Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 11:24:18 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 [817] 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5765821 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2015, 09:02:50 AM
 #16321

So deleting the zip versions of the cgminer archives was enough to appease the stupid google system into not seeing the files that it was complaining were malware. Only .7z archives for windows binaries are now available for download. Now the firefox warning should have gone away, though the google search is yet to show the correct cgminer site.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1539991458
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539991458

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539991458
Reply with quote  #2

1539991458
Report to moderator
1539991458
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539991458

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539991458
Reply with quote  #2

1539991458
Report to moderator
1539991458
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539991458

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539991458
Reply with quote  #2

1539991458
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539991458
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539991458

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539991458
Reply with quote  #2

1539991458
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 16, 2015, 09:25:50 AM
 #16322

So deleting the zip versions of the cgminer archives was enough to appease the stupid google system into not seeing the files that it was complaining were malware. Only .7z archives for windows binaries are now available for download. Now the firefox warning should have gone away, though the google search is yet to show the correct cgminer site.

Yep, Firefox 41.0.1 for Windoze is happy, for now.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 16, 2015, 05:16:18 PM
 #16323

though the google search is yet to show the correct cgminer site.

It appears to be fixed now (Windows 7, Firefox 41.0.1), probably just took some time to re-propagate out across the interwebs:

cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 01:12:18 AM
 #16324

I have a simple question regarding cgminer that I failed to find an answer to in README and other sources.

I'm experimenting with my hobby project with the following setup of 7 ASICs:

- ASICMINER Block Erupter (x4);
- Avalon Nano3 (x1);
- Antminer U3 (x2).

All these devices are supported by the same driver (icarus). However, I would like to use different driver options (like timing) for each specific vendor. Do I have to run three different instances of cgminer (manually restricting each of them with --usb option), or it is possible to specify separate set of options for each group of devices within one instance?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 01:29:49 AM
 #16325

I have a simple question regarding cgminer that I failed to find an answer to in README and other sources.

I'm experimenting with my hobby project with the following setup of 7 ASICs:

- ASICMINER Block Erupter (x4);
- Avalon Nano3 (x1);
- Antminer U3 (x2).

All these devices are supported by the same driver (icarus). However, I would like to use different driver options (like timing) for each specific vendor. Do I have to run three different instances of cgminer (manually restricting each of them with --usb option), or it is possible to specify separate set of options for each group of devices within one instance?

--icarus-timing <arg> Set how the Icarus timing is calculated - one setting/value for all or comma separated

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 01:32:12 AM
 #16326

I have a simple question regarding cgminer that I failed to find an answer to in README and other sources.

I'm experimenting with my hobby project with the following setup of 7 ASICs:

- ASICMINER Block Erupter (x4);
- Avalon Nano3 (x1);
- Antminer U3 (x2).

All these devices are supported by the same driver (icarus). However, I would like to use different driver options (like timing) for each specific vendor. Do I have to run three different instances of cgminer (manually restricting each of them with --usb option), or it is possible to specify separate set of options for each group of devices within one instance?
Whatever reason you want to use timing is wrong. You almost certainly do not want to adjust timing. Any options you are likely to really want to adjust for different devices are device specific anyway (like --au3-freq). Trust me, whatever reason you think you want to use for timing is misguided.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 09:19:07 PM
 #16327

Quote
Whatever reason you want to use timing is wrong. You almost certainly do not want to adjust timing. Any options you are likely to really want to adjust for different devices are device specific anyway (like --au3-freq). Trust me, whatever reason you think you want to use for timing is misguided.

For instance, --icarus-timing 0.22 seems to be required for Avalon Nano 3 (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon_nano ). Otherwise, cgminer shows ~500 KH/s rate instead of ~3.6 GH/s, and the device is idling most of the time according to its status LED and temperature. However, this timing is clearly inappropriate for ASICMiner Block Erupter that I'm trying to use at the same time.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 09:26:15 PM
 #16328

For instance, --icarus-timing 0.22 seems to be required for Avalon Nano 3 (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon_nano ). Otherwise, cgminer shows ~500 KH/s rate instead of ~3.6 GH/s, and the device is idling most of the time according to its status LED and temperature. However, this timing is clearly inappropriate for ASICMiner Block Erupter that I'm trying to use at the same time.
Does avalon nano actually work? I've never heard of anyone getting the driver working before... I apologise in that case. Then you'll need to confine them with separate cgminer instances. The easiest way would be to find which ports belong to different usb buses and then put the nano on one usb bus and confine that cgminer version with the --usb command.

