Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:51:53 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 [440] 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818100 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 09, 2013, 10:54:35 PM
 #8781

ty ck for ec9b32aac0404b51fb969f753078cea525c8aafe Smiley
was already worried u did miss my post.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
1480942313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942313
Reply with quote  #2

1480942313
Report to moderator
1480942313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942313
Reply with quote  #2

1480942313
Report to moderator
1480942313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942313
Reply with quote  #2

1480942313
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942313
Reply with quote  #2

1480942313
Report to moderator
1480942313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942313
Reply with quote  #2

1480942313
Report to moderator
1480942313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942313
Reply with quote  #2

1480942313
Report to moderator
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 09, 2013, 11:19:10 PM
 #8782

just found out the scrypt cgminer crash, if compiled with -O2 the optimations lets it segfault, with -g it works fine.
gonna send u the core + binary per PN.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2013, 12:58:49 AM
 #8783

just found out the scrypt cgminer crash, if compiled with -O2 the optimations lets it segfault, with -g it works fine.
gonna send u the core + binary per PN.
Can't debug something unless it's with -g as well. -g shouldn't change the risk of crashing, but going from no optimisations to -O2 might.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
February 10, 2013, 01:54:52 AM
 #8784

just found out the scrypt cgminer crash, if compiled with -O2 the optimations lets it segfault, with -g it works fine.
gonna send u the core + binary per PN.
Can't debug something unless it's with -g as well. -g shouldn't change the risk of crashing, but going from no optimisations to -O2 might.
sry, forgot to add the -g Wink

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
HolyScott
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2013, 03:05:57 AM
 #8785

Any chance of a Windows x64 build?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2013, 03:32:33 AM
 #8786

Any chance of a Windows x64 build?
What for? It provides precisely zero performance benefit and just uses more memory.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
February 10, 2013, 04:25:12 AM
 #8787

Any chance of a Windows x64 build?
What for? It provides precisely zero performance benefit and just uses more memory.
But...but...LJR makes one!  Roll Eyes

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
February 10, 2013, 06:24:59 AM
 #8788

Any chance of a Windows x64 build?
What for? It provides precisely zero performance benefit and just uses more memory.
But...but...LJR makes one!  Roll Eyes

64 is a higher number than 32, so it must be better right?

/sarcasm

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2013, 07:24:55 AM
 #8789

I understand the generic desire for 64 bit builds, but this is one application that does not in any way benefit from the 64 bit builds and it just adds yet another step to making releases, and there is no reason for it. A lot of the windows world is still 32 bit so 32bit binaries work everywhere. Hardly any of the linux world is 32 bit so 32bit binaries are the opposite there (and building it on linux is trivial anyway).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2013, 09:38:39 AM
 #8790

just found out the scrypt cgminer crash, if compiled with -O2 the optimations lets it segfault, with -g it works fine.
gonna send u the core + binary per PN.
Can't debug something unless it's with -g as well. -g shouldn't change the risk of crashing, but going from no optimisations to -O2 might.
sry, forgot to add the -g Wink
Thanks to K1773R I was able to debug this crash. What's more interesting is this was also responsible for scrypt not being able to set thread concurrencies higher than 9999 on cgminer. So there is a fix for this bug in git now, and I have also confirmed I can now set thread concurrencies as high as 12288 on my 7970s... though it did not improve their hashrate at all. However at least it solves that mystery.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 10, 2013, 12:50:00 PM
 #8791

...

Hi kano,

there are two BFL but they're managed by a different instance of cgminer.

