Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2017, 08:38:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 [450] 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 ... 837 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5381350 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 11, 2013, 12:42:20 AM
 #8981

I have a system that utilizes both gpus and fpgas and I want to run one cgminer instance for gpus and another for fpgas.  Starting in 2.11.0 with the new usb subsystem, I am unable to start an instance of cgminer for just the gpus.  Whenever I try to start the instance for gpus only, cgminer displays "MTX: BitForce USB failed to get cgminer-usb..." and exits.  Is there any way to disable the usb detection like how "-S noauto" used to work?

--hotplug 0

tried that and still had the same problem
Update Smiley
I've put the code in a pull for USB device selection:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/pull/403

This is v0.1 ... and as per the README changes:
Code:
Cgminer will automatically find all of your BFL ASIC, BitForce FPGAs,
ModMiner FPGAs or Ztex FPGAs
The --usb option can restrict how many BFL ASIC, BitForce FPGAs or
ModMiner FPGAs it finds:

  --usb 1:2,1:3,1:4,1:*
or
  --usb BAS:1,BFL:1,MMQ:0
or
  --usb :10

You can only use one of the above 3

The first version
  --usb 1:2,1:3,1:4,1:*
allows you to select which devices to mine on with a list of USB
 bus_number:device_address
All other USB devices will be ignored
Hotplug will also only look at the devices matching the list specified and
find nothing new if they are all in use
You can specify just the USB bus_number to find all devices like 1:*
which means any devices on USB bus_number 1
This is useful if you unplug a device then plug it back in the same port,
it usually reappears with the same bus_number but a different device_address

You can see the list of USB devices on linux with 'sudo lsusb'
Cgminer will list the USB devices with the '--usb-dump 0' option
The '--usb-dump N' option with a value of N greater than 0 will dump a lot
of details about each USB device

The second version
  --usb BAS:1,BFL:1,MMQ:0
allows you to specify how many devices to choose based on each device
driver cgminer has - there are currently 3 USB drivers: BAS, BFL & MMQ
N.B. you can only specify which device driver to limit, not the type of
each device, e.g. with BAS:n you can limit how many BFL ASIC devices will
be checked, but you cannot limit the number of each type of BFL ASIC
Also note that the MMQ count is the number of MMQ backplanes you have
not the number of MMQ FPGAs

The third version
  --usb :10
means only use a maximum of 10 devices of any supported USB devices
Once cgminer has 10 devices it will not configure any more and hotplug will
not scan for any more
If one of the 10 devices stops working, hotplug - if enabled, as is default
- will scan normally again until it has 10 devices

Edit: oh and in case it wasn't obvious ... to optimally not use any USB devices you'd use --usb :0 --hotplug 0

This of course has no affect on the Icarus driver since it is (still) serial-USB not direct USB

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1503304681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503304681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503304681
Reply with quote  #2

1503304681
Report to moderator
1503304681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503304681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503304681
Reply with quote  #2

1503304681
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503304681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503304681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503304681
Reply with quote  #2

1503304681
Report to moderator
TechCF
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
March 11, 2013, 08:06:16 PM
 #8982

CGminer now crashes every time i start it, witrh 2.11.2  Sad
The 2 usual reasons for this are: Mixed versions of different driver files installed, and virus software interfering.

Thanks for the updates!

Regarding the crash upon start (with no correct .bin file) read: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/160032

I had the same issue with a 6950 card on my clean windows (7/8) install with 13.1/2 drivers. Mismatched amdocl64.dll and opencl.dll in system32/syswow64 and the AMD APP\bin\x86/x64 folder is the trouble (need to use the AMD APP files).

Clean install with 12.8 works, or overwrite the windows files (take ownership,then change the file rights, then overwrite).
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2013, 11:36:01 PM
 #8983

I am tentatively elevating the status of 2.11.2 to stable.

It is worth reminding people that on windows+fpgas you will need to install a winusb driver as it says in the fpga readme compared to running versions of cgminer <2.11 which used the old serial interface.

It is also worth mentioning that stability seems to be compromised when built with an older version of libcurl.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:57:16 AM
 #8984

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:58:36 AM
 #8985

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.
It works on 12.04 as well. I can't attest to its stability as such though.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 12:13:26 PM
 #8986

I am tentatively elevating the status of 2.11.2 to stable.

It is worth reminding people that on windows+fpgas you will need to install a winusb driver as it says in the fpga readme compared to running versions of cgminer <2.11 which used the old serial interface.

