Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:24:16 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 [457] 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823197 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 08:57:46 AM
 #9121

I'm guessing you're talking about windows. Windows does random things with the logging output it seems. Gotta love its (arse)soul.

Seems like a dotNet issue, since Python on windows handles it fine.

No dotNet in the posix c code that is cgminer.

I'm saying the problem with Nemo's dotNet-based front-end is a dotNet issue, since a GUIMiner, a similar Python/Win32 front-end does not have the same problem.


Then this is inconsistent. I am only observing this issue with CGMiner and cpuminer (from which CGMiner was forked). Poclbm, rpcminer, as well as some other command-line tools, which I ran for test purposes from my front-end (like ping.exe -t) are handled just fine, with output showing just when it is expected.


Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
1481214256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214256
Reply with quote  #2

1481214256
Report to moderator
1481214256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214256
Reply with quote  #2

1481214256
Report to moderator
"With e-currency based on cryptographic proof, without the need to trust a third party middleman, money can be secure and transactions effortless." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481214256
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214256

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214256
Reply with quote  #2

1481214256
Report to moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 04:52:44 PM
 #9122

Does anyone else get about 5% invalids using the new cgminer and high thread concurrencies?  Gonna switch my 7950s back to reaper for now until I figure this out.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
bicer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 12:41:46 AM
 #9123

For some reason cgminer is "consuming" all available ports when run with '--fix-protocol' and p2pool on local machine. Not sure if one of distro updates is causing this or misconfiguration somewhere. Tried cgminer versions all the way back to 2.7.4 and Python 2.7 and 2.6.
Anyone got idea what could be the cause? Below is part of very long list of netstat -tnp

Code:
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39383         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39355         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39417         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39135         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39183         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39338         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39729         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39739         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:9332          127.0.0.1:39492         ESTABLISHED 25198/python2.7    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:39639         127.0.0.1:9332          ESTABLISHED 29338/cgminer      
gigica viteazu`
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455

beast at work


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 11:01:50 AM
 #9124

what happened with 2.11.3 log format, why is not reporting hashrate anymore ?

BURST-3FDG-W622-8KAF-E52KP
flound1129
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


www.multipool.us


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 05:37:09 PM
 #9125

cgminer is using about 25% cpu when mining bitcoin.. Uses 0% cpu when mining litecoin..

Is this normal?

Multipool - Always mine the most profitable coin - Scrypt, X11 or SHA-256!
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:08:18 PM
 #9126

cgminer is using about 25% cpu when mining bitcoin.. Uses 0% cpu when mining litecoin..

Is this normal?

Nope!, I assume you have a quad core CPU? Check to see if you have the "100% cpu bug" by setting CGminer to just one core, If the one core is loaded up beyond 97%, Then you have the bug.
It might be nothing more than an SDK/Driver bug that is fixed with the newer drivers

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 01:28:17 AM
 #9127

cgminer is using about 25% cpu when mining bitcoin.. Uses 0% cpu when mining litecoin..

Is this normal?
I hope you're not using the same Intensity for both BTC and LTC. Your -I for BTC should only be like -7.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ditchmagnet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 02:51:37 PM
 #9128

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:26:13 PM
 #9129

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

I'm not sure what problem you're referring to, but for me, cgminer works at least as well as reaper for LTC mining.

With a GIGABYTE GV-R785OC-2GD clocked at 1150/1000, intensity 19, thread concurrency 27164, 1 gpu thread, I get pretty much the same hashrate with cgminer and reaper (~390kH/s).

I also played around with another configuration at intensity 13, thread concurrency 13632, and 2 gpu threads. With this, I get ~360kH/s in cgminer, and a hard crash requiring a reboot with reaper. With cgminer at this intensity, I *am* able to use the desktop for other purposes.

Interestingly, reaper in the first configuration uses ~1.7GB of system memory. cgminer in both configs uses ~40K...!

With my hardware, I don't see any reason to ever use reaper. YMMV with different hardware, of course.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 10:31:58 PM
 #9130

I use Catalyst 11.12 and SDK 2.5 on Ubuntu 12.04 (phatk kernel). It took me a long time to figure out how to install both of them properly. Unless you're using 7000 series cards, I'd recommend this combo.
I just upgraded from 11.04 to 12.04 and am in the throes of trying to figure out what you figured out. After about 24 hours of messing around I'm just about to re-install 12.04 to get a clean slate. Do any memories/hints/notes come to mind?
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 03:23:02 AM
 #9131

Since 10.5 CGMiner crashes on launch and all the versions following that. 10.4 works fine. Using Windows 7 64bit. Any ideas on what to look for?

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 03:45:42 AM
 #9132

I was mining OK with Ubuntu 11.04 and Catalyst 11.06. After upgrading to Ubuntu 12.04 and Catalyst 11.12, I built the current cgminer from source, which has been my usual practice. Two problems:

1. The system is not detecting my display monitor's characteristics and is using a generic "laptop" monitor config with the wrong resolution. This is not a big problem, but I'm mentioning it here in case it's a clue.

2. cgminer 2.11.3 is not seeing my three 5970 GPUs:
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 13:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  1. 12:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  2. 0b:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  3. 0a:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  4. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  5. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

* - Default adapter
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ xhost + &> /dev/null
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 cgminer -n
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (831.4)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] 0 GPU devices max detected

I'm stumped.  Sad
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 06:43:14 AM
 #9133

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all

and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 09:34:27 AM
 #9134

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.

Quote
and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

That returns a long list of fonts.

EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 09:53:58 AM
 #9135

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.
...
So ask them whatever is wrong with their procedure ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ditchmagnet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:09:26 PM
 #9136

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

I'm not sure what problem you're referring to, but for me, cgminer works at least as well as reaper for LTC mining.

With a GIGABYTE GV-R785OC-2GD clocked at 1150/1000, intensity 19, thread concurrency 27164, 1 gpu thread, I get pretty much the same hashrate with cgminer and reaper (~390kH/s).

I also played around with another configuration at intensity 13, thread concurrency 13632, and 2 gpu threads. With this, I get ~360kH/s in cgminer, and a hard crash requiring a reboot with reaper. With cgminer at this intensity, I *am* able to use the desktop for other purposes.

Interestingly, reaper in the first configuration uses ~1.7GB of system memory. cgminer in both configs uses ~40K...!

With my hardware, I don't see any reason to ever use reaper. YMMV with different hardware, of course.


Ya, I'm an idiot.  I found a guide showing how to set it up correctly, and now it is doing AWESOME. Getting 670kh/s at -I 20

EDIT:

Ok, now I am having issues when trying to tweak my 6950.  If I delete my bins and then even use the same .bat files I was using, it runs SLOW, but if I restore my old bin from the recycle bin (Win 7 64bit), and again use the same .bat, speeds are how they used to be.  Tried with 2.7.5 and with the newest version, but same results.  Anyone have any idea why this is happening?  Because of this issue, I can only use 2.7.5 with my 6950, and I would like to start using the newest version.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 10:00:57 PM
 #9137

Something is weird with the 2.11.3 kernel.  I can't use it very well with my 7950s, I get the same hash rates as with reaper but with about 5% invalids.  Not sure why this is.  Try rolling back to one of the older scrypt######.cl files and seeing if that fixes it.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 10:14:04 PM
 #9138

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 10:49:59 PM
 #9139

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:24:56 AM
 #9140

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?
Pages: « 1 ... 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 [457] 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!