EG: If you find which ports belong to usb bus 1 and usb bus 2, then start one cgminer instance with all the other devices plugged into bus 1 with --usb 1:* and put the avalon nano on bus 2 ports and start cgminer with --usb 2:*

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 09:56:02 PM
 #16329

Quote
Does avalon nano actually work?

Actually it works just fine with --icarus-options 115200:1:1 and --icarus-timing 0.22 settings, maybe with HW error rate on a relatively higher side (~7%).

Quote
The easiest way would be to find which ports belong to different usb buses and then put the nano on one usb bus and confine that cgminer version with the --usb command.

I understand that, it's just not very convenient in my configuration (Raspbnerry Pi 2 + 12-port USB hub), where all the ports in the hub belong to the same USB bus. I need separate USB hub for each device family, etc. That's why I asked my question. But if there is no way to run all devices from just one cgminer instance, then I will have to rearrange hardware somehow. Thanks for your answer.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 09:59:23 PM
 #16330

Quote
Does avalon nano actually work?

Actually it works just fine with --icarus-options 115200:1:1 and --icarus-timing 0.22 settings, maybe with HW error rate on a relatively higher side (~7%).

Quote
The easiest way would be to find which ports belong to different usb buses and then put the nano on one usb bus and confine that cgminer version with the --usb command.

I understand that, it's just not very convenient in my configuration (Raspbnerry Pi 2 + 12-port USB hub), where all the ports in the hub belong to the same USB bus. I need separate USB hub for each device family, etc. That's why I asked my question. But if there is no way to run all devices from just one cgminer instance, then I will have to rearrange hardware somehow. Thanks for your answer.
No there isn't because too many devices use the same damn usb communication chip without any added identifier for cgminer to tell them apart and blindly use the 1st fpga/asic driver from cgminer (icarus) in different ways. The icarus commands were never designed with different devices in mind but new devices+drivers continue to come out that use that driver as though it's the only device connected.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2015, 11:20:00 PM
 #16331

Quote
No there isn't because too many devices use the same damn usb communication chip without any added identifier for cgminer to tell them apart and blindly use the 1st fpga/asic driver from cgminer (icarus) in different ways. The icarus commands were never designed with different devices in mind but new devices+drivers continue to come out that use that driver as though it's the only device connected.

My devices have different USB chips and vendor IDs:

$ cgminer --ndevs
 [2015-10-17 23:18:08.516] USB all: found 11 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 253 Device 3 ID: 1fc9:0083
  Manufacturer: 'NXP'
  Product: 'VCOM Port'
.USB dev 1: Bus 250 Device 5 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'                   
 [2015-10-17 23:18:08.518] 2 known USB devices

But I understand that it's not always the case.

Maybe it's reasonable to add some optional modifiers to icarus (or any other) settings that will allow to specify device bus ID/ID/vendor ID which these settings belong to?

BTW, I just found out that RPi 2 only has just one USB bus (and all it's four USB port sit on it), so --usb 1:* approach doesn't work for me. It seems that I have to write some script now, which analyzes lsusb/cgminer --ndevs output, sorts devices by their vendor ID into groups, and then runs different cgminer instances with specific options for each group. It would be nice to have all this out-of-box, of course)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2015, 11:43:30 PM
 #16332

BTW, I just found out that RPi 2 only has just one USB bus (and all it's four USB port sit on it), so --usb 1:* approach doesn't work for me. It seems that I have to write some script now, which analyzes lsusb/cgminer --ndevs output, sorts devices by their vendor ID into groups, and then runs different cgminer instances with specific options for each group. It would be nice to have all this out-of-box, of course)
There's a good chance that that device doesn't keep changing usb positions (unlike the U3). In which case you can just specify exactly the usb position it's at with the nano cgminer instance. --usb 1:3 etc.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 18, 2015, 02:01:31 AM
 #16333

Here is my script. Maybe someone will find it useful to run cgminer in multiple-vendor environment.

Code:
#!/bin/bash

url="stratum+tcp://eu.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333"
username="cameloid"
password="x"
api_base_port="4028"
log_path="/home/pi/cgminer/";

device_id[1]="1fc9:0083" # Avalon Nano
device_id[2]="10c4:ea60" # ASICMiner Block Erupter

options[1]="--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 0.22"
options[2]=""

for ((i=1; i <= ${#device_id[@]} ; i++))
do
        usb_options="$(cgminer --ndevs | grep ${device_id[i]} | awk '{ print $5":"$7}' | xargs | sed 's/ /,/g')"
        if [ -z "${usb_options}" ]; then
                echo "No devices with ID ${device_id[i]} found"
        else
                echo "Running worker #$i, device ID: ${device_id[i]}..."
                $(cgminer ${options[i]} -o $url -u $username.worker$i -p $password --api-listen --api-port $((api_base_port+i-1)) -T --usb $usb_options >> ($log_path)cgminer.worker($i).log &)
        fi
        usb_options=""
done
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1056


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 18, 2015, 04:36:47 AM
 #16334

Stupid forum engine makes really crappy formatting, but hopefully the idea is clear.
use [code] [/code]
but you may also then need to fix any '[' brackets in it if they match forum commands.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
studysession
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 09:49:19 PM
 #16335

Power seems to be my biggest enemy....

