Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:48:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 [443] 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826943 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 24, 2013, 07:35:07 PM
 #8841

Someone here that has cgminer on a ddwrt?

I'm unable how to start cgminer with the flags "--api-listen and --api-network".
Normal starting procedure looks like this "service cgminer start"....

Where do i put these flags?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481395739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395739
Reply with quote  #2

1481395739
Report to moderator
1481395739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395739
Reply with quote  #2

1481395739
Report to moderator
1481395739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395739
Reply with quote  #2

1481395739
Report to moderator
hahahafr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241



View Profile
February 24, 2013, 09:55:54 PM
 #8842

Hello,
I have a Hackberry (ARMHF) Allwinner A10 dev board.
Where can I find the 32bit binaries of cgminer? Do I have to compile them for ubuntu 12.10, likely 32bit, if these don't exist?

SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
February 24, 2013, 09:57:10 PM
 #8843

Someone here that has cgminer on a ddwrt?

I'm unable how to start cgminer with the flags "--api-listen and --api-network".
Normal starting procedure looks like this "service cgminer start"....

Where do i put these flags?

./cgminer-2.10.5 --no-submit-stale --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,R:192.168.0.0/24
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2013, 09:58:16 PM
 #8844

Hello,
I have a Hackberry (ARMHF) Allwinner A10 dev board.
Where can I find the 32bit binaries of cgminer? Do I have to compile them for ubuntu 12.10, likely 32bit, if these don't exist?
There are no 32 bit linux binaries, so yes you do have to compile them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
hahahafr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241



View Profile
February 24, 2013, 10:04:53 PM
 #8845

Hello,
I have a Hackberry (ARMHF) Allwinner A10 dev board.
Where can I find the 32bit binaries of cgminer? Do I have to compile them for ubuntu 12.10, likely 32bit, if these don't exist?
There are no 32 bit linux binaries, so yes you do have to compile them.
Ok, thanks. First time I'm going to compile something for an AllWinner A10 (ARMv7 apparently). Does it differ a lot from a 32bit x86 compile process?

BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 24, 2013, 10:59:02 PM
 #8846

Someone here that has cgminer on a ddwrt?

I'm unable how to start cgminer with the flags "--api-listen and --api-network".
Normal starting procedure looks like this "service cgminer start"....

Where do i put these flags?

./cgminer-2.10.5 --no-submit-stale --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,R:192.168.0.0/24

So i can start this as if i were on any linux machine? In Pshep's cgminer port the program runs as a service and thats why I'm asking ?

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
February 24, 2013, 11:43:00 PM
 #8847

Hello,
I have a Hackberry (ARMHF) Allwinner A10 dev board.
Where can I find the 32bit binaries of cgminer? Do I have to compile them for ubuntu 12.10, likely 32bit, if these don't exist?
There are no 32 bit linux binaries, so yes you do have to compile them.
Ok, thanks. First time I'm going to compile something for an AllWinner A10 (ARMv7 apparently). Does it differ a lot from a 32bit x86 compile process?
I build cgminer 2.10.4 on my MK802, which is also an ARM CPU. It's exactly the same steps as building from source on almost any other version of Linux, and the steps are in the CGMiner readme if you need a refresher.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
February 26, 2013, 04:55:20 AM
 #8848

BALANCE
I'll give it a try, thanks.
Please report back your findings/experience/opinion.
So I'm testing it out by running my 7970 on 5 stratum pools using balance. At the top, its says "Connected to multiple pools without LP", which I take to be a good thing, as all the pools are using Stratum. My question is how to look at the number of accepted shares for each individual pool, without pressing "P -> I -> 0" and going on thru the line. Is there a pool summary page where I can compare the submitted shares too all pools?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 05:05:16 AM
 #8849

So I'm testing it out by running my 7970 on 5 stratum pools using balance. At the top, its says "Connected to multiple pools without LP", which I take to be a good thing, as all the pools are using Stratum. My question is how to look at the number of accepted shares for each individual pool, without pressing "P -> I -> 0" and going on thru the line. Is there a pool summary page where I can compare the submitted shares too all pools?
If you use miner.php, you can see how many shares you've sent to each pool really easily.

I tried balancing 3 servers (us.ozco.in, stratum.ozco.in and MtRed's stratum server) and got decent results, but my reject rate was slightly higher across the board; about 0.2% rather than 0.1%. MtRed was also getting quite a bit more shares (hence why I added 2 Ozcoin servers), probably something to do with the server only sending out new work about once a minute. I wonder if there's really any benefits to balancing DGM and PPS...

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 05:13:03 AM
 #8850

When spreading shares out to multiple pools it is guaranteed your reject rate will be higher because every pool has a slightly different time they see the block change. How to best manage that is a point of contention. It was far more useful for shares to "leak" with the old getwork protocol because it would be common one pool could not keep up the work for all miners especially across longpoll. I do recall one lucky user in this thread had shares leak to his local bitcoind and actually found a block with one of those! Since stratum (and gbt) use completely local work generation, there is not much point to this any more.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2013, 01:22:09 AM
 #8851

When spreading shares out to multiple pools it is guaranteed your reject rate will be higher because every pool has a slightly different time they see the block change. How to best manage that is a point of contention. It was far more useful for shares to "leak" with the old getwork protocol because it would be common one pool could not keep up the work for all miners especially across longpoll. I do recall one lucky user in this thread had shares leak to his local bitcoind and actually found a block with one of those! Since stratum (and gbt) use completely local work generation, there is not much point to this any more.
Couldn't you cut down on rejects by having cgminer immediately start working on shares for the pool that sends out new work before the other ones?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
generalfault
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2013, 02:43:56 PM
 #8852

Not sure if you already know this but....

in cgminer-2.10.5 the config script requires libcurl-7.18.2 but libcurl-7.25+ is actually required It looks like you missed a message or test Smiley


Did I help you? Tiny Donations always welcome : 15Zk7DoFYJ7hESpZzmix1WLkomTMGW81c2
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 03:26:20 AM
 #8853

If you use miner.php, you can see how many shares you've sent to each pool really easily.

