Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:42:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 [434] 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4814442 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 09:24:59 PM
 #8661

Ok so back to my question.  Does cgminer offer support for x6500.
1480725761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725761
Reply with quote  #2

1480725761
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725761
Reply with quote  #2

1480725761
Report to moderator
1480725761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725761
Reply with quote  #2

1480725761
Report to moderator
1480725761
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725761

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725761
Reply with quote  #2

1480725761
Report to moderator
marke74.miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 01:25:01 AM
 #8662

Had a problem with all versions of CGMiner not enabling the devices (GPUs) from the configuration file. IE
if the config file contains the following

"Device" : "0",
"Device" : "1",
"Device" : "2"

only the last entry GPU 2 would be enabled.
I fixed this by editing the source and adding Device0, Device1......Device7 to the configuration tables.
Now the lines in the config file would look like this

"Device0" : "0",
"Device1" : "1",
"Device2" : "2"

 Works great! All 3 devices are enabled on startup. I know it's not fixes the real issue but more of a patch.
Anyone interested and I can send the changes to you.

Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected. Since I have 9 rigs I want to do this programatically. I am very knowledable of VB and linux, but am new to JSON/RPC. I would like to be able to send such a command via the network interface using RPC via VBA.net. From looking at the cgminer source RPC/JSON commands are accepted through the use of port 4028. What would be the simpliest way to send an RPC packet from VBA.net to switch to pool 2 and viceversa switch to pool 0.

Any help would be appreciated. I have exhausted the third party addons for JSON serialization and RPC protocal and have not come accross a viable solution.

Thanks,
Mark 
 
 
 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 02:43:47 AM
 #8663

you did not have the paitience to work with the cgminer team and work with them to get your changes in?
It's not a matter of patience or working with, it's a matter of Con demanding I pay to get even bugfixes merged, and Kano undoing even bugfixes because he's too incompetent to use git and Con doesn't care.
WTF are you talking about.

Luke you are completely delusional.
WTF is that red part I have highlighted? What drugs have you been taking that have turned your brain to mush? (a long time ago ...)

The undo, that you said was the cause of you making a fork, you have even admitted you were wrong about and offered to pay me BTC for the trouble (hours) I had spent to get the full details about that, that proved I was correct (which of course I rejected any payment)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90656.msg1003391#msg1003391

On more than one occasion you have put up pull requests that were detrimental to cgminer - as you well knew - and of course those were rejected.
The most recent example of that was your Stratum commit that is still there for all to see how stupid it is, that would make cgminer get the transaction list multiple times from the pool even though each time it would get exactly the same transaction list - due to the fact that new work was not sent by the pool (should I also including the issue about the waste of time getting the actual transaction list? ... since no code anywhere, even in your crappy clone, does anything of use with it?)


Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 03:07:34 AM
 #8664

...
Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected.
...

Thanks,
Mark
The API is a simple send one command and get a reply (and close) TCP/IP socket.
The command can be sent in JSON or simple text.

The text to send a pool switch (to pool 2) is:
'switchpool|2'
 or
'{"command":"switchpool","parameter":"2"}'

The documentation of the API is in API-README

There are 3 sample programs that will talk to the API
API.java
api-example.c
api-example.php

The API has a level of IP address security - that groups commands based on:
 non-priviliged: that report information
 priviliged: that change cgminer
Read more about that in API-README and the options required to allow access and priviliged access.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 03:21:39 AM
 #8665

Ok so back to my question.  Does cgminer offer support for x6500.
No, neither of us have an x6500 so we have not written an x6500 driver and no one else has done so for cgminer.

