Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2018, 12:33:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 [441] 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5757020 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 986
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
February 19, 2013, 09:47:28 AM
 #8801

Thats great news!
I am glad the resume function is being added (actually that it even got added to the spcification). That will help alleviate the last few shares that seem to go unpaid execpt for a lost in transmission packet.
Thank You for all your hard work!

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532349192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532349192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532349192
Reply with quote  #2

1532349192
Report to moderator
1532349192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532349192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532349192
Reply with quote  #2

1532349192
Report to moderator
zefir
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 919
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:00:47 AM
 #8802

You're welcome.

The issue is some disconnects are impossible to detect, apart from noticing the pool has gone silent for an extended time. During that sort of outage, cgminer continues mining until it times out, not getting a response. The timeout needs to be long enough to be sure the pool is no longer sending info, and not too long to waste ages mining. So yes, it keeps mining. Anyway hopefully this should be better since the next version will include support for the new mining.resume function. This is already built into the git version, but only rEligius currently supports it. Hopefully other pools will follow suit.

Maybe related: during recent ozco.in server reorganization I noticed that if your primary pool is a stratum one and it is down when cgminer starts, it just hangs there and does nothing (beside of searching for active pools).

cgminer used was commit 0b833131616 from three days ago.

Sorry if this has already been reported, didn't follow cgminer discussion since it is working rock-solid Wink

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2013, 08:33:57 PM
 #8803


Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected. Since I have 9 rigs I want to do this programatically. I am very knowledable of VB and linux, but am new to JSON/RPC. I would like to be able to send such a command via the network interface using RPC via VBA.net. From looking at the cgminer source RPC/JSON commands are accepted through the use of port 4028. What would be the simpliest way to send an RPC packet from VBA.net to switch to pool 2 and viceversa switch to pool 0.

Any help would be appreciated. I have exhausted the third party addons for JSON serialization and RPC protocal and have not come accross a viable solution.

Thanks,
Mark 
 


Mark,
 There are php tools out there.. kanos miner.php i think does it. and i use my own that shows aggregated fans speeds and other stuff>

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=58834.0

I haven't updated it in a long time,  my current version is only different as it shows highest share and blocks found fields.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 19, 2013, 09:06:27 PM
 #8804


Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected. Since I have 9 rigs I want to do this programatically. I am very knowledable of VB and linux, but am new to JSON/RPC. I would like to be able to send such a command via the network interface using RPC via VBA.net. From looking at the cgminer source RPC/JSON commands are accepted through the use of port 4028. What would be the simpliest way to send an RPC packet from VBA.net to switch to pool 2 and viceversa switch to pool 0.

Any help would be appreciated. I have exhausted the third party addons for JSON serialization and RPC protocal and have not come accross a viable solution.

Thanks,
Mark 
 


Mark,
 There are php tools out there.. kanos miner.php i think does it. and i use my own that shows aggregated fans speeds and other stuff>

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=58834.0

I haven't updated it in a long time,  my current version is only different as it shows highest share and blocks found fields.

It is not actually RPC, it is just a JSON formatted packet into a raw socket and a JSON packet read out.

I have an example of how to use the interface to change pools though, I use it in MinePeon ( http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ )
so users can change their mining pool from the WebUI.

You can either download MinePeon and grab the code for yourself or if you can wait I will post the code here in about 8 hours.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2013, 09:15:03 PM
 #8805

You're welcome.

The issue is some disconnects are impossible to detect, apart from noticing the pool has gone silent for an extended time. During that sort of outage, cgminer continues mining until it times out, not getting a response. The timeout needs to be long enough to be sure the pool is no longer sending info, and not too long to waste ages mining. So yes, it keeps mining. Anyway hopefully this should be better since the next version will include support for the new mining.resume function. This is already built into the git version, but only rEligius currently supports it. Hopefully other pools will follow suit.

Maybe related: during recent ozco.in server reorganization I noticed that if your primary pool is a stratum one and it is down when cgminer starts, it just hangs there and does nothing (beside of searching for active pools).

cgminer used was commit 0b833131616 from three days ago.

