Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 01:24:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 [455] 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 ... 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5766339 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Just
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 05:21:25 PM
 #9081

Back your OC off some. That's why your driver is failing.
I tryied without OC - didn't help (
1542417894
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542417894

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542417894
Reply with quote  #2

1542417894
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542417894
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542417894

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542417894
Reply with quote  #2

1542417894
Report to moderator
1542417894
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542417894

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542417894
Reply with quote  #2

1542417894
Report to moderator
1542417894
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542417894

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542417894
Reply with quote  #2

1542417894
Report to moderator
nitrogenetics
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 104



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 05:51:45 PM
 #9082

For scrypt mining on windows with high thread concurrencies, see "How to raise "Maximum buffer memory" in cgminer 2.11.3 ":

http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,1420.0.html

Summary:
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

Thanks, it works  Wink

Performance with thread concurrency 16384 seems to be on par with 8192 on my system. Higher values are a no go (system unresponsive).

BTC: 1NWQ4TarCCC7j1XY26KRFFEtLYbPP6S3DH
XRP: rJkbeyRaUYDmcukEyLYVfn56QDM9VhybZG
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2013, 06:02:51 PM
 #9083

Still looking for a "official" solutions so cgminer could be launched with task scheduler as another user and thus not showing any window or tray icon. Having a clean desktop is crucial in my situation.
You can use GUIminer to launch cgminer in tray.
If you want start it totally "hidden" you can run it from registry, google it Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 09:23:50 PM
 #9084

First I have to say this is a totally awesome miner. Thank you for putting such an incredible effort into it.

I think I came across some sort of a bug when I'm running cgminer through windows task scheduler as other user than the one who's currently logged in to the computer. My goal is to run cgminer in the backround without visible window. Everything else works just fine but cgminer seems not to be able to change my cards clocks and fan speeds if it's launched that way. This is bothering me because I would like to use that --auto-gpu function to lower the gpu clocks during the soon coming hot summer days when room temperature goes too high.

My system is Win7 x64, 2x7970, Catalyst 13.1.

Are you aware of this issue and more inportantly is there any solution available to it? Thanks!

Try the program TrayIt!
http://trayit.en.softonic.com/

I'll have a look at that, thanks.

Still looking for a "official" solutions so cgminer could be launched with task scheduler as another user and thus not showing any window or tray icon. Having a clean desktop is crucial in my situation.

Still looking for a "official" solutions so cgminer could be launched with task scheduler as another user and thus not showing any window or tray icon. Having a clean desktop is crucial in my situation.
You can use GUIminer to launch cgminer in tray.
If you want start it totally "hidden" you can run it from registry, google it Smiley

I guess you didn't read my original post where I told about the lack of GPU clockspeed control when I run CGMiner as other user, which does make it totally hidden but causes this bug. If your registry solution does allow CGMiner to be run without trayicon or cmd window and have it's GPU clockspeed control working please post it right here.

I'm just wondering if this issue is something on windows permissions (that other account is admin and UAC is off) or did I really find a fancy bug in here.
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 09:36:17 PM
 #9085

For scrypt mining on windows with high thread concurrencies, see "How to raise "Maximum buffer memory" in cgminer 2.11.3 ":

http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,1420.0.html

Summary:
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
This command helped out ALOT, I'm able to hit 28k threads and I found the sweet point of 1375 memory and 1125 core for my 7850(Any higher then 1375 mem and hashrate goes to shit) I've got 382~ Kh/s now from the 350 before.
netvope
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 02:30:50 AM
 #9086

For scrypt mining on windows with high thread concurrencies, see "How to raise "Maximum buffer memory" in cgminer 2.11.3 ":

http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,1420.0.html

Summary:
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

If anyone wasn't sure how to run it, I've expanded the post on forum.litecoin.net a bit and it should now be clear.

