Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:32:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 [458] 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824955 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 04:53:21 AM
 #9141

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.
1481304763
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304763

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304763
Reply with quote  #2

1481304763
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481304763
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304763

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304763
Reply with quote  #2

1481304763
Report to moderator
1481304763
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304763

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304763
Reply with quote  #2

1481304763
Report to moderator
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 10:59:30 AM
 #9142

I have been using phoenix miner for months now and get an average of 1 or 2 invalid shares/day. I just recently switched over to cgminer and am now getting about 15-20 invalid shares per day, one day I got 50. Im mining with 50btc, and they use a stratum server to apparently cut down on invalid shares. Im mining at 795mhs, 11.12 driver, 2.1 sdk, my cgminer flags are:

-I 9 -k phatk -w 256 -v 2 -I 9 -g 4

does anyone have any suggestions?

adding to this, I switched to cgminer because everyone was telling me that it is the best and much better than phoenix miner. well I have been using it for about a week now (version 2.11.3) and I am actually getting the same hashrate as phoenix, just with more invalids. I have played around with a few settings but havent gotten much improvement. does anyone know of some optimal settings for a hd 5970? I am using 11.12 driver which I cannot change as it is the only one not giving me the 100% cpu bug. I am also using sdk 2.1. At 850mhz, 325 mem I am getting 795 mhs and that is the max I can get. Is this a good speed, or does anyone have some suggestions for improvement? thanks.

Hi hickc,

I'm currently running a couple of 5970's on the same driver but with sdk v2.4, it's a close thing between v2.1 & v2.4 so it's down to personal choice really. I don't run the -g flag at all, and you might want to lower your memclock to 180 - this will lower your temps & energy use. Apart from that your speed is OK me thinks, if the rejects are doing your nut in then just lower your -I flag down to 8, it won't have a noticeable effect on hash rate but will lower your reject rate considerably. I also use the --usb :0 & --hotplug 0 flags as I don't use usb miners and it was playing hell with my apc usb connection - so better to disable it.

Basically, if it runs stable at your speed I'd be happy with it.

Peace.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 12:33:12 PM
 #9143

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
ok another question would a 6950 work with the 7950 and would the two be able to get enough power from my 750 watt psu?

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 01:47:51 PM
 #9144

so im trying to mine with 2 cards (7950/ 5770) and every time i try to load cgminer it crashes. using one card works fine but not two. how would i go about fixing this.

Don't use 5 & 7 series cards together, they don't play nice with each other.....
ok another question would a 6950 work with the 7950 and would the two be able to get enough power from my 750 watt psu?


Series 5xxx & 6xxx are OK together, 750w SHOULD be enough for 2 cards ONLY if it's a quality PSU with at least bronze+ certification. I'm currently running 4 gpu's (5970,5870 & 5850) on a 850w gold PSU - and that's maxed out. I run all my 7xxx series cards separately on their own rigs with no worries. A good link below for you to check your settings & play with:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29

Good luck. Peace.

EDIT: Try and get in the habit of counting gpu's and not cards, as some cards (notably 5970) have two gpu's so will be displayed as two gpu's/cards by mining software.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
HorseRider
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 01:50:42 PM
 #9145

a 101 question, in CGMINER, which one is right?

1 Thash/s = 1000 Ghash/s = 1000 Mhash/s = 1000 Khash/s, or
1Thash/s = 1024 Mhash/s = 1024 Khash/s = 1024 hash/s


16SvwJtQET7mkHZFFbJpgPaDA1Pxtmbm5P
Anvi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 04:43:57 PM
 #9146

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1635964#msg1635964

I did exactly what ckolivas suggested in that post.. Cgminer defaulted to tc 22400, but that was a lot slower than 8192, so I manually set 8192.
1880 MHz turned out to be maximum stable memory clock and I went through 900 - 1175 MHz GPU in 5 MHz increments and at 1175 MHz GPU I finally reached 600 kh/s.

Dunno what else to do at this point.. Does anyone have any ideas? I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?

I'm using Catalyst 13.3 beta3 || cgminer version 2.11.3
Code:
--intensity 13 --worksize 256 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 8192

Some results that I wrote down:

Sapphire HD7970, 2* HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHz Edition
LTC: LRk7zdN8F52NH9XeqRvWnUEe2XXcUFMv6e
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 06:07:02 PM
 #9147

EDIT: However...
Code:
proofer@prooferminer:~/miners/cgminer$ DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo
X Error of failed request:  BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  153 (GLX)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 (X_GLXQueryServerString)
  Serial number of failed request:  12
  Current serial number in output stream:  12

SOLVED  Smiley

Problem summary: Upgraded Ubuntu to 12.04; found that AMD Catalyst 11.12 driver (a.k.a. fglrx 8.92) is incompatible with Xorg X server 1.13.0, which is in 12.04.2, which is the current release of 12.04 LTS (Precise Pangolin). There was also an issue of 12.04.2 having kernel 3.5, which is  incompatible with Catalyst 11.12's installer; it wants kernel 3.2.

Solution: install 12.04.1, which has xserver 1.11.3 and kernel 3.2.  Even after running Software Updater, which updates to 12.04.2, xserver stays at 1.11.3 and the kernel stays at 3.2. 12.04.1 is available here.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 06:31:01 PM
 #9148

*headache* So is all this new stuff just for 7970's? Or would a 7950 suffice...
Im running 2.10.4 right now and im wondering if i'll notice any benefit to upgrading all my miners (some use 5xxx 6xxx) or if just my 7950 will benefit.
Would a 7950 show a hashrate increase if i was to update to 2.11.3?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 06:42:18 PM
 #9149


Dunno what else to do at this point.. Does anyone have any ideas? I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?


