Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2018, 11:45:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 [696] 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756995 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 12:30:05 PM
 #13901

Direct.

There is a reason why we have spent a lot of time (Con most of the time for a while now) on working on libusb issues ...

If you use other software that uses libusb directly and doesn't deal with it properly you can expect problems.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1532259952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532259952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532259952
Reply with quote  #2

1532259952
Report to moderator
1532259952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532259952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532259952
Reply with quote  #2

1532259952
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532259952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532259952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532259952
Reply with quote  #2

1532259952
Report to moderator
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 23, 2013, 12:43:43 PM
 #13902

Direct.

There is a reason why we have spent a lot of time (Con most of the time for a while now) on working on libusb issues ...

If you use other software that uses libusb directly and doesn't deal with it properly you can expect problems.
. Wow nice!  I'll try it out later.  Thanks!!!

Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
December 23, 2013, 05:02:30 PM
 #13903

3.9.0 compiles and runs great on Mac.  My updated unofficial binaries for Mac OS X are here.

Happy holidays to all the cgminer devs Cheesy

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 05:43:07 PM
 #13904

Running 3.9.0 on two machines for a few hours now. One (very) minor issue - Some AMU devices are not getting recognized for several minutes after startup. The simplest example I had is 7 Eruptors on a single hub, with five recognized instantly and the other two automatically hotplugged about three minutes later. The issue seems to be replicable on both my machines - I imagine it could be exciting for 49-port hub users.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 11:46:49 PM
 #13905

Running 3.9.0 on two machines for a few hours now. One (very) minor issue - Some AMU devices are not getting recognized for several minutes after startup. The simplest example I had is 7 Eruptors on a single hub, with five recognized instantly and the other two automatically hotplugged about three minutes later. The issue seems to be replicable on both my machines - I imagine it could be exciting for 49-port hub users.



Just out of curiosity do you have

"--hotplug 60"

I do and that is my normal behavior.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 02:21:45 AM
 #13906

Running 3.9.0 on two machines for a few hours now. One (very) minor issue - Some AMU devices are not getting recognized for several minutes after startup. The simplest example I had is 7 Eruptors on a single hub, with five recognized instantly and the other two automatically hotplugged about three minutes later. The issue seems to be replicable on both my machines - I imagine it could be exciting for 49-port hub users.



Just out of curiosity do you have

"--hotplug 60"

I do and that is my normal behavior.

No - I have no special settings at all in this version - just the pool identifiers. The behavior is new to 3.9.0 for me, I think. There have often been some AMU delays in previous versions, but only for a few seconds. Often I would get a delay on the machine that has a BAL unit, just after it was detected, but the rest of the AMUs would usually show up within seconds. I think Con has been tweaking delay times to keep AMUs from going zombie, so perhaps it's a side-effect from that.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2013, 02:26:48 AM
 #13907

I haven't changed any of the hotplug or usb detect in 3.9.0 compared with 3.8.5. If it's slower it may simply be the extra devices (drillbit) it's now looking for.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 02:31:31 AM
 #13908

I haven't changed any of the hotplug or usb detect in 3.9.0 compared with 3.8.5. If it's slower it may simply be the extra devices (drillbit) it's now looking for.

Is that consistent with, say, five out of seven AMUs being recognized quickly/immediately followed by a three minute delay for the remaining two (identical devices, all on the same hub)?

I don't want to make this sound like a big deal that needs a fix - more of a small anomaly that might or might not be important in some bigger context.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2013, 02:33:01 AM
 #13909

I haven't changed any of the hotplug or usb detect in 3.9.0 compared with 3.8.5. If it's slower it may simply be the extra devices (drillbit) it's now looking for.

Is that consistent with, say, five out of seven AMUs being recognized quickly/immediately followed by a three minute delay for the remaining two (identical devices, all on the same hub)?

I don't want to make this sound like a big deal that needs a fix - more of a small anomaly that might or might not be important in some bigger context.

Like I said, I didn't change anything so nfi why it's affecting you.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 03:42:27 AM
 #13910

I haven't changed any of the hotplug or usb detect in 3.9.0 compared with 3.8.5. If it's slower it may simply be the extra devices (drillbit) it's now looking for.

Is that consistent with, say, five out of seven AMUs being recognized quickly/immediately followed by a three minute delay for the remaining two (identical devices, all on the same hub)?

I don't want to make this sound like a big deal that needs a fix - more of a small anomaly that might or might not be important in some bigger context.

Like I said, I didn't change anything so nfi why it's affecting you.

