Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2017, 03:25:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 [721] 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 ... 838 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5486573 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2014, 11:50:11 PM
 #14401

Mines still pulling blocks. I've still got some eroupters so at least they go bright green when they are bored with no work. They are like the dog you wish bit the mailman harder.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506353100
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506353100

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506353100
Reply with quote  #2

1506353100
Report to moderator
1506353100
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506353100

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506353100
Reply with quote  #2

1506353100
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 12:29:58 AM
 #14402

Uploaded 3.12.3 with the correct fix now, reused same announce post.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 03:12:37 AM
 #14403

...
Woo, now I just need a Raspbian binary and I can finally ditch bfgminer. Tongue

I've put out 3.12.1a as I've done before
I'll make it a brief post Smiley

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries
For you, it'll be under the RPi_Arch or RPi_Raspbian folders.
The *bab versions are all USB + BaB so don't use them if you don't have BaB boards
The *a versions are all USB.

I've also created another git that explains how to configure linux to start cgminer and keep it running.
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-run

New regarding 3.12.1 Smiley
There is a 'little' change in there called
"- API allow multiple commands/replies in one request"
That one is actually quite significant for anyone who uses the API a lot.
With API V3.1 you can send more than one report command in one request.
It's only for report replies that require no parameters e.g. summary, pools, devs, config, stats etc
It's simple enough, you simply send the commands '+' together.
So to get summary and config in the same reply you send summary+config as the command
See API-README for more details and the format of the reply.
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/API-README#L112
My binary git all updated to 3.12.3 - and I removed all the 3.12.1 and 3.12.2 files

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 03:56:41 AM
 #14404

Couple of small questions for you guys, please. 

I've got a small farm of block erupters.  One of them is showing massive hardware errors, so I suspect it's going bad.  Is there an easy way to identify the physical device, short of unplugging all my erupters one by one until the bad one goes zombie?

Secondly, I have a few Klondike based miners.  In the config file, I have this setting:

Code:
"klondike-options": "340:65",

At startup, cgminer clearly is reading the setting; it outputs a line with the Klondike setting that has the right frequency and says the cutoff temp is 65 (too fast for me to copy/paste).  However, in actual hashing, the cutoff temp is 55.  I remember reading something from a few months back where either Con or Kano mentioned that the 55 is hard coded, but I lost track of the issue and what the resolution was.  Was that ever fixed, or is it intentional that the temp is locked at 55?  I'd rather not do a personal compilation of cgminer if I can avoid it.

Thanks in advance. Smiley
There are 2 temps.
The one passed there is the internal to the KLN temp target.

The code one is:
The abort temp:
KLN_KILLWORK_TEMP       53.5
It stops until it cools down to
KLN_COOLED_DOWN         45.5

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 06:19:09 AM
 #14405

There are 2 temps.
The one passed there is the internal to the KLN temp target.

The code one is:
The abort temp:
KLN_KILLWORK_TEMP       53.5
It stops until it cools down to
KLN_COOLED_DOWN         45.5
Thanks, Kano, appreciate the reply. Smiley

Does that mean the temp in the settings file isn't actually used by cgminer? It's just passed to the Klondike device itself and used there?  Other than recompiling, is there a way to modify KLN_KILLWORK_TEMP? I'm guessing no; all caps usually indicates a constant in the code.

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 06:47:31 AM
 #14406

Uploaded 3.12.3 with the correct fix now, reused same announce post.
Thank you Con!
I will give it a shot and report back if get work locks are gone.
However I see that you still write in last_device_valid_work get_work without a lock. Is it ok? Every where you use locks when writing to it but not in get work
Thank you

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 06:58:35 AM
 #14407

Uploaded 3.12.3 with the correct fix now, reused same announce post.
Thank you Con!
I will give it a shot and report back if get work locks are gone.
However I see that you still write in last_device_valid_work get_work without a lock. Is it ok? Every where you use locks when writing to it but not in get work
Thank you
For that particular statistic it's pretty harmless and it's in get_work() for which the code needs to be as lean as possible. The lock protecting it elsewhere, stats_lock, is a global  lock potentially contended by quite a few threads so I decided against it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 07:01:45 AM
 #14408

Uploaded 3.12.3 with the correct fix now, reused same announce post.
Thank you Con!
I will give it a shot and report back if get work locks are gone.
However I see that you still write in last_device_valid_work get_work without a lock. Is it ok? Every where you use locks when writing to it but not in get work
Thank you
For that particular statistic it's pretty harmless and it's in get_work() for which the code needs to be as lean as possible. The lock protecting it elsewhere, stats_lock, is a global  lock potentially contended by quite a few threads so I decided against it.
Thank you!
I will post back my results in a couple of hours

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
wyj1888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 08:41:27 AM
 #14409

who can gvie me a cgminer(AMD) for  MAX??   
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 08:42:42 AM
 #14410

who can gvie me a cgminer(AMD) for  MAX??   
You're in the wrong place. cgminer is a bitcoin miner ONLY and has no GPU code any more. Try sgminer.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
wyj1888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 08:47:21 AM
 #14411

who can gvie me a cgminer(AMD) for  MAX??   
You're in the wrong place. cgminer is a bitcoin miner ONLY and has no GPU code any more. Try sgminer.

where can I download Sgminer??
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 08:51:05 AM
 #14412

who can gvie me a cgminer(AMD) for  MAX??   
You're in the wrong place. cgminer is a bitcoin miner ONLY and has no GPU code any more. Try sgminer.

where can I download Sgminer??
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=sgminer

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


AeP3ZvJ5u4oEyQxeWXLmrZMGhGAKnWXe4a


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 09:16:43 AM
 #14413

Hello and thanks for the new release,

but I have also many HW Errors with this version?

I start the device with this command:

Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run
cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf --icarus-timing=short --quiet --anu-freq 200

HW Errors are between 2 - 5% Is this OK??

greets

                                
           ░▓█████████████████▓░
          ▒▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒██▓▒░
      ░▒▓███▓                 ▒██▓▓▒░░    ░
▓▒███████▓▒        ░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░    ░▓▓▓██▓▓▓▒▓
▒░██▒░░         ▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▓██▓▒     ░ ▒▓▓░▓
░▒▓█▒         ▒█▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓████▓▓▒   ▒█▓▒▒
 ▒░██        ██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░██▒   ██▒▒
 ▓░▓█▒      ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░░▒▒▒░░▒▓██▓   ▒██░▒
 ░▓░█▓     ▓█▓▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒   ██░▓░
  ▓▒▒█▓  ▓▒█▓▒▒▓▓▒░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ █▒  ██▓░▓
   █░▒█▓ ▓███▓▒▒░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░ ▓█  ██▓ ▓
    █░▓█▓ ░██▓███▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓██  ██▓░▓
    ░█░▒██  ░ ░▓███████▓██████▒  ██▒░▓
      █▒░██▓      ░▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒░   ▓██░▒▓
       ▓▓░▒██▒               ▒██▓░▓▓
        ░█▓░▓██▒           ▒██▓░▓█░
          ▒█▓░▓██▓       ▓██▓▒▓█▒
            ▒█▓▒▒███░ ▒███▒▒▓█▒
              ▒██▓▒▓███