Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2017, 07:53:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 [720] 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 ... 838 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5484154 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 05:40:31 AM
 #14381

Quote
By default, Antminer U1 devices run at a clockspeed of 200. This command allows
you to specify a chosen frequency to attempt to run all ANU devices at and the
value must be in increments of 25. Note that cgminer reports hashrate ONLY
FROM VALID HASHES so if you increase the frequency but your hashrate does not
increase or it decreases and hardware errors start showing up, you have
overclocked it too much. In the worst case scenario it will fail to start at
too high a speed.

Note that adding --icarus-timing=short is basically mandatory if you overclock them at this stage. The requirement for this should be fixed in a future version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1506282785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506282785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506282785
Reply with quote  #2

1506282785
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506282785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506282785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506282785
Reply with quote  #2

1506282785
Report to moderator
1506282785
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506282785

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506282785
Reply with quote  #2

1506282785
Report to moderator
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 06:19:11 AM
 #14382

Quote
By default, Antminer U1 devices run at a clockspeed of 200. This command allows
you to specify a chosen frequency to attempt to run all ANU devices at and the
value must be in increments of 25. Note that cgminer reports hashrate ONLY
FROM VALID HASHES so if you increase the frequency but your hashrate does not
increase or it decreases and hardware errors start showing up, you have
overclocked it too much. In the worst case scenario it will fail to start at
too high a speed.

Note that adding --icarus-timing=short is basically mandatory if you overclock them at this stage. The requirement for this should be fixed in a future version.
Woo, now I just need a Raspbian binary and I can finally ditch bfgminer. Tongue

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
plasmapelz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 09:45:01 AM
 #14383

There may well be a memory leak. I have not seen one, but I do not run anything on an RPi. If you can run the most current code from git as a debug build and get output it would be most helpful.
See:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/README-debug

There is most certainly one... it fills up slowly, more slowly than I thought. I have cgminer-3.12 running for 2 days - just now it has filled the whole memory and the PI starts to swap. I made a screenshot of htop, which I could send you per mail.

Certainly the leak exists not only on PI but also on all other platforms. At least if it is not caused by a special #ifdef, that only applies on arm compile.
I could backtrace it in valgrind and gdb... but I am not as deep in the code as you are, so you will likely be much more productive in identifying the problem. Nevertheless I can give it a try over the weekend  Smiley

loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 11:40:34 AM
 #14384

Con,

There might be an issue caused by fa26f8df82f9213cffd8a715ac1450d3c191d459 commit

mutex_lock(&stats_lock);
cgpu->last_device_valid_work = time(NULL);
mutex_unlock(&stats_lock);
I got some locks recently. One possible reason might be.....that everywhere last_device_valid_work was changed under lock, but commit does not lock it

if (diff_t > 0) {
      applog(LOG_DEBUG, "Get work blocked for %d seconds", (int)diff_t);
      thr->cgpu->last_device_valid_work += diff_t;
   }

I am commenting it to see if locks will appear


If i wrote something stupid pls do excuse me

Best

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540



View Profile
February 07, 2014, 12:19:23 PM
 #14385

How I can manual set the diff at my Jupiter at 512 because pool make the diff at 2048
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Think for yourself


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 12:22:10 PM
 #14386

How I can manual set the diff at my Jupiter at 512 because pool make the diff at 2048

That's a function of the pool not the mining software.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 12:35:28 PM
 #14387

...
Woo, now I just need a Raspbian binary and I can finally ditch bfgminer. Tongue

I've put out 3.12.1a as I've done before
I'll make it a brief post Smiley

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries
For you, it'll be under the RPi_Arch or RPi_Raspbian folders.
The *bab versions are all USB + BaB so don't use them if you don't have BaB boards
The *a versions are all USB.

I've also created another git that explains how to configure linux to start cgminer and keep it running.
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-run

New regarding 3.12.1 Smiley
There is a 'little' change in there called
"- API allow multiple commands/replies in one request"
That one is actually quite significant for anyone who uses the API a lot.
With API V3.1 you can send more than one report command in one request.
It's only for report replies that require no parameters e.g. summary, pools, devs, config, stats etc
It's simple enough, you simply send the commands '+' together.
So to get summary and config in the same reply you send summary+config as the command
See API-README for more details and the format of the reply.
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README#L112

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 02:08:57 PM
 #14388

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 02:12:37 PM
 #14389

Couple of small questions for you guys, please. 

I've got a small farm of block erupters.  One of them is showing massive hardware errors, so I suspect it's going bad.  Is there an easy way to identify the physical device, short of unplugging all my erupters one by one until the bad one goes zombie?

Secondly, I have a few Klondike based miners.  In the config file, I have this setting:

Code:
"klondike-options": "340:65",

At startup, cgminer clearly is reading the setting; it outputs a line with the Klondike setting that has the right frequency and says the cutoff temp is 65 (too fast for me to copy/paste).  However, in actual hashing, the cutoff temp is 55.  I remember reading something from a few months back where either Con or Kano mentioned that the 55 is hard coded, but I lost track of the issue and what the resolution was.  Was that ever fixed, or is it intentional that the temp is locked at 55?  I'd rather not do a personal compilation of cgminer if I can avoid it.

Thanks in advance. Smiley

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 02:28:38 PM
 #14390

WARNING: There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.
Super! I have noticed same. Good news are that commenting commit is solving  the problem for me for last hour or so.