Wow - my most recent cgminer launch has been strange. Two of the AMUs have not shown up yet, 11 minutes in, but one has had its LED on for 5(?) minutes as though it wants to be flagged a zombie. Yikes - the other one just got recognized. I'd toss it off as random goofiness except that my other machine had the odd delays also, and its configuration/load is fairly mundane. Fifteen minutes in now, no zombie but the LED still on.

Edit: Removed a lot of detail about problems that now seem unrelated to cgminer 3.9.0. One issue remains that might be relevant, namely AMU LEDs can come on, the units become cool to the touch and are no longer hashing, but they are not flagged as zombies or dead. On replug, they are recognized as hotplugged and they resume hashing. It's like the original zombie problem, but much less frequent and without the error flagging.
  

daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 853
Merit: 1000


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 06:01:43 AM
 #13911

I have been getting these errors on my DB thumbs.
http://i.imgur.com/0LAEQWF.png?1
http://i.imgur.com/KpZz9KB.png?1

Thumbs have been running on MinePeon with the DB version of cgminer. Only difference now is windows 7, hub is the same, ports on the hub, and OC (ext:240:1:950).
Notanon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250


Pastor of Muppets


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 09:24:41 AM
 #13912

Much appreciated! Can now have my Pi using both the Drillbit thumbs and the Block Erupter in the same instance of CGMiner without needing to run two separate versions for each. And it will put my mind at ease a bit when I plan to go on a roadtrip for a couple of weeks over east next month and won't be able to reboot it from there.
Yep my RPi with the thumb also has 2 AMUs - all 3 in a USB3 hub attached to the RPi with an Arctic USB fan on them ... though I've been stealing the mining fans for myself the last few days ... been hot down here ...

If you have any Drillbit boards (not thumbs) I've been told by the drillbit guys, and noticed (though it's probably already been said elsewhere) that if it has problems you simply leave it idle (on power) for a few minutes and then it's OK again.

Also make sure they have the latest firmware 20131217
http://drillbitsystem.com/forum/index.php?topic=235.0

Yeah, the firmware bit will be tricky from what I've read (particularly making sure the two pins are shorted when the thumbs are powered on), but should be able to do it without extra help. Been lucky to get away with not needing fans, but it hasn't been overly scorching in Perth yet, so will see how that plays out.

AMHash
ASICMINERROCKMINER ● Purchase from: AMHash (20Th/s min) ● Havelock (1Gh/s min)
Cloud-mining contracts: 0.0012 BTC per Gh ● Maintenance fee: $0.001551 per Gh per day ● Upto 6% Christmas Bonus

carly200
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 10:35:19 PM
 #13913

Hi,

I understand that scrypt/GPU mining support was removed from cgminer. Still I think this would be the best place/resource to help me in understanding the following.

using cgminer 3.7.2 some people experience the following error
" error -4: enqueueing kernel onto command queue "

what exactly does it mean?

Mining on R9 290 hardware
people have noticed, that higher TC values can cause this;
also using less than 8GB RAM can cause this.


Any insight what this error means exactly?
rgr_rgr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 10:42:04 PM
 #13914

I am happy to see that cgminer supports Bitmains U1: https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/tree/master/cgminer

But I can't find the sources. I need a version running on raspberry. How could I get it?


I'll wait until they release the sources for close inspection.

It is available: https://github.com/bitmaintech/cgminer
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 24, 2013, 10:59:09 PM
 #13915

Hi,

I understand that scrypt/GPU mining support was removed from cgminer. Still I think this would be the best place/resource to help me in understanding the following.

using cgminer 3.7.2 some people experience the following error
" error -4: enqueueing kernel onto command queue "

what exactly does it mean?

Mining on R9 290 hardware
people have noticed, that higher TC values can cause this;
also using less than 8GB RAM can cause this.

Any insight what this error means exactly?

I see this when the driver crashes.  I'm running 3.7.2 on a good number of 280x GPUs, two of which have 4 gb of memory on win7 x64.

Check the litecoin wiki page for recommended settings for your card.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Sir William
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 25, 2013, 06:26:22 AM
 #13916

Here's a stupid question, but I've run out of ideas.  First of all, I'm using Windows 8.1 64 bit and cgminer v3.7.2.  I have a BitFury that I'm running on a separate instance.  This one is working flawlessly.  The trouble I'm running into is trying to run an instance of cgminer for just my on board video.  The video is on a Lenovo G505s notebook and is a AMD Radeon 8650G with 384 shaders.  My batch file reads as follows...

