am I barking up the wrong tree.....again.... Huh

Xubuntu Natty 64
GPU rig
v2.4 SDK

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 05, 2013, 05:17:17 AM
 #8908

Hello guys,

I seem to be having some issues communicating with apcupsd via usb connection now and then since updating to 2.11.0, the message I get is:

Error contacting apcupsd @ localhost:3551: Connection refused

I also notice my hash rate dips slightly on every card on the rig until I pull the usb cable out then re-insert it again, after a few seconds the hash rate goes back up and I can communicate with apcupsd again, after restarting the service. Is there any chance that the new usb code is interfering with my apcupsd driver do you think? Or am I barking up the wrong tree.....again.... Huh

Xubuntu Natty 64
GPU rig
v2.4 SDK

Peace.
Try that: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1580690#msg1580690

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
planman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 08:09:04 PM
 #8909

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me trouble shoot some trouble I am having with (I think) a cgminer mapping issue.

Setup Windows 7x, CGMINER 2.10.5, Drivers 12.7 and SDK 2.7

System in an older P4, Nvida card in PCIe slot 0, Radeon 5970 in PCIe 1x slot on riser cable. PCIe bridge wire trick in place and working.

System works flawlessly using the --gpu-platform 1 command line option and a Radeon 5830 card. Mines just fine.

When I replace the 5830 card with the 5970 I get the following

Code:
[2013-03-06 15:02:41] Started cgminer 2.10.5
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] ADL found less devices than opencl!
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU

[2013-03-06 15:02:42] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] Probing for an alive pool
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] Long-polling activated for http://ltc.kattare.com:9332/LP

[2013-03-06 15:02:42] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
NDRangeKernel)
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
[2013-03-06 15:02:42] Thread 0 being disabled
[2013-03-06 15:02:43] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
NDRangeKernel)
[2013-03-06 15:02:43] GPU 1 failure, disabling!
[2013-03-06 15:02:43] Thread 1 being disabled


My command line is:

Code:
cgminer --scrypt --gpu-platform 1 --auto-fan -I 19 -g 1 -w 256 --lookup-gap 2 --temp-target 75 --temp-overheat 85 --thread-concurrency 5632 --gpu-engine 750 --gpu-memclock 850


Cgminer -n shows:

Code:
[2013-03-06 14:19:39] CL Platform 0 vendor: NVIDIA Corporation

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] CL Platform 0 name: NVIDIA CUDA
[2013-03-06 14:19:39] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 CUDA 4.2.1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Platform 0 devices: 1
[2013-03-06 14:19:39]  0       Quadro NVS 290
[2013-03-06 14:19:39] CL Platform 1 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] CL Platform 1 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] CL Platform 1 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Platform 1 devices: 2
[2013-03-06 14:19:39]  0       Cypress
[2013-03-06 14:19:39]  1       Cypress
[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] ADL found less devices than opencl!
[2013-03-06 14:19:39] There is possibly more than one display attached to a GPU

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!

[2013-03-06 14:19:39] 2 GPU devices max detected


ANY Help would be greatly appreciated Smiley

Thank you!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 09:29:27 PM
 #8910

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me trouble shoot some trouble I am having with (I think) a cgminer mapping issue.

[SNIP]
You are having multiple problems. Does the 5970 work or are you another hopeful that bought a dead GPU? Most of these are way beyond working status thanks to being abused by miners. Do you have enough system ram to scrypt mine on that many GPUs? Did you read the EXTENSIVE section on using --gpu-map in the readme?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
planman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 05:30:35 AM
 #8911

Hello  

I was wondering if anyone could help me trouble shoot some trouble I am having with (I think) a cgminer mapping issue.

[SNIP]
You are having multiple problems. Does the 5970 work or are you another hopeful that bought a dead GPU? Most of these are way beyond working status thanks to being abused by miners. Do you have enough system ram to scrypt mine on that many GPUs? Did you read the EXTENSIVE section on using --gpu-map in the readme?

