Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:48:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 [732] 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815083 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2014, 09:47:04 AM
 #14621

But this version is complaining about the NFY-Devices ( should consult the readme about the right usb-lib drivers for the devices)
Every single USB device on cgminer uses exactly the same USB driver. Crashes should never happen, and any debugging would be most appreciated as per:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/README-debug

If you're not interested in helping the developers debug issues with the software you're depending on for free, feel free to read how to use the --usb command (as Kano has suggested) from the readme, to choose only the devices you want it to work on.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480765681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765681
Reply with quote  #2

1480765681
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480765681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765681
Reply with quote  #2

1480765681
Report to moderator
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 09:51:40 AM
 #14622

Good morning

is there any way to tell cgminer (newest version) not to use some devices?

...

So any hint are very welcome
What does ./cgminer -n say?

You may be able to ignore them with --usb

failed to open USB DEV4 - DEV13 err -12

Thanks for helping!
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 09:54:33 AM
 #14623

But this version is complaining about the NFY-Devices ( should consult the readme about the right usb-lib drivers for the devices)
Every single USB device on cgminer uses exactly the same USB driver. Crashes should never happen, and any debugging would be most appreciated as per:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/README-debug

If you're not interested in helping the developers debug issues with the software you're depending on for free, feel free to read how to use the --usb command (as Kano has suggested) from the readme, to choose only the devices you want it to work on.

Sury i like to help..........but the problem is: Most of the times cgminer crashes when i'am on work (the rig is at home) or in the night when i'am sleeping so i could only see the windows hint (cgminer applikation has an error and has to be closed)


So just tell me how i can help !

stay tuned
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2014, 09:58:27 AM
 #14624

But this version is complaining about the NFY-Devices ( should consult the readme about the right usb-lib drivers for the devices)
Every single USB device on cgminer uses exactly the same USB driver. Crashes should never happen, and any debugging would be most appreciated as per:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/README-debug

If you're not interested in helping the developers debug issues with the software you're depending on for free, feel free to read how to use the --usb command (as Kano has suggested) from the readme, to choose only the devices you want it to work on.

Sury i like to help..........but the problem is: Most of the times cgminer crashes when i'am on work (the rig is at home) or in the night when i'am sleeping so i could only see the windows hint (cgminer applikation has an error and has to be closed)


So just tell me how i can help !

stay tuned
Well I already gave you a link to the instructions on how to help... but by far the easiest thing for you to do is just mine with everything on cgminer as the NF1 devices as they're called by cgminer are fully supported, and you set them up exactly as you set up every other USB device you've used so far on cgminer so it's about 10 seconds' work.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 10:00:10 AM
 #14625

Good morning


is there any way to tell cgminer (newest version) not to use some devices?

Story:

I'am using some NFY-Devices with BFGMiner. (stable for now more than 4 month)
But i did not get my BiFury and Redfury running with BFGMiner so i use CGMiner for these.

The last weeks CGMiner is starting crashing constantly every 6-10 hours. (with usblib errors on alternating devices)
So i downloaded the 4.0.1 Version and it is more stable (crash every 18-24 hours)

But this version is complaining about the NFY-Devices ( should consult the readme about the right usb-lib drivers for the devices)

So any hint are very welcome

I ran into a similar problem (3x BlueFury v2 and 1x BiFury).
The RAM usage of cgminer (any version) keeps creeping up on me and at some point (some 400-500MB usage) it will eventually crash.

My solution that worked for me so far :
Installed CGwatcher and set it up simply to auto-restart cgminer every 6 hours and in case it quits/crashes otherwise or drops below a certain threshhold (i.e. a USB device dropped offline).

Except for one single occasion in ~2 months, the system ran without issues ever since (after otherwise crashing almost daily, typically overnight or when I was a work Tongue )

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 10:08:01 AM
 #14626

But this version is complaining about the NFY-Devices ( should consult the readme about the right usb-lib drivers for the devices)
Every single USB device on cgminer uses exactly the same USB driver. Crashes should never happen, and any debugging would be most appreciated as per:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/README-debug

If you're not interested in helping the developers debug issues with the software you're depending on for free, feel free to read how to use the --usb command (as Kano has suggested) from the readme, to choose only the devices you want it to work on.