For me, I work on (or rewrite) drivers for the devices I have - I currently have: 2xIcarus, 1xBFL and 1xMMQ
(and of course I wrote the API and have done other changes here and there ... and I posted above yesterday)
I also wrote all the original changes to the Icarus driver to support other Icarus devices ... like Lancelot and Carinsmore1
(--icarus-timing and --icarus-options)

The ZTex support in cgminer was written by nelisky and thus why it is there.
Unfortunately nelisky decided he didn't have time and dropped the ball on that one.
However Smiley Dennis2342 has recently taken up the work on that with the help of the developer who wrote libusb and thus ZTex support is still there for cgminer Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Bigal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204



View Profile
January 07, 2013, 12:45:14 PM
 #8666

Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected. Since I have 9 rigs I want to do this programatically. I am very knowledable of VB and linux, but am new to JSON/RPC. I would like to be able to send such a command via the network interface using RPC via VBA.net. From looking at the cgminer source RPC/JSON commands are accepted through the use of port 4028. What would be the simpliest way to send an RPC packet from VBA.net to switch to pool 2 and viceversa switch to pool 0.

Any help would be appreciated. I have exhausted the third party addons for JSON serialization and RPC protocal and have not come accross a viable solution.

Thanks,
Mark  
 

Here's how to do it in C# (there are probably other ways as well)

Code:
private void sendCommand(string command)
        {
            try
            {
                System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient clientSocket = new System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient();
                clientSocket.Connect("192.168.10.2", 4028);
                NetworkStream serverStream = clientSocket.GetStream();
                byte[] outStream = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(command);
                serverStream.Write(outStream, 0, outStream.Length);
                serverStream.Flush();

                byte[] inStream = new byte[65536];
                serverStream.Read(inStream, 0, (int)clientSocket.ReceiveBufferSize);
                string returnData = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetString(inStream);
                displayMessage(returnData);
                clientSocket.Close();
            }
            catch (Exception exc)
            {
            }
        }

and in VB.net
Code:
Private Sub sendCommand(command As String)
Try
Dim clientSocket As New System.Net.Sockets.TcpClient()
clientSocket.Connect("192.168.10.2", 4028)
Dim serverStream As NetworkStream = clientSocket.GetStream()
Dim outStream As Byte() = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(command)
serverStream.Write(outStream, 0, outStream.Length)
serverStream.Flush()

Dim inStream As Byte() = New Byte(65536) {}
serverStream.Read(inStream, 0, CInt(clientSocket.ReceiveBufferSize))
Dim returnData As String = System.Text.Encoding.ASCII.GetString(inStream)
displayMessage(returnData)
clientSocket.Close()
Catch exc As Exception
End Try
End Sub

Here's a quick little gui exe in the bin folder and the source to send some commands either simple text or json formatted no need for any added library.
Cgminer_RPC


The Small Time Miner Pools   CryptoCoin Ticker   BTC 1EHV2BY8JcvpBqnMqq5BSkbZvFHT7ndpnz    LTC  LaBigaLvm7L8XT5urnwJW5MpoArBAjsk2X
marke74.miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
January 08, 2013, 07:23:51 AM
 #8667

Here's a quick little gui exe in the bin folder and the source to send some commands either simple text or json formatted no need for any added library.
Cgminer_RPC

Thanks, the biggest hurdle was trying to establish a connection. The windows api sockets didn't want to establish one. But I now know why after reading the APIReadme (you have to tell cgminer to listen). Who would have guessed there would be seperate readme for the API.....daaaaahhh on me.

I will play with this tonight. Thanks Kano / Bigal!!

I didn't even see the API-README because I've been brainwashed for windows for so many years that it didn't register in my small brain of mine that linux doesn't need the .txt on the end. I did find the standard readme though. Got to have atleast one point for reading it first before posting right? Undecided

I welcome you to hit me on top of the head with a frying pan and wake me up. Huh


Thanks guys, much appreaciated, Grin
Mark
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 10, 2013, 05:31:48 AM
 #8668

2.10.4f
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github called cgminer-2.10.4f
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

This includes all the pull request changes I've made since 2.10.4

oldest first:

