Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 03:24:11 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 [389] 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5770422 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 08:34:22 PM
 #7761

I'm using cgminer on Linux for the particular machine I'm discussing here. It had one 5870 card in it and I was getting ~430Mh/s out of it. Not too bad.

I happened to get my hands on another 5870 so I thought I'd pop that in too. I have both GPUs turning up in cgminer (after a little trouble, but 'aticonfig -f --adapter=all --initial' worked wonders.

I have cgminer 2.8.7 (same behavior with 2.8.5), AMD SDK 2.7 and Catalyst 12.10.

If I only enable one GPU, I get the hashrate as before. If I enable both GPUs, the first GPUs hashrate plummets. Net result is I'm still only getting the same hashrate but now it's 'using' both GPUs.

e.g.
GPU 0:  ~400Mh
GPU 1:  OFF

to

GPU 0:   ~100Mh
GPU 1:   ~300Mh
Actually sounds like it's still only mining on the one  GPU, just splitting it into two. What does 'cgminer -n' say?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1547652251
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547652251

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547652251
Reply with quote  #2

1547652251
Report to moderator
1547652251
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547652251

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547652251
Reply with quote  #2

1547652251
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547652251
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547652251

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547652251
Reply with quote  #2

1547652251
Report to moderator
1547652251
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547652251

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547652251
Reply with quote  #2

1547652251
Report to moderator
dooferorg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 09:01:02 PM
 #7762

I'm using cgminer on Linux for the particular machine I'm discussing here. It had one 5870 card in it and I was getting ~430Mh/s out of it. Not too bad.

I happened to get my hands on another 5870 so I thought I'd pop that in too. I have both GPUs turning up in cgminer (after a little trouble, but 'aticonfig -f --adapter=all --initial' worked wonders.

I have cgminer 2.8.7 (same behavior with 2.8.5), AMD SDK 2.7 and Catalyst 12.10.

If I only enable one GPU, I get the hashrate as before. If I enable both GPUs, the first GPUs hashrate plummets. Net result is I'm still only getting the same hashrate but now it's 'using' both GPUs.

e.g.
GPU 0:  ~400Mh
GPU 1:  OFF

to

GPU 0:   ~100Mh
GPU 1:   ~300Mh
Actually sounds like it's still only mining on the one  GPU, just splitting it into two. What does 'cgminer -n' say?

Well darn .. You are quite right. 'cgminer -n' does show only 1. It says that ADL doesn't match OpenCL. I read about that with the gpu-map command but am still a bit confused.

I have the entries with their PCI IDs in the xorg.conf that match with the output of 'aticonfig --list-adapters'. I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?

BTC: 1dooferoD3vnwgez3Jo1E4bFfgMf81LR2
ZEC: t1gnToN2HZW4GD52kofEVdijhRijWjCNfYi
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 10:09:55 PM
 #7763

Well darn .. You are quite right. 'cgminer -n' does show only 1. It says that ADL doesn't match OpenCL. I read about that with the gpu-map command but am still a bit confused.

I have the entries with their PCI IDs in the xorg.conf that match with the output of 'aticonfig --list-adapters'. I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?
Right, you shouldn't need dummy plugs unless you have a driver before about 11.6 or something. I still suspect your xorg config. is wrong, or you're not really exporting the display variable. Also it's worth noting people have had looots of trouble with recent drivers and last good was something like 12.8. Can you show us the actual output from cgminer -n ?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dooferorg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:06:47 PM
 #7764

Well darn .. You are quite right. 'cgminer -n' does show only 1. It says that ADL doesn't match OpenCL. I read about that with the gpu-map command but am still a bit confused.

I have the entries with their PCI IDs in the xorg.conf that match with the output of 'aticonfig --list-adapters'. I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?
Right, you shouldn't need dummy plugs unless you have a driver before about 11.6 or something. I still suspect your xorg config. is wrong, or you're not really exporting the display variable. Also it's worth noting people have had looots of trouble with recent drivers and last good was something like 12.8. Can you show us the actual output from cgminer -n ?

Absolutely. I'll provide any information needed. This is the first machine I've had multiple GPUs in (Linux or Windows), so I admit to being a bit clueless in their setup. I've done multiple displays under Linux, but only one GPU at a time.

