Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 01:53:11 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 [433] 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 ... 845 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5765828 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2013, 12:25:52 AM
 #8641

I have a question about what hash rate I am getting.

http://i.imgur.com/XHViv.png

Does this mean I am getting 1375Mh/s or 677.9Mh/s? Thanks in advance.
Your GPU's memory is set to 1375 MHz. Your hashrate is the ~675 MH/s.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
1540043591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043591
Reply with quote  #2

1540043591
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540043591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043591
Reply with quote  #2

1540043591
Report to moderator
1540043591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540043591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540043591
Reply with quote  #2

1540043591
Report to moderator
pieman103021
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 03, 2013, 12:26:27 AM
 #8642

I have a question about what hash rate I am getting.

http://i.imgur.com/XHViv.png

Does this mean I am getting 1375Mh/s or 677.9Mh/s? Thanks in advance.
theres nowhere 1375Mh/s in this screenshot, how did u come up with this...

Derp okay I see I was looking at the memory speed. Sometimes you just need to tell you that you are an idiot to see the truth Cheesy Just to confirm though, I am getting 677.9 Mh/s?
pieman103021
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 03, 2013, 12:29:04 AM
 #8643

I have a question about what hash rate I am getting.

http://i.imgur.com/XHViv.png

Does this mean I am getting 1375Mh/s or 677.9Mh/s? Thanks in advance.
Your GPU's memory is set to 1375 MHz. Your hashrate is the ~675 MH/s.
Okay thanks
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1011



View Profile
January 03, 2013, 12:55:12 AM
 #8644

kano: I understand you wrote the RPC API. The API-Readme is quite confusing, how is one to execute the commands listed? there are some example files referenced in the documentation, but they aren't supplied(api-example.php, etc). I think I understand how to format a command, but how to send that command to the software escapes me. I want to be able to use the pgaset command for my MMQ(I hate having it start at 200mhz when I know each chip will easily do 215. Starting at 210 each time would save a lot of waiting for it to clock up)
Code:
socat stdio tcp-connect:127.0.0.1:4028 <<<'pgaset|0,clock,210'

purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 03, 2013, 02:35:12 AM
 #8645

kano: I understand you wrote the RPC API. The API-Readme is quite confusing, how is one to execute the commands listed? there are some example files referenced in the documentation, but they aren't supplied(api-example.php, etc). I think I understand how to format a command, but how to send that command to the software escapes me. I want to be able to use the pgaset command for my MMQ(I hate having it start at 200mhz when I know each chip will easily do 215. Starting at 210 each time would save a lot of waiting for it to clock up)


Ask your miner support team - this thread is for cgminer.
I consider it an insult to post about using my software in another thread that simply copies it and claims it their own and then come here and ask me for support of it.

You offered valuable information, pointing me towards solutions, while claiming authorship of the code in question. I simply came here to take you up on that help, where you are more active. How insulting YOU are for essentially inviting questions by posting in the other thread, yet you call me rude for asking them.

You, sir, are an asshole. I can see why members of this community refused to work with you.

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 03, 2013, 02:42:10 AM
 #8646

...
I can see why members of this community refused to work with you.
As long as that includes you - I am indeed thankful.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 10



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 10:11:15 AM
 #8647

Hi Kano,
I'd like to thank you, I tried your GIT version and it solved my problems with BFL and ZTEX devices connected to the same machine.
Under latest 2.10.4 and many previous versions I have seen many comm errors from BFL devices as well as errors with ZTEXes (when BFLs were removed no such errors appeared) leading to the seqfault in cgminer. I'm guessing the problem was solved by using libusb for BFL?
Currently it runs for 48 hours without any problem. Will be your branch merged completely to the cgminer?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 01:54:03 PM
 #8648

Hi Kano,
I'd like to thank you, I tried your GIT version and it solved my problems with BFL and ZTEX devices connected to the same machine.
Under latest 2.10.4 and many previous versions I have seen many comm errors from BFL devices as well as errors with ZTEXes (when BFLs were removed no such errors appeared) leading to the seqfault in cgminer. I'm guessing the problem was solved by using libusb for BFL?
Currently it runs for 48 hours without any problem. Will be your branch merged completely to the cgminer?

