Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 09:52:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 [449] 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756833 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1019



View Profile WWW
March 10, 2013, 09:33:32 AM
 #8961

What are rules of switching back from Stratum to Getwork? More and more users report me that their miners fall back to getwork and don't go back to Stratum (X-Stratum is included, of course). This probably happen during/after pool restart (users reported that after I made last pool release with vardiff code), when Stratum pool is down for ~3 seconds. Not sure about all cgminer versions affected, but some users are using 2.10.5.

1531734726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531734726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531734726
Reply with quote  #2

1531734726
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531734726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531734726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531734726
Reply with quote  #2

1531734726
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 09:41:43 AM
 #8962

What are rules of switching back from Stratum to Getwork? More and more users report me that their miners fall back to getwork and don't go back to Stratum (X-Stratum is included, of course). This probably happen during/after pool restart (users reported that after I made last pool release with vardiff code), when Stratum pool is down for ~3 seconds. Not sure about all cgminer versions affected, but some users are using 2.10.5.
2.11.2 has changes the pool connection handling quite a bit.
Tell them to try 2.11.2

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2013, 10:53:31 AM
 #8963

What are rules of switching back from Stratum to Getwork? More and more users report me that their miners fall back to getwork and don't go back to Stratum (X-Stratum is included, of course). This probably happen during/after pool restart (users reported that after I made last pool release with vardiff code), when Stratum pool is down for ~3 seconds. Not sure about all cgminer versions affected, but some users are using 2.10.5.
If they specify the stratum protocol as stratum+tcp:// it will continue to try to connect to stratum indefinitely. The problem is many people don't specify that or even specify http:// and cgminer does its best to guess what it should be.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 10, 2013, 11:54:38 AM
 #8964

When I go above version 2.10.5 with my singles I just get the following. Both the newer versions seem to do it, never had any issues upgrading before.


you need to install the windows USB drivers.  read the FPGA-Readme.txt included in the cgminer folder.

driver is at http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

when you grab the driver, note that XP uses a different driver than vista/7.
Note that doing this will break all applications using the standard driver...

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1810
Merit: 1052


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 12:24:44 PM
 #8965

When I go above version 2.10.5 with my singles I just get the following. Both the newer versions seem to do it, never had any issues upgrading before.


you need to install the windows USB drivers.  read the FPGA-Readme.txt included in the cgminer folder.

driver is at http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

when you grab the driver, note that XP uses a different driver than vista/7.
Note that doing this will break all applications using the standard driver...

IIRC that original standard driver was specific for the usb controller chip in BFL singles. which nothing else I have uses, and I sure have my share of usb crap (of course other stuff I dont have  may use it).

also, the new driver can be installed along side of the chip specific driver. it doesnt need to replace it.

so, who cares?

PS as always, feel free to correct me if Im wrong.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 10, 2013, 12:28:02 PM
 #8966

When I go above version 2.10.5 with my singles I just get the following. Both the newer versions seem to do it, never had any issues upgrading before.


you need to install the windows USB drivers.  read the FPGA-Readme.txt included in the cgminer folder.

driver is at http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

when you grab the driver, note that XP uses a different driver than vista/7.
Note that doing this will break all applications using the standard driver...

IIRC that driver was specific for the usb controller chip in BFL singles. which nothing else I have uses, and I sure have my share of usb crap.

so, who cares?

PS as always, feel free to correct me if Im wrong.
BFL doesn't have a special driver, it uses the standard FTDI driver installed automatically when you plug it in.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 12:33:19 PM
 #8967

When I go above version 2.10.5 with my singles I just get the following. Both the newer versions seem to do it, never had any issues upgrading before.


you need to install the windows USB drivers.  read the FPGA-Readme.txt included in the cgminer folder.

driver is at http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

when you grab the driver, note that XP uses a different driver than vista/7.
Note that doing this will break all applications using the standard driver...
No it will just break your piece of shit - go away.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1810
Merit: 1052


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 12:48:15 PM
 #8968

Quote from: Luke=Jr
Quote from: vapourminer
you need to install the windows USB drivers.  read the FPGA-Readme.txt included in the cgminer folder.

driver is at http://sourceforge.net/projects/libwdi/files/zadig/

when you grab the driver, note that XP uses a different driver than vista/7.
Note that doing this will break all applications using the standard driver...

IIRC that driver was specific for the usb controller chip in BFL singles. which nothing else I have uses, and I sure have my share of usb crap.

so, who cares?

PS as always, feel free to correct me if Im wrong.
BFL doesn't have a special driver, it uses the standard FTDI driver installed automatically when you plug it in.

I dont remember it installing automatically, I needed to goto bfls driver page and follow the link for that driver. at least for my xp machine that the singles hanging off of.

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1019



View Profile WWW
March 10, 2013, 01:35:44 PM
 #8969

Quote from: 'Luke-Jr'
BFL doesn't have a special driver, it uses the standard FTDI driver installed automatically when you plug it in.

I dont remember it installing automatically, I needed to goto bfls driver page and follow the link for that driver. at least for my xp machine that the singles hanging off of.

I can confirm for Windows7, I had to install drivers for BFL as well.

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 10, 2013, 02:19:19 PM
 #8970


Note that doing this will break all applications using the standard driver...