Try varying your intensity, both up and down.

My 7850 does 360kh/s at 13, and 390 kh/s at 12, all else equal (g 2, 13k threads). I can also get to 390kh/s with I 19, g 1, 26k threads, but that makes my desktop unusable.

What I did in order to find the optimal thread concurrences was to keep an eye on the amount of memory my card was using with each setting (with gpu z). If there was free memory, there was room for more threads.


rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 07:48:28 PM
 #9150

*headache* So is all this new stuff just for 7970's? Or would a 7950 suffice...
Im running 2.10.4 right now and im wondering if i'll notice any benefit to upgrading all my miners (some use 5xxx 6xxx) or if just my 7950 will benefit.
Would a 7950 show a hashrate increase if i was to update to 2.11.3?
Just make another directory, put new mniner into it, copy config files, run and see...

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 08:51:53 PM
 #9151

I wonder which driver set is ckolivas using?

I'm using Catalyst 13.3 beta3 || cgminer version 2.11.3
Code:
--intensity 13 --worksize 256 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 8192
I use the very first driver that supported the 7970, aka 11.12 with 7970 hotfix:
amd-driver-installer-8.921-x86.x86_64.run
I also use SDK 2.7 which seemed the best.

And as I said, I went by increments of 1 to the highest engine clock at that stability and intensity of 20 for a final:
Code:
--scrypt -I 20 --gpu-engine 1157 --gpu-memclock 1900
Which gave 725kH without setting shaders, lookup gap, or thread concurrency.

Once again, your mileage may vary since all hardware is different, more system ram might help etc. Note also that setting the CPU frequency to performance instead of ondemand also helped a little.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
flound1129
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


www.multipool.us


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 08:53:20 PM
 #9152

Is there a way to mine on Linux without running X?  It seems like running a grpahical display cuts around 100kH/sec off your speed on the main card.

Multipool - Always mine the most profitable coin - Scrypt, X11 or SHA-256!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 08:54:02 PM
 #9153

Is there a way to mine on Linux without running X?
No. Only Nvidia drivers are smart enough to do that.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 09:02:31 PM
 #9154

Is there a way to mine on Linux without running X?  It seems like running a grpahical display cuts around 100kH/sec off your speed on the main card.

It shouldn't. You are probably using a compositing window manager and/or some graphical applications using the GPU. If you are using a desktop environment, try to run the simplest window manager you can (twm or fvwm) with no widget. Run your mining program in screen or tmux to avoid any X terminal.

Edit: I don't see any speed difference between the main card and others on my rigs. They all use the standard Xubuntu desktop.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Anvi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 10:41:32 PM
 #9155

I use the very first driver that supported the 7970, aka 11.12 with 7970 hotfix:
amd-driver-installer-8.921-x86.x86_64.run
I also use SDK 2.7 which seemed the best.

Once again, your mileage may vary since all hardware is different, more system ram might help etc. Note also that setting the CPU frequency to performance instead of ondemand also helped a little.

Thanks for the tips. I'll give it another try tomorrow. Intensity 14+ is not working at all (kills performance), so I'm hoping it's a driver issue.

Sapphire HD7970, 2* HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHz Edition
LTC: LRk7zdN8F52NH9XeqRvWnUEe2XXcUFMv6e
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 10:44:17 PM
 #9156

I use the very first driver that supported the 7970, aka 11.12 with 7970 hotfix:
amd-driver-installer-8.921-x86.x86_64.run
I also use SDK 2.7 which seemed the best.

Once again, your mileage may vary since all hardware is different, more system ram might help etc. Note also that setting the CPU frequency to performance instead of ondemand also helped a little.

Thanks for the tips. I'll give it another try tomorrow. Intensity 14+ is not working at all (kills performance), so I'm hoping it's a driver issue.
You know that's what happened with earlier versions... are you sure you're on the latest cgminer!?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ChiangYay
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 07:00:16 AM
 #9157

cgminer-2.11.3-win32

 fpgaonly

not working.

2.10.5 works perfectly.

May be I should modify/change something on my config file.

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "xxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
      "user" : "xxxxxxxxxxx",
      "pass" : "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"
   },
   {      "url" : "xxxxxxxxxxx",
               "user" : "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
               "pass" : " "
   }
],

"api-port" : "4028",
"disable-gpu" : true,
"scan-serial" : [ "bitforce:COM3", "bitforce:COM4", "bitforce:COM5", "bitforce:COM6", "bitforce:COM7" ],
"expiry" : "180",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"net-delay" : true,
"protocol-dump" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"retry-pause" : "5",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "1",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

Any help would be appreciated.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2013, 08:28:41 AM
 #9158

cgminer-2.11.3-win32

 fpgaonly

not working.

2.10.5 works perfectly.

Any help would be appreciated.
Try NOT ignoring the big fat warning at startup that says you need to install a new driver?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ChiangYay
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 10:38:36 AM
 #9159

cgminer-2.11.3-win32

 fpgaonly

not working.

2.10.5 works perfectly.

Any help would be appreciated.
Try NOT ignoring the big fat warning at startup that says you need to install a new driver?

Thanks.
But the warning/message run so fast I can read it and dont know how to pause it.
Where can I get the new driver?  I'm running BFL FGPA Single.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 895

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 10:58:47 AM
 #9160


But the warning/message run so fast I can read it and dont know how to pause it.
Where can I get the new driver?  I'm running BFL FGPA Single.


read FPGA-Readme in cgminer folder.
Pages: « 1 ... 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 [458] 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!