Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 10:04:03 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 [454] 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5762498 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
klear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:03:39 PM
 #9061

Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://xxx -u x -p x --intensity 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 1044 --gpu-memclock 1500

I get 400Kh/s with those exact same settings  Huh

2.11.3 breaks GUIMiner-scrypt for me
1537956243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537956243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537956243
Reply with quote  #2

1537956243
Report to moderator
1537956243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537956243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537956243
Reply with quote  #2

1537956243
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537956243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537956243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537956243
Reply with quote  #2

1537956243
Report to moderator
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:14:37 PM
 #9062

I've been playing a bit with cgminer (2.11.2 and 2.11.3) and scrypt during the last few hours.
..............................................

How many cards and how much RAM do you have? Thanks.
thejestre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:30:23 PM
 #9063

Hi all,

I'm trying to mine Litecoin for the first time this weekend, and have had some encouraging results.  I'm using one MSI R7850 with 2GB DDR5 in an older Intel Core 2 Quad system w/4 GB RAM.  I'm able to reliably hit ~298 Kh/s - ~350 Kh/s with utility reaching between 13 and 16 shares per minute.  Seems like decent rates for this card.

Just a few tweaks to the --gpu-memclock and --gpu-engine go a long way.  My card's RAM clock is 1200, but it _seems_ to work well at 1350-1375.  Am I going to fry it quicker with these settings?

Here are the switches I'm using:
Code:
--scrypt --intensity 16 --gpu-memclock 1350 --gpu-engine 1000-1000
As I change the Intensity between 13 and 16 both the Kh/s and the shares/minute are higher closer to 16, but so are the hardware errors.  I left it mining all night at I=16 and have a total of 450 HW errors.  How bad is it to get these errors, and what amount is acceptable?

Thanks so much for this awesome program,

_theJestre
klear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:32:19 PM
 #9064

Hi all,

I'm trying to mine Litecoin for the first time this weekend, and have had some encouraging results.  I'm using one MSI R7850 with 2GB DDR5 in an older Intel Core 2 Quad system w/4 GB RAM.  I'm able to reliably hit ~298 Kh/s - ~350 Kh/s with utility reaching between 13 and 16 shares per minute.  Seems like decent rates for this card.

Just a few tweaks to the --gpu-memclock and --gpu-engine go a long way.  My card's RAM clock is 1200, but it _seems_ to work well at 1350-1375.  Am I going to fry it quicker with these settings?

Here are the switches I'm using:
Code:
--scrypt --intensity 16 --gpu-memclock 1350 --gpu-engine 1000-1000
As I change the Intensity between 13 and 16 both the Kh/s and the shares/minute are higher closer to 16, but so are the hardware errors.  I left it mining all night at I=16 and have a total of 450 HW errors.  How bad is it to get these errors, and what amount is acceptable?

Thanks so much for this awesome program,

_theJestre

lower intensity to 13, shouldnt be getting any hardware errors.
nitrogenetics
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 104



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 06:33:27 PM
 #9065

I've been playing a bit with cgminer (2.11.2 and 2.11.3) and scrypt during the last few hours.
..............................................

How many cards and how much RAM do you have? Thanks.

1 card, 16 gb system ram. Cgminer allocates only about 40MB, video memory usage is 1133MB.

Here are some hashrate numbers at different frequencies:

Gpu/Mem   Hashrate~
800/790   555kH/s
800/870   555kH/s
850/930   585kH/s
850/1065   585kH/s
900/1000   620kH/s
900/1155   625kH/s
900/1310   620kH/s
925/1000   635kH/s
925/1001   400kH/s
950/1205   655kH/s
950/1370   650kH/s
963/1375   665kH/s
963/1220   670kH/s
1000/1250   660kH/s
1000/1251   450kH/s
1000/1455   690kH/s
1024/1475   710kH/s
1044/1500   720kH/s
1044/1501   495kH/s



BTC: 1NWQ4TarCCC7j1XY26KRFFEtLYbPP6S3DH
XRP: rJkbeyRaUYDmcukEyLYVfn56QDM9VhybZG
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 06:50:01 PM
 #9066

I've been playing a bit with cgminer (2.11.2 and 2.11.3) and scrypt during the last few hours.
..............................................

How many cards and how much RAM do you have? Thanks.
1 card, 16 gb system ram. Cgminer allocates only about 40MB, video memory usage is 1133MB.
Nice, thanks.
hanti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 07:54:56 PM
 #9067

Platform:
windows 7 ultimate 64bit
cgminer 2.10.5, 2.11.2, 2.11.3
HD6950 2GB with unlocked shaders oc to 830mhz

Commandline:
x:\xxxx\cgminer-2.10.5-win32\cgminer.exe -o http://xxx:1234 -u xxx -p xxx -o http://xxx2:5678 -u xxx -p xxx

cmd window stops refreshing after i use switch user feature - when im back to administrator account the cmd window shows last status of cgminer and it does not changing anymore, same hash power same tmp everything its freezed - it doesnt react on any keys like Q i need to close window manually
my gfx card before closing but with this freezed cgminer window open seems still minning, it stops when i close this window by clicking on X

when i add to commandline -T switch it works fine i can switch users and after im back to my account its still ok. But i dont like this it does not show many items like temperature etc i dont want to use another tool like gpu-z. Cgminer without -T looks really nice

