Bitcoin Forum
February 18, 2019, 07:57:16 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 [448] 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5776460 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (2 posts by 2 users deleted.)
Fallon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 04:17:45 PM
 #8941

Rather newbie here...

Is there a way to get one instance of CGminer to mine on both my old Nvidia 285 & new AMD HD7850 at the same time? After playing around with things for a while, I ended up just running 2 instances, one for each card. Running on my Windows gaming system, if that matters.

I created a worker for each instance (and the instance on my wife's machine). Is it best practices to assign a unique worker to each instance?
1550519836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550519836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550519836
Reply with quote  #2

1550519836
Report to moderator
1550519836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550519836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550519836
Reply with quote  #2

1550519836
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 07:53:10 PM
 #8942

Rather newbie here...

Is there a way to get one instance of CGminer to mine on both my old Nvidia 285 & new AMD HD7850 at the same time? After playing around with things for a while, I ended up just running 2 instances, one for each card. Running on my Windows gaming system, if that matters.

I created a worker for each instance (and the instance on my wife's machine). Is it best practices to assign a unique worker to each instance?
No, nvidia and amd need 2 instances with different  gpu-platform values.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 11:56:44 PM
 #8943

Hi ckolivas,

While bitcoin was down I used the opportunity to upgrade my rigs to Xubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit. I noticed your binary is for 12.10 - is it OK to run on 12.04 do you know? Or will it give me stability issues? Cheers muchly.
It works on 12.04 as well. I can't attest to its stability as such though.

All good, got a slight increase in hash rate too, as well as a notable lowering of rejects - ie: zero after nearly 4 hours of mining with stratum! Very impressed indeed ckolivas, brilliant work. Many thanks.

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
farfie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:03 AM
 #8944

Hey ck,

Could we get a link to the WinUSB drivers in the OP? Sorry if this was asked already before and rejected,
but it feels weird not being able to find it there, even if it is in the FPGA readme.

Thanks,
Bryce
shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 501


The Premier Digital Asset Management Ecosystem


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:08:51 AM
 #8945

I took the liberty to upload a compiled cgminer 2.11.2 for Linux 32 bits

https://mega.co.nz/#!kV9i1RiL!G6cxTUvkls_tVDqWTIXgrhrGl6Vrj2cfvgDbdTSwMjk

with --enable-script --cpu-mining, and gpu mining with SDK2.8 and ADL.



▄▄           ▄▄▄▄▄▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄           ▄▄         ▄▄        ▄▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄            ▄▄                  ▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ 
██        ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██        ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄        ███▄       ██        ██          ▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄         ██                 ███            ██▀▀▀▀██▄
██       ██▀                ██▀        ▀██       █████▄     ██        ██         ██▀        ▀██        ██                ██ ██           ██     ██
██      ▐█▌                ▐█▌          ▐█▌      ██ ▀███▄   ██        ██        ▐█▌          ▐█▌       ██               ██   ██          ██▄▄▄▄█▀
██      ▐█▌                ▐█▌          ▐█▌      ██   ▀███▄ ██        ██        ▐█▌          ▐█▌       ██              ██     ██         ██▀▀▀▀██▄
██       ██▄                ██▄        ▄██       ██     ▀█████        ██         ██▄      ▄▄  █        ██             ██       ██        ██     ██
██        ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄██        ▀██▄▄▄▄▄▄██▀        ██       ▀███        ██          ▀██▄▄▄▄▄ ██          ██▄▄▄▄▄▄      ██         ██       ██▄▄▄▄██▀
▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀         ▀▀        ▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀  ▀▀         ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀           ▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ 
           ▄▄███▄▄
     ▄▄███████████▄▄
 ▄▄███████████████████▄▄
███████████▌ ▐███████████
██▌ ▐███████ ███████▌ ▐██
███ ████▀▀██ ██▀▀████ ███
███ ██▀▄████ ████▄▀██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
███ ██ █████ █████ ██ ███
 ▀▀ ██ █████ █████ ██ ▀▀
     ▀ █████ █████ ▀
         ▀▀█ █▀▀
The Premier   ───────────────────
Digital Asset Management Ecosystem
────────   Powered by the ICNQ Token


▾  Medium
▾  Twitter
▾  LinkedIn
▾  Subscribe


.I C N Q   T O K E N.

