Bitcoin Forum
November 12, 2018, 09:24:50 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 [457] 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 ... 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5766257 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 10:31:58 PM
 #9121

I use Catalyst 11.12 and SDK 2.5 on Ubuntu 12.04 (phatk kernel). It took me a long time to figure out how to install both of them properly. Unless you're using 7000 series cards, I'd recommend this combo.
I just upgraded from 11.04 to 12.04 and am in the throes of trying to figure out what you figured out. After about 24 hours of messing around I'm just about to re-install 12.04 to get a clean slate. Do any memories/hints/notes come to mind?
1542057890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542057890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542057890
Reply with quote  #2

1542057890
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542057890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542057890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542057890
Reply with quote  #2

1542057890
Report to moderator
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 500


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 03:23:02 AM
 #9122

Since 10.5 CGMiner crashes on launch and all the versions following that. 10.4 works fine. Using Windows 7 64bit. Any ideas on what to look for?

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 03:45:42 AM
 #9123

I was mining OK with Ubuntu 11.04 and Catalyst 11.06. After upgrading to Ubuntu 12.04 and Catalyst 11.12, I built the current cgminer from source, which has been my usual practice. Two problems:

1. The system is not detecting my display monitor's characteristics and is using a generic "laptop" monitor config with the wrong resolution. This is not a big problem, but I'm mentioning it here in case it's a clue.

2. cgminer 2.11.3 is not seeing my three 5970 GPUs:
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 13:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  1. 12:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  2. 0b:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  3. 0a:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  4. 07:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
  5. 06:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

* - Default adapter
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ xhost + &> /dev/null
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 cgminer -n
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (831.4)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-03-22 20:29:53] 0 GPU devices max detected

I'm stumped.  Sad
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 06:43:14 AM
 #9124

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all

and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 09:34:27 AM
 #9125

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.

Quote
and of course the usual (which I put in here a few days ago)
To see that your display is correct:
export DISPLAY=:0
xlsfonts

That returns a long list of fonts.

EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 09:53:58 AM
 #9126

?
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
Yes, I had done that prior to the results I showed. I was following the procedure from the Unofficial Wiki for the AMD Linux Driver. I used the commands to create fglrx .deb packages from the AMD Catalyst 11.12 download and install the packages, plus aticonfig etc.
...
So ask them whatever is wrong with their procedure ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ditchmagnet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:09:26 PM
 #9127

Has intensity for LTC been fixed yet in 7xxx cards?  I much prefer cgminer over reaper, but I cant use it with my 7950 right now.

I'm not sure what problem you're referring to, but for me, cgminer works at least as well as reaper for LTC mining.

With a GIGABYTE GV-R785OC-2GD clocked at 1150/1000, intensity 19, thread concurrency 27164, 1 gpu thread, I get pretty much the same hashrate with cgminer and reaper (~390kH/s).

I also played around with another configuration at intensity 13, thread concurrency 13632, and 2 gpu threads. With this, I get ~360kH/s in cgminer, and a hard crash requiring a reboot with reaper. With cgminer at this intensity, I *am* able to use the desktop for other purposes.

Interestingly, reaper in the first configuration uses ~1.7GB of system memory. cgminer in both configs uses ~40K...!

With my hardware, I don't see any reason to ever use reaper. YMMV with different hardware, of course.


Ya, I'm an idiot.  I found a guide showing how to set it up correctly, and now it is doing AWESOME. Getting 670kh/s at -I 20

EDIT:

Ok, now I am having issues when trying to tweak my 6950.  If I delete my bins and then even use the same .bat files I was using, it runs SLOW, but if I restore my old bin from the recycle bin (Win 7 64bit), and again use the same .bat, speeds are how they used to be.  Tried with 2.7.5 and with the newest version, but same results.  Anyone have any idea why this is happening?  Because of this issue, I can only use 2.7.5 with my 6950, and I would like to start using the newest version.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 10:00:57 PM
 #9128

Something is weird with the 2.11.3 kernel.  I can't use it very well with my 7950s, I get the same hash rates as with reaper but with about 5% invalids.  Not sure why this is.  Try rolling back to one of the older scrypt######.cl files and seeing if that fixes it.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 10:14:04 PM
 #9129

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2013, 10:49:59 PM
 #9130

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:24:56 AM
 #9131

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 04:53:21 AM
 #9132

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 10:59:30 AM
 #9133

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.

