Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 10:56:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 [457] 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 ... 841 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5651838 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bicer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 12:41:46 AM
 #9121

For some reason cgminer is "consuming" all available ports when run with '--fix-protocol' and p2pool on local machine. Not sure if one of distro updates is causing this or misconfiguration somewhere. Tried cgminer versions all the way back to 2.7.4 and Python 2.7 and 2.6.
Anyone got idea what could be the cause? Below is part of very long list of netstat -tnp

Code:
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39383         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39355         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39417         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39135         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39183         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39338         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39729         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39739         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39492         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39639         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
1511089001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089001
Reply with quote  #2

1511089001
Report to moderator
1511089001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089001
Reply with quote  #2

1511089001
Report to moderator
1511089001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511089001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511089001
Reply with quote  #2

1511089001
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
gigica viteazu`
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447

beast at work


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 11:01:50 AM
 #9122

what happened with 2.11.3 log format, why is not reporting hashrate anymore ?

BURST-3FDG-W622-8KAF-E52KP
flound1129
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


www.multipool.us


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 05:37:09 PM
 #9123

cgminer is using about 25% cpu when mining bitcoin.. Uses 0% cpu when mining litecoin..

Is this normal?

Multipool - Always mine the most profitable coin - Scrypt, X11 or SHA-256!
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:08:18 PM
 #9124

cgminer is using about 25% cpu when mining bitcoin.. Uses 0% cpu when mining litecoin..

Is this normal?

Nope!, I assume you have a quad core CPU? Check to see if you have the "100% cpu bug" by setting CGminer to just one core, If the one core is loaded up beyond 97%, Then you have the bug.
It might be nothing more than an SDK/Driver bug that is fixed with the newer drivers

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 01:28:17 AM
 #9125

cgminer is using about 25% cpu when mining bitcoin.. Uses 0% cpu when mining litecoin..

Is this normal?
I hope you're not using the same Intensity for both BTC and LTC. Your -I for BTC should only be like -7.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ditchmagnet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 02:51:37 PM
 #9126

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:26:13 PM
 #9127

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

I'm not sure what problem you're referring to, but for me, cgminer works at least as well as reaper for LTC mining.

With a GIGABYTE GV-R785OC-2GD clocked at 1150/1000, intensity 19, thread concurrency 27164, 1 gpu thread, I get pretty much the same hashrate with cgminer and reaper (~390kH/s).

I also played around with another configuration at intensity 13, thread concurrency 13632, and 2 gpu threads. With this, I get ~360kH/s in cgminer, and a hard crash requiring a reboot with reaper. With cgminer at this intensity, I *am* able to use the desktop for other purposes.

Interestingly, reaper in the first configuration uses ~1.7GB of system memory. cgminer in both configs uses ~40K...!

With my hardware, I don't see any reason to ever use reaper. YMMV with different hardware, of course.
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 10:31:58 PM
 #9128

I use Catalyst 11.12 and SDK 2.5 on Ubuntu 12.04 (phatk kernel). It took me a long time to figure out how to install both of them properly. Unless you're using 7000 series cards, I'd recommend this combo.
I just upgraded from 11.04 to 12.04 and am in the throes of trying to figure out what you figured out. After about 24 hours of messing around I'm just about to re-install 12.04 to get a clean slate. Do any memories/hints/notes come to mind?
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 572


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 03:23:02 AM
 #9129

Since 10.5 CGMiner crashes on launch and all the versions following that. 10.4 works fine. Using Windows 7 64bit. Any ideas on what to look for?

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 03:45:42 AM
 #9130

I was mining OK with Ubuntu 11.04 and Catalyst 11.06. After upgrading to Ubuntu 12.04 and Catalyst 11.12, I built the current cgminer from source, which has been my usual practice. Two problems:

1. The system is not detecting my display monitor's characteristics and is using a generic "laptop" monitor config with the wrong resolution. This is not a big problem, but I'm mentioning it here in case it's a clue.

2. cgminer 2.11.3 is not seeing my three 5970 GPUs:
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 13:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  1. 12:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  2. 0b:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  3. 0a:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  4. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  5. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

* - Default adapter
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ xhost + &> /dev/null
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 cgminer -n
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (831.4)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] 0 GPU devices max detected

I'm stumped.  Sad
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 06:43:14 AM
 #9131

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all

and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 09:34:27 AM
 #9132

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.

Quote
and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

That returns a long list of fonts.

EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 09:53:58 AM
 #9133

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.
...
So ask them whatever is wrong with their procedure ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ditchmagnet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:09:26 PM
 #9134

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

I'm not sure what problem you're referring to, but for me, cgminer works at least as well as reaper for LTC mining.

With a GIGABYTE GV-R785OC-2GD clocked at 1150/1000, intensity 19, thread concurrency 27164, 1 gpu thread, I get pretty much the same hashrate with cgminer and reaper (~390kH/s).

I also played around with another configuration at intensity 13, thread concurrency 13632, and 2 gpu threads. With this, I get ~360kH/s in cgminer, and a hard crash requiring a reboot with reaper. With cgminer at this intensity, I *am* able to use the desktop for other purposes.

Interestingly, reaper in the first configuration uses ~1.7GB of system memory. cgminer in both configs uses ~40K...!

With my hardware, I don't see any reason to ever use reaper. YMMV with different hardware, of course.


Ya, I'm an idiot.  I found a guide showing how to set it up correctly, and now it is doing AWESOME. Getting 670kh/s at -I 20

EDIT:

Ok, now I am having issues when trying to tweak my 6950.  If I delete my bins and then even use the same .bat files I was using, it runs SLOW, but if I restore my old bin from the recycle bin (Win 7 64bit), and again use the same .bat, speeds are how they used to be.  Tried with 2.7.5 and with the newest version, but same results.  Anyone have any idea why this is happening?  Because of this issue, I can only use 2.7.5 with my 6950, and I would like to start using the newest version.

tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 10:00:57 PM
 #9135

Something is weird with the 2.11.3 kernel.  I can't use it very well with my 7950s, I get the same hash rates as with reaper but with about 5% invalids.  Not sure why this is.  Try rolling back to one of the older scrypt######.cl files and seeing if that fixes it.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 10:14:04 PM
 #9136

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 10:49:59 PM
 #9137

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:24:56 AM
 #9138

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 04:53:21 AM
 #9139

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 10:59:30 AM
 #9140

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.

Hi hickc,

I'm currently running a couple of 5970's on the same driver but with sdk v2.4, it's a close thing between v2.1 & v2.4 so it's down to personal choice really. I don't run the -g flag at all, and you might want to lower your memclock to 180 - this will lower your temps & energy use. Apart from that your speed is OK me thinks, if the rejects are doing your nut in then just lower your -I flag down to 8, it won't have a noticeable effect on hash rate but will lower your reject rate considerably. I also use the --usb :0 & --hotplug 0 flags as I don't use usb miners and it was playing hell with my apc usb connection - so better to disable it.

Basically, if it runs stable at your speed I'd be happy with it.

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Pages: « 1 ... 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 [457] 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 ... 841 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!