So anybody had similar problem? Or any ideas what to do to fix that?

regards

with x:\xxxx\cgminer-2.10.5-win32\cgminer.exe --compact -o http://xxx:1234 -u xxx -p xxx -o http://xxx2:5678 -u xxx -p xxx  it works ok - so maybe problem is somewhere in gpu monitoring

juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 07:55:43 PM
 #9068

New release: 2.11.3, 17th March 2013

Human readable changelog:
...
- Changes to the hashmeter to update it more frequently - for fast devices it will update smoother but for long-return devices (like slow FPGAs) it will look worse. This is in preparation for faster devices
...

The 5s hashmeter is indeed way too high for all my 5800 series cards now. Why not add an option to get the old hashmeter back? They were accurate with a below 1% error margin before, while now I'm seeing 10-20% higher hashrates constantly.

EDIT: Added git revert -n 072ffbba424770afcbd2e1a10aead8a5035f80de to my compile scripts, and the hashmeters are working again. This might cause problems when that part of the code is changed again in a future commit. I wonder what that git command will actually do then. I don't recommend this, just wanted to confirm that commit being the culprit.

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gentarium, Gincoin, Raven
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 09:12:43 PM
 #9069

And so my master plan to make scrypt even harder to mine with and eventually kill off litecoin starts coming to fruition

So you can see why I had avoided touching the scrypt code due to lack of interest +/- donations till now for it is witchcraft and one minor change angers the hashing gods and they expect new sacrifices but reward those  who do the correct sacrifice even more than the old faithful.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 09:35:29 PM
 #9070

Platform:
windows 7 ultimate 64bit
cgminer 2.10.5, 2.11.2, 2.11.3
HD6950 2GB with unlocked shaders oc to 830mhz

Commandline:
x:\xxxx\cgminer-2.10.5-win32\cgminer.exe -o http://xxx:1234 -u xxx -p xxx -o http://xxx2:5678 -u xxx -p xxx

cmd window stops refreshing after i use switch user feature - when im back to administrator account the cmd window shows last status of cgminer and it does not changing anymore, same hash power same tmp everything its freezed - it doesnt react on any keys like Q i need to close window manually
my gfx card before closing but with this freezed cgminer window open seems still minning, it stops when i close this window by clicking on X

when i add to commandline -T switch it works fine i can switch users and after im back to my account its still ok. But i dont like this it does not show many items like temperature etc i dont want to use another tool like gpu-z. Cgminer without -T looks really nice

So anybody had similar problem? Or any ideas what to do to fix that?

regards

with x:\xxxx\cgminer-2.10.5-win32\cgminer.exe --compact -o http://xxx:1234 -u xxx -p xxx -o http://xxx2:5678 -u xxx -p xxx  it works ok - so maybe problem is somewhere in gpu monitoring
GPU monitoring requires  constant same-user access to the values. This is a known OS limitation and there is no workaround if you are switching users.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 632
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 10:51:40 PM
 #9071

Hey Con,

In the case where we get the right amount of donations, do you envision many more improvements that could be done for Scrypt support? I think that with the current state of the mining market, a big Scrypt update could rally many people for donations.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 11:37:57 PM
 #9072

Hey Con,

In the case where we get the right amount of donations, do you envision many more improvements that could be done for Scrypt support? I think that with the current state of the mining market, a big Scrypt update could rally many people for donations.
I'd love to say I'll make it 100 times faster but realistically no, just that I'll maintain support for it and keep the code in line with btc mining and fix any unique scrypt bugs instead of letting it rot in hell which is what I'm tempted to do. It's no secret I find the scrypt code annoying and difficult to support because of its non-deterministic behaviour. I'm not against alternative cryptocurrencies or LTC per se, it's just that I primarily care about BTC. There already have been very big scrypt updates behind the scenes in cgminer the last 6 months and no one gave a rat's arse till they abandoned GPU mining on BTC. As I've said elsewhere, I got a big donation to add scrypt support to cgminer originally, and then in the 6 months since then got a sum total of 3.6LTC in donations until a week ago. I'm only giving it some foreground attention now because of the recent donations. The fact is I have to hold onto a GPU to even try and keep support for it when I was planning on selling all of them (I've sold 3 of my 4 GPUs).  Yes, I can be "paid to care", I admit it. Keep the donations coming and I'll even stop complaining about it (as much)  Wink

See this litecoin thread for a failed attempt to start a "bounty" as such.
http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php?topic=1389

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 11:40:58 PM
 #9073

Maybe the bounty should be started on this forum, again.
Graet ? Smiley
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 11:49:37 PM
 #9074

Maybe we should have an anti-bounty and match whatever funds to drop support? Grin (Obvious Troll is Obvious)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2013, 12:32:53 AM
 #9075

I have received some further donations for scrypt, so I will briefly outline how to get the best hashrate for a 7970 as I understand it, that should work for any hardware combo.