The Token for Digital Asset Management
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:21:40 AM
 #8946

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:39:23 AM
 #8947

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
I presume you are thus getting the source code NOT from git.
Skip autogen and just run ./configure --enable-bitforce ; make clean ; make

... as per the README ...
Code:
./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 06:59:00 AM
Last edit: March 14, 2013, 07:44:43 AM by xDGDZEx
 #8948

Hi all, I'm finally upgrading from 2.7.3 and im running into that "autogen.sh no such file exists" problem that I've seen around, but I tried running though the dependencies and they all check out. Also I get the make error "no rules found". It's been like 6 months since I've had to do this last, what am I missing?
I presume you are thus getting the source code NOT from git.
Skip autogen and just run ./configure --enable-bitforce ; make clean ; make

... as per the README ...
Code:
./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo

This is true, however I still get "no rule to make target". Am I missing a flag?

Herp Derp...was missing libusb-1.0 (was stated in config logs)
cwerdna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 01:39:00 PM
 #8949

OK having some difficulties with a 2nd gfx card, reinstalled a couple of time and starting to tear my hair out a bit now so forgive the nooby questions but learning a lot here.

Have installed Ubuntu 12.10, the latest catalyst drivers, rebooted, installed the AMD SDK rebooted again and then installed the pre-built cgminer 2.11.2 as that was built on the same platform. Also run an aticonfig install.

I have an AMD Radeon 7950 which is working fine and hooked up to my TV currently via VGA port. Also installed is a 5770 that I got cheap so decided that would be a great bump.

Problem is i cannot mine on the 5770.
cgminer -n states
[2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47]    0   Tahiti                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] 1 GPU devices max detected                   

if I do an aticonfig --list-adapters both cards can be seen...

 * 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 02:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

* - Default adapter


I have hooked up the 5770 to HDMI to make sure the card came up but I am not getting any output there either so I am thinking either the card is partly cactus or I have just not it right in Ubuntu?

Any pointers appreciated.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 01:50:33 PM
 #8950

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 02:41:05 PM
 #8951

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2363
Merit: 1000


"Highest ROI crypto infrastructure"


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 02:48:09 PM
 #8952

cgminer -n states
.
.             
 [2013-03-14 21:31:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
.
.
I have another version of OpenCL:
Code:
CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1)
is this ok or should I upgrade?
TIA


           ▄████████▄           ▄███████▄
          ████████████▄       ▄███████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████                                              █████
          ████████████▀       ▀███████████                                               █████
            ▀██████▀            ▀██████▀                                                     
   ▄▄▄▄▄▄              ▄▄▄▄▄▄             █████████      ███████████    ████▒     █████  █████     ▄█████████▄     ███████████
 ██████████          ██████████          ███████████▒    ████████████    ████     ████   █████    █████████████    ████████████
█████████████       ████████████        ████     ████    ████    ▒████   █████   ████    █████   ▒████     ████▒   ████▒  ░░████
█████████████      ██████████████      ██████████████▒   ████     ████    ████   ████    █████   ████      ▒████   ████▒    ████
█████████████      ██████████████      █████▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒    ████     ████     ████ ████     █████   ████▒     ▒████   ████▒    ████
█████████████       ████████████        ████▒            ████     ████      ███████      █████    ████     ████    ████▒    ████
 ▀█████████▀         ▀████████▀          ███████████     ████     ████      ▒█████       █████     ███████████     ████▒    ████
                                           ▀██████▒      ████     ████       ▒███        █████       ▀█████▀       ████▒    ████
           ▄████████▄          ▄████████▄
          ████████████▄      ▄████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
         ██████████████████████████████████
          ████████████████████████████████
           ██████████▀        ▀██████████ 
            ▀██████▀            ▀██████▀ 
    WORLD'S MOST PROFITABLE STANDARD
  OF SELF-EXPANDING CRYPTO INFRASTRUCTURE
FACEBOOK 】【 TWITTER
        ANN THREAD
TELEGRAM MEDIUM
 
