Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 06:33:35 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 [690] 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 ... 845 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5765797 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Ramhound
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 04:51:12 PM
 #13781

what won't start? cgminer.exe starts up and when I enter in the "instructions" on the pools, I get failed to resolve, even when trying to solo mine I get errors. What dlls have to be copied into the system folder, and what for? are there any instructions available for this program? Thanks for the reply, I am hopelessly lost right now after hours of trying to get this to work, so anything that lets me explore a way to get this to work is great.

If your unable to connect then the url is not in the correct format.
1539844415
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539844415

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539844415
Reply with quote  #2

1539844415
Report to moderator
1539844415
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539844415

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539844415
Reply with quote  #2

1539844415
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
c1010010
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:30:11 PM
 #13782

First off, sorry if this is one of those questions that has been answered - I'm SURE it has.  693 pages of posts is impossible to search through.  The search tool gets me so many hits it might as well get me nothing.

I have 4 rigs running 7950 GPUs like a charm on cgminer 3.1.  I just purchased a R9 270x and have learned that it will not work without the latest AMD drivers.  So, that's where we're starting.

I'm building out a completely new rig.

I just built a BAMT image on an USB:  BAMT 0.5c.
I've upgraded to the AMD latest drivers:  amd-catalyst-13.11-beta-v9.4-linux-x86.x86_64.run
I just pulled the latest GIT tree for cgminer:  3.8.5

And I ran my usual script and nothing works.  Apparently all kinds of things have changed.  All the SCRYPT readme files are gone.  The ADL includes directory is gone.  The README does not reference anything SCRYPT any more.

If someone could start me off on the right path, I would very much appreciate it.

         YOU TOO CAN BE A MILLIONAIRE – INFINITECOIN Infinite possibilities – http://infinitecointalk.org          
c1010010
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:52:14 PM
 #13783


cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  I believe 3.7.2 is the last version that supports it.

M


Well, dammit.

I guess I have my answer.

         YOU TOO CAN BE A MILLIONAIRE – INFINITECOIN Infinite possibilities – http://infinitecointalk.org          
bdiddle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:52:50 PM
 #13784

So I need help on xubuntu. The main site is down, but when I try downloading cgminer from github, the files  get are only 25.2K

Is it a problem on my end or github?
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1435
Merit: 1010


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 11:00:53 PM
 #13785


cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  I believe 3.7.2 is the last version that supports it.

M


Well, dammit.

I guess I have my answer.

Threads like this may help. It's evolving: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=6842.0
c1010010
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 11:03:44 PM
 #13786


cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  I believe 3.7.2 is the last version that supports it.

M


Well, dammit.

I guess I have my answer.

Threads like this may help. It's evolving: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=6842.0



thanks.  It does. I'm on the 3.7.2 path now... and will read up on the new branch.  I suppose it had to happen... Litecoin has to surpass bitcoin sometime. Wink

         YOU TOO CAN BE A MILLIONAIRE – INFINITECOIN Infinite possibilities – http://infinitecointalk.org          
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 01:00:01 AM
 #13787


cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  I believe 3.7.2 is the last version that supports it.

M


Well, dammit.

I guess I have my answer.

Threads like this may help. It's evolving: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=6842.0



thanks.  It does. I'm on the 3.7.2 path now... and will read up on the new branch.  I suppose it had to happen... Litecoin has to surpass bitcoin sometime. Wink

Since you're running BAMT, you may want to check out the latest Scrypt version of BAMT 1.2 that bee is working on (posts in reddit and Litecoin forums).  He's updated the AMD Drivers for the new R9 cards.

303
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 02:25:04 AM
 #13788

OS: Mac OS X
Hardware: Bi•Fury ASIC

Has anyone successfully configured cgminer on Mac to see their Bi•Fury? If so, what did you do to get it recognized?

Thanks in advance.
c1010010
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 03:28:42 AM
 #13789

Since you're running BAMT, you may want to check out the latest Scrypt version of BAMT 1.2 that bee is working on (posts in reddit and Litecoin forums).  He's updated the AMD Drivers for the new R9 cards.


Thanks, I'll give it a whirl.

         YOU TOO CAN BE A MILLIONAIRE – INFINITECOIN Infinite possibilities – http://infinitecointalk.org          
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2013, 03:39:40 AM
 #13790

OS: Mac OS X
Hardware: Bi•Fury ASIC

Has anyone successfully configured cgminer on Mac to see their Bi•Fury? If so, what did you do to get it recognized?

Thanks in advance.

Straight from README:
Quote
OSX:

On OSX, like Linux, no drivers need to be installed. However some devices
like the bitfury USB sticks automatically load a driver thinking they're a
modem and the driver needs to be unloaded for cgminer to work:

sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDC
sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDCACMData

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
303
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 04:59:22 AM
 #13791

OS: Mac OS X
Hardware: Bi•Fury ASIC

Has anyone successfully configured cgminer on Mac to see their Bi•Fury? If so, what did you do to get it recognized?

Thanks in advance.

