Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2024, 03:30:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 [233] 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805211 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 08:59:14 AM
 #4641

Is it efficient to use balance or rotation mode? I would like to get text alerts from a pool but I don't like putting on my hashing power there. Balance seems like a good option if LP still works correctly. Does it matter how many pools are used?
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713886259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713886259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713886259
Reply with quote  #2

1713886259
Report to moderator
1713886259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713886259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713886259
Reply with quote  #2

1713886259
Report to moderator
1713886259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713886259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713886259
Reply with quote  #2

1713886259
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 09:43:10 AM
Last edit: March 21, 2012, 09:54:47 AM by jake262144
 #4642

...
Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer -D --verbose -Q 2 --api-listen --auto-fan --temp-target 75 -I 8 -o http://x http://x 2> "/root/run.`date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S`.$$.log"
...
The logfile was created, but is empty...

Quote
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 16:20 run.20120320162057.3911.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 16:33 run.20120320163321.3713.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root       0 Mar 20 23:04 run.20120320230402.8150.log

Obviously, something is wrong since 2> and 2>> are the official ways to log cgminer activity.
Do you know what the mistake is?
You're galloping headfirst, launching screen and cgminer in a single step. Care to take a guess which of the two subroutines you're logging the output of?
Gotta slow down a bit there, cowboy Cheesy
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 12:41:49 PM
 #4643


Obviously, something is wrong since 2> and 2>> are the official ways to log cgminer activity.
Do you know what the mistake is?
You're galloping headfirst, launching screen and cgminer in a single step. Care to take a guess which of the two subroutines you're logging the output of?
Gotta slow down a bit there, cowboy Cheesy


Thanks Jake!  Surprisingly, that started logging  Tongue

That is in a file for a startup script...  How do I start cgminer attached to screen x in two lines?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 01:03:51 PM
 #4644


Obviously, something is wrong since 2> and 2>> are the official ways to log cgminer activity.
Do you know what the mistake is?
You're galloping headfirst, launching screen and cgminer in a single step. Care to take a guess which of the two subroutines you're logging the output of?
Gotta slow down a bit there, cowboy Cheesy


Thanks Jake!  Surprisingly, that started logging  Tongue

That is in a file for a startup script...  How do I start cgminer attached to screen x in two lines?

My cgminer.sh looks like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
now="`date +%Y%m%d%H%M%S`"
#
./cgminer-231j -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -Q 4 --api-port 4028 --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1,W:192.168.7.0/24 --api-description Subaru -I 9 --submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 900 --gpu-memclock 775 --gpu-memdiff -125 --temp-target 70 "$@" 2> run.$now.$$.log
Just in case you wanted a hint Smiley

You must of course also
Code:
chmod +x cgminer.sh

The "$@" means I can add more arguments - like pool configurations files e.g. "./cgminer.sh -c pool.json"

Edit: so in case it wasn't obvious Smiley
Code:
/usr/bin/screen -dmS cgminer /opt/miners/cgminer/cgminer.sh
and of course cgminer.sh would have all your normal options before the "$@"

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 05:03:58 PM
 #4645

I ran at stock gpu clocks for 14 minutes and had restarts on half (3) of my gpus during this short time, increasing ram used from 175 meg to 260 meg.

Before I stopped it, I checked GPU status and only GPU 5 had its "Last Initialized" time updated.... From this screen, all other gpus appeared to never have restarted.  However, going through the log, I can see that gpu 0, 2, and 5 restarted.   The entire log file is about 1 meg... 100k zipped.  I can email it or post it somewhere if you want to look at the whole thing.

Code:
root@skynet:~# cat run.20120321105206.19993.log | grep idle
[2012-03-21 10:55:22] Device 0 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 0 declared SICK!
[2012-03-21 10:56:52] Device 2 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 2 declared SICK!
[2012-03-21 10:57:11] Device 0 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 0 declared SICK!
[2012-03-21 11:03:52] Device 5 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 5 declared SICK!
root@skynet:~# cat run.20120321105206.19993.log | grep restart
[2012-03-21 10:55:22] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 10:55:23] Thread 0 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:55:24] Thread 1 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:56:52] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 10:56:53] Thread 4 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:56:54] Thread 5 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:57:11] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 10:57:12] Thread 0 restarted
[2012-03-21 10:57:13] Thread 1 restarted
[2012-03-21 11:03:52] Attempting to restart GPU
[2012-03-21 11:03:53] Thread 10 restarted
[2012-03-21 11:03:54] Thread 11 restarted