PS my hanged again Cry the only thing from what i can see since my stable build which have changed and may be related

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/c4267e663aa7b4e7c2cd997fbe3c45bf87365f13
but the above commit seems good to me

 


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 02:55:24 PM
 #14391

Unofficial Mac binaries have been updated for v3.12.1 and are available here.

These are precompiled universal binaries that support Mac OS X 10.5.8 through 10.9+.

Given Con's latest post though, I suggest Mac users not upgrade yet until the issue has been investigated.

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 03:15:49 PM
 #14392

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

The Antminer U1 support isn't very stable either, mine all crapped out after an hour or so, I ended up with 50-odd as they dropped out and came back on.  I have 10 of them on a Anker hub, running off a PC running Debian Wheezy.

ANU7: Comms error (werr=-9 something something)

Then it disables, and a few seconds later the miner reappears using Hotplug and gets a new number.  Then I get a load of ANUxx Re-estimate: blah blah spam.

Same hardware runs the U1 on bfg perfectly for weeks on end.

I'll update the error messages when they happen again, I'm on an intermittent SSH connection through my phone from work at the moment.
Broadway
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 05:34:05 PM
 #14393

I have tried multiple pools, ran some from a few hours to a day, and not even get recognized.

I am using a Radeon HD 4650 on LUbuntu12.04, Catalyst 13.1
It shows I am getting 300Kh/s

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mine-doge.cryptoculture.net:22555 -u broadway.work -p mine --api-listen --api-network --gpu-reorder --auto-fan



If I add --scrypt before the -o I will get 0Kh/s

Have tried setting --thread-concurrency --shaders and a few more with no luck
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
February 07, 2014, 07:08:42 PM
 #14394

I have tried multiple pools, ran some from a few hours to a day, and not even get recognized.

I am using a Radeon HD 4650 on LUbuntu12.04, Catalyst 13.1
It shows I am getting 300Kh/s

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mine-doge.cryptoculture.net:22555 -u broadway.work -p mine --api-listen --api-network --gpu-reorder --auto-fan



If I add --scrypt before the -o I will get 0Kh/s

Have tried setting --thread-concurrency --shaders and a few more with no luck

GPU support ended after version 3.7.2

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 07:32:44 PM
 #14395

Just in case someone remembered my crashing cgminer (currently 3.12.0) issues due to memory leak...

I ended up installing cgwatcher and set it to just auto-restart cgminer every 6 hours (very conservative approach).
Turns out that works like a charm, haven't had a single problem anymore and I can afford 30 sec downtime every 6 hours.

Since the nature of my problems remain unidentified, that workaround is good enough for me Smiley

For anyone with crash issues after certain uptime, I can only recommend trying cgwatcher... Nice piece of software, works as advertised.

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 08:41:23 PM
 #14396

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

The Antminer U1 support isn't very stable either, mine all crapped out after an hour or so, I ended up with 50-odd as they dropped out and came back on.  I have 10 of them on a Anker hub, running off a PC running Debian Wheezy.

ANU7: Comms error (werr=-9 something something)

Then it disables, and a few seconds later the miner reappears using Hotplug and gets a new number.  Then I get a load of ANUxx Re-estimate: blah blah spam.

Same hardware runs the U1 on bfg perfectly for weeks on end.

I'll update the error messages when they happen again, I'm on an intermittent SSH connection through my phone from work at the moment.
Hmm I can try reinstating the attempted reset but I'm not sure it's going to fix that... How much were you overclocking them?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Broadway
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 07, 2014, 08:53:16 PM
 #14397

I have tried multiple pools, ran some from a few hours to a day, and not even get recognized.

I am using a Radeon HD 4650 on LUbuntu12.04, Catalyst 13.1
It shows I am getting 300Kh/s

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mine-doge.cryptoculture.net:22555 -u broadway.work -p mine --api-listen --api-network --gpu-reorder --auto-fan



If I add --scrypt before the -o I will get 0Kh/s

Have tried setting --thread-concurrency --shaders and a few more with no luck

GPU support ended after version 3.7.2

I have 2.9.5
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 09:34:43 PM
 #14398

New releases: 3.12.3 - 8th February 2014

Palindromic double hotfix release...  Embarrassed

Human readable changelog:

3.12.3:
- Fix for the sitting idle doing nothing bug.
- Add temperature to API devs call for hashfast devices

3.12.2:
- Brought back USB reset attempts on communication errors.
- Fixed the need for adding icarus-timing when overclocking antminer U1devices.


Full changelog:

3.12.3:
- Put the hashfast temperature into the cgpu structure so that it shows up in
the devs API call.
- We shouldn't block on no work situations directly from the getwork scheduler
itself.

3.12.2:
- Adjust antminer U1 timing according to command line frequency set, fixing the
need for icarus timing on the command line.
- Read pipe errors that don't clear are worth attempting to reset the usb.
- Revert "Do away with usb resets entirely since we retry on both pipe and io
errors now and they're of dubious value."


Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 10:31:08 PM
 #14399

Unofficial Mac binaries have been updated for v3.12.2 and are available here.

These are precompiled universal binaries that support Mac OS X 10.5.8 through 10.9+.

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 11:32:11 PM
 #14400

Okay I'm just  going to go cry in the corner for a bit, for it appears the fix in 3.12.2 didn't fix it.  Cry (Sorry Karin)

EDIT: Hit it in a debugger so I finally know what the problem REALLY is now... wait for a hotfix to the hotfix.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 [720] 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 ... 838 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!