Hello Ckolivas,,

I tested the 5970 in a new Gigabyte motherboard about 2 hours ago after I did the post. Using CGMINER 2.10.5 the card ran about 350 khash/gpu. There was trouble with one of the GPUs running very hot. I solved the heat problem by installing fresh CPU grease, cleaning the lint out of the fins, and adding a 90mm HP server case fan that blow serious air (140 CFM). The card itself appears to be in good shape, it runs.

The system I am running has 4GB ram.

I spent about 4 hours reading through your readme file today. I run 11 cards in my rigs and have printed copies of your readme file on the wall. I have also been through almost every page of this and several other threads. I take notes and change a single setting at a time to better understand what is happening. I also run a watt meter and check voltages and power draws in the rails using a meter.

I understand the --gpu-platform command. I use the --gpu-platform command to run the radion 5380 card that is working. I have problems when I swap out the 5830 card and install the 5970.

I agree with you that it might be faster/easier/cheaper to use a pair of 5850's in place of a 5970. I did a google search, read the readme file again, and searched the support thread but did not locate my situation. I figured if I posted perhaps someone else might understand better than I do what is going. I thought it was kind of a cool technical problem to learn from. I did not mean to waste your time or appear helpless. I want to make it work!

Can you give me a quick clue as to the problems you see? I have done all I can think to do with --gpu-platform, the -d switch, and --gpu-map

I will share the solution, document it as best I can, and try to grow the knowledge base.

(Or I will just use it as a space heater)

Thank you,
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 07:08:31 AM
 #8912

have printed copies of your readme file on the wall.
I like your style.
Can you give me a quick clue as to the problems you see? I have done all I can think to do with --gpu-platform, the -d switch, and --gpu-map
Search for "GPU DEVICE ISSUES and use of --gpu-map" in you README poster. I can't tell exactly how to set it up for you without access to your machine but that is where your remaining issues lie I believe.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Radacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 10:07:37 AM
 #8913

I used cgminer since a long time to mine BTC.

Now I'd like to mine some LTC. I use Windows7 and a pair of 7970s.

What's the correct command line to use cgminer to mine LTC?
nitrox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


tester


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 10:47:43 AM
 #8914

hi,
i look at my log for cgminer 2.11.0 ( win7 x64 ; GPU drv - 12.6 ; SDK 2.8 )
and i see something strange :
Code:
[2013-03-07 11:50:19] Rejected 51eafd38 Diff 3/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:50:42] Rejected b1ac8474 Diff 1/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Share is above target
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:50:19] Rejected 51eafd38 Diff 3/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:50:42] Rejected b1ac8474 Diff 1/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Share is above target
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:52:54] Rejected 6ae3257b Diff 2/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:54:10] Rejected 04dead4d Diff 52/1 GPU 0 pool 0 ((-2, u'Share is above target
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:58:58] Rejected d5ec96b4 Diff 1/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:04:15] Rejected efedb124 Diff 1/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:17:34] Rejected 0638fb44 Diff 41/1 GPU 0 pool 0 ((-2, u'Incorrect size of ext
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:33:23] Rejected 1fb0a7ca Diff 8/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Incorrect size of ext
 .....
[2013-03-07 12:34:55] Rejected 588fdf7c Diff 2/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:38:54] Rejected 28a8a413 Diff 6/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:52:54] Rejected 6ae3257b Diff 2/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:54:10] Rejected 04dead4d Diff 52/1 GPU 0 pool 0 ((-2, u'Share is above target
.....
 [2013-03-07 11:58:58] Rejected d5ec96b4 Diff 1/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:04:15] Rejected efedb124 Diff 1/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:17:34] Rejected 0638fb44 Diff 41/1 GPU 0 pool 0 ((-2, u'Incorrect size of ext
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:33:23] Rejected 1fb0a7ca Diff 8/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Incorrect size of ext
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:34:55] Rejected 588fdf7c Diff 2/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
 [2013-03-07 12:38:54] Rejected 28a8a413 Diff 6/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
should I be worried about this messages?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 10:52:24 AM
 #8915