Very likely to all be pulled into ckolivas' git, unless I've messed something up somewhere, it should go in when ckolivas gets back.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1427509#msg1427509
I have a pull request that everything moves into as I work on it while he is away, and I have a list of things I want to get done also.

One of the 2 main reasons behind the USB changes is the upcoming ASIC, coz I'm sure there will be problems with ASIC and serial-USB
the other reason is as I've said a few times in the past to a few people, serial-USB sux - direct USB - using libusb - is way better.
With direct USB the interface is almost as simple as serial-USB (once you understand it) but you optionally have more control over it if you want and you can access anything extra the device allows that serial-USB may not allow.

Once all devices are working through the same library (and working the same on both windows and linux) I was hoping ... as you are suggesting Smiley ... that there should be fewer problems.
Thanks for the feedback!

The only one left is Icarus, but I'm not sure when I'll get around to that (it's a different USB device pl2303 - and I'm not expecting any ASIC's to use that - so I'm in no rush to redo that code)
I'm running all my FPGAs on a single cgminer at the moment - 2xIcarus, 1xBFL and 1xMMQ and they are behaving well together.
It's summer here also - so a good test of handling heat problems.

Edit: there is one issue I know of, and that is when a device is lost (by libusb or disappears off the USB bus) that cgminer can crash after it gets a USB error -99 or -6 (which means the device has disappeared) coz it keeps talking to libusb and libusb doesn't like that (and crashes)
I'll add a way to deal with that properly soon - but it should be very rare to happen.

--

And if anyone was interested, in my master git (and the git pull to ckolivas) I've updated miner.php to optionally allow (very simple) password protection - the change is documented in the new API-README with it

Edit: my git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/commits/master

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 04:08:31 PM
 #8649

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer. 
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1011



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 04:15:23 PM
 #8650

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer.
Why do you prefer cgminer?

mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 04:17:43 PM
 #8651

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer.
Why do you prefer cgminer?

I have been using it since I started mining. 
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1011



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 04:19:56 PM
 #8652

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer.
Why do you prefer cgminer?
I have been using it since I started mining.
I don't follow; why is that a reason to prefer it? If there is something cgminer does that BFGMiner doesn't, that you find value in, I'd prefer to add it to BFGMiner.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 05:25:05 PM
 #8653

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer.
Why do you prefer cgminer?
I have been using it since I started mining.
I don't follow; why is that a reason to prefer it? If there is something cgminer does that BFGMiner doesn't, that you find value in, I'd prefer to add it to BFGMiner.
You can't just "add" what CGMiner has into BFGminer, as hard as you might try.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 07:50:32 PM
 #8654

Is there any support for the x6500 with cgminer?  I know bfgminer has it but I really prefer cgminer.
Why do you prefer cgminer?

I don't know about him or her, but for me and probably others, the reason I will never switch to the hostile fork called bfgminer is because the original cgminer is still actively maintained. Requested changes get addressed in a timely manner and improvements continue to be added along the way. Why would people want to use your hostile fork of cgminer just because you did not have the paitience to work with the cgminer team and work with them to get your changes in?

So I and probably others see you as wah wah wah, I don't get my changes in fast enough so I'll fork it and lure the noobs over to it and continually try to poach cgminer users over to it.