It is also worth mentioning that stability seems to be compromised when built with an older version of libcurl.

What is the first safe version to use?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 12:29:21 PM
 #8987

It's only a postulated cause for instability, but probably >=7.25 which have the keepalive features.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 04:00:49 PM
 #8988

Hi guys! Please help me with my problem. The matter is that I run 2.11.2 CGminer as always (.bin files are deleted for miner to autodetect best config) then the cmd window appears and Error: The program has stopped working.

With old .bin files it works. W8x84, Catalyst 13.2 b7 with built-in SDK

Thanx

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Fallon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


Oh! Shiny!


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 04:17:45 PM
 #8989

Rather newbie here...

Is there a way to get one instance of CGminer to mine on both my old Nvidia 285 & new AMD HD7850 at the same time? After playing around with things for a while, I ended up just running 2 instances, one for each card. Running on my Windows gaming system, if that matters.

I created a worker for each instance (and the instance on my wife's machine). Is it best practices to assign a unique worker to each instance?

Fallon
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 07:53:10 PM
 #8990

Rather newbie here...

Is there a way to get one instance of CGminer to mine on both my old Nvidia 285 & new AMD HD7850 at the same time? After playing around with things for a while, I ended up just running 2 instances, one for each card. Running on my Windows gaming system, if that matters.

I created a worker for each instance (and the instance on my wife's machine). Is it best practices to assign a unique worker to each instance?
No, nvidia and amd need 2 instances with different  gpu-platform values.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 11:56:44 PM
 #8991

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.
It works on 12.04 as well. I can't attest to its stability as such though.

All good, got a slight increase in hash rate too, as well as a notable lowering of rejects - ie: zero after nearly 4 hours of mining with stratum! Very impressed indeed ckolivas, brilliant work. Many thanks.

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
farfie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:03 AM
 #8992

Hey ck,

Could we get a link to the WinUSB drivers in the OP? Sorry if this was asked already before and rejected,
but it feels weird not being able to find it there, even if it is in the FPGA readme.

Thanks,
Bryce
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:08:51 AM
 #8993

I took the liberty to upload a compiled cgminer 2.11.2 for Linux 32 bits

https://mega.co.nz/#!kV9i1RiL!G6cxTUvkls_tVDqWTIXgrhrGl6Vrj2cfvgDbdTSwMjk

with --enable-script --cpu-mining, and gpu mining with SDK2.8 and ADL.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:21:40 AM
 #8994

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:39:23 AM
 #8995

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
I presume you are thus getting the source code NOT from git.
Skip autogen and just run ./configure --enable-bitforce ; make clean ; make

... as per the README ...
Code:
./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:59:00 AM
 #8996

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
I presume you are thus getting the source code NOT from git.
Skip autogen and just run ./configure --enable-bitforce ; make clean ; make

... as per the README ...
Code:
./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo

This is true, however I still get "no rule to make target". Am I missing a flag?

Herp Derp...was missing libusb-1.0 (was stated in config logs)
cwerdna
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:00 PM
 #8997

OK having some difficulties with a 2nd gfx card, reinstalled a couple of time and starting to tear my hair out a bit now so forgive the nooby questions but learning a lot here.

Have installed Ubuntu 12.10, the latest catalyst drivers, rebooted, installed the AMD SDK rebooted again and then installed the pre-built cgminer 2.11.2 as that was built on the same platform. Also run an aticonfig install.

I have an AMD Radeon 7950 which is working fine and hooked up to my TV currently via VGA port. Also installed is a 5770 that I got cheap so decided that would be a great bump.

Problem is i cannot mine on the 5770.
cgminer -n states
[2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47]    0   Tahiti                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] 1 GPU devices max detected                   

if I do an aticonfig --list-adapters both cards can be seen...

 * 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 02:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

* - Default adapter


I have hooked up the 5770 to HDMI to make sure the card came up but I am not getting any output there either so I am thinking either the card is partly cactus or I have just not it right in Ubuntu?

Any pointers appreciated.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 01:50:33 PM
 #8998

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1349


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 02:41:05 PM
 #8999

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:48:09 PM
 #9000

cgminer -n states
.
.             
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
.
.
I have another version of OpenCL:
Code:
CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1)
is this ok or should I upgrade?
TIA

ProProfi.com
The first home improvement service cryptocurrency project
ICO | Discuss on Forum
Pages: « 1 ... 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 [450] 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 ... 837 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!