(It took some effort to be able to post here)

ck: that Lucy is cute Cheesy
Humanxlemming
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 02:33:05 AM
 #9087

Got to say I have tried loads of other software for mining and this has got to be my favourite Cheesy

 Cool Keep up the awesome work Cool
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 02:59:43 AM
 #9088

ck: that Lucy is cute Cheesy
You sir have instantly promoted yourself to my friend with that comment Cheesy See if you can find the link to the game translation project and the association shall then be clear.
(Post intentionally left obscure to those not in the know Wink)

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
hope2907
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 436
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 03:02:06 AM
 #9089

I've been playing a bit with cgminer (2.11.2 and 2.11.3) and scrypt during the last few hours.
So far the best performance I could achieve on my GV-R797OC-3GD on windows 7 x64 with catalyst 13.2b7 was around 720kH/s with the following settings:
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://xxx -u x -p x --intensity 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 1044 --gpu-memclock 1500

a more conservative 620kH/s with
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://xxx -u x -p x --intensity 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 900 --gpu-memclock 1155

and an even more conservative 550kH/s with
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://xxx -u x -p x --intensity 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 800 --gpu-memclock 870

Increasing thread concurrency above 8192 with --lookup-gap 2 always returns an error like
Code:
Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912
Your scrypt settings come to 1467482112
Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG

Lowering thread concurrency below 8192 always produces hardware errors.

With -g > 1 using any intensity higher or lower than 13 will result in lower hashrates.

With -g 1 higher than 13 intensities will more or less match -g 2 -I 13 hashrate at the expenses of system responsiveness.

Increasing lookup gap allows for higher thread concurrencies, but it won't improve performance.

Setting the correct core/memory ratio for your card is the most important tweak, even a small 10MHz difference can make you lose/gain 100-200kH/s.


can anyone get 720kH/s with 1044/1500 and cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://xxx -u x -p x --intensity 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --lookup-gap 2i can't
i have to set it to 1015/1760 to get 705
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 03:02:28 AM
 #9090

Got to say I have tried loads of other software for mining and this has got to be my favourite Cheesy

 Cool Keep up the awesome work Cool
Thanks Smiley it's a labour of love (and anger and hatred and frustration and trolling and headache and heartache and pain at times).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 03:20:48 AM
 #9091

Hi guys,

Quick question for you, If I want to use cgminer on a pool that requires a completely different configuration from my normal .conf file, which I want to keep, can I load a separate .conf file at startup from the same/a different folder? If so, what is the command needed to load the required .conf from a specified location? Or, is it a case of saving the original .conf file somewhere for use later and making a new .conf file for the pool that needs a different card setup I want to use cgminer on at that time? Ideally I'd like to just add the new pool to my original .conf file and have it load the different configuration required for that particular pool, but after scanning the readme I can't see how it can be done - or have I missed something?

Cheers.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 03:46:17 AM
 #9092

Hi guys,

Quick question for you, If I want to use cgminer on a pool that requires a completely different configuration from my normal .conf file, which I want to keep, can I load a separate .conf file at startup from the same/a different folder? If so, what is the command needed to load the required .conf from a specified location? Or, is it a case of saving the original .conf file somewhere for use later and making a new .conf file for the pool that needs a different card setup I want to use cgminer on at that time? Ideally I'd like to just add the new pool to my original .conf file and have it load the different configuration required for that particular pool, but after scanning the readme I can't see how it can be done - or have I missed something?

Cheers.
cgminer -c conf.foo

That will ignore any other conf file (e.g. the default one)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2013, 10:25:25 AM
 #9093

Hi guys,

Quick question for you, If I want to use cgminer on a pool that requires a completely different configuration from my normal .conf file, which I want to keep, can I load a separate .conf file at startup from the same/a different folder? If so, what is the command needed to load the required .conf from a specified location? Or, is it a case of saving the original .conf file somewhere for use later and making a new .conf file for the pool that needs a different card setup I want to use cgminer on at that time? Ideally I'd like to just add the new pool to my original .conf file and have it load the different configuration required for that particular pool, but after scanning the readme I can't see how it can be done - or have I missed something?

Cheers.
cgminer -c conf.foo

That will ignore any other conf file (e.g. the default one)

Ah! That sounds like exactly what I need Kano, thanks man. Do I need to worry about the saved .bin file at all - or will it also ignore that with this command?

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 10:59:08 AM
 #9094

Guy's

I have posted this before and i am posting it again.

Today i found a block and and cgminer api stats Found Blocks equals to 0. It happened two or three times since my last post about it.

something happened from 2.10.5 onwards

PS:

To all of you who use cgminer - Do you see Found Blocks >0 when you know you have found a block with versions 2.10.5 onward

Thanks!
 

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 11:10:20 AM
 #9095

Guy's

I have posted this before and i am posting it again.

Today i found a block and and cgminer api stats Found Blocks equals to 0. It happened two or three times since my last post about it.

something happened from 2.10.5 onwards

PS:

To all of you who use cgminer - Do you see Found Blocks >0 when you know you have found a block with versions 2.10.5 onward

Thanks!
 
