Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:56:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 [451] 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815414 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:41:05 PM
 #9001

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
1480794962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794962
Reply with quote  #2

1480794962
Report to moderator
1480794962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794962
Reply with quote  #2

1480794962
Report to moderator
1480794962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794962
Reply with quote  #2

1480794962
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480794962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794962
Reply with quote  #2

1480794962
Report to moderator
1480794962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794962
Reply with quote  #2

1480794962
Report to moderator
1480794962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480794962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480794962
Reply with quote  #2

1480794962
Report to moderator
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1744


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:48:09 PM
 #9002

cgminer -n states
.
.             
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
.
.
I have another version of OpenCL:
Code:
CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1)
is this ok or should I upgrade?
TIA
cwerdna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 08:42:53 PM
 #9003

Thanks for that - I had run the --initial command and thats whats stopped me mining completely before and ended up reinstalling Ubuntu again - having run that now I get...

 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] 0 GPU devices max detected                   

The graphics adapters are both showing up with aticonfig still though?

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    300           150
             Current Peak :    925           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [300-1200]     [150-1575]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    157           300
             Current Peak :    850           1200
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-960]     [1200-1445]
                 GPU load :    0%
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 09:01:45 PM
 #9004

...
X is running?
export DISPLAY=:0
or to test:
export DISPLAY=:0 ; xlsfonts works?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 10:05:24 PM
 #9005

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]
I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"... but it seems that was a pipedream  Tongue, and scrypt is coming back to haunt me with a vengeance  Roll Eyes I haven't seen so many new questions about GPU mining in over a year...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cwerdna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 11:13:25 PM
 #9006

I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"... but it seems that was a pipedream  Tongue, and scrypt is coming back to haunt me with a vengeance  Roll Eyes I haven't seen so many new questions about GPU mining in over a year...

lol - ASICs just mean that GPU scrypt miners may just start out with LTC (or even Novacoin?).

Despite grabbing the 12.10 image and saying yes to d/load updates during the installation I still seem to be outstanding some 256 Mb of updates for Ubuntu so I will let those download/install and come back to this later in the day

Kano - If the Unity interface is running X must be running? Perhaps my Solaris background is leading me astray there tho? - Linux experience to date is limited. Ultimately I intend running headless - I don't want or need anything more than ssh to connect.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 01:15:11 AM
 #9007

...
Kano - If the Unity interface is running X must be running? Perhaps my Solaris background is leading me astray there tho? - Linux experience to date is limited. Ultimately I intend running headless - I don't want or need anything more than ssh to connect.
GPU mining usually requires X (Unity is just an X display manager - xubuntu uses xfce)
Headless is fine, but X still needs to be running for cgminer to get at the GPU properly
As long as the machine boots into X that's what you need.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 09:59:46 AM
 #9008

For all you crazy scrypt/LTC mining fanatics, I have finally found the reason you cannot set very high thread concurrencies or intensities on 79x0 cards. It shall be fixed in the next version. I'm able to run my 7970s at TCs of 22392 now.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 10:12:15 AM
 #9009

Latest cgminer shows strange behaviour (yes, the screenshot says 2.10.5 but I also tried the latest 2.11.2):
http://666kb.com/i/ccdeq3e6alsbklzis.jpg

Going back to 2.9.7 completely fixed the problem of 100% CPU spikes on two different machines.

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 12:45:05 PM
 #9010

For all you crazy scrypt/LTC mining fanatics, I have finally found the reason you cannot set very high thread concurrencies or intensities on 79x0 cards. It shall be fixed in the next version. I'm able to run my 7970s at TCs of 22392 now.

And how much faster is it? :-p

--
Bye
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 12:57:52 PM
 #9011

For all you crazy scrypt/LTC mining fanatics, I have finally found the reason you cannot set very high thread concurrencies or intensities on 79x0 cards. It shall be fixed in the next version. I'm able to run my 7970s at TCs of 22392 now.

And how much faster is it? :-p

7970 @ 1135/1890, LG 2, TC 22392:
Code:
GPU 0:  72.0C 3413RPM | 714.6K/715.7Kh/s | A:0 R:1 HW:0 U:0.00/m I:20
No, the memory speed is not a typo. Ignore the accept/reject ratio; I was trying solo.

EDIT: The code is now in git, and here's a windows build with the changes:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 01:48:49 PM
 #9012

Ok. I still cannot get CGminer working how I'd like it to.
I have been through 7 OS installs in the past two weeks, 20 different ATi driver installs, 10 CGMiner installs. + much much more.


Initially I couldn't get windows to recognize all the GPU's at once, so I went to ubuntu, and back to windows and then to another version of windows.............................. Well one day it just worked, I did nothing special I can rememeber it just all of a sudden worked..............................

So the day it worked I threw all my GPU's up on CGMiner (10.5; CCC 13.1), and used it for another week or so. Everything was *seemingly* fine, <75C for each GPU. Ran 1Ghash even with x4 5830's. No OC, no nothing, just stock.

Well, with this I kept getting BSOD and AMD driver crashes. To fix this I flashed my BIOS, reinstalled windows, install AMD driver 12.10 and CGMiner 10.5.
For a while I couldn't (AGAIN) get the GPUs to all be recognized, and as it happened the first time, it just worked one night......

Now that I had it working......
I tested each GPU individually by running it on CG for 10mins or so. All the cards ran about 75C and 3200RPM. Which is what they ran at before this BIOS flash and new CCC and CG.

NOW, when I run two or more, the cards get HOT. 90C in seconds, but they are maintainable/stable. Prior to this, the temps were low but they would crash the system, now the temps are high but the system wont crash for stupid reasons as before(BIOS, Drivers, and OS not speaking correctly).