Sorry if this has already been reported, didn't follow cgminer discussion since it is working rock-solid Wink

I also found this to be the case, I too am mining with ozcoin ATM. Wasn't sure if it was due to the server or my miner though.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2013, 08:44:33 AM
 #8806

Here are some photos from Kanoi on his trip to BFL to inspect their ASIC progress. He returns this weekend, and the chips have not yet arrived to be assembled, as they're still in the bumping facility - BFL couldn't manage to make the bumping facility work any faster, but they're poised and ready to assemble when they do.

http://198.245.60.111/Pix/

Meanwhile myself and him have made some progress generically on preparing for ASIC support in cgminer, but the real driver won't be written until there's some hardware to actually test it on.

If anyone's in Australia and interested in buying the 7970s used by me in developing cgminer, now's your chance to buy one Smiley

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SAPPHIRE-HD-7970-3GB-GDDR5-/321074334615

Ironically I've made some tiny improvements to the OpenCL kernel and will be squeezing a few tiny drops more out of them in the next cgminer release. I feel it's my last chance to do anything with OpenCL and bitcoin mining and I'm gonna miss it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iCEBREAKER
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1043


Crypto is the separation of Power and State.


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2013, 06:52:31 PM
 #8807

Ironically I've made some tiny improvements to the OpenCL kernel and will be squeezing a few tiny drops more out of them in the next cgminer release. I feel it's my last chance to do anything with OpenCL and bitcoin mining and I'm gonna miss it.

Don't worry Con, you'll still have scrypt to optimize.    Cheesy

Thanks in advance for the tiny extra drops!  They'll add up when BTC reaches parity with gold.


██████████
█████████████████
██████████████████████
█████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
████
████████████████████████
█████
███████████████████████████
█████
███████████████████████████
██████
████████████████████████████
██████
████████████████████████████
██████
████████████████████████████
██████
███████████████████████████
██████
██████████████████████████
█████
███████████████████████████
█████████████
██████████████
████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████
█████████████████
██████████

Monero
"The difference between bad and well-developed digital cash will determine
whether we have a dictatorship or a real democracy." 
David Chaum 1996
"Fungibility provides privacy as a side effect."  Adam Back 2014
Buy and sell XMR near you
P2P Exchange Network
Buy XMR with fiat
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2013, 12:55:58 AM
 #8808

Ironically I've made some tiny improvements to the OpenCL kernel and will be squeezing a few tiny drops more out of them in the next cgminer release. I feel it's my last chance to do anything with OpenCL and bitcoin mining and I'm gonna miss it.

Don't worry Con, you'll still have scrypt to optimize.    Cheesy

Thanks in advance for the tiny extra drops!  They'll add up when BTC reaches parity with gold.
You say that to mock me don't you  Wink Scrypt is very low (read virtually non-existent) on my priority list.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2013, 08:01:18 AM
 #8809

There's not enough to warrant a new release, but if anyone's keen to try the new poclbm kernel you can download the latest version of the file directly here:
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/poclbm121016.cl

Remember to delete any .bin files. Seems to work best with SDK 2.7. Even my NVIDIA cards seem to prefer this kernel.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2013, 09:03:20 AM
 #8810

I recently experience a problem with cgminer, when it should recreate it's .bin files, e.g. phatk121016Cypressv4w128l4.bin

debug version of cgminer says:
Code:
cgminer_d.exe caused an Access Violation at location 0042e08c in module cgminer_d.exe Reading from location 04b4e41b.

Registers:
eax=04b4e417 ebx=01e79de0 ecx=ffb5c74d edx=00000008 esi=01e5fd58 edi=01e79f1f
eip=0042e08c esp=0028f4e0 ebp=0028f548 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010202

Call stack:
0042E08C  cgminer_d.exe:0042E08C
0043027F  cgminer_d.exe:0043027F
0042D020  cgminer_d.exe:0042D020
00416F8A  cgminer_d.exe:00416F8A
004010B9  cgminer_d.exe:004010B9  __mingw_CRTStartup  crt1.c:244

00401284  cgminer_d.exe:00401284  WinMainCRTStartup  crt1.c:274

750433AA  kernel32.dll:750433AA  BaseThreadInitThunk
77219EF2  ntdll.dll:77219EF2  RtlInitializeExceptionChain
77219EC5  ntdll.dll:77219EC5  RtlInitializeExceptionChain

Trying to compile the new poclbm121016.cl .bin file would then result with this error:
Code:
cgminer_d.exe caused an Access Violation at location 0042e08c in module cgminer_d.exe Reading from location 00aba637.