Sury i like to help..........but the problem is: Most of the times cgminer crashes when i'am on work (the rig is at home) or in the night when i'am sleeping so i could only see the windows hint (cgminer applikation has an error and has to be closed)


So just tell me how i can help !

stay tuned
Well I already gave you a link to the instructions on how to help... but by far the easiest thing for you to do is just mine with everything on cgminer as the NF1 devices as they're called by cgminer are fully supported, and you set them up exactly as you set up every other USB device you've used so far on cgminer so it's about 10 seconds' work.

Ok i will try out your link these evening at home.

Yes i can move the NF1 devices to cgminer but the crashing of it  will be the same and i do not have access to my home-rig any given time (so that will cost a lot of hashpower for me).

Debugging cgminer and having it stable and than moving the NF1 to it would be my preferable way
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2014, 10:10:27 AM
 #14627

Ok i will try out your link these evening at home.

Yes i can move the NF1 devices to cgminer but the crashing of it  will be the same and i do not have access to my home-rig any given time (so that will cost a lot of hashpower for me).

Debugging cgminer and having it stable and than moving the NF1 to it would be my preferable way

Unless the crashing is because the software is fighting over the device in which case it will go away.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2014, 10:12:35 AM
 #14628

Guys, if you get a crash, debugging information will help everyone long term since that's how I'll actually get to fix the bugs. This is not a closed source proprietary piece of hidden software, it is a community project  despite the fact there are only a very small number of developers, and we need information from the users as much as they need our code. While I'm forever developing code for new features and drivers, I am seriously interested in stability over anything else. My rigs run for months without a crash and that's how I want it to be for the other users, but I don't have all hardware combinations on all operating systems (nor do I even want that). I've debugged a LOT of issues courtesy of debug traces, logins into other people's machines and bug reports and so on that would never have been fixed otherwise.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 10:16:59 AM
 #14629

Ok i will try out your link these evening at home.

Yes i can move the NF1 devices to cgminer but the crashing of it  will be the same and i do not have access to my home-rig any given time (so that will cost a lot of hashpower for me).

Debugging cgminer and having it stable and than moving the NF1 to it would be my preferable way

Unless the crashing is because the software is fighting over the device in which case it will go away.

I tried Version 3.8.5/3.9/3.12.3 ----> these version did not complain about NF1-Devices (but maybee fighting anyway for that devices)

the charm of the NF1 devices (you do not need a spezial driver for it for BFGMiner) they will be install as a USB-Hid devices by windows 7 and BFGMiner just grab them.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2014, 10:24:17 AM
 #14630

Ok i will try out your link these evening at home.

Yes i can move the NF1 devices to cgminer but the crashing of it  will be the same and i do not have access to my home-rig any given time (so that will cost a lot of hashpower for me).

Debugging cgminer and having it stable and than moving the NF1 to it would be my preferable way

Unless the crashing is because the software is fighting over the device in which case it will go away.

I tried Version 3.8.5/3.9/3.12.3 ----> these version did not complain about NF1-Devices (but maybee fighting anyway for that devices)

the charm of the NF1 devices (you do not need a spezial driver for it for BFGMiner) they will be install as a USB-Hid devices by windows 7 and BFGMiner just grab them.
That is not charm, everything uses the WinUSB driver on windows on cgminer - you install one driver for everything and just associate it with your device if you ever get a different type of device. Saying a driver happens to work for a piece of software is not really something special...

And coincidentally, I happen to have all the devices you're describing.

Code:
 0: NF1  0:                         | 2.577G/2.565Gh/s | A:  16140 R:    0 HW:     0 WU:   35.9/m
  3: NF1  1:                         | 2.111G/2.099Gh/s | A:   8070 R:    0 HW:     0 WU:   29.4/m
  4: BXF  0:  44.8C                  | 5.036G/5.010Gh/s | A:  52596 R:    0 HW:     0 WU:   70.2/m
  8: BF1  0:                         | 2.368G/2.368Gh/s | A:  15375 R:    0 HW:  1640 WU:   33.1/m
And they all work fine on my rig.

Once the drivers are set up on cgminer, you can plug and unplug as many of those same devices as you like and cgminer will hotplug and unplug them without any further intervention.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 10:43:57 AM
 #14631

Hi

ok i will do like i did for the BiFury and redfury.