BFL doesn't have a special driver, it uses the standard FTDI driver installed automatically when you plug it in.

actually the FTDI drivers isnt a "standard" usb driver, which is why it needs to be installed for many, if not most windows users.

from their driver page (the one BFL links to): http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

Quote
Virtual COM port (VCP) drivers cause the USB device to appear as an additional COM port available to the PC.  Application software can access the USB device in the same way as it would access a standard COM port.

if anything, seems that driver would break stuff, as it treats the that specific usb chip as serial device, not usb device. if anything else used that chip in a standard usb way, it would break.
It is a serial device. Windows is supposed to automatically install it from Windows Update when you plug it in - why that didn't work for you, I don't know.

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1810
Merit: 1052


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 02:31:53 PM
 #8971

It is a serial device. Windows is supposed to automatically install it from Windows Update when you plug it in - why that didn't work for you, I don't know.

seems Im not the only one it doesnt install automatically for but anyway..

youre right it is a serial device. actually I had deleted that post once I read further but you replied to it before I deleted it.

as I mentioned the zadig driver can be installed along side the FTDI driver so I cant see the problem using it.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2013, 06:54:27 PM
 #8972

Be wary of FUD  Roll Eyes

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nitrox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 10


tester


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 08:52:12 PM
 #8973

Be wary of FUD  Roll Eyes
what is "FUD" ?

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 10, 2013, 08:54:34 PM
 #8974


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fear,_uncertainty_and_doubt

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 10:23:50 PM
 #8975

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=3318

Edit: well ... that at least gives the summary ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
nitrox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 10


tester


View Profile
March 10, 2013, 10:46:40 PM
 #8976

thanks  Wink

n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 11, 2013, 12:31:59 AM
 #8977

Using XP, I had to download and install manually the FTDI driver. With Win7, after plugging the single in, windows prompted to search the driver over the internet (windows update) and all I had to do was click "NEXT" button.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 11, 2013, 12:42:20 AM
 #8978

I have a system that utilizes both gpus and fpgas and I want to run one cgminer instance for gpus and another for fpgas.  Starting in 2.11.0 with the new usb subsystem, I am unable to start an instance of cgminer for just the gpus.  Whenever I try to start the instance for gpus only, cgminer displays "MTX: BitForce USB failed to get cgminer-usb..." and exits.  Is there any way to disable the usb detection like how "-S noauto" used to work?

--hotplug 0

tried that and still had the same problem
Update Smiley
I've put the code in a pull for USB device selection:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/403

This is v0.1 ... and as per the README changes:
Code:
Cgminer will automatically find all of your BFL ASIC, BitForce FPGAs,
ModMiner FPGAs or Ztex FPGAs
The --usb option can restrict how many BFL ASIC, BitForce FPGAs or
ModMiner FPGAs it finds:

  --usb 1:2,1:3,1:4,1:*
or
  --usb BAS:1,BFL:1,MMQ:0
or
  --usb :10

You can only use one of the above 3

The first version
  --usb 1:2,1:3,1:4,1:*
allows you to select which devices to mine on with a list of USB
 bus_number:device_address
All other USB devices will be ignored
Hotplug will also only look at the devices matching the list specified and
find nothing new if they are all in use
You can specify just the USB bus_number to find all devices like 1:*
which means any devices on USB bus_number 1
This is useful if you unplug a device then plug it back in the same port,
it usually reappears with the same bus_number but a different device_address

You can see the list of USB devices on linux with 'sudo lsusb'
Cgminer will list the USB devices with the '--usb-dump 0' option
The '--usb-dump N' option with a value of N greater than 0 will dump a lot
of details about each USB device

The second version
  --usb BAS:1,BFL:1,MMQ:0
allows you to specify how many devices to choose based on each device
driver cgminer has - there are currently 3 USB drivers: BAS, BFL & MMQ
N.B. you can only specify which device driver to limit, not the type of
each device, e.g. with BAS:n you can limit how many BFL ASIC devices will
be checked, but you cannot limit the number of each type of BFL ASIC
Also note that the MMQ count is the number of MMQ backplanes you have
not the number of MMQ FPGAs

The third version
  --usb :10
means only use a maximum of 10 devices of any supported USB devices
Once cgminer has 10 devices it will not configure any more and hotplug will
not scan for any more
If one of the 10 devices stops working, hotplug - if enabled, as is default
- will scan normally again until it has 10 devices

Edit: oh and in case it wasn't obvious ... to optimally not use any USB devices you'd use --usb :0 --hotplug 0

This of course has no affect on the Icarus driver since it is (still) serial-USB not direct USB

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
TechCF
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 11, 2013, 08:06:16 PM
 #8979

CGminer now crashes every time i start it, witrh 2.11.2  Sad
The 2 usual reasons for this are: Mixed versions of different driver files installed, and virus software interfering.

Thanks for the updates!

Regarding the crash upon start (with no correct .bin file) read: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/160032

I had the same issue with a 6950 card on my clean windows (7/8) install with 13.1/2 drivers. Mismatched amdocl64.dll and opencl.dll in system32/syswow64 and the AMD APP\bin\x86/x64 folder is the trouble (need to use the AMD APP files).

Clean install with 12.8 works, or overwrite the windows files (take ownership,then change the file rights, then overwrite).
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2013, 11:36:01 PM
 #8980

I am tentatively elevating the status of 2.11.2 to stable.

It is worth reminding people that on windows+fpgas you will need to install a winusb driver as it says in the fpga readme compared to running versions of cgminer <2.11 which used the old serial interface.

It is also worth mentioning that stability seems to be compromised when built with an older version of libcurl.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 [449] 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!