EDIT: Preliminary actions:
On linux run this command:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
or on windows this:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
in the same console/bash/dos prompt/bat file/whatever you want to call it,
before running cgminer.

First, find the highest thread concurrency that you can start it at. They should all start at 8192 but some will go up to 3 times that. Don't go too high on the intensity while testing and don't change gpu threads. If you cannot go above 8192, don't fret as you can still get a high hashrate.

Delete any .bin files so you're starting from scratch and see what bins get generated.

First try without any thread concurrency or even shaders, as cgminer will try to find an optimal value
cgminer -I 13

If that starts mining, see what bin was generated, it is likely the largest meaningful TC you can set.
Starting it on mine I get:
scrypt130302Tahitiglg2tc22392w64l8.bin

See tc22392 that's telling you what thread concurrency it was. It should start without TC parameters, but you never know. So if it doesn't, start with --thread-concurrency 8192 and add 2048 to it at a time till you find the highest value it will start successfully at.

Then start overclocking the eyeballs off your memory, as 7970s are exquisitely sensitive to memory speed and amazingly overclockable but please make sure it keeps adequately cooled with --auto-fan! Do it while it's running from the GPU menu. Go up by 25 at a time every 30 seconds or so until your GPU crashes. Then reboot and start it 25 lower as a rough start. Mine runs stable at 1900 memory without overvolting. Overvolting is the only thing that can actually damage your GPU so I wouldn't recommend it at all.

Then once you find the maximum memory clock speed, you need to find the sweet spot engine clock speed that matches it. It's a fine line where one more MHz will make the hashrate drop by 20%. It's somewhere in the .57 - 0.6 ratio range. Start your engine clock speed at half your memory clock speed and then increase it by 5 at a time. The hashrate should climb a little each rise in engine speed and then suddenly drop above a certain value. Decrease it by 1 then until you find it climbs dramatically. If your engine clock speed cannot get that high without crashing the GPU, you will have to use a lower memclock.

Then, and only then, bother trying to increase intensity further.

My final settings were:
--gpu-engine 1157  --gpu-memclock 1900 -I 20
for a hashrate of 725kH.

Note I did not bother setting a thread concurrency. Once you have the magic endpoint, look at what tc was chosen by the bin file generated and then hard code that in next time (eg --thread-concurrency 22336) as slight changes in thread concurrency will happen every time if you don't specify one, and the tc to clock ratios are critical!

Good luck, and if this doesn't work for you, well same old magic discussion applies, I cannot debug every hardware combo out there.

Your numbers will be your numbers depending on your hardware combination and OS, so don't expect to get exactly the same results!

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2013, 01:59:45 AM
 #9076

Yuk. That sounds like completely no fun whatsoever..... Tongue

Count me in on that anti bounty....... Cheesy

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
klear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 02:19:59 AM
 #9077

http://i.imgur.com/RqvqpQz.png

at 1000mhz core, changing memory from 1500 to 1200 I just lose 1Kh/s, 1100 takes me down 7Kh/s
Changing the core speed has a direct influence on hashrate
hanti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 18, 2013, 12:39:51 PM
 #9078

Platform:
windows 7 ultimate 64bit
cgminer 2.10.5, 2.11.2, 2.11.3
HD6950 2GB with unlocked shaders oc to 830mhz

Commandline:
x:\xxxx\cgminer-2.10.5-win32\cgminer.exe -o http://xxx:1234 -u xxx -p xxx -o http://xxx2:5678 -u xxx -p xxx

cmd window stops refreshing after i use switch user feature......

with x:\xxxx\cgminer-2.10.5-win32\cgminer.exe --compact -o http://xxx:1234 -u xxx -p xxx -o http://xxx2:5678 -u xxx -p xxx  it works ok - so maybe problem is somewhere in gpu monitoring
GPU monitoring requires  constant same-user access to the values. This is a known OS limitation and there is no workaround if you are switching users.

thx for reply ckolivas - maybe its completly diferent i have no idea, but i just check on gpu-z sensors tab and it works fine i can switch user and come back and its still working, so maybe there is some trick Tongue - anyway i can live with --compact feature

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2013, 01:34:10 PM
 #9079

For scrypt mining on windows with high thread concurrencies, see "How to raise "Maximum buffer memory" in cgminer 2.11.3 ":

http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,1420.0.html

Summary:
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 18, 2013, 03:41:50 PM
 #9080

First I have to say this is a totally awesome miner. Thank you for putting such an incredible effort into it.

I think I came across some sort of a bug when I'm running cgminer through windows task scheduler as other user than the one who's currently logged in to the computer. My goal is to run cgminer in the backround without visible window. Everything else works just fine but cgminer seems not to be able to change my cards clocks and fan speeds if it's launched that way. This is bothering me because I would like to use that --auto-gpu function to lower the gpu clocks during the soon coming hot summer days when room temperature goes too high.

My system is Win7 x64, 2x7970, Catalyst 13.1.

Are you aware of this issue and more inportantly is there any solution available to it? Thanks!
Pages: « 1 ... 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 [454] 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!