Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:05:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 [688] 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824605 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 02:54:43 AM
 #13741

What USB hub do you have?

I'm using two powered Anker USB 3.0 hubs daisy-chained and going to a mobo USB 2.0 socket. I think we all found out early on that USB 3.0 (blue) sockets don't work with the Eruptors but the hubs allegedly downgrade from 3.0 to 2.0 without hassle and I think a lot of people use them that way for mining. My other machine that tends always to have similar cgminer issues (but never the "dead" label) also uses an Anker USB 3.0 powered hub connected to a USB 2.0 socket.

Interesting. Perhaps the USB3 hubs that don't work have virtually no USB1.1 TTs, and yours going through a USB2 socket is basically sharing the one TT on the USB2 socket. Also some people with USB3 slots on windows can't even see their devices. I think linux has some kind of software TT to compensate within the kernel so perhaps the operating system is actually working around them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 03:19:07 AM
 #13742

Ok, new experiment for the windows+amu fail:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-sw.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 03:22:17 AM
 #13743

Interestingly - and related - I've been doing some reading about usb hubs that don't have separate transaction translators for usb1.1 devices and wonder if all the flakiness isn't just dodgy hubs with a shared TT and all these usb devices being usb1.1. It's rather annoying that usb2 is a decade old and people are still making 1.1 devices because they can use the cheapest nastiest communication chip money can buy in their devices. What USB hub do you have? I don't even know if hubs are still made with single transaction translators any more or not, but it would be interesting to find out.

It's a neat idea ... except I got zombies with the same hardware (same erupters, same hubs) that worked fine on another rig.  I'm down to 1 USB erupter, and it's happily chugging along at 335mh/s on main PC.

M
The PC's own hubs also include transaction translators by the way.

Another thing I thought of ... is there were multiple issues.  I think you fixed the ones affecting me, now I just have the USB 3.0 problem.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 03:30:04 AM
 #13744

Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.
Compiled and ran 3.8.4 on Fedora 19.  It ran for 68 hours, before running out of file descriptors.  At that point, it can no longer replug zombies.  It could probably run indefinitely if those file descriptors could get closed somehow.   Next time, I'll remember to run lsof to see what all those file descriptors are referencing...

 [2013-12-06 22:25:29] SEM: Icarus USB open failed '/tmp/cgminer-usb-1-64' err (24) Too many open files
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 03:57:17 AM
 #13745

Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.
Compiled and ran 3.8.4 on Fedora 19.  It ran for 68 hours, before running out of file descriptors.  At that point, it can no longer replug zombies.  It could probably run indefinitely if those file descriptors could get closed somehow.   Next time, I'll remember to run lsof to see what all those file descriptors are referencing...

 [2013-12-06 22:25:29] SEM: Icarus USB open failed '/tmp/cgminer-usb-1-64' err (24) Too many open files

Found how this might happen. Try latest git please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 02:25:38 PM
 #13746

Ok, new experiment for the windows+amu fail:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-sw.exe


My most recent normal 3.8.4 test ran about 12 hours without incident - no zombies at all. I've just run the "sw" test and it has one zombie after about an hour, AMU5.

Edit: another zombie with the "sw" test, about 5 hours into the run. Curiously, this one was also reported as AMU5 although it wasn't the same physical device as above. Unplugging it did not change its status to AMU0, unlike many of the earlier versions. On replug it was reallocated to AMU14 and the numbering overall suggests it had actually been AMU7 that went zombie this time. Present numbering is AMU0-4, 6, 8-14 so I think the first zombie, AMU5, was reallocated to AMU13 on replug. The "sw" run continues.

I found an Amazon (Canada) listing for the hubs I'm using, fwiw: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B009Z9M3DY

I just noticed this phrase in the blurb for them "Smart chip power management allows devices to communicate idle states and latency tolerance for progressively lower power states and subsequently increased performance and power efficiency". Don't know if it's relevant.

jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 06:01:35 PM
 #13747

Ok, new experiment for the windows+amu fail:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-sw.exe


My most recent normal 3.8.4 test ran about 12 hours without incident - no zombies at all. I've just run the "sw" test and it has one zombie after about an hour, AMU5.