Hi hickc,

I'm currently running a couple of 5970's on the same driver but with sdk v2.4, it's a close thing between v2.1 & v2.4 so it's down to personal choice really. I don't run the -g flag at all, and you might want to lower your memclock to 180 - this will lower your temps & energy use. Apart from that your speed is OK me thinks, if the rejects are doing your nut in then just lower your -I flag down to 8, it won't have a noticeable effect on hash rate but will lower your reject rate considerably. I also use the --usb :0 & --hotplug 0 flags as I don't use usb miners and it was playing hell with my apc usb connection - so better to disable it.

Basically, if it runs stable at your speed I'd be happy with it.

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 12:33:12 PM
 #9134

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
ok another question would a 6950 work with the 7950 and would the two be able to get enough power from my 750 watt psu?

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 01:47:51 PM
 #9135

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
ok another question would a 6950 work with the 7950 and would the two be able to get enough power from my 750 watt psu?


Series 5xxx & 6xxx are OK together, 750w SHOULD be enough for 2 cards ONLY if it's a quality PSU with at least bronze+ certification. I'm currently running 4 gpu's (5970,5870 & 5850) on a 850w gold PSU - and that's maxed out. I run all my 7xxx series cards separately on their own rigs with no worries. A good link below for you to check your settings & play with:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29

Good luck. Peace.

EDIT: Try and get in the habit of counting gpu's and not cards, as some cards (notably 5970) have two gpu's so will be displayed as two gpu's/cards by mining software.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
HorseRider
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1369
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 01:50:42 PM
 #9136

a 101 question, in CGMINER, which one is right?

1 Thash/s = 1000 Ghash/s = 1000 Mhash/s = 1000 Khash/s, or
1Thash/s = 1024 Mhash/s = 1024 Khash/s = 1024 hash/s


16SvwJtQET7mkHZFFbJpgPaDA1Pxtmbm5P
Anvi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 04:43:57 PM
 #9137

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1635964#msg1635964

I did exactly what ckolivas suggested in that post.. Cgminer defaulted to tc 22400, but that was a lot slower than 8192, so I manually set 8192.
1880 MHz turned out to be maximum stable memory clock and I went through 900 - 1175 MHz GPU in 5 MHz increments and at 1175 MHz GPU I finally reached 600 kh/s.

Dunno what else to do at this point.. Does anyone have any ideas? I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?

I'm using Catalyst 13.3 beta3 || cgminer version 2.11.3
Code:
--intensity 13 --worksize 256 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 8192

Some results that I wrote down:
http://i.imgur.com/nD7euPK.png
Proofer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 06:07:02 PM
 #9138

EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12

SOLVED  Smiley

Problem summary: Upgraded Ubuntu to 12.04; found that AMD Catalyst 11.12 driver (a.k.a. fglrx 8.92) is incompatible with Xorg X server 1.13.0, which is in 12.04.2, which is the current release of 12.04 LTS (Precise Pangolin). There was also an issue of 12.04.2 having kernel 3.5, which is  incompatible with Catalyst 11.12's installer; it wants kernel 3.2.

Solution: install 12.04.1, which has xserver 1.11.3 and kernel 3.2.  Even after running Software Updater, which updates to 12.04.2, xserver stays at 1.11.3 and the kernel stays at 3.2. 12.04.1 is available here.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 06:31:01 PM
 #9139

*headache* So is all this new stuff just for 7970's? Or would a 7950 suffice...
Im running 2.10.4 right now and im wondering if i'll notice any benefit to upgrading all my miners (some use 5xxx 6xxx) or if just my 7950 will benefit.
Would a 7950 show a hashrate increase if i was to update to 2.11.3?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 06:42:18 PM
 #9140


Dunno what else to do at this point.. Does anyone have any ideas? I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?


Try varying your intensity, both up and down.

My 7850 does 360kh/s at 13, and 390 kh/s at 12, all else equal (g 2, 13k threads). I can also get to 390kh/s with I 19, g 1, 26k threads, but that makes my desktop unusable.

What I did in order to find the optimal thread concurrences was to keep an eye on the amount of memory my card was using with each setting (with gpu z). If there was free memory, there was room for more threads.


Pages: « 1 ... 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 [457] 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 ... 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!