hi,
i look at my log for cgminer 2.11.0 ( win7 x64 ; GPU drv - 12.6 ; SDK 2.8 )
and i see something strange :
Code:
[2013-03-07 11:50:19] Rejected 51eafd38 Diff 3/1 GPU 1 pool 0 ((-2, u'Duplicate share', Non
.....
should I be worried about this messages?
Yes. What pool and protocol? Some pools have been really struggling of late so it's the likely culprit.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 12:02:54 PM
 #8916

I used cgminer since a long time to mine BTC.

Now I'd like to mine some LTC. I use Windows7 and a pair of 7970s.

What's the correct command line to use cgminer to mine LTC?
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/SCRYPT-README

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 12:07:00 PM
 #8917

New release: v2.11.1, March 7th 2013

Keep building on the changes required for BFL SC when it comes out, adding new features and fixing bugs with the new 2.11 branch... This is still the unstable development version but is proving quite stable for my testing so far.


Human readable changelog:

Faster startup now when pools are slow, connecting to the first pool available!
Fixed some stratum bugs which would lead to weird disconnects when pools were slow.
Improved the mining resume support for stratum.
Added the show message feature of stratum (which I don't believe any pool uses yet?).
Lots of other minor stratum fixes and improvements.
Added the --hotplug (time) feature if you have hardware that has random stalls every time the usb devices are probed (default is 5 seconds).
Extra API features.
Random bugfixes.


Full changelog:

- Shorten the time before keepalive probes are sent out and how frequently
they're sent with stratum curls.
- Only set stratum auth once to prevent multiple threads being started.
- Display select return value on select fail in stratum thread.
- Clear the socket of anything in the receive buffer if we're going to retry
connecting.
- Allow pools to be resuscitated on first startup by the watchpool thread.
- Check all pools simultaneously at startup switching to the first alive one to
speed up startup.
- Clear just the socket buffer when we don't care what is left in a stratum
socket.
- Clear the stratum socket whenever we are closing it since the buffer is going
to be reused.
- Do not continue work from a stratum pool where the connection has been
interrupted.
- Reset stratum_notify flag on suspend_stratum as well.
- Close any sockets opened if we fail to initiate stratum but have opened the
socket.
- Close any existing stratum socket if we are attempting to restart stratum so
the pool knows the connection has gone.
- Show mechanism of stratum interruption if select times out.
- Make stratum connection interrupted message higher priority to be visible at
normal logging levels.
- Implement client.show_message support for stratum.
- API add 'Network Difficulty' to 'coin'
- Setup BFLSC support
- API use control_lock when switching pools
- Make sure to retry only once with noresume support for stratum.
- Instead of keeping track of when the last work item was generated to keep
stratum connections open, keep them open if any shares have been submitted
awaiting a response.
- usbutils.c copy full size to 'Last Command'
- configure - set USE_USBUTILS when usbutils is required and use it in the code
- Clear last pool work on switching pools if the current pool supports local
work generation or we are in failover only mode.
- make rw locks: mining_thr_lock and devices_lock
- Release MMQ device only once (not 4 times)
- api.c fix MSG overlap
- Hotplug - allow setting interval via --hotplug or API
- curses - fix - put a dev_width inside #ifdef
- usb_cleanup() use correct locking mechanism
- Implement and use usb_cleanup() on shutdown or restart
- miner.php report 'Last Valid Work' as time before request
- API - return Last Valid Work
- api -> drv
- ZTX bug set missing drv_id

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rkozola
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 07, 2013, 02:15:22 PM
 #8918