   Kano    BFL libusb driver    cbf6c71
   Kano    BFL USB build changes    040ec58
   Kano    BFL report USB device numbers for init errors and allow faster 'reinit'    b099615
   Kano    BFL USB - README and FPGA-README    70b47a7
   Kano    BFL include all USB requirements    03c2cab
   Kano    BFL USB api.c usbstats    07db1ed
   Kano    BFL USB longer timeout    211b0f4
   Kano    Remember best share per pool and return in API pools    03f626e
   Kano    Correct API version to match docs    abaaf93
   Kano    zero (most) API stats    4c2f26e
   Kano    BFL USB correct usb stats id    44ec755
   Kano    miner.php optional user/pass login restrictions    910764d
   Kano    miner.php user/pass fix 'usr' is readonly    aaddf5b
   Kano    diffexactone pool diff1 used for share value calculation is ffffffff.… …    6382b0c
   Kano    rename device_api -> device_drv and all related api -> drv and add a … …    fe508ba
   Kano    device_drv missing drv for cpu and incorrect test    774944c
   Kano    device_drv - allow .name to be changed before add_cgpu()    f9b0751
   Kano    increase device status string length    400dc17
   Kano    api.c pgaenable not re-enabling the device - plus related debug    8b078fc
   Kano    API zero - zero statistics - all or bestshare - with optional on scre… …    8d59ab5
   Kano    BFL minimise first initialisation failure delay since it is common    72253d2
   Kano    2.10.4f


English version of the most notable of the above:
New BFL USB driver that only uses libusb (and autodetects all BFLs)
miner.php optional password security
Best Share also recorded per pool and available from the API
API pgaenable fix (didn't work for multiple devices)
API zero statistics

My git contains the updated API-README, FPGA-README and README
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer

Now some important information about the BFL USB driver.
On linux, if you wish to switch back to the old verison, you'll need to reboot your rig.
On windows (as described in FPGA-README) you'll need to update your windows USB driver
I've tested it on linux and windows with a BFL FPGA Single and also on linux had someone test with a BFL FPGA MiniRig
The 2nd MiniRig run worked fine, the first 1st didn't find all the devices but there was no debug running at the time.
I've asked Josh for access to a MiniRig for at least a few hours to track this down, but not got that access yet.
If it doesn't see all your MiniRig boards, a debug log would be much appreciated (and rerunning cgminer may then find them all)


To get the binary simply:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/cgminer-2.10.4f
chmod +x cgminer-2.10.4f
md5sum cgminer-2.10.4f

0ecc59cd7cfbc4a5a56031b8123edf65  cgminer-2.10.4f

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'
(however, as I mentioned above, there are new *README files in my git)

No problems so far on my GPU, 'BFL+MMQ+2xICA'

Since I'm no longer GPU mining, I just run it for a while on my single 6950 to see what happens

BFL+MMQ+ICAs (2.4GH/s) on OzCoin Stratum with fixed 8 diff

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
January 10, 2013, 08:26:26 AM
 #8669

Kano,
When mining with icarus + Stratum and diff> 1 following happens to stats

Utility is lowed by difficulty. What i mean is that when diff equals to one (getwork) utility shows 6.4. When Diff is equal to 8 (staratum) Utility shows 0.8. Same happens to HW erros i got about 16% of HW errors when mining with diff 8. Usually when i mine with get work they are about 2%.
I know that there is some kind of stats for shares below difficulty and proper calculations can be made. Can some sort of patch to be applied, so that cgminer counts U and HW errors  for every valid share like it was diff=1 (even share was below the target. And every share to be calculated with diff 1 when speaking of the stats) when mining with startum. Having this we will be able to see our stats like we used to when minig with diff=1 .
It is good to have because lancelot stats are messed up and all uf us are using U to measure the performance. Probably other FPGA folks can benefit from it also

As stated here in log term there will be almost zero variation in stats both ways

The problem is that we can apply some math and calculate proper U and HW errors but diff is not constant when using stratum. For instance i am mining 70% of the time with diff 8 but sometimes it drops to 4 and so on. Actually i do not know  how many shares at what diff i have submited to the pool so that i can hack miner.php to show stats like i like
What about it?