Edit: another zombie with the "sw" test, about 5 hours into the run. Curiously, this one was also reported as AMU5 although it wasn't the same physical device as above. Unplugging it did not change its status to AMU0, unlike many of the earlier versions. On replug it was reallocated to AMU14 and the numbering overall suggests it had actually been AMU7 that went zombie this time. Present numbering is AMU0-4, 6, 8-14 so I think the first zombie, AMU5, was reallocated to AMU13 on replug. The "sw" run continues.

I found an Amazon (Canada) listing for the hubs I'm using, fwiw: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B009Z9M3DY

I just noticed this phrase in the blurb for them "Smart chip power management allows devices to communicate idle states and latency tolerance for progressively lower power states and subsequently increased performance and power efficiency". Don't know if it's relevant.


I am running 3 10-port Anker hubs and an old 4-port hub, all individually powered and plugged directly into the PC.  No daisy-chaining. Interestingly I don't remember ever seeing one of the 4-port devices going zombie...

So... On an initial test of "sw" without logging, I noticed some LEDs come on for several seconds then go out, and mining continued OK.  Another time a zombie was reported but it re-plugged automatically. Then several zombies came up which did not re-plug automatically and I noticed "icarus detect - incorrect device" warnings.  I don't know if these are new with this build or not, but when they came up I did examine the whole table in Zadig to check if AMUs had been re-assigned to slots with incorrect driver software - but they all looked OK.

Powered the hubs off/on to reset everything as usual.
 
On this run (with logging), a zombie (AMU 22) appeared after about a minute, which did not re-plug automatically.  Manual re-plugging worked OK, but I stopped the test because I was going out and wanted to be sure
the miner would keep running.  It seems that this version tries hard to keep things going, but I seem to be seeing more initial disturbances (LEDs on for a second or more then disappearing, then maybe a zombie which replugs automatically etc.)  I don't see any of that with 3.5.1, and as I'm normally sitting right next to the Erupters working away at the PC, any unusual flashing immediately catches the eye.

Logfile here, for what it's worth:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-sw.txt
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 08:59:54 PM
 #13748

I am running 3 10-port Anker hubs and an old 4-port hub, all individually powered and plugged directly into the PC.  No daisy-chaining. Interestingly I don't remember ever seeing one of the 4-port devices going zombie...

I had to plug my 9+1 Anker's into my 5/7 port Rosewill hubs to get them to work reliably.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 09:24:14 PM
 #13749

I am running 3 10-port Anker hubs and an old 4-port hub, all individually powered and plugged directly into the PC.  No daisy-chaining. Interestingly I don't remember ever seeing one of the 4-port devices going zombie...
Try plugging the 3 10 port ankers into the 4 port device just for grins?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Zhukov0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:15:27 PM
 #13750

Hi people, i've got a little problem. I want to mine in some places where putting no password is required... but i can't use CGMINER without a password. I can't execute without the -p parameter, i can't use -p xxx for example (it doesn't connect to pool or doesn't get any share), and also i can't use --username=user:

Somebody know how can i do it??? I tried lot of versions of CGMINER, including the last one compatible with GPU mining (3.7.2)

Thanks!

DVC: 1BT4iMQsYtiW6PWG9mAPvBqUA7C2VingFH
Earn Devcoins by Writing (http://www.devtome.com/doku.php?id=earn_devcoins_by_writing)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 10:22:44 PM
 #13751

Hi people, i've got a little problem. I want to mine in some places where putting no password is required... but i can't use CGMINER without a password. I can't execute without the -p parameter, i can't use -p xxx for example (it doesn't connect to pool or doesn't get any share), and also i can't use --username=user:

Somebody know how can i do it??? I tried lot of versions of CGMINER, including the last one compatible with GPU mining (3.7.2)
Connecting via stratum, getwork or GBT ALWAYS takes a password, even if it is ignored, so your pool is broken.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Zhukov0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:51:18 PM
 #13752

Hi people, i've got a little problem. I want to mine in some places where putting no password is required... but i can't use CGMINER without a password. I can't execute without the -p parameter, i can't use -p xxx for example (it doesn't connect to pool or doesn't get any share), and also i can't use --username=user:

Somebody know how can i do it??? I tried lot of versions of CGMINER, including the last one compatible with GPU mining (3.7.2)
Connecting via stratum, getwork or GBT ALWAYS takes a password, even if it is ignored, so your pool is broken.