GPU 0: 331.0 / 283.9 Mh/s | A:54  R:0  HW:0  U:3.90/m  I:8
73.5 C  F: 60% (3630 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:09]
Intensity: 8
Thread 0: 165.6 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 165.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 1: 329.8 / 335.7 Mh/s | A:62  R:0  HW:0  U:4.48/m  I:8
71.5 C  F: 60% (3630 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:12]
Intensity: 8
Thread 2: 164.4 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 3: 165.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 2: 328.8 / 307.9 Mh/s | A:60  R:0  HW:0  U:4.34/m  I:8
73.0 C  F: 54% (3329 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:14]
Intensity: 8
Thread 4: 163.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 5: 165.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 3: 329.7 / 334.3 Mh/s | A:60  R:0  HW:0  U:4.34/m  I:8
74.0 C  F: 54% (3326 RPM)  E: 725 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:16]
Intensity: 8
Thread 6: 164.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 7: 164.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 4: 335.3 / 336.7 Mh/s | A:61  R:0  HW:0  U:4.41/m  I:8
73.0 C  F: 79% (4378 RPM)  E: 735 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 10:52:19]
Intensity: 8
Thread 8: 168.0 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 9: 165.6 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

GPU 5: 334.1 / 309.8 Mh/s | A:61  R:0  HW:0  U:4.41/m  I:8
74.5 C  F: 79% (4378 RPM)  E: 735 MHz  M: 240 Mhz  V: 1.050V  A: 99% P: 0%
Last initialised: [2012-03-21 11:03:54]
Intensity: 8
Thread 10: 177.9 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 11: 158.3 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE


boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 10:16:50 PM
 #4646

As a follow up... I decided to try a different pool aside from gpumax.  I've ran stable with overclocks for about 5 hours now.  Seems like some problem with cgminer and gpumax, but only on my 5970 rigs.  I have the same version of cgminer running on the same linux version on my two 7970 rigs and it seems to work fine....  so it appears to be isolated to my dual gpu 5970 rigs...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 10:49:23 PM
 #4647

Then also the simple check about ADL being enabled - you do see GPU Temp/RPM as you said before?

If you don't have network API access enabled, but do have just --api-listen (like your command line shows) then on each machine:
Code:
echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

... and compare all 3 computers.

I'm actually only asking this coz it seems strange that the GPUs are running amok and it really does sound similar to ADL not working.
But of course you have already said it is working but ... well ... that command is another way to verify it.

I guess the other possibility is that when gpumax does let the cards go idle from a getwork perspective of having nothing to do, something in cgminer could be getting confused about the cards status ... but that is just a guess since (as I've mentioned before) I've not looked closely at the internal Driver/ADL code that handles the card status/problems (and I got that idle bit wrong before as ckolivas pointed out)
If I get a chance today to add storing some of that info and making it available in the API I may know a bit more about it then Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 11:21:25 PM
 #4648

I am supposed to put some switch before the number 4?

Code:
# echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
nc: invalid option -- '4'
nc -h for help
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 21, 2012, 11:24:20 PM
 #4649

I am supposed to put some switch before the number 4?

Code:
# echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
nc: invalid option -- '4'
nc -h for help

Well you can ignore the -4 option (remove it) - but I guess you must have a really old version of nc?
What does "uname -r" say on that computer? (and what OS version is it?)

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2012, 06:00:56 AM
 #4650

As a follow up... I decided to try a different pool aside from gpumax.  I've ran stable with overclocks for about 5 hours now.  Seems like some problem with cgminer and gpumax, but only on my 5970 rigs.  I have the same version of cgminer running on the same linux version on my two 7970 rigs and it seems to work fine....  so it appears to be isolated to my dual gpu 5970 rigs...
Auto fan control was known broken in the last release of cgminer for 5970 and this was causing problems for people on 5970s with spontaneous restarts due to unexpected overheats. I don't think I released a newer release version with the fix for it. If you download and build the latest git tarball and build from that you can get that fix. Alternatively, disabling auto fan control should have the same effect.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 22, 2012, 09:21:02 AM
Last edit: March 22, 2012, 10:28:36 AM by phorensic
 #4651

Alright, my previous attempt at giving info on new drivers in this thread was squashed...let's try again.  Wink