Straight from README:
Quote
OSX:

On OSX, like Linux, no drivers need to be installed. However some devices
like the bitfury USB sticks automatically load a driver thinking they're a
modem and the driver needs to be unloaded for cgminer to work:

sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDC
sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDCACMData

Saw that and did it...without any luck. Was wondering first if anyone will actually confirm they are running a Bi•fury on mac successfully...otherwise I'll send it back.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2013, 05:03:30 AM
 #13792

OS: Mac OS X
Hardware: Bi•Fury ASIC

Has anyone successfully configured cgminer on Mac to see their Bi•Fury? If so, what did you do to get it recognized?

Thanks in advance.

Straight from README:
Quote
OSX:

On OSX, like Linux, no drivers need to be installed. However some devices
like the bitfury USB sticks automatically load a driver thinking they're a
modem and the driver needs to be unloaded for cgminer to work:

sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDC
sudo kextunload -b com.apple.driver.AppleUSBCDCACMData

Saw that and did it...without any luck. Was wondering first if anyone will actually confirm they are running a Bi•fury on mac successfully...otherwise I'll send it back.
Hrm those were the instructions for the bluefury. The bi*fury is something else. Not sure what driver it tries to install for those nor how to look it up on a mac etc.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 11:31:01 AM
 #13793

I couldn't get my Bi*Fury on the Mac working either, and the only way to get it working for me on one of my Raspberry Pi's/Minepeon was to edit the /etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules with sudo privileges and add an entry for the Bi*Fury with data from lsusb.

Details on what I did here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=309918.msg3943685#msg3943685

The errors looked like a permissions issue in trying to access the device on both the Pi and the Mac and I didn't try running CGMiner under sudo on the Mac.  That could help.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2013, 01:19:12 PM
 #13794

I couldn't get my Bi*Fury on the Mac working either, and the only way to get it working for me on one of my Raspberry Pi's/Minepeon was to edit the /etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules with sudo privileges and add an entry for the Bi*Fury with data from lsusb.

Details on what I did here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=309918.msg3943685#msg3943685

The errors looked like a permissions issue in trying to access the device on both the Pi and the Mac and I didn't try running CGMiner under sudo on the Mac.  That could help.
...there's a udev rules file included with cgminer already

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
xzempt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 06:57:52 PM
 #13795

anyway to use cgminer with blades yet?    Huh
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 12:30:05 AM
 #13796

OS: Mac OS X
Hardware: Bi•Fury ASIC

Has anyone successfully configured cgminer on Mac to see their Bi•Fury? If so, what did you do to get it recognized?

Thanks in advance.

Got it working finally with a Mac... switched from using a RPi...but I didn't use CGMiner to get it working with all the other devices I had on the Mac.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=309918.msg3956204#msg3956204

You may get away with just running CGMiner with sudo privileges to get it working for you.

cunixion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 06:30:34 PM
 #13797

How to disable Icarus while using Blue furys as had to use blues in cgminer and erupters in bfgminer.

Is their any way to get both working in cgminer ?

It must be a bug if you compiled with --enable-icarus --enable-bitfury and are unable to use both
cunixion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 06:43:19 PM
 #13798

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.8.5-windows.zip
website down  Undecided

maybe add you could add a mirror here docs.google.com
and please include to checksum just to make sure it's not modified after it got upload

Or just stick it on a Google Drive (or SkyDrive), set it to share to everyone, job done.

Bad idea.  I wouldn't trust an app placed on a google or skydrive.

M
why?

anyone capable could add a function to get your wallet details.
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
December 15, 2013, 04:37:12 AM
 #13799

Hi there. I am here to report what looks to be a bug in cgminer. This bug manifests itself if you run cgminer pointed at the stratum port of the bfgminer proxy. This has been reported by numerous users, usually trying to point their KnC miner at the bfgminer proxy:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=370365.msg3970326#msg3970326

To reproduce:

Code:
bfgminer --stratum-port 4444 -o some.miningpool.com -u worker -p password
cgminer --o 127.0.0.1:4444 -u doesnt -p matter

The output will repeatedly read:

Code:
Rejected a18df423 Diff 2/1 GPU 1  (H-not-zero)

I worked with Luke to debug both bfgminer and cgminer and he was able to make a few changes in the cgminer source to get accepted shares. Here is a summary of what he had to say:

Quote
cgminer is broken if nonce2_size is anything other than 4 (32-bit)
A proxy must always reduce the nonce2_size from the upstream server
BFGMiner always uses 2 (16-bit)
cgminer is memcpy-ing nonce2 with a fixed 32-bit size, even if nonce2_size is smaller
If you were to just memcpy the nonce2 with an adjusted size, it will fix little endian but break on big endian (to confirm the bug)

I'd really like to keep this civil and hopefully get a legitimate look at this bug as I am getting numerous users reporting it as I mentioned before. Thanks Con!

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
firelizard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 01:41:07 PM
 #13800

hi guys, im new at the sport and i need some info, my screen is connected to an onboard graphic card and i have an r9 290 connected on the pcie slot, my question is how can i make the cgminer to target and mine only with the r9 card? i guess it must be something like --device 1 or --gpu 1 or...?
Pages: « 1 ... 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 [690] 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 ... 845 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!