I have a system that utilizes both gpus and fpgas and I want to run one cgminer instance for gpus and another for fpgas.  Starting in 2.11.0 with the new usb subsystem, I am unable to start an instance of cgminer for just the gpus.  Whenever I try to start the instance for gpus only, cgminer displays "MTX: BitForce USB failed to get cgminer-usb..." and exits.  Is there any way to disable the usb detection like how "-S noauto" used to work?
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 02:26:44 PM
 #8919

I have a system that utilizes both gpus and fpgas and I want to run one cgminer instance for gpus and another for fpgas.  Starting in 2.11.0 with the new usb subsystem, I am unable to start an instance of cgminer for just the gpus.  Whenever I try to start the instance for gpus only, cgminer displays "MTX: BitForce USB failed to get cgminer-usb..." and exits.  Is there any way to disable the usb detection like how "-S noauto" used to work?

--hotplug 0

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2013, 02:30:52 PM
 #8920

New release: v2.11.1, March 7th 2013

Keep building on the changes required for BFL SC when it comes out, adding new features and fixing bugs with the new 2.11 branch... This is still the unstable development version but is proving quite stable for my testing so far.


Human readable changelog:

Faster startup now when pools are slow, connecting to the first pool available!
Fixed some stratum bugs which would lead to weird disconnects when pools were slow.
Improved the mining resume support for stratum.
Added the show message feature of stratum (which I don't believe any pool uses yet?).
Lots of other minor stratum fixes and improvements.
Added the --hotplug (time) feature if you have hardware that has random stalls every time the usb devices are probed (default is 5 seconds).
Extra API features.
Random bugfixes.


Full changelog:

- Shorten the time before keepalive probes are sent out and how frequently
they're sent with stratum curls.
- Only set stratum auth once to prevent multiple threads being started.
- Display select return value on select fail in stratum thread.
- Clear the socket of anything in the receive buffer if we're going to retry
connecting.
- Allow pools to be resuscitated on first startup by the watchpool thread.
- Check all pools simultaneously at startup switching to the first alive one to
speed up startup.
- Clear just the socket buffer when we don't care what is left in a stratum
socket.
- Clear the stratum socket whenever we are closing it since the buffer is going
to be reused.
- Do not continue work from a stratum pool where the connection has been
interrupted.
- Reset stratum_notify flag on suspend_stratum as well.
- Close any sockets opened if we fail to initiate stratum but have opened the
socket.
- Close any existing stratum socket if we are attempting to restart stratum so
the pool knows the connection has gone.
- Show mechanism of stratum interruption if select times out.
- Make stratum connection interrupted message higher priority to be visible at
normal logging levels.
- Implement client.show_message support for stratum.
- API add 'Network Difficulty' to 'coin'
- Setup BFLSC support
- API use control_lock when switching pools
- Make sure to retry only once with noresume support for stratum.
- Instead of keeping track of when the last work item was generated to keep
stratum connections open, keep them open if any shares have been submitted
awaiting a response.
- usbutils.c copy full size to 'Last Command'
- configure - set USE_USBUTILS when usbutils is required and use it in the code
- Clear last pool work on switching pools if the current pool supports local
work generation or we are in failover only mode.
- make rw locks: mining_thr_lock and devices_lock
- Release MMQ device only once (not 4 times)
- api.c fix MSG overlap
- Hotplug - allow setting interval via --hotplug or API
- curses - fix - put a dev_width inside #ifdef
- usb_cleanup() use correct locking mechanism
- Implement and use usb_cleanup() on shutdown or restart
- miner.php report 'Last Valid Work' as time before request
- API - return Last Valid Work
- api -> drv
- ZTX bug set missing drv_id


Great work guys, this has cured my usb issues - many thanks!

Kano, I used your Xubuntu binary 2.11.0a with this latest release and everything seems fine - is this ok do you think? I can live with the wrong release version being displayed.....lol

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Pages: « 1 ... 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 [446] 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!