anyway, here it is a screenshot after half a minute since restart with 2.10.5

Code:
cgminer version 2.10.5 - Started: [2013-02-08 12:36:49]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):1.120E (avg):801.4Ph/s | Q:482  A:0  R:0  HW:99  E:0%  U:0.0/m
 ST: 0  SS: 0  DW: 1  NB: 1  LW: 2  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 96.9
 Connected to rpc.hhtt.1209k.com diff 128 with LP as user 1..._128
 Block: 00d9ec7e48042357...  Diff:3.27M  Started: [12:36:49]  Best share: 87
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 ICA  0:                | 268.3M/172.2Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:7 U:0.00/m
 ICA  1:                | 299.8M/161.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:7 U:0.00/m
 ICA  2:                | 236.2M/210.2Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:1 U:0.00/m
 ICA  3:                | 251.4M/237.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:2 U:0.00/m
 ICA  4:                | 381.7M/253.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:1 U:0.00/m
 ICA  5:                | 996.4P/400.7Ph/s | A:0 R:0 HW:6 U:0.00/m
 ICA  6:                | 159.7M/155.6Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:8 U:0.00/m
 ICA  7:                | 250.0M/232.5Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 U:0.00/m
 ICA  8:                | 378.7M/321.8Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:3 U:0.00/m
 ICA  9:                | 195.2P/133.6Ph/s | A:0 R:0 HW:7 U:0.00/m
 ICA 10:                | 260.4M/156.2Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:7 U:0.00/m
 ICA 11:                | 711.7M/439.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:3 U:0.00/m
 ICA 12:                | 284.5M/182.0Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:6 U:0.00/m
 ICA 13:                | 1.684E/534.3Ph/s | A:0 R:0 HW:6 U:0.00/m
 ICA 14:                | 278.5M/241.1Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:1 U:0.00/m
 ICA 15:                | 273.2M/174.7Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 U:0.00/m
 ICA 16:                | 330.7M/253.1Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:3 U:0.00/m
 ICA 17:                | 890.1M/457.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:3 U:0.00/m
 ICA 18:                | 150.4M/170.3Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:6 U:0.00/m
 ICA 19:                | 554.0M/319.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:5 U:0.00/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-02-08 12:38:54] ICA11: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:38:55] ICA1: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:38:56] ICA15: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:38:57] Icarus 2 Re-estimate: Hs=7.223040e-10 W=6.352486e-01 read_count=36 fullnonce=3.738s
 [2013-02-08 12:38:58] ICA7: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:01] ICA19: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:02] ICA3: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:02] Icarus 3 Re-estimate: Hs=-6.210501e-10 W=2.930369e+00 read_count=1 fullnonce=0.263s
 [2013-02-08 12:39:02] ICA12: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:04] ICA13: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:04] ICA7: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:05] ICA16: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:06] ICA10: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:07] ICA15: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:10] ICA10: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-02-08 12:39:11] ICA8: invalid nonce - HW error


See ICA 5/9/13 for example.

Thanks.

spiccioli
Ok clearly something is going wrong since the hash speed estimate is negative.
(Hs=-6.210501e-10) Travelling back in time Smiley
I've tried it on my Icarus and of course not had the problem ... I've only got 2 Icarus so it probably needs more hardware to see it happen.

Most likely it's that your computer isn't handling hashing that many devices stably ... or it's busy doing other stuff at the same time.
The timing code does depend on reasonably reliable code CPU performance (as it says in the FPGA-README), since it is using the performance to estimate the hash rate.

How the code works is that it uses the hash answers to estimate a line of best fit (using least squares) to determine a reasonable estimate of the hashing speed.
Bad hash values can skew the line badly and cause invalid results if the number of sample points is small (which it is early on)
Oddly enough you probably will find it is still getting a reasonable U: value for the ones with the weird MH/s values.
If it is using read_count=1 (the minimum) it just means it is aborting work really early and thus doing about 100x the work generation work to get the same results.
Of course that is not at all desirable and will reduce the performance of that device, but it will still hash away anyway.

There's a simple fix (well it should fix it) that will give you very close to maximum hashing performance but the MH/s shown on the screen will most likely be incorrect.
The fix is to simply use --icarus-timing Hns:Timeout with values that you know are below the fastest card, but close to the limit (which is what the timing code estimates)
The second value in Icarus timing is how long (in 1/10ths of a second) to let the cards hash for before interrupting it with new work.
The first one is an estimate of how long it takes to do a single hash, so it can estimate how many hashes it did when it aborts any work, to determine the MH/s value.
Even Timeout estimates under by 4 or 5 times will still get you close to the best U: value.
If the value is close to the time it takes to complete a nonce range then it will maximise it's performance.
If it is a little below that, it still will be very close to maximum performance anyway.
If you are certain that none of your devices hash faster than 500Mh/s you can manually calculate values to use.