I tried balancing 3 servers (us.ozco.in, stratum.ozco.in and MtRed's stratum server) and got decent results, but my reject rate was slightly higher across the board; about 0.2% rather than 0.1%. MtRed was also getting quite a bit more shares (hence why I added 2 Ozcoin servers), probably something to do with the server only sending out new work about once a minute. I wonder if there's really any benefits to balancing DGM and PPS...
Thanks, I'll give the miner.php a try.

I've also noticed the same thing as you: Ozcoin gets far less shares than the other 4 pools. Of the 5 pools I'm testing this on, 3 of them are right around the same amount of accepted shares, Ozcoin is about 15-20% lower, and then EMC is about 15-20% higher. Ozcoin has a high Queued work count with a low efficiency %, and EMC has a high Queued work count with a high efficiency %. So this means Ozcoin is sending new work more often, and EMC is sending work less often? Yet somehow that ends up with fewer/more shares? Someone smarter than me wanna explain this?

Now this is also a single 7970 split up between 5 pools, so they're each getting a tiny little chunk.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2013, 03:57:41 AM
 #8854

Queued work and efficiency mean pretty much nothing now, especially with stratum. It's simply a function of how often the pool is sending you a new template and there is no "standard" for that, some do 30 seconds, some 60 etc. The more often they're sending you a template, then potentially the more transactions you're supporting if the pool is adding all the latest transactions every 30 seconds instead of 60, but even that equation isn't clear with bitcoind not necessarily simply taking all transactions. The work queueing in cgminer is a fairly complex machine designed for optimally keeping devices as busy as possible, and trying to balance things between pools for whatever reason is a distant second priority. Trying to improve the latter will come at the price of the former. This will become far more acute with ASIC hashrates than it is at the moment with GPUs, and it clearly works with avalon running ~66 or 88 GH off a very low power CPU with cgminer. I doubt the equivalent of the CPU hardware in the Avalon could handle a 1.5TH minirig when they come out but a regular desktop/laptop/tablet CPU will easily do so, and cgminer is heavily multithreaded so multicore/mulithread CPUs (which are everywhere in these devices) are advantageous.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
February 28, 2013, 05:54:47 AM
 #8855

Queued work and efficiency mean pretty much nothing now, especially with stratum. It's simply a function of how often the pool is sending you a new template and there is no "standard" for that, some do 30 seconds, some 60 etc. The more often they're sending you a template, then potentially the more transactions you're supporting if the pool is adding all the latest transactions every 30 seconds instead of 60, but even that equation isn't clear with bitcoind not necessarily simply taking all transactions. The work queueing in cgminer is a fairly complex machine designed for optimally keeping devices as busy as possible, and trying to balance things between pools for whatever reason is a distant second priority. Trying to improve the latter will come at the price of the former. This will become far more acute with ASIC hashrates than it is at the moment with GPUs, and it clearly works with avalon running ~66 or 88 GH off a very low power CPU with cgminer. I doubt the equivalent of the CPU hardware in the Avalon could handle a 1.5TH minirig when they come out but a regular desktop/laptop/tablet CPU will easily do so, and cgminer is heavily multithreaded so multicore/mulithread CPUs (which are everywhere in these devices) are advantageous.

Thank you for the detailed explanation! It's not really a big concern, as I've really just been fooling around with it for the past day or two. It would be nice to have it even split to all 5 pools, but it's not a critical component.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Bitinvestor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 465


View Profile
February 28, 2013, 06:06:22 PM
 #8856

I'm trying to mine litecoins under linux with a 6950 and a 6990. The 6950 works fine but the 6990 isn't detected. I tried it with and without the crossfire cable but the result is the same:

Quote
./cgminer -n
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16]    0   Cayman                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-02-28 17:53:16] 1 GPU devices max detected

Any ideas?

Those who cause problems for others also cause problems for themselves.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2013, 09:17:29 PM
 #8857

I'm trying to mine litecoins under linux with a 6950 and a 6990. The 6950 works fine but the 6990 isn't detected. I tried it with and without the crossfire cable but the result is the same:

Quote
./cgminer -n
[2013-02-28 17:53:16] This error says the device is not enabled                   

Any ideas?
It's not enabled...

Try reconfiguring Xorg
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Bitinvestor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 465


View Profile
February 28, 2013, 09:36:43 PM
 #8858

It's not enabled...

Try reconfiguring Xorg
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

Excellent, now they're both working! Only trouble is that it somehow screwed up my desktop pretty bad but I might be able to fix that... it's still usable and I'll have a look at what changes were made to the xorg.conf file. Many thanks!

Those who cause problems for others also cause problems for themselves.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 07:40:56 PM
 #8859

Is there a way to make the timeout for pools that are down quicker? Only on startup, When I shut my primary pool down, the cgminer process hangs for 2-30 seconds before it gives up and drops to pool 2/backup. In older versions it was instant. In 2.10.x it just sits there.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2013, 08:41:18 PM
 #8860

Is there a way to make the timeout for pools that are down quicker? Only on startup, When I shut my primary pool down, the cgminer process hangs for 2-30 seconds before it gives up and drops to pool 2/backup. In older versions it was instant. In 2.10.x it just sits there.
That's cause it's checking all 3 protocols and has to give all of them a reasonable timeout duration... Kind of a catch 22 problem. I want to shorten it next version but some pools really need up to 60 seconds to connect.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 [443] 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!