It's weird, because i was trying to use P2Pool and Bitparking... P2Pool was working some time ago with any kind of password, but now some pools of p2pool doesn't work if i put some kind of password.

DVC: 1BT4iMQsYtiW6PWG9mAPvBqUA7C2VingFH
Earn Devcoins by Writing (http://www.devtome.com/doku.php?id=earn_devcoins_by_writing)
cxboyminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588

faucetbag.com - Up to 10000 Satoshis per 15 mins


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 10:52:07 PM
 #13753

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg

aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 11:20:56 PM
 #13754


  It seems that this version tries hard to keep things going, but I seem to be seeing more initial disturbances (LEDs on for a second or more then disappearing, then maybe a zombie which replugs automatically etc.) 


I got a cluster of four (almost) simultaneous zombies and was going to make a routine post agreeing with your observation about clusters of LEDs on, when things got weird for me. On a lazy whim, I tried Q and restarting cgminer hoping it might cure all four zombies at once. It didn't, so I unplugged and replugged the hubs and everything seemed back to normal. The cgminer display showed all units hashing normally and the AMU LEDs and BAL fan all seemed normal. I looked at my stats on Slush's pool and was startled to see the "last share at" timer creeping upward. No work from this 'puter was registering at the pool. The cgminer display showed the pool connection normally. I looked at a few other things and waited to see if it would recover but it did not. After 14 minutes I quit and restarted cgminer and the counter at the pool site recovered immediately. I've never seen that happen before, but it looks like a potentially serious effect from something or other I did in a too-casual zombie recovery/restart.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 11:22:45 PM
 #13755


  It seems that this version tries hard to keep things going, but I seem to be seeing more initial disturbances (LEDs on for a second or more then disappearing, then maybe a zombie which replugs automatically etc.) 


I got a cluster of four (almost) simultaneous zombies and was going to make a routine post agreeing with your observation about clusters of LEDs on, when things got weird for me. On a lazy whim, I tried Q and restarting cgminer hoping it might cure all four zombies at once. It didn't, so I unplugged and replugged the hubs and everything seemed back to normal. The cgminer display showed all units hashing normally and the AMU LEDs and BAL fan all seemed normal. I looked at my stats on Slush's pool and was startled to see the "last share at" timer creeping upward. No work from this 'puter was registering at the pool. The cgminer display showed the pool connection normally. I looked at a few other things and waited to see if it would recover but it did not. After 14 minutes I quit and restarted cgminer and the counter at the pool site recovered immediately. I've never seen that happen before, but it looks like a potentially serious effect from something or other I did in a too-casual zombie recovery/restart.

I suspect it's actually managing to crash the hub itself and the hub needs resetting. Ugly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 11:32:05 PM
 #13756

Here is a sequence of exes to try please. It will emulate a transaction translator for usb1.1 devices.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w1d10.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w2d10.exe

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rw1d10.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rw2d10.exe

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w10d10.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rw10d10.exe

If any of these prove to work, there is no need to test the ones further down, thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 11:59:54 PM
 #13757

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg
Much appreciated, thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cxboyminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588

faucetbag.com - Up to 10000 Satoshis per 15 mins


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 07:43:39 AM
 #13758

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg
Much appreciated, thanks!

Hope that will help new people transferring from bfgminer to cgminer Tongue

erk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
December 08, 2013, 08:44:48 AM
 #13759

Ckolivas,

I just made a video on cgminer for mac installation tutorial... hope that helps...

Progress: DONE

http://youtu.be/FWd03bqfURg
Much appreciated, thanks!

Hope that will help new people transferring from bfgminer to cgminer Tongue
seeing cgminer no longer supports scrypt mining the transfers are probably in the other direction, as scrypt is very popular again with the rise in alt coin prices. That said I still prefer using cgminer.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 08:47:06 AM
 #13760

Hope that will help new people transferring from bfgminer to cgminer Tongue
seeing cgminer no longer supports scrypt mining the transfers are probably in the other direction, as scrypt is very popular again with the rise in alt coin prices. That said I still prefer using cgminer.
That's really quite funny and hypocritical given luke-Jr considers all altcoins scams yet he pulled my scrypt code and is now maintaining the only maintained scrypt GPU miner on these forums.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 [688] 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!