Grow the fuck up already.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1011



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 08:20:54 PM
 #8655

you did not have the paitience to work with the cgminer team and work with them to get your changes in?
It's not a matter of patience or working with, it's a matter of Con demanding I pay to get even bugfixes merged, and Kano undoing even bugfixes because he's too incompetent to use git and Con doesn't care.

mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 09:24:59 PM
 #8656

Ok so back to my question.  Does cgminer offer support for x6500.
marke74.miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 01:25:01 AM
 #8657

Had a problem with all versions of CGMiner not enabling the devices (GPUs) from the configuration file. IE
if the config file contains the following

"Device" : "0",
"Device" : "1",
"Device" : "2"

only the last entry GPU 2 would be enabled.
I fixed this by editing the source and adding Device0, Device1......Device7 to the configuration tables.
Now the lines in the config file would look like this

"Device0" : "0",
"Device1" : "1",
"Device2" : "2"

 Works great! All 3 devices are enabled on startup. I know it's not fixes the real issue but more of a patch.
Anyone interested and I can send the changes to you.

Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected. Since I have 9 rigs I want to do this programatically. I am very knowledable of VB and linux, but am new to JSON/RPC. I would like to be able to send such a command via the network interface using RPC via VBA.net. From looking at the cgminer source RPC/JSON commands are accepted through the use of port 4028. What would be the simpliest way to send an RPC packet from VBA.net to switch to pool 2 and viceversa switch to pool 0.

Any help would be appreciated. I have exhausted the third party addons for JSON serialization and RPC protocal and have not come accross a viable solution.

Thanks,
Mark 
 
 
 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 02:43:47 AM
 #8658

you did not have the paitience to work with the cgminer team and work with them to get your changes in?
It's not a matter of patience or working with, it's a matter of Con demanding I pay to get even bugfixes merged, and Kano undoing even bugfixes because he's too incompetent to use git and Con doesn't care.
WTF are you talking about.

Luke you are completely delusional.
WTF is that red part I have highlighted? What drugs have you been taking that have turned your brain to mush? (a long time ago ...)

The undo, that you said was the cause of you making a fork, you have even admitted you were wrong about and offered to pay me BTC for the trouble (hours) I had spent to get the full details about that, that proved I was correct (which of course I rejected any payment)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90656.msg1003391#msg1003391

On more than one occasion you have put up pull requests that were detrimental to cgminer - as you well knew - and of course those were rejected.
The most recent example of that was your Stratum commit that is still there for all to see how stupid it is, that would make cgminer get the transaction list multiple times from the pool even though each time it would get exactly the same transaction list - due to the fact that new work was not sent by the pool (should I also including the issue about the waste of time getting the actual transaction list? ... since no code anywhere, even in your crappy clone, does anything of use with it?)


Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 03:07:34 AM
 #8659

...
Onto a new issue. I want to beable to control remotely what pool is selected.
...

Thanks,
Mark
The API is a simple send one command and get a reply (and close) TCP/IP socket.
The command can be sent in JSON or simple text.

The text to send a pool switch (to pool 2) is:
'switchpool|2'
 or
'{"command":"switchpool","parameter":"2"}'

The documentation of the API is in API-README

There are 3 sample programs that will talk to the API
API.java
api-example.c
api-example.php

The API has a level of IP address security - that groups commands based on:
 non-priviliged: that report information
 priviliged: that change cgminer
Read more about that in API-README and the options required to allow access and priviliged access.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 07, 2013, 03:21:39 AM
 #8660

Ok so back to my question.  Does cgminer offer support for x6500.
No, neither of us have an x6500 so we have not written an x6500 driver and no one else has done so for cgminer.

For me, I work on (or rewrite) drivers for the devices I have - I currently have: 2xIcarus, 1xBFL and 1xMMQ
(and of course I wrote the API and have done other changes here and there ... and I posted above yesterday)
I also wrote all the original changes to the Icarus driver to support other Icarus devices ... like Lancelot and Carinsmore1
(--icarus-timing and --icarus-options)

The ZTex support in cgminer was written by nelisky and thus why it is there.
Unfortunately nelisky decided he didn't have time and dropped the ball on that one.
However Smiley Dennis2342 has recently taken up the work on that with the help of the developer who wrote libusb and thus ZTex support is still there for cgminer Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 [433] 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 ... 845 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!