Registers:
eax=00aba633 ebx=0058a700 ecx=ffb5c44d edx=00000008 esi=0056fd40 edi=0058a83f
eip=0042e08c esp=0028f4e0 ebp=0028f548 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010202

Call stack:
0042E08C  cgminer_d.exe:0042E08C
0043027F  cgminer_d.exe:0043027F
0042D020  cgminer_d.exe:0042D020
00416F8A  cgminer_d.exe:00416F8A
004010B9  cgminer_d.exe:004010B9  __mingw_CRTStartup  crt1.c:244

00401284  cgminer_d.exe:00401284  WinMainCRTStartup  crt1.c:274

750433AA  kernel32.dll:750433AA  BaseThreadInitThunk
77219EF2  ntdll.dll:77219EF2  RtlInitializeExceptionChain
77219EC5  ntdll.dll:77219EC5  RtlInitializeExceptionChain
This looks completely unrelated to the code and suggests some driver +/- SDK fuckage. I suggest trying a different driver, if you can.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 21, 2013, 05:34:57 PM
 #8811

There's not enough to warrant a new release, but if anyone's keen to try the new poclbm kernel you can download the latest version of the file directly here:
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/poclbm121016.cl

Remember to delete any .bin files. Seems to work best with SDK 2.7. Even my NVIDIA cards seem to prefer this kernel.

I see no difference in speed for a rig with 5870+6990 cards (SDK 2.4).
But there is a notable difference for a rig with 7970 cards (SDK 2.6), from 2524Mh/s to 2543Mh/s.

Maybe you should keep one 7970 for a little while though?...I smell another scrypt bounty in the air...
Not necessarily a LTC fan, but like many GPU miners I'll resort to any option available to keep the rigs working on something.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2013, 09:42:38 PM
 #8812

There's not enough to warrant a new release, but if anyone's keen to try the new poclbm kernel you can download the latest version of the file directly here:
https://raw.github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/master/poclbm121016.cl

Remember to delete any .bin files. Seems to work best with SDK 2.7. Even my NVIDIA cards seem to prefer this kernel.

I see no difference in speed for a rig with 5870+6990 cards (SDK 2.4).
But there is a notable difference for a rig with 7970 cards (SDK 2.6), from 2524Mh/s to 2543Mh/s.

Maybe you should keep one 7970 for a little while though?...I smell another scrypt bounty in the air...
Not necessarily a LTC fan, but like many GPU miners I'll resort to any option available to keep the rigs working on something.
Yah well I did test the code on a 7970... however if you're on 5x or 6x with SDK2.4, it won't even be using this kernel so of course you won't see a difference. My poclbm kernel is optimised for sdk 2.6+ and cgminer usually chooses phatk for other cards on SDK 2.4. You'd have to install SDK 2.7 and manually select -k poclbm to try it on those other cards, and I really don't know how it will perform. I suspect the 6x will perform well, but the 5x are legendary for much preferring phatk with older SDKs.

EDIT: Oh and I've made some minor updates to the scrypt kernel too...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 11:29:22 AM
 #8813

Hello,
There might be potential Found block bug in cgminer 2.10.5. I had found about 5-10 blocks since i start mining.  With old versions of cgminer (getwork) I was always able to see Found Blocks count > 0 from the cgminer api. Recently i Found a block and my pools says that is me who found it. But cgminer shows 0 under Found blocks menu. My question is follows: When mining with stratum and diff > 1 let say 8, is there any chance cgminer not to report to pool that block is found. In general what happens when we found a block, and our share matches to diff 1 which does not meet pool requirement for diff 4 for instance? Is there any chance found block to be wasted and never reported to the pool?



Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2013, 12:10:48 PM
 #8814

Hello,
There might be potential Found block bug in cgminer 2.10.5. I had found about 5-10 blocks since i start mining.  With old versions of cgminer (getwork) I was always able to see Found Blocks count > 0 from the cgminer api. Recently i Found a block and my pools says that is me who found it. But cgminer shows 0 under Found blocks menu. My question is follows: When mining with stratum and diff > 1 let say 8, is there any chance cgminer not to report to pool that block is found. In general what happens when we found a block, and our share matches to diff 1 which does not meet pool requirement for diff 4 for instance? Is there any chance found block to be wasted and never reported to the pool?



No

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 12:25:01 PM
 #8815

Hello,
There might be potential Found block bug in cgminer 2.10.5. I had found about 5-10 blocks since i start mining.  With old versions of cgminer (getwork) I was always able to see Found Blocks count > 0 from the cgminer api. Recently i Found a block and my pools says that is me who found it. But cgminer shows 0 under Found blocks menu. My question is follows: When mining with stratum and diff > 1 let say 8, is there any chance cgminer not to report to pool that block is found. In general what happens when we found a block, and our share matches to diff 1 which does not meet pool requirement for diff 4 for instance? Is there any chance found block to be wasted and never reported to the pool?



No

10X!
But it is still misery for me why found blocks counts to zero when it should be 1?
For the record this share solved both NMC and BTC block:)

Anyway thank you for taking time to respond me Kon:)


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
streblo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 06:16:30 PM
 #8816

I switched mining hosts and now I'm having a bit of a problem with my BFL singles. Only 1 shows up in cgminer ("BFL 0"), although they all show up in lsusb (I am using USB hubs, but never in "series"). I'm on 32bit ubuntu and I just cloned cgminer 2.10.5
Code:
alan@alan-Vostro-1500:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 05a9:2640 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV2640 Webcam
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 413c:8126 Dell Computer Corp. Wireless 355 Bluetooth
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 015: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 007: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 008: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 009: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 010: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 011: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 012: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 013: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Thank you for any help with my noobish question!

EDIT: I ran 'sudo cgminer -c /usr/local/etc/cgminer.conf', (sudo to get around dialout privledgess). I will try it with -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 etc when I get home from work.
EDIT2: Including each device explicitly worked. Thanks for the help! cgminer -c /usr/local/etc/cgminer.conf -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 -S /dev/ttyUSB3 -S /dev/ttyUSB4 -S /dev/ttyUSB5 -S /dev/ttyUSB6 -S /dev/ttyUSB7 -S /dev/ttyUSB8
EDIT3: Thanks for the dialout command, SAC!
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 07:12:53 PM
 #8817

I switched mining hosts and now I'm having a bit of a problem with my BFL singles. Only 1 shows up in cgminer ("BFL 0"), although they all show up in lsusb (I am using USB hubs, but never in "series"). I'm on 32bit ubuntu and I just cloned cgminer 2.10.5
Code:
alan@alan-Vostro-1500:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 05a9:2640 OmniVision Technologies, Inc. OV2640 Webcam
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 413c:8126 Dell Computer Corp. Wireless 355 Bluetooth
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 015: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 007: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 008: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 009: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 002 Device 010: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 011: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 012: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 002 Device 013: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Thank you for any help with my noobish question!


Have you tried this from the readme.txt?

Q: How do I get my BFL/Icarus/Lancelot/Cairnsmore device to auto-recognise?
A: On linux, if the /dev/ttyUSB* devices don't automatically appear, the only thing that needs to be done is to load the driver for them:
BFL: sudo modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=0x6014
streblo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 07:36:55 PM
 #8818

Sorry I forgot to share a directory list of /dev/, my system does, in fact, have /dev/ttyUSB0 through /dev/ttyUSB7 listed correctly. I tried the modprobe command earlier and it didn't change anything (because my system already recognized them). Thanks for the suggestion!
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 08:43:06 PM
 #8819


EDIT: I ran 'sudo cgminer -c /usr/local/etc/cgminer.conf', (sudo to get around dialout privledgess).

Try sudo adduser your_user_name dialout logout then back in.
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 500


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2013, 09:41:29 PM
 #8820

Just switched to 2.10.5 and cgminer.exe crashes when it tries connecting to the pool I'm using. 2.10.4 works fine.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Pages: « 1 ... 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 [441] 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!