Bitcoin Forum
August 16, 2018, 11:06:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 [423] 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761110 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 451
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 01:25:36 AM
 #8441

could it be a stratum issue?
1534417576
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534417576

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534417576
Reply with quote  #2

1534417576
Report to moderator
1534417576
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534417576

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534417576
Reply with quote  #2

1534417576
Report to moderator
1534417576
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534417576

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534417576
Reply with quote  #2

1534417576
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534417576
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534417576

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534417576
Reply with quote  #2

1534417576
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 01:33:50 AM
 #8442

could it be a stratum issue?

Well it is 12/12/12.  Maybe the end of the world is at hand Smiley

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 571
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 01:56:43 AM
 #8443

I've uploaded some fresh debug builds for windows here for those who want to try and help me get debug information:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

These builds have optimisations disabled to hopefully try and get meaningful debug information out of them. It's annoying how hard windows builds are to debug...

Oh and the libcurl dll included in the 2.10.0 archive is already one with the fix from 2.9.7 (even though it's a different size) so there's no point trying a different dll if you are getting crashes.

Nice! I should have been doing this the whole time. I am running it like this now and will let you know if it crashes again. So far it's been going 6 hours and no problems yet.

Yeah, 2.9.7 crashed on me as well this morning.  I don't know why, just got a nice Windows error and close program.  Trying 2.10.0 now.


Was that 2.9.7 or 2.9.7-1?

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 03:43:30 AM
 #8444

I have a bunch of modminers running on ubuntu and on the new version 2.10.0 the display is showing each fpga individually and I can't see all of them.  Also the accept share display isn't showing due to the fact that there is to many devices.  Is there anyway to fix this.  Thanks.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2012, 03:46:29 AM
 #8445

I have a bunch of modminers running on ubuntu and on the new version 2.10.0 the display is showing each fpga individually and I can't see all of them.  Also the accept share display isn't showing due to the fact that there is to many devices.  Is there anyway to fix this.  Thanks.

compact mode, or use more remote monitoring with something like miner.php

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 03:50:18 AM
 #8446

I have a bunch of modminers running on ubuntu and on the new version 2.10.0 the display is showing each fpga individually and I can't see all of them.  Also the accept share display isn't showing due to the fact that there is to many devices.  Is there anyway to fix this.  Thanks.

compact mode, or use more remote monitoring with something like miner.php

How do you run compact mode?  I never had to use this option before. 
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 13, 2012, 04:11:18 AM
 #8447

I'm saw the same thing today, simultaneous crash on all rigs upon Stratum detection of a new block.

Thought it was Windo'hs Update at first, but that's disabled on rigs that still crashed.

Putting half the farm on 2.9.6 and half on 2.9.7-1 until it's sorted.

Yeah I noticed the same.  All of mine crashed at the same time upon detection of a new block.

BTW, thanks ckolivas for the debugger.  I'll be sure to give that a go in case any of my rigs crash again.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2012, 04:19:10 AM
 #8448

I have a bunch of modminers running on ubuntu and on the new version 2.10.0 the display is showing each fpga individually and I can't see all of them.  Also the accept share display isn't showing due to the fact that there is to many devices.  Is there anyway to fix this.  Thanks.

compact mode, or use more remote monitoring with something like miner.php

How do you run compact mode?  I never had to use this option before. 
From the command line:
--compact           Use compact display without per device statistics

Or from the menu while it's running, press D for display and you'll see it there.
It does get rid of all the device stats tho.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2012, 04:20:04 AM
 #8449

I'm saw the same thing today, simultaneous crash on all rigs upon Stratum detection of a new block.

Thought it was Windo'hs Update at first, but that's disabled on rigs that still crashed.

Putting half the farm on 2.9.6 and half on 2.9.7-1 until it's sorted.

Yeah I noticed the same.  All of mine crashed at the same time upon detection of a new block.