I am using a RaspberryPi 2 with an external powered USB hub. Even though it has 12 powered ports....It was too much to fill all the ports with the USB ASIC Miners. I was never able to get more than 4 running at a time because lack of power. Well today something happened to that hub and I need a new one.

I now know not just any powered USB hum will do.... What powered USB hub will someone recommend without breaking the bank?
Even if I have to use 2 powered USB hubs I would like to get more than 4 running from a single RaspberryPi.

Thank you
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
October 24, 2015, 11:34:30 PM
 #16336

Power seems to be my biggest enemy....

I am using a RaspberryPi 2 with an external powered USB hub. Even though it has 12 powered ports....It was too much to fill all the ports with the USB ASIC Miners. I was never able to get more than 4 running at a time because lack of power. Well today something happened to that hub and I need a new one.

I now know not just any powered USB hum will do.... What powered USB hub will someone recommend without breaking the bank?
Even if I have to use 2 powered USB hubs I would like to get more than 4 running from a single RaspberryPi.

Thank you

did you try those Y-cables (usb)
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 25, 2015, 01:38:39 AM
 #16337

Power seems to be my biggest enemy....

I am using a RaspberryPi 2 with an external powered USB hub. Even though it has 12 powered ports....It was too much to fill all the ports with the USB ASIC Miners. I was never able to get more than 4 running at a time because lack of power. Well today something happened to that hub and I need a new one.

I now know not just any powered USB hum will do.... What powered USB hub will someone recommend without breaking the bank?
Even if I have to use 2 powered USB hubs I would like to get more than 4 running from a single RaspberryPi.

Thank you

I like the Gearmo 10 port hub the best.  It runs 9 BE's and one fan just fine.

You do know your not going to make anything on BE's, right?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
studysession
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 25, 2015, 01:56:05 AM
 #16338

I like the Gearmo 10 port hub the best.  It runs 9 BE's and one fan just fine.

You do know your not going to make anything on BE's, right?

Thanks - and Yeah this is more for my knowledge on how it works than anything else. Right now I just want to keep it all going.
Thanks
cameloid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 29, 2015, 06:34:54 PM
 #16339

I run cgminer 4.9.2 on Raspberry Pi 2 and experience constant segfaults (once in every half hour) when Antminer U3 is attached.

I use only minimum set of command line options to start cgminer, just a server URL and login/password (everything else is by default). Source code was taken from official git and compiled with gcc 4.9.2. I used CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall --march=native" compiler option and "--enable-icarus" configuration option. Linux version is 4.1.7.

Other instances of cgminer (configured for Avalon Nano ASICs) work just fine at the same time. Also, I tested same version of cgminer under MacOS X with U3, and it seems to work stable, too. So it looks like some issue with specific setup of cgminer + Antminer U3 + Raspberry Pi 2.

Is it a known problem? Is there any patch around? Anybody interested in core dumps?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1144


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2015, 10:55:29 PM
 #16340

I run cgminer 4.9.2 on Raspberry Pi 2 and experience constant segfaults (once in every half hour) when Antminer U3 is attached.

I use only minimum set of command line options to start cgminer, just a server URL and login/password (everything else is by default). Source code was taken from official git and compiled with gcc 4.9.2. I used CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall --march=native" compiler option and "--enable-icarus" configuration option. Linux version is 4.1.7.

Other instances of cgminer (configured for Avalon Nano ASICs) work just fine at the same time. Also, I tested same version of cgminer under MacOS X with U3, and it seems to work stable, too. So it looks like some issue with specific setup of cgminer + Antminer U3 + Raspberry Pi 2.

Is it a known problem? Is there any patch around? Anybody interested in core dumps?
If it's a crash only with RPi then it's either a specific software bug that only shows up with the RPi build - or - it's an RPi hardware problem. It's very easy to get unreliability with the RPi simply with a dodgy flash card that's hard to figure out.
Get a backtrace if you can by following the directions here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/README-debug

If it changes every time it crashes and seems to be random memory corruption it's almost certainly an RPi problem and not a software problem. Many people have run this version of cgminer on RPi without any issues so my bet is on that.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 [817] 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!