So assuming 500Mh/s is the fastest, it means it will complete a nonce range in 8.59 seconds.
We can take a guess of: an average performance of all the cards of around 250MH/s ? So that means each hash takes on average 4ns
So using --icarus-timing 4.0=84 should be OK based on those estimates.
The value 84 should always be OK - no need to adjust it at all unless you really are hashing at faster than 500MH/s on any board; and the slower boards, that number is OK also - even down to 100Mh/s it really doesn't matter too much.
The value 4.0ns will mean that the MH/s hash rate shown will get nudged towards 250MH/s every time it fails to find a nonce before 8.4s (or an LP happens) Thus for any cards doing 250MH/s it will show that correctly, for any others it will nudge them towards 250MH/s every so often, so will read low for the cards that hash above 250MH/s and high for the cards that hash below 250MH/s - however it will NOT affect the U: rate significantly.
Of course U: can take a few days to start to converge on the expected value ...

So without a LOT more information about the hashing speed and other details of your boards, using --icarus-timing 4.0=84 should be close to maximising your shares anyway.
You can of course set a different pair of values for each card if you want as such:
--icarus-timing 4.0=84,3.6=84,2.6=84,3=84
A normal Icarus board is 380Mh/s which is: --icarus-timing 2.6316=112 (the default settings inside the driver)
If you have more cards than you specify, it will use the last for each of the extra cards.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
February 10, 2013, 11:55:14 PM
 #8792

just found out the scrypt cgminer crash, if compiled with -O2 the optimations lets it segfault, with -g it works fine.
gonna send u the core + binary per PN.
Can't debug something unless it's with -g as well. -g shouldn't change the risk of crashing, but going from no optimisations to -O2 might.
sry, forgot to add the -g Wink
Thanks to K1773R I was able to debug this crash. What's more interesting is this was also responsible for scrypt not being able to set thread concurrencies higher than 9999 on cgminer. So there is a fix for this bug in git now, and I have also confirmed I can now set thread concurrencies as high as 12288 on my 7970s... though it did not improve their hashrate at all. However at least it solves that mystery.

Can you rebuild and re-release for win32?  After testing it I'll put it in the litecoin mining FAQ

Your card will only run faster with higher thread-concurrencies if you make corresponding changes in intensity; for 7970s you need thread-concurrency = 21000 or and then you can crank intensity up to 19 or 20 instead of 13.  You additionally need memory to be moving quickly, ratio of 0.66666 seems best to me (eg core 800 MHz, memory 1200 MHz).  7xxx GCN is weird about memory ratios and having the memory set too low reduces hash speed in a bizarre and inexplicable fashion, see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.msg1302319#msg1302319

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2013, 01:55:05 AM
 #8793

Thanks to K1773R I was able to debug this crash. What's more interesting is this was also responsible for scrypt not being able to set thread concurrencies higher than 9999 on cgminer. So there is a fix for this bug in git now, and I have also confirmed I can now set thread concurrencies as high as 12288 on my 7970s... though it did not improve their hashrate at all. However at least it solves that mystery.

Can you rebuild and re-release for win32?  After testing it I'll put it in the litecoin mining FAQ

Your card will only run faster with higher thread-concurrencies if you make corresponding changes in intensity; for 7970s you need thread-concurrency = 21000 or and then you can crank intensity up to 19 or 20 instead of 13.  You additionally need memory to be moving quickly, ratio of 0.66666 seems best to me (eg core 800 MHz, memory 1200 MHz).  7xxx GCN is weird about memory ratios and having the memory set too low reduces hash speed in a bizarre and inexplicable fashion, see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.msg1302319#msg1302319
It's not enough to warrant a new release but here is a 2.10.5 win32 build with that one change:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

I'm well aware of the need for higher memory clocks but it makes no difference since I was already setting clock speeds high and getting 575kh.

I am unable to go beyond 12288 without the padbuffer being completely broken, and ignoring the return message that it fails to set the padbuffer just generates garbage if I disable it (which I haven't in this binary). Could have something to do with me having 4 GPUs in that rig as well, but I'm not taking it down from mining BTC to work on scrypt. This was a coincidental finding and I have admitted many times I don't understand how opencl scrypt really works and am not inclined to study it any further.

Intensities over 13 continue to generate garbage instead of more hashes. YMMV.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
February 11, 2013, 03:36:10 AM
 #8794

Nope, still doesn't work for me for really large thread-concurrency values.  It gives an error that the maximum size for a buffer is 2^29 still.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2013, 03:39:30 AM
 #8795

Nope, still doesn't work for me for really large thread-concurrency values.  It gives an error that the maximum size for a buffer is 2^29 still.
Like I said, I didn't take that part out. Your card reports it wont take it, the function returns an error and then just generates even more crap than usual.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
February 11, 2013, 08:54:27 PM
 #8796


Ok clearly something is going wrong since the hash speed estimate is negative.
(Hs=-6.210501e-10) Travelling back in time Smiley
I've tried it on my Icarus and of course not had the problem ... I've only got 2 Icarus so it probably needs more hardware to see it happen.