I will install the winusb-driver with zadig to point to the nanofurys and will than have all devices in the 4.0.1 Cgminer
Then we can see if it crashes again, if so i will send you the debug information! D'accord ?

stay tuned
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 06:05:04 PM
 #14632

up and running with all devices

did not get the --nfu-bits working in cgminer.conf
so i give it in commandline

Now i have to have a look whats about the hashpower compare to bfgminer
and how long it will run    Grin

thanks for help
d574kerr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 09:29:45 PM
 #14633

Im trying to get a mining rig for under $1000 is that possible?
nowaltcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 10:28:59 PM
 #14634



cgminer 4.1.0 crashed....  (and i hoped not) after 7 hours... something with bxf1 usb-lib device is already in use.

I installed the debugger  and the debugger version (4.0.0 i hope that does not matter) and wait for the next crash...

Have a nice night
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 06, 2014, 10:48:51 PM
 #14635

Im trying to get a mining rig for under $1000 is that possible?
RPi, powered USB hub, ASIC USB thumb ... under $100 ?
Though it is a waste of time and money ... it costs more BTC than it will ever mine Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362



View Profile
March 07, 2014, 02:55:40 AM
 #14636

EDIT: Also, cpu usage by cgminer seems to have greatly increased. I noticed these things with two machines running Windows 7.

I wanted to post the same observation.  I've been upgrading every few releases and had been on 3.8-3.9 for a long time with a few BFL units.  In 3.9 the CPU usually averages around 15%-16%.  Going to 4.0.1 the CPU usage slowly increases and levels off at ~35%.

Ubuntu 12.04.4 x64, 3.11 kernel, gcc 4.6.3
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bflsc


http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2014, 03:00:29 AM
 #14637

EDIT: Also, cpu usage by cgminer seems to have greatly increased. I noticed these things with two machines running Windows 7.

I wanted to post the same observation.  I've been upgrading every few releases and had been on 3.8-3.9 for a long time with a few BFL units.  In 3.9 the CPU usually averages around 15%-16%.  Going to 4.0.1 the CPU usage slowly increases and levels off at ~35%.

Ubuntu 12.04.4 x64, 3.11 kernel, gcc 4.6.3
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bflsc


Yes that's almost certainly the queue increasing in size automatically, which I will likely remove next version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 07:32:43 AM
 #14638

EDIT: Also, cpu usage by cgminer seems to have greatly increased. I noticed these things with two machines running Windows 7.

I wanted to post the same observation.  I've been upgrading every few releases and had been on 3.8-3.9 for a long time with a few BFL units.  In 3.9 the CPU usually averages around 15%-16%.  Going to 4.0.1 the CPU usage slowly increases and levels off at ~35%.

Ubuntu 12.04.4 x64, 3.11 kernel, gcc 4.6.3
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bflsc


Yes that's almost certainly the queue increasing in size automatically, which I will likely remove next version.

Probably CPU increase is due to define LOCK_TRACKING 1
Or at least disabling it is reducing CPU usage for me Wink
In 3.8-3.9 it was disabled if i remember correctly


@@ -690,7 +711,7 @@
  * So, e.g. use it to track down a deadlock - after a reproducable deadlock occurs
  * ... Of course if the API code itself deadlocks, it wont help Smiley
  */
-#define LOCK_TRACKING 1
+#define LOCK_TRACKING 0


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2014, 07:37:03 AM
 #14639

EDIT: Also, cpu usage by cgminer seems to have greatly increased. I noticed these things with two machines running Windows 7.

I wanted to post the same observation.  I've been upgrading every few releases and had been on 3.8-3.9 for a long time with a few BFL units.  In 3.9 the CPU usually averages around 15%-16%.  Going to 4.0.1 the CPU usage slowly increases and levels off at ~35%.

Ubuntu 12.04.4 x64, 3.11 kernel, gcc 4.6.3
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bflsc


Yes that's almost certainly the queue increasing in size automatically, which I will likely remove next version.

Probably CPU increase is due to define LOCK_TRACKING 1
Or at least disabling it is reducing CPU usage for me Wink
In 3.8-3.9 it was disabled if i remember correctly


@@ -690,7 +711,7 @@
  * So, e.g. use it to track down a deadlock - after a reproducable deadlock occurs
  * ... Of course if the API code itself deadlocks, it wont help Smiley
  */
-#define LOCK_TRACKING 1
+#define LOCK_TRACKING 0


Crap, good pickup. I must have enabled it by mistake during debugging and it ended up in one of my commits.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
March 07, 2014, 07:41:38 AM
 #14640

For sure that will reduce overall cpu usage with 20-30% that is what i observe on my tplinks

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Pages: « 1 ... 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 [732] 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!