  Join our ICO: 
Dec. 1-31 │ Whitepaper 
cwerdna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 08:42:53 PM
 #8953

Thanks for that - I had run the --initial command and thats whats stopped me mining completely before and ended up reinstalling Ubuntu again - having run that now I get...

 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.4)                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-15 04:31:51] 0 GPU devices max detected                   

The graphics adapters are both showing up with aticonfig still though?

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    300           150
             Current Peak :    925           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [300-1200]     [150-1575]
                 GPU load :    0%

Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    157           300
             Current Peak :    850           1200
  Configurable Peak Range : [600-960]     [1200-1445]
                 GPU load :    0%
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 09:01:45 PM
 #8954

...
X is running?
export DISPLAY=:0
or to test:
export DISPLAY=:0 ; xlsfonts works?

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 10:05:24 PM
 #8955

[2013-03-14 21:31:47] This error says the device is not enabled       

Any pointers appreciated.
Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial

ck, add this command to readme... Smiley I see this every 5th page or so ;]
I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"... but it seems that was a pipedream  Tongue, and scrypt is coming back to haunt me with a vengeance  Roll Eyes I haven't seen so many new questions about GPU mining in over a year...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cwerdna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 11:13:25 PM
 #8956

I was hoping by now I could have said something like "GPU mining is deprecated, only ASIC code is supported from here on"... but it seems that was a pipedream  Tongue, and scrypt is coming back to haunt me with a vengeance  Roll Eyes I haven't seen so many new questions about GPU mining in over a year...

lol - ASICs just mean that GPU scrypt miners may just start out with LTC (or even Novacoin?).

Despite grabbing the 12.10 image and saying yes to d/load updates during the installation I still seem to be outstanding some 256 Mb of updates for Ubuntu so I will let those download/install and come back to this later in the day

Kano - If the Unity interface is running X must be running? Perhaps my Solaris background is leading me astray there tho? - Linux experience to date is limited. Ultimately I intend running headless - I don't want or need anything more than ssh to connect.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1103


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 01:15:11 AM
 #8957

...
Kano - If the Unity interface is running X must be running? Perhaps my Solaris background is leading me astray there tho? - Linux experience to date is limited. Ultimately I intend running headless - I don't want or need anything more than ssh to connect.
GPU mining usually requires X (Unity is just an X display manager - xubuntu uses xfce)
Headless is fine, but X still needs to be running for cgminer to get at the GPU properly
As long as the machine boots into X that's what you need.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 09:59:46 AM
 #8958

For all you crazy scrypt/LTC mining fanatics, I have finally found the reason you cannot set very high thread concurrencies or intensities on 79x0 cards. It shall be fixed in the next version. I'm able to run my 7970s at TCs of 22392 now.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 10:12:15 AM
 #8959

Latest cgminer shows strange behaviour (yes, the screenshot says 2.10.5 but I also tried the latest 2.11.2):
http://666kb.com/i/ccdeq3e6alsbklzis.jpg

Going back to 2.9.7 completely fixed the problem of 100% CPU spikes on two different machines.

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
Lem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 12:45:05 PM
 #8960

For all you crazy scrypt/LTC mining fanatics, I have finally found the reason you cannot set very high thread concurrencies or intensities on 79x0 cards. It shall be fixed in the next version. I'm able to run my 7970s at TCs of 22392 now.

And how much faster is it? :-p
Pages: « 1 ... 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 [448] 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!