AMD Cataliyst 12.4 OpenCL 1.2 (8.960.0 March 15) AMD Official BETA

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360362
http://developer.amd.com/Downloads/OpenCL1.2betadriversWindows.exe

Edit:  amdocl(64).dll is version 10.0.923.1
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 11:45:25 AM
Last edit: March 22, 2012, 01:36:46 PM by jake262144
 #4652

Hi, I'm sure I am doing something really stupid but I can't get my 3x 7970s over 200 MHash/S each.
Running 12.2 driver and the newest version of cgminer.
Is there anything extra I need to do for 7970? I used cgminner for all my other cards. Thanks.
Wow, with that much information I can only suggest that you change ANYTHING, starting with cgminer kernel configuration and ending with the whole OS Roll Eyes

EDIT::In case you missed it, a lot of GCN-related info can be found here and here.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 01:29:13 PM
 #4653

poclbm should give you the best performance on a 7970 if using 12.2 and 2.6 SDK
If you are using something else - change to 12.2/2.6 Smiley
(Installing 12.2 includes the 2.6 SDK)
To select the poclbm kernel you add: -k poclbm

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
martona
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 02:11:50 PM
 #4654


I would assume this is a false positive, but I guess it doesn't hurt to ask official advice. MS Security Essentials didn't pick up on anything but AVG did.

https://www.cubby.com/p/8c849545ea534c4ba327b94a2e6ff980/avg-cgminer.png
Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1419
Merit: 1015


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 03:04:25 PM
 #4655

What is "Cubby"?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 03:21:15 PM
 #4656

What is "Cubby"?
A piece of software by LogMeIn

Martona, if you got the executable from Con's homepage, you should be safe.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 04:44:25 PM
 #4657

I am supposed to put some switch before the number 4?

Code:
# echo -n "config" | nc -4 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo
nc: invalid option -- '4'
nc -h for help

Quoting you again Smiley
I've put a few commits in my git:
 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/
that add a simple device history that is accessible via the new API command 'notify'

Compiling my git reports itself as 2.3.1k

You can see it with
Code:
echo -n notify | nc 127.0.0.1 4028 ; echo

The base code change adds a few extra fields and counters to the device structure (that are all reported by the API)
Including: per device: last well time, last not well time, last not well reason, and counters for each of the reasons meaning how many times they have happened (e.g. Device Over Heat count, Device Thermal Cutoff count among others)

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1795
Merit: 1198


This is not OK.


View Profile
March 22, 2012, 06:08:17 PM
 #4658

More stuff to add to anubis Smiley
e21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 01:17:50 AM
Last edit: March 23, 2012, 01:52:11 AM by e21
 #4659

poclbm should give you the best performance on a 7970 if using 12.2 and 2.6 SDK
If you are using something else - change to 12.2/2.6 Smiley
(Installing 12.2 includes the 2.6 SDK)
To select the poclbm kernel you add: -k poclbm

Anybody mind giving me some tips on optimizing my config file? Using 11.12 on Win7 64, with HD 6950 as GPU 0 and 1, and HD 7970 as GPU 2 and 3. So far, using the config below, I get about 400 MH/s from my unlocked 6950s at 920MHz, and about 620MHs from my 7970s at 1100MHz. 400MHs is all I expect from the 6950s, but I feel like I should be able to get 650MH/s from the 7970s, although mine might be running a little slow due to the older driver. Any help is appreciated! Using cgminer 2.3.1-2


Also, does anyone know why cgminer uses 810 watts while DiabloMiner draws only 780? I tried changing intensity down to 7 and that didn't help.


Quote
{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "http://usx.eclipsemc.com:8337",
      "user" : "_",
      "pass" : "1"
   }
],

"intensity" : "d,8,8,8,8",
"kernel" : "diablo,diablo,diakgcn,diakgcn",
"auto-fan" : false,
"auto-gpu" : false,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "3",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"worksize" : "128,128,256,256",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}
ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 01:47:13 AM
 #4660

Is there a place where i can download old versions of cgminer ?
I dunno what i`m doing wrong, but new 2.3.1 ver. works slower than my old 2.0.6 on my rigs.
Mostly i use 5870/5970.
I`m using just oc parameters, no auto GPU or Auto fan.
I`m planning to buy bigger MB and put somme 7970 into play, but i`m loosing aprox. 150-200Mhash on software... :/
i`ll make somme proof for that - cgminer woriking at least for 2h.
Pages: « 1 ... 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 [233] 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!