I have tried setting GPU fan to 100% and Auto, lowering the clocks, dynamic intensity, more fans, different TIM (reset the TIM on each card Multiple times), carressing the GPUs before I go to sleep. Nothing seems to work to get them back to their coolness prior to the new software...



I am not even sure what I am trying to do anymore. So many fucking software problems my head is spinning. And no one can give me a good answer. This computer is making me look like a preschooler.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 02:08:53 PM
 #9013

Try set "safe" settings and disable ADL. I have similar troubles when ADL is enabled and I switch user or enable screen saver...

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 03:04:51 PM
 #9014

Try set "safe" settings and disable ADL. I have similar troubles when ADL is enabled and I switch user or enable screen saver...

Where is the "safe" setting? What is ADL?
Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 03:07:09 PM
 #9015


7970 @ 1135/1890, LG 2, TC 22392:
Code:
GPU 0:  72.0C 3413RPM | 714.6K/715.7Kh/s | A:0 R:1 HW:0 U:0.00/m I:20

Uhm. With LG 2 and TC 22392 I get:

Code:
[2013-03-15 16:04:33] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 805306368
[2013-03-15 16:04:33] Your scrypt settings come to 1467482112
[2013-03-15 16:04:33] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG

Ok, the above error seems going away using:
Code:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
(I never ever needed this thing before).

However, I get:
Code:
[2013-03-15 16:39:49] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 1 being disabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 0 being disabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 1 being re-enabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] GPU 1 failure, disabling!
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 2 being disabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] GPU 1 failure, disabling!
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 3 being disabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 1 being disabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 1 being re-enabled
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueueNDRangeKernel)
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-03-15 16:39:49] Thread 1 being disabled

--
Bye
.m.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:24:24 PM
 #9016

Hi, after some time I am testing mining again - similar setup, new GPU.
I am not able to lower gpu mem clock, it always jumps to 1200 when I enter a different value (and it hungs soon).
Another guy mentioned, he achieves around 300Mh/s with 1050 MHz gpu eng and 600 gpu mem clk with GUIminer(windows)-and his temps are around 55 C(two fans).
Would anybody have an idea what can I do to improve hash speed ?

Linux Fedora Core 16 x64, MSI 7850 (only one fan Sad
cgminer from git,ADL,amd app sdk 2.8

when I run ./cgminer --benchmark
I get speed 228.2 Mh/s (when setting engine clk to 1120 MHz)

Thanks a lot !
.m.


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██

wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 05:31:27 PM
 #9017

I'm getting about 20-25% cpu usage on gentoo (htop shows the main process accounts for all of this, but there are about 10 other cgminer entries) with an amd 8350 and two 7950s. I have another box with one 5770 and one 7950 and it showed similar behavior (about 13% cpu usage). If I disable the 7950 then the usage goes down to 3-4%. I am using -I 5,8 -w 256 -v 1 and I have tried all of the kernels. I have also tried cgminer 2.10.4 and 2.11.2. I have another couple boxes with 5830s and 5770s that have less than 2% cpu usage. Any thoughts as to why the 7950 boxes have higher cpu usage?
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 06:11:46 PM
 #9018

I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"...

Speaking of which, I'm setting up a new Linux install on an old atom netbook that I plan to use as the driver for a BFL Single (hopefully some time this year... sigh).

For configuration testing purposes, I built it with cpu mining enabled, and it's rocking along at 1 Mh/s...

I assume all I'll need for autogen.sh flags when I want to rebuild cgminer to drive the Single is

Code:
autogen.sh --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-bitforce

Is there anything else that I should, or might want, to include?
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 08:09:07 PM
 #9019

I'm getting about 20-25% cpu usage on gentoo (htop shows the main process accounts for all of this, but there are about 10 other cgminer entries) with an amd 8350 and two 7950s. I have another box with one 5770 and one 7950 and it showed similar behavior (about 13% cpu usage). If I disable the 7950 then the usage goes down to 3-4%. I am using -I 5,8 -w 256 -v 1 and I have tried all of the kernels. I have also tried cgminer 2.10.4 and 2.11.2. I have another couple boxes with 5830s and 5770s that have less than 2% cpu usage. Any thoughts as to why the 7950 boxes have higher cpu usage?

From what I can gather, mixing 7xxx series cards with 5xxx or 6xxx series cards causes issues, as they prefer to have different driver/sdk setups. There is plenty of info elsewhere on the forums about it, that's how I found out. I keep all my 7xxx series separate in their own rig. Here's one link that might help you:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=77950.0

Or, do a search for "7970 settings". Hope it helps a bit.......

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 08:23:45 PM
 #9020

I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"...

Speaking of which, I'm setting up a new Linux install on an old atom netbook that I plan to use as the driver for a BFL Single (hopefully some time this year... sigh).

For configuration testing purposes, I built it with cpu mining enabled, and it's rocking along at 1 Mh/s...

I assume all I'll need for autogen.sh flags when I want to rebuild cgminer to drive the Single is

Code:
autogen.sh --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-bitforce

Is there anything else that I should, or might want, to include?


I presume you mean a BFL ASIC (wont be much point running FPGAs once everyone has an ASIC)
So, unless we change the defaults between now and then, the first step (in the future) of building from a git clone would be:
./autogen.sh --disable-opencl --enable-bflsc
If you want both BFL ASIC and BFL FPGA
./autogen.sh --disable-opencl --enable-bflsc --enable-bitforce

If it's a source download, however, the first step would be:
./configure --disable-opencl --enable-bflsc
or
./configure --disable-opencl --enable-bflsc --enable-bitforce

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 [451] 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!