It's the same counter used to display when you get the exit summary as is used to display it in the API.
Of course, if you zero the stats - that gets zeroed also.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
12gaFacelift
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 01:00:59 PM
 #9096

i use 24 computer to mine, until today no problem at all but this morning the shit hit me hard. when i open cgminer.exe what surprise i have there....... virus: UnclassifiedMalware@1 just say to me that shit dont come with cgminer  Huh

Never argue with idiots, they just drag you down to their level then beat you with experience. ~ *CANADA ONLY* Colloidal Silver Wire Rod - 12 Gauge Pure Silver .9999 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775964.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.0
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1323657.0
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 01:23:11 PM
 #9097

i use 24 computer to mine, until today no problem at all but this morning the shit hit me hard. when i open cgminer.exe what surprise i have there....... virus: UnclassifiedMalware@1 just say to me that shit dont come with cgminer  Huh

"that shit dont come with cgminer"

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 01:30:53 PM
 #9098

i use 24 computer to mine, until today no problem at all but this morning the shit hit me hard. when i open cgminer.exe what surprise i have there....... virus: UnclassifiedMalware@1 just say to me that shit dont come with cgminer  Huh

From the README.txt, FAQ Section:

Q: Is this a virus?
A: Cgminer is being packaged with other trojan scripts and some antivirus
software is falsely accusing cgminer.exe as being the actual virus, rather
than whatever it is being packaged with. If you installed cgminer yourself,
then you do not have a virus on your computer. Complain to your antivirus
software company. They seem to be flagging even source code now from cgminer
as viruses, even though text source files can't do anything by themself.
BTC-engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 01:54:22 PM
 #9099

Large difference between cgminer mining speed and mining speed on pool.

First my test configuration:
ubuntu 12.10 x64
AMD HD-5750
gpu-driver catalyst-13.2-beta7-linux-x86
cgminer 2.11.3 (self-compiled)
Pool: litecoinpool

Everything seems to work normal, even if I still didn't optimized the setup.
cgminer starts mining at a relatively constant rate of about 130Kh/s.
The cgminer output look good to me:
 [2013-03-19 14:50:13] Started cgminer 2.11.3
 [2013-03-19 14:50:13] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-03-19 14:50:13] Long-polling activated for http://litecoinpool.org:9332/LP
 [2013-03-19 14:50:16] Accepted 3f12469b Diff 4/1 GPU 0
 [2013-03-19 14:50:20] Accepted 28f14178 Diff 6/1 GPU 0
 [2013-03-19 14:50:32] Accepted 40203bbe Diff 3/1 GPU 0
 [2013-03-19 14:50:32] Accepted 698335d9 Diff 2/1 GPU 0
 ....

But the mining speed I can see at the pool is only about 13Kh/s, so 1/10 of the expected rate.
It's not only a speed calculation issue, because I traced over a longer period the number of shares the pool received and they are also only about 1/10 of the expected number.
I tried a cpu litecoin mining software, and the speed from the mining software does pretty much match with the pool speed.

Does anyone have this strange effect too, or knows what the reason could be?
  


 

                             █         
                             ▀██       
                              ███▄     
                              █████     
                 ▄██████████   █████   
            ▄███████████████   █████▄   
         ▄██████████████████   ██████   
       █████████████████████  ███████   
     ██████████████████████   ████████ 
   ▄████████▀                █████████ 
  ██████    ▄██████         ██████████ 
 ███▀    ▄██████████      ███████████   
██       ████████████    ████████████   
          █████████████   ██████████   
            █████████████   ███████     
              █████████████▄    ██▀     
                 ██████████████         
                    ▀███████████████▄   
                          ▀███████████▀

FLUX 

  VALVE      UBISOFT     GAMING ECOSYSTEM      Origin      GAMELOFT 
                   WEBSITE WHITEPAPER MEDIUM TWITTER FACEBOOK TELEGRAM █       


  17 - 24 April
   Public Sale
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 02:52:15 PM
 #9100

i use 24 computer to mine, until today no problem at all but this morning the shit hit me hard. when i open cgminer.exe what surprise i have there....... virus: UnclassifiedMalware@1 just say to me that shit dont come with cgminer  Huh

If you search this thread you will probably come up with hundreds of replies about false virus scanner hits.  Email a complaint about the false hit to your antivirus vendor.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 [455] 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 ... 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!