Or if you can provide some sorts of formula how to calculate utility (based on api stats) for all valid shares (Difficulty accepted and the ones below target + time since cgminer is up) will be great
10X

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 10, 2013, 09:57:09 AM
 #8670

From the screen
U: is shares per minute, independent of their difficulty.

WU: is diff1 work done per minute. but includes all work done (even if it was stale or rejected)

HW: is currently reported at diff1 (since all current devices work at diff1)
- once cgminer supports hardware that effectively reports errors at higher than 1 difficulty, I'll add a "Difficulty Hardware Errors" to the API

From the API
The summary "Difficulty Accepted" is the equivalent amount of diff1 shares the pools have accepted.
The screen doesn't show that.
"Accepted" is just the share count ignoring difficulty.
There is of course also "Difficulty Rejected" and "Difficulty Stale" (and "Rejected" and "Stale")
In the API WU: is "Work Utility"

Anyway
To get the HW % it is currently: "Hardware Errors" / ("Hardware Errors" + "Difficulty Accepted" + "Difficulty Rejected" + "Difficulty Stale")
To get DU ("Diff1 Utility"): 60 * "Difficulty Accepted" / "Elapsed"

miner.php
I recently added more complex SQL style grouping to miner.php custompages
The next thing (probably be a while before I do it) will be to add calculations to create new fields in custompages
So then you could create a custom page with a summary field called HW% what was:
 100 * "Hardware Errors" / ("Hardware Errors" + "Difficulty Accepted" + "Difficulty Rejected" + "Difficulty Stale")
Might be a while before I do it

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
January 10, 2013, 03:55:55 PM
 #8671

Thank you Kano!
I will find my way to hack around miner.php:)

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
FreshJR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65



View Profile
January 14, 2013, 07:48:48 PM
 #8672

Sometimes my GPU crashes, and CGminer will either say DEAD, or be stuck on my last hash rate.

Is there anyway we can get a hypervisor type of program, where if CGminer stops updating its hash rate, or if it says DEAD, CGminer could be automatically closed and restarted?

It doesn't even have to monitor CGminer, if my GPU temp falls below  60*C, thats reason enough to restart CGMiner.
amigaman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 12:55:40 PM
 #8673

@FreshJr:
I had a similar problem.
My simple solution was to add a planned task in windows, executed 1h after the automatic winupdate, having the shutdown command.
So my machine updates every night, then reboots.
Since then (almost 8 weeks now) no problems with hanging CGM for more than a few hours, without any touching of the machines.
I had a hang sometimes, needed to plug monitor and keyboard, try to restart, notice restarting CGM did nothing (maybe opencl hung), restart the machine.
On weekends i often had one (problematic) machine often stop shortly after i was on holiday, missed almost 2 1/2 days of work.
Now, the h, and no intervention needed.

The place where my machines (4x 2x7970) work has a unstable DSL, it sometimes reconnects 12 times a day, sometimes only 1.
I have 4 pools in failsafe mode, 98% of all shares go to pool 1, but sometimes even pool 4 gets some shares (0,25 BTC since Dec. 1  Grin)
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
January 18, 2013, 05:57:11 PM
 #8674

With multiple modminers, I can't view all of my devices on cgminer as it shows each fpga on a line.  This causes to many lines and I can't see every device.  Are you able to consolidate it back to where each board has a line. 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 18, 2013, 10:31:04 PM
 #8675

With multiple modminers, I can't view all of my devices on cgminer as it shows each fpga on a line.  This causes to many lines and I can't see every device.  Are you able to consolidate it back to where each board has a line.  
No, because the original consolidated code meant that the (almost) independent boards were not independent and were not storing independent data for each board and some commands and failures would affect all 4 boards unnecessarily and independent data details were being consolidated (and the independence lost).

