Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2018, 03:53:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 [450] 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756986 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:57:16 AM
 #8981

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
1532231582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231582
Reply with quote  #2

1532231582
Report to moderator
1532231582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231582
Reply with quote  #2

1532231582
Report to moderator
1532231582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231582
Reply with quote  #2

1532231582
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532231582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231582
Reply with quote  #2

1532231582
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:58:36 AM
 #8982

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.
It works on 12.04 as well. I can't attest to its stability as such though.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 577
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:13:26 PM
 #8983

I am tentatively elevating the status of 2.11.2 to stable.

It is worth reminding people that on windows+fpgas you will need to install a winusb driver as it says in the fpga readme compared to running versions of cgminer <2.11 which used the old serial interface.

It is also worth mentioning that stability seems to be compromised when built with an older version of libcurl.

What is the first safe version to use?

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gincoin, Raven
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:29:21 PM
 #8984

It's only a postulated cause for instability, but probably >=7.25 which have the keepalive features.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
March 13, 2013, 04:00:49 PM
 #8985

Hi guys! Please help me with my problem. The matter is that I run 2.11.2 CGminer as always (.bin files are deleted for miner to autodetect best config) then the cmd window appears and Error: The program has stopped working.

With old .bin files it works. W8x84, Catalyst 13.2 b7 with built-in SDK

Thanx

Fallon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


Oh! Shiny!


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 04:17:45 PM
 #8986

Rather newbie here...

Is there a way to get one instance of CGminer to mine on both my old Nvidia 285 & new AMD HD7850 at the same time? After playing around with things for a while, I ended up just running 2 instances, one for each card. Running on my Windows gaming system, if that matters.

I created a worker for each instance (and the instance on my wife's machine). Is it best practices to assign a unique worker to each instance?

Fallon
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 07:53:10 PM
 #8987

Rather newbie here...

Is there a way to get one instance of CGminer to mine on both my old Nvidia 285 & new AMD HD7850 at the same time? After playing around with things for a while, I ended up just running 2 instances, one for each card. Running on my Windows gaming system, if that matters.

I created a worker for each instance (and the instance on my wife's machine). Is it best practices to assign a unique worker to each instance?
No, nvidia and amd need 2 instances with different  gpu-platform values.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 11:56:44 PM
 #8988

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.
It works on 12.04 as well. I can't attest to its stability as such though.

All good, got a slight increase in hash rate too, as well as a notable lowering of rejects - ie: zero after nearly 4 hours of mining with stratum! Very impressed indeed ckolivas, brilliant work. Many thanks.

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
farfie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:03 AM
 #8989

Hey ck,

Could we get a link to the WinUSB drivers in the OP? Sorry if this was asked already before and rejected,
but it feels weird not being able to find it there, even if it is in the FPGA readme.

Thanks,
Bryce
shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 501


Crypto into the masses


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:08:51 AM
 #8990

I took the liberty to upload a compiled cgminer 2.11.2 for Linux 32 bits

https://mega.co.nz/#!kV9i1RiL!G6cxTUvkls_tVDqWTIXgrhrGl6Vrj2cfvgDbdTSwMjk

with --enable-script --cpu-mining, and gpu mining with SDK2.8 and ADL.

xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:21:40 AM
 #8991

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:39:23 AM
 #8992

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
I presume you are thus getting the source code NOT from git.
Skip autogen and just run ./configure --enable-bitforce ; make clean ; make

... as per the README ...
Code:
./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:59:00 AM
 #8993

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
I presume you are thus getting the source code NOT from git.
Skip autogen and just run ./configure --enable-bitforce ; make clean ; make

... as per the README ...
Code:
./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo

This is true, however I still get "no rule to make target". Am I missing a flag?

Herp Derp...was missing libusb-1.0 (was stated in config logs)
cwerdna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:00 PM
 #8994

OK having some difficulties with a 2nd gfx card, reinstalled a couple of time and starting to tear my hair out a bit now so forgive the nooby questions but learning a lot here.

Have installed Ubuntu 12.10, the latest catalyst drivers, rebooted, installed the AMD SDK rebooted again and then installed the pre-built cgminer 2.11.2 as that was built on the same platform. Also run an aticonfig install.

I have an AMD Radeon 7950 which is working fine and hooked up to my TV currently via VGA port. Also installed is a 5770 that I got cheap so decided that would be a great bump.

Problem is i cannot mine on the 5770.
cgminer -n states
[2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47]    0   Tahiti                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] 1 GPU devices max detected                   

if I do an aticonfig --list-adapters both cards can be seen...

 * 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 02:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

* - Default adapter


I have hooked up the 5770 to HDMI to make sure the card came up but I am not getting any output there either so I am thinking either the card is partly cactus or I have just not it right in Ubuntu?

Any pointers appreciated.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 01:50:33 PM
 #8995

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 02:41:05 PM
 #8996

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1000


"Highest ROI crypto infrastructure"


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:48:09 PM
 #8997

cgminer -n states
.
.             
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
.
.
I have another version of OpenCL:
Code:
CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1)
is this ok or should I upgrade?
TIA


           ▄████████▄           ▄███████▄
          ████████████▄       ▄███████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████                                              █████
          ████████████▀       ▀███████████                                               █████
            ▀██████▀            ▀██████▀                                                     
   ▄▄▄▄▄▄              ▄▄▄▄▄▄             █████████      ███████████    ████▒     █████  █████     ▄█████████▄     ███████████
 ██████████          ██████████          ███████████▒    ████████████    ████     ████   █████    █████████████    ████████████
█████████████       ████████████        ████     ████    ████    ▒████   █████   ████    █████   ▒████     ████▒   ████▒  ░░████
█████████████      ██████████████      ██████████████▒   ████     ████    ████   ████    █████   ████      ▒████   ████▒    ████
█████████████      ██████████████      █████▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒    ████     ████     ████ ████     █████   ████▒     ▒████   ████▒    ████
█████████████       ████████████        ████▒            ████     ████      ███████      █████    ████     ████    ████▒    ████
 ▀█████████▀         ▀████████▀          ███████████     ████     ████      ▒█████       █████     ███████████     ████▒    ████
                                           ▀██████▒      ████     ████       ▒███        █████       ▀█████▀       ████▒    ████
           ▄████████▄          ▄████████▄
          ████████████▄      ▄████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
          ████████████████████████████████
           ██████████▀        ▀██████████ 
            ▀██████▀            ▀██████▀ 
    WORLD'S MOST PROFITABLE STANDARD
  OF SELF-EXPANDING CRYPTO INFRASTRUCTURE
FACEBOOK 】【 TWITTER
        ANN THREAD
TELEGRAM MEDIUM
 
  Join our ICO: 
Dec. 1-31 │ Whitepaper 
cwerdna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 08:42:53 PM
 #8998

Thanks for that - I had run the --initial command and thats whats stopped me mining completely before and ended up reinstalling Ubuntu again - having run that now I get...

 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] 0 GPU devices max detected                   

The graphics adapters are both showing up with aticonfig still though?

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    300           150
             Current Peak :    925           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [300-1200]     [150-1575]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    157           300
             Current Peak :    850           1200
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-960]     [1200-1445]
                 GPU load :    0%
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 09:01:45 PM
 #8999

...
X is running?
export DISPLAY=:0
or to test:
export DISPLAY=:0 ; xlsfonts works?

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 10:05:24 PM
 #9000

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]
I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"... but it seems that was a pipedream  Tongue, and scrypt is coming back to haunt me with a vengeance  Roll Eyes I haven't seen so many new questions about GPU mining in over a year...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 [450] 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!