Spammy stuff below:

cgminer -n:

Code:
[2012-10-29 18:53:47] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1016.4)                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] 0 Cypress                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] ADL found more devices than opencl!                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] There is possibly at least one GPU that doesn't support OpenCL                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] Use the gpu map feature to reliably map OpenCL to ADL                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] WARNING: Number of OpenCL and ADL devices did not match!                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] Hardware monitoring may NOT match up with devices!                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] GPU 0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2012-10-29 18:53:47] 1 GPU devices max detected 

aticonfig --list-adapters:

Code:
* 0. 09:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  1. 04:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

* - Default adapter

xorg.conf:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:9:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:4:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

BTC: 1dooferoD3vnwgez3Jo1E4bFfgMf81LR2
ZEC: t1gnToN2HZW4GD52kofEVdijhRijWjCNfYi
ryann
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:18:35 PM
 #7765

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 1068


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:42:07 PM
 #7766

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
No.

The share difficulty must be above the work difficulty for it to count as valid work.
How far above it is, makes no different to it's share value.

If it is above the network difficulty, it also represent s a block for the pool.

... i.e. it's purely information of interest to some Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:09:32 AM
 #7767

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
Not unless you're mining on p2pool. Tongue

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:13:32 AM
 #7768

I got a share that registered a diff of 7.58M  Grin

That was a block solve for mtred since current difficulty is just over 3 million. Smiley

What does that mean? Does it mean you make more coins or something?
Not unless you're mining on p2pool. Tongue
Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:15:07 AM
 #7769

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 12:20:28 AM
 #7770

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.
Very true. Some have lotteries and whatnot occasionally but not regularly.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 30, 2012, 01:30:01 AM
 #7771

I shouldn't need 'dummy plugs' to get the other adapter to work, should I?

Maybe you shouldn't need it, but it probably wouldn't hurt either.

I use Catalyst 12.1 with two GPU's and if I don't use a dummy plug I'll have weird problems that the plug seems to resolve.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 30, 2012, 01:37:29 AM
 #7772

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.

But your not going to get more pay just because it's a higher difficulty share, are you?  You'll get the same pay if it's a 4M diff share or an 8M diff share, right?  I believe that was the original question.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 02:05:10 AM
 #7773

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.

But your not going to get more pay just because it's a higher difficulty share, are you?  You'll get the same pay if it's a 4M diff share or an 8M diff share, right?  I believe that was the original question.
True. It was a little difficult to tell which part he was asking about.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 1068


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 30, 2012, 02:32:01 AM
 #7774

Well, not just p2pool but any non-pps pool will be making you more money after you've found the block. So proportional, DGM, slush scoring, smpps etc etc all will increase their returns to you as a result of you finding it.
I don't know of any other pool that rewards the finder of the block with an extra subsidy though.

But your not going to get more pay just because it's a higher difficulty share, are you?  You'll get the same pay if it's a 4M diff share or an 8M diff share, right?  I believe that was the original question.
True. It was a little difficult to tell which part he was asking about.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1306111#msg1306111 <- what he said ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 02:35:08 AM
 #7775

Right, so whichever question he was asking, we answered it both ways. Tongue

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
October 30, 2012, 04:43:04 AM
 #7776

For P2Pool, it only matters if you were shooting for a higher diff share to begin with. Then you get a bigger slice of the reward for your higher diff share, but since you'll be finding less of them, it is still supposed to balance out.

Just getting a high diff share alone won't do it.

So, if you were shooting for a share at 702.33721188 or above, and hit a  2267613.78728177 diff share, your share is credited with the ~702 value... but if you have overridden your mining to look for diff 2000.00000000 shares or above instead, and hit that ~2267613 diff share, then your share is credited with the 2000 value.

Keeping track of that 2267613 is just for e-penis credit Smiley

-- Smoov
monstrs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 549
Merit: 504



View Profile
October 30, 2012, 08:34:41 AM
 #7777

2.8.7 version of cgminer has been working for me smooth on my 7970 rig in windows. Before that i saw random crashes with erlier versions, good job.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2012, 08:36:31 AM
 #7778

2.8.7 version of cgminer has been working for me smooth on my 7970 rig in windows. Before that i saw random crashes with erlier versions, good job.
Yay, much appreciate the feedback, especially when it's good  Wink

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 30, 2012, 03:01:13 PM
 #7779

Con, can you tell us anything about the progress with BFL ASIC support?  Please choose one of the following:

1.  I can't talk about it, I'm under NDA.
2.  I've logged in remotely to their servers and have poked around a little.
3.  I've logged in remotely and have already begun creating code for BFL's ASIC to work with cgminer.
4.  I have no plans to log in remotely to BFL and won't do anything until they send me some real hardware.
5.  I have real hardware in hand and am working on the code.
6.  I won't support BFL ASIC because I won't develop for them for free and they haven't paid me yet.

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1012


View Profile
October 30, 2012, 04:46:56 PM
 #7780

I think commit 8bd8696854 got the bug I was having. No segfaults in nearly 4 days now Smiley
Well spotted!
Pages: « 1 ... 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 [389] 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!