Most likely it's that your computer isn't handling hashing that many devices stably ... or it's busy doing other stuff at the same time.
The timing code does depend on reasonably reliable code CPU performance (as it says in the FPGA-README), since it is using the performance to estimate the hash rate.


My computer is sitting mostly idle, it is a headless low cpu unit, this is true, being a HP 5530 thin client, but cgminer 2.9.7 hasn't this problem on the same hardware with the same number of CM1 boards.

It is something that has changed since 2.10.4, so, for the time being I'll keep using 2.9.7.

Thanks for the explanation on the way it works.

spiccioli
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1744


View Profile
February 13, 2013, 07:48:42 PM
 #8797

why do I have only max. 48.5 K cgminer with --scrypt option on a 5870?

Code:
cgminer version 2.10.5 - Started: [2013-02-13 16:45:46]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):61.56K (avg):43.25Kh/s | Q:158  A:13  R:0  HW:0  E:8%  U:0.8/m
 ST: 9  SS: 0  DW: 42  NB: 5  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to coinotron.com diff 48 with LP as user xxx
 Block: 7c340708660d1ac0...  Diff:484K  Started: [17:01:38]  Best share: 330
...
 GPU 0:  66.5C 1754RPM | 12.55K/11.33Kh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U:0.07/m I: 7
 GPU 1:  57.5C  25%    | 48.53K/28.00Kh/s | A:9 R:0 HW:0 U:0.65/m I: 9
TIA
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
February 13, 2013, 09:23:57 PM
 #8798

why do I have only max. 48.5 K cgminer with --scrypt option on a 5870?

Code:
cgminer version 2.10.5 - Started: [2013-02-13 16:45:46]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):61.56K (avg):43.25Kh/s | Q:158  A:13  R:0  HW:0  E:8%  U:0.8/m
 ST: 9  SS: 0  DW: 42  NB: 5  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to coinotron.com diff 48 with LP as user xxx
 Block: 7c340708660d1ac0...  Diff:484K  Started: [17:01:38]  Best share: 330
...
 GPU 0:  66.5C 1754RPM | 12.55K/11.33Kh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U:0.07/m I: 7
 GPU 1:  57.5C  25%    | 48.53K/28.00Kh/s | A:9 R:0 HW:0 U:0.65/m I: 9
TIA

Although your post lacks info, I'm also having performance issues with a 5870 on the latest build of CGMiner doing Scrypt, so perhaps our symptoms are related.

I built latest from git this morning on CentOS 6.3 with the latest 13.1 drivers from AMD as well as the APP SDK 2.8, so it's all up to date. The command line I'm using is:

Code:
./cgminer --scrypt -o http://pool:9332 -u username -p password --worksize 256 --shaders 1600 --intensity 11 -g 1

I'm currently only geting about 150Khash/sec on this card and unable to push past intensity 11 without getting GPU errors such as:
                 
Code:
[2013-02-13 08:44:46] GPU 1 found something?                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:46] OCL NONCE 3247859 found in slot 0                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:46] Scrypt error, review settings                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:47] GPU 1 found something?                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:47] OCL NONCE 3608809 found in slot 0                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:47] Scrypt error, review settings                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:48] GPU 1 found something?                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:48] OCL NONCE 3788290 found in slot 0                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:48] Scrypt error, review settings                   
 [2013-02-13 08:44:48] GPU 1 found something?           

Using the same card with CGMiner in Windows I'm able to get 300Khash/sec no problem with a higher intensity (19) and no hardware errors.

Curious if anyone else is having this issue! Thanks in advance! Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 10:14:41 PM
 #8799

I built latest from git this morning on CentOS 6.3 with the latest 13.1 drivers from AMD as well as the APP SDK 2.8, so it's all up to date.
13.1 is fucked.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
February 13, 2013, 11:19:04 PM
 #8800

I built latest from git this morning on CentOS 6.3 with the latest 13.1 drivers from AMD as well as the APP SDK 2.8, so it's all up to date.
13.1 is fucked.

Would it be possible to update the first post with the optimal driver/sdk config for CGMiner? Not knowing this, I just defaulted to latest Wink
Pages: « 1 ... 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 [440] 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!