It's best to think of an MMQ as 4 Ztex boards.
However, the only thing shared is the USB MCU, which is resolved (shared) by locked access to it.
Or even like a BFL MiniRig - again, one physical device, but multiple independent devices in cgminer, with locked (shared) access to the USB

When I rewrote the MMQ code, I made them 4 independent devices with only one common thing, shared, locked access to the USB MCU.

If you have too many devices on the screen there are 3 things to try:
1) make your terminal windows bigger
2) use --compact
3) use the RPC API to view the full details of all devices (e.g. with miner.php or other such API interfaces)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2013, 07:25:27 PM
 #8676

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer.
Why do you prefer cgminer?
I have been using it since I started mining.
I don't follow; why is that a reason to prefer it? If there is something cgminer does that BFGMiner doesn't, that you find value in, I'd prefer to add it to BFGMiner.
does bfgminer actually restart dead gpus?

and i hate having to edit cfg files to fix fan speeds, what is up with the 85 max

anyway, he's always used cgminer, that's why he prefers it.  i used phoenix with phoenix rising until about 2 weeks ago

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
January 19, 2013, 07:48:54 PM
 #8677

does bfgminer actually restart dead gpus?
I presume so. I've never seen a dead GPU that doesn't also crash the entire system, so I'm not really sure how to test this to make sure it still works.

and i hate having to edit cfg files to fix fan speeds, what is up with the 85 max
Can you elaborate?

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2013, 08:15:42 PM
 #8678

does bfgminer actually restart dead gpus?
I presume so. I've never seen a dead GPU that doesn't also crash the entire system, so I'm not really sure how to test this to make sure it still works.

and i hate having to edit cfg files to fix fan speeds, what is up with the 85 max
Can you elaborate?

Any changes vs cgminer in regard to restarting GPUs?  I would say only about 1% of the time my computer also crashes on a GPU failure.  That seems to occur w/ heat issues.  I've had Windows blue screen and say something about how it was shutting down for the 'safety' of my system.  Most of the time they just blink the screen and reset.  cgminer says they're dead and it can't restart them, but it takes me about 5 seconds to press q and reload cgminer and the card starts fine.

As for the fan thing, I know that's a setting you can change in the program, I just haven't bothered.  It may be part of the 'powertune' thing.  I just opened the cfg file and changed the 0-85 to 0.

What I didn't expect was for it to put an 85% limit on my fans as part of a 'default' config.  It shouldn't mess with my clock, memory, or fan settings at all.  Just pool settings, intensity, etc.

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
January 19, 2013, 08:24:02 PM
 #8679

does bfgminer actually restart dead gpus?
I presume so. I've never seen a dead GPU that doesn't also crash the entire system, so I'm not really sure how to test this to make sure it still works.

and i hate having to edit cfg files to fix fan speeds, what is up with the 85 max
Can you elaborate?

Any changes vs cgminer in regard to restarting GPUs?  I would say only about 1% of the time my computer also crashes on a GPU failure.  That seems to occur w/ heat issues.  I've had Windows blue screen and say something about how it was shutting down for the 'safety' of my system.  Most of the time they just blink the screen and reset.  cgminer says they're dead and it can't restart them, but it takes me about 5 seconds to press q and reload cgminer and the card starts fine.

As for the fan thing, I know that's a setting you can change in the program, I just haven't bothered.  It may be part of the 'powertune' thing.  I just opened the cfg file and changed the 0-85 to 0.

What I didn't expect was for it to put an 85% limit on my fans as part of a 'default' config.  It shouldn't mess with my clock, memory, or fan settings at all.  Just pool settings, intensity, etc.
Yes, the whole "restart dead GPUs" code has been abstracted in BFGMiner so it works for other devices (eg FPGAs) as well. If there is a problem, I'd love to make sure it gets fixed, or at least be aware of it.

If you don't use "auto-fan", BFGMiner shouldn't mess with them at all...?

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
January 19, 2013, 08:36:06 PM
 #8680

BFGminer questions go here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78192.0

This thread is for CGMiner.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: « 1 ... 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 [434] 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!