Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2018, 03:52:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 [688] 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756986 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 06:01:35 PM
 #13741

Ok, new experiment for the windows+amu fail:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-sw.exe


My most recent normal 3.8.4 test ran about 12 hours without incident - no zombies at all. I've just run the "sw" test and it has one zombie after about an hour, AMU5.

Edit: another zombie with the "sw" test, about 5 hours into the run. Curiously, this one was also reported as AMU5 although it wasn't the same physical device as above. Unplugging it did not change its status to AMU0, unlike many of the earlier versions. On replug it was reallocated to AMU14 and the numbering overall suggests it had actually been AMU7 that went zombie this time. Present numbering is AMU0-4, 6, 8-14 so I think the first zombie, AMU5, was reallocated to AMU13 on replug. The "sw" run continues.

I found an Amazon (Canada) listing for the hubs I'm using, fwiw: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B009Z9M3DY

I just noticed this phrase in the blurb for them "Smart chip power management allows devices to communicate idle states and latency tolerance for progressively lower power states and subsequently increased performance and power efficiency". Don't know if it's relevant.


I am running 3 10-port Anker hubs and an old 4-port hub, all individually powered and plugged directly into the PC.  No daisy-chaining. Interestingly I don't remember ever seeing one of the 4-port devices going zombie...

So... On an initial test of "sw" without logging, I noticed some LEDs come on for several seconds then go out, and mining continued OK.  Another time a zombie was reported but it re-plugged automatically. Then several zombies came up which did not re-plug automatically and I noticed "icarus detect - incorrect device" warnings.  I don't know if these are new with this build or not, but when they came up I did examine the whole table in Zadig to check if AMUs had been re-assigned to slots with incorrect driver software - but they all looked OK.

Powered the hubs off/on to reset everything as usual.
 
On this run (with logging), a zombie (AMU 22) appeared after about a minute, which did not re-plug automatically.  Manual re-plugging worked OK, but I stopped the test because I was going out and wanted to be sure
the miner would keep running.  It seems that this version tries hard to keep things going, but I seem to be seeing more initial disturbances (LEDs on for a second or more then disappearing, then maybe a zombie which replugs automatically etc.)  I don't see any of that with 3.5.1, and as I'm normally sitting right next to the Erupters working away at the PC, any unusual flashing immediately catches the eye.

Logfile here, for what it's worth:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-sw.txt
1532231557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231557
Reply with quote  #2

1532231557
Report to moderator
1532231557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231557
Reply with quote  #2

1532231557
Report to moderator
1532231557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231557
Reply with quote  #2

1532231557
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532231557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231557
Reply with quote  #2

1532231557
Report to moderator
1532231557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231557
Reply with quote  #2

1532231557
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 08:59:54 PM
 #13742

I am running 3 10-port Anker hubs and an old 4-port hub, all individually powered and plugged directly into the PC.  No daisy-chaining. Interestingly I don't remember ever seeing one of the 4-port devices going zombie...

I had to plug my 9+1 Anker's into my 5/7 port Rosewill hubs to get them to work reliably.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 09:24:14 PM
 #13743

I am running 3 10-port Anker hubs and an old 4-port hub, all individually powered and plugged directly into the PC.  No daisy-chaining. Interestingly I don't remember ever seeing one of the 4-port devices going zombie...
Try plugging the 3 10 port ankers into the 4 port device just for grins?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Zhukov0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:15:27 PM
 #13744

Hi people, i've got a little problem. I want to mine in some places where putting no password is required... but i can't use CGMINER without a password. I can't execute without the -p parameter, i can't use -p xxx for example (it doesn't connect to pool or doesn't get any share), and also i can't use --username=user:

Somebody know how can i do it??? I tried lot of versions of CGMINER, including the last one compatible with GPU mining (3.7.2)

Thanks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 10:22:44 PM
 #13745

Hi people, i've got a little problem. I want to mine in some places where putting no password is required... but i can't use CGMINER without a password. I can't execute without the -p parameter, i can't use -p xxx for example (it doesn't connect to pool or doesn't get any share), and also i can't use --username=user:

Somebody know how can i do it??? I tried lot of versions of CGMINER, including the last one compatible with GPU mining (3.7.2)
Connecting via stratum, getwork or GBT ALWAYS takes a password, even if it is ignored, so your pool is broken.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Zhukov0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:51:18 PM
 #13746

Hi people, i've got a little problem. I want to mine in some places where putting no password is required... but i can't use CGMINER without a password. I can't execute without the -p parameter, i can't use -p xxx for example (it doesn't connect to pool or doesn't get any share), and also i can't use --username=user:

Somebody know how can i do it??? I tried lot of versions of CGMINER, including the last one compatible with GPU mining (3.7.2)
Connecting via stratum, getwork or GBT ALWAYS takes a password, even if it is ignored, so your pool is broken.

It's weird, because i was trying to use P2Pool and Bitparking... P2Pool was working some time ago with any kind of password, but now some pools of p2pool doesn't work if i put some kind of password.
cxboyminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Your professional profile on the blockchain


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:52:07 PM
 #13747

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg

aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 11:20:56 PM
 #13748


  It seems that this version tries hard to keep things going, but I seem to be seeing more initial disturbances (LEDs on for a second or more then disappearing, then maybe a zombie which replugs automatically etc.) 