BTW, thanks ckolivas for the debugger.  I'll be sure to give that a go in case any of my rigs crash again.
Sure. Unfortunately 9 times out of 10 I don't get useful information from windows crashes even with the debug version  Undecided
* ckolivas keeps wishing people would stop using the windows version knowing he may as well wish the sky weren't blue.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 04:27:46 AM
 #8450


* ckolivas keeps wishing people would stop using the windows version knowing he may as well wish the sky weren't blue.

And I have wished for years they were banned from connecting to the internet...
Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 571
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 04:35:16 AM
 #8451

* ckolivas keeps wishing people would stop using the windows version knowing he may as well wish the sky weren't blue.

haha, SOON! once ASICs hit I will be attempting to use my raspberry pi. Death to windows then  Grin

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
dietwice
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 09:13:12 AM
 #8452

I like the debug version of cgminer aimed to collect some info on crash.
It doesn't crash Smiley

Donations appreciated at 1DZ6PVjnV8zRdvtgKSqzpAYhifxP1XKhwM
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2012, 09:28:02 AM
 #8453

I like the debug version of cgminer aimed to collect some info on crash.
It doesn't crash Smiley
There's an interesting thought, and it's not the first time this has been encountered - it could well be the optimised build that leads to crashes only.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10



View Profile
December 13, 2012, 09:45:31 AM
 #8454

Thanks for all this effort to find out ....

anyway, as GPU mining is not profitable anymore, I'm using my rig to heat my office room with "zero profit mining" ...... until summer ... then it will be time to shut off this nice hobby... until coin price jumps.

pyra-proxy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 13, 2012, 10:04:04 AM
 #8455

As a windows (BFL) miner and the issues described I'm curious as to the difficulty to set up the following configuration....

Win OS running Virtual Box which runs a Linux OS, running CGminer?

Thoughts? Easy to configure COM ports etc.? Performance Concerns?

I might give it a go in any case but it could be a "work around" of sorts for windows based miners for the time being?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 10:33:37 AM
 #8456

BFL is the next one (MMQ already done) I'm going to switch over to USB (i.e. not Serial-USB) so COM ports won't mean anything
The Serial-USB sux (especially on windows) and obviously I need that to perform very well if people are going to be plugging ASIC devices into their computers ...
so BFL is next ...

From a VM point of view - that will add more latency and I've no idea what problems that might cause.
I guess we just gotta find this bug Tongue Sooner or later.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 976
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 13, 2012, 10:41:51 AM
 #8457

Just go linux only
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 11:14:17 AM
 #8458


* ckolivas keeps wishing people would stop using the windows version knowing he may as well wish the sky weren't blue.

And I have wished for years they were banned from connecting to the internet...

Windoze certainly is NOT my OS of choice.  But that is where the world is and I am forced to use and know it.  Sorry you have to share the pain.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 13, 2012, 11:32:46 AM
 #8459


* ckolivas keeps wishing people would stop using the windows version knowing he may as well wish the sky weren't blue.

And I have wished for years they were banned from connecting to the internet...

Windoze certainly is NOT my OS of choice.  But that is where the world is and I am forced to use and know it.  Sorry you have to share the pain.


I would argue that if it wasn't for windows, the internet would still be the way it was in the early 90s:  A fad that only geeks use.  Windows has its problems ... but its biggest one is most of the users are technologically clueless.  Linux's biggest problem is how difficult it is to use.

M


I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 13, 2012, 12:23:32 PM
 #8460

I would argue that if it wasn't for windows, the internet would still be the way it was in the early 90s:  A fad that only geeks use.
So... much better than it is now? Cheesy
Windows has its problems ... but its biggest one is most of the users are technologically clueless.  Linux's biggest problem is how difficult it is to use.
KDE is easier to use than Windows, at least. The problem is really the "hehe I know the control panel, so I'm not clueless!" type.

Pages: « 1 ... 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 [423] 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!