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --shaders 384 -I 9 --thread-concurrency 1536 -o 127.0.0.1:9999 -u Name -p password

While this works, this still detect my BitFury, and pops up an error, because it cannot use it (not that I want it to).  How do I keep cgminer from detecting the BitFury in this instance?  This is a scrypt solo mine, so the BitFury would be useless for it.  Thank you...

BTC: 1ArHufTKEQZoDzoNicVAt1rBqJrvrqVzEH
carly200
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 25, 2013, 08:17:46 AM
 #13917

Hi,

I understand that scrypt/GPU mining support was removed from cgminer. Still I think this would be the best place/resource to help me in understanding the following.

using cgminer 3.7.2 some people experience the following error
" error -4: enqueueing kernel onto command queue "

what exactly does it mean?

Mining on R9 290 hardware
people have noticed, that higher TC values can cause this;
also using less than 8GB RAM can cause this.

Any insight what this error means exactly?

I see this when the driver crashes.  I'm running 3.7.2 on a good number of 280x GPUs, two of which have 4 gb of memory on win7 x64.

Check the litecoin wiki page for recommended settings for your card.

M

but the driver does not crash. using 4GB ram causes that error with high TC, using 8GB ram and everything is fine (or lowering TC).
I am trying to find out if this is a bug in cgminer that somehow requires PC-RAM...

what exactly does that error mean?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 25, 2013, 10:51:20 AM
 #13918

Hi,

I understand that scrypt/GPU mining support was removed from cgminer. Still I think this would be the best place/resource to help me in understanding the following.

using cgminer 3.7.2 some people experience the following error
" error -4: enqueueing kernel onto command queue "

what exactly does it mean?

Mining on R9 290 hardware
people have noticed, that higher TC values can cause this;
also using less than 8GB RAM can cause this.

Any insight what this error means exactly?

I see this when the driver crashes.  I'm running 3.7.2 on a good number of 280x GPUs, two of which have 4 gb of memory on win7 x64.

Check the litecoin wiki page for recommended settings for your card.

M

but the driver does not crash. using 4GB ram causes that error with high TC, using 8GB ram and everything is fine (or lowering TC).
I am trying to find out if this is a bug in cgminer that somehow requires PC-RAM...

what exactly does that error mean?

I think it relates to the driver.  Wish I could help you more.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
chadtn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 25, 2013, 10:54:17 AM
 #13919

ckolivas...I'm just being curious/nosey here, but is there an amount of BTC you have in mind that would bring back GPU mining support in cgminer?  heh..  

While I have your attention I also wanted to ask if there is a scrypt specific fork of cgminer that you might recommend to people that want continued GPU development.  The GPU questions seem to be coming more and more often as of late.  I've tried a couple of the forks, but I'd love to hear if there was a particular developer you worked with on the hand off that stuck out from the rest.  I really expected someone to be leading the pack on scrypt mining by now, but nothing just jumps out at me.  I was wondering if maybe I wasn't looking in the right places.  I'm not really sure where I would direct people with GPU questions these days...or myself for that matter.  heh..

I know you don't want to be bothered with GPU questions anymore.  Putting a specific fork of the code in the limelight would probably steer a lot of the questions in that direction.

Thanks!

Chad

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2013, 11:12:22 AM
 #13920

ckolivas...I'm just being curious/nosey here, but is there an amount of BTC you have in mind that would bring back GPU mining support in cgminer?  heh..  
I originally wrote the scrypt code for cgminer for 100BTC, which was my "I don't want to do it" price back then. I wish I had said 1000BTC instead. That should give you some idea.

While I have your attention I also wanted to ask if there is a scrypt specific fork of cgminer that you might recommend to people that want continued GPU development.  The GPU questions seem to be coming more and more often as of late.  I've tried a couple of the forks, but I'd love to hear if there was a particular developer you worked with on the hand off that stuck out from the rest.  I really expected someone to be leading the pack on scrypt mining by now, but nothing just jumps out at me.  I was wondering if maybe I wasn't looking in the right places.  I'm not really sure where I would direct people with GPU questions these days...or myself for that matter.  heh..

I know you don't want to be bothered with GPU questions anymore.  Putting a specific fork of the code in the limelight would probably steer a lot of the questions in that direction.
I pay no attention whatsoever to forks or gpu or scrypt code so I have no idea nor can recommend anything.

I know you don't mean it, but this is unintentionally flamebait. All my responses about GPUs/scrypt/litecoin do is piss people off more since they can't accept I have no interest in them and then they resort to personal attacks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 [696] 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!