I got a cluster of four (almost) simultaneous zombies and was going to make a routine post agreeing with your observation about clusters of LEDs on, when things got weird for me. On a lazy whim, I tried Q and restarting cgminer hoping it might cure all four zombies at once. It didn't, so I unplugged and replugged the hubs and everything seemed back to normal. The cgminer display showed all units hashing normally and the AMU LEDs and BAL fan all seemed normal. I looked at my stats on Slush's pool and was startled to see the "last share at" timer creeping upward. No work from this 'puter was registering at the pool. The cgminer display showed the pool connection normally. I looked at a few other things and waited to see if it would recover but it did not. After 14 minutes I quit and restarted cgminer and the counter at the pool site recovered immediately. I've never seen that happen before, but it looks like a potentially serious effect from something or other I did in a too-casual zombie recovery/restart.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 11:22:45 PM
 #13749


  It seems that this version tries hard to keep things going, but I seem to be seeing more initial disturbances (LEDs on for a second or more then disappearing, then maybe a zombie which replugs automatically etc.) 


I got a cluster of four (almost) simultaneous zombies and was going to make a routine post agreeing with your observation about clusters of LEDs on, when things got weird for me. On a lazy whim, I tried Q and restarting cgminer hoping it might cure all four zombies at once. It didn't, so I unplugged and replugged the hubs and everything seemed back to normal. The cgminer display showed all units hashing normally and the AMU LEDs and BAL fan all seemed normal. I looked at my stats on Slush's pool and was startled to see the "last share at" timer creeping upward. No work from this 'puter was registering at the pool. The cgminer display showed the pool connection normally. I looked at a few other things and waited to see if it would recover but it did not. After 14 minutes I quit and restarted cgminer and the counter at the pool site recovered immediately. I've never seen that happen before, but it looks like a potentially serious effect from something or other I did in a too-casual zombie recovery/restart.

I suspect it's actually managing to crash the hub itself and the hub needs resetting. Ugly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 11:32:05 PM
 #13750

Here is a sequence of exes to try please. It will emulate a transaction translator for usb1.1 devices.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w1d10.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w2d10.exe

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rw1d10.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rw2d10.exe

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w10d10.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rw10d10.exe

If any of these prove to work, there is no need to test the ones further down, thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 11:59:54 PM
 #13751

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg
Much appreciated, thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cxboyminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Your professional profile on the blockchain


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 07:43:39 AM
 #13752

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg
Much appreciated, thanks!

Hope that will help new people transferring from bfgminer to cgminer Tongue

erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 08:44:48 AM
 #13753

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg
Much appreciated, thanks!

Hope that will help new people transferring from bfgminer to cgminer Tongue
seeing cgminer no longer supports scrypt mining the transfers are probably in the other direction, as scrypt is very popular again with the rise in alt coin prices. That said I still prefer using cgminer.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 08:47:06 AM
 #13754

Hope that will help new people transferring from bfgminer to cgminer Tongue
seeing cgminer no longer supports scrypt mining the transfers are probably in the other direction, as scrypt is very popular again with the rise in alt coin prices. That said I still prefer using cgminer.
That's really quite funny and hypocritical given luke-Jr considers all altcoins scams yet he pulled my scrypt code and is now maintaining the only maintained scrypt GPU miner on these forums.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 12:46:32 PM
 #13755


The first one (w1d10) got one zombie during an unattended 12-hour run. It replugged with no problem. I'll try w2d10 now.
Gwindor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0

Yeaaa


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 03:09:48 PM
 #13756

Hey guys when i try to run chminer it shuts in a second.

I installed amd sdk but no change.

i have windows 7 64bit home premium
7700hd gzh edition gpu

which step i do wrong i cant get.

i put .bat to cgminer directory and run .bat than msdos openin and shutting in half second...
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 08, 2013, 03:27:39 PM
 #13757

Hey guys when i try to run chminer it shuts in a second.

I installed amd sdk but no change.

i have windows 7 64bit home premium
7700hd gzh edition gpu

which step i do wrong i cant get.

i put .bat to cgminer directory and run .bat than msdos openin and shutting in half second...

cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  I believe 3.7.2 is the last version that supports it.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Gwindor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0

Yeaaa


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 04:28:04 PM
 #13758

Hey guys when i try to run chminer it shuts in a second.

I installed amd sdk but no change.

i have windows 7 64bit home premium
7700hd gzh edition gpu

which step i do wrong i cant get.

i put .bat to cgminer directory and run .bat than msdos openin and shutting in half second...

cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  I believe 3.7.2 is the last version that supports it.

M

yes i know this and i was trying with that version.

suddenly i tried again and it worked... lol shocked thanks for help anyway.

i have 7700hd any advice for script code?

padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 06:19:34 PM
 #13759

I am trying to sort through the getwork logic in Anubis, given the fact that with the stratum protocol getwork != number of shares the calculations are off.

Hoping someone can provide some recommendations about how one might go about calculating something meaningful regarding total shares vs. getwork requests to in turn calculate meaningful discards statistics?

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 06:35:52 PM
 #13760


The first one (w1d10) got one zombie during an unattended 12-hour run. It replugged with no problem. I'll try w2d10 now.

"w1d10" has been mining for 3 hours now and no actual zombies yet, but it is behaving rather strangely.  I am regularly getting "rafts" of LEDs coming on - perhaps 15 or more, then another 1,2,3.... 7,8 or so, making 17-25 all on at once, then they all go out and everything looks normal again.  Nothing abnormal in the log file and my hash rate is ok at the pool.  I would say this looks very promising - if it were not for the disconcerting appearance of seeing all those LEDs going on and off...!!

Edit:  Of course it could be my wonderful (not!) broadband playing up - but that typically results in *all* LEDs coming on for 5 seconds or so and then going off en-masse.  What I'm seeing here happens perhaps once every 10, 15 or 30 minutes, and no "pool unavailable" messages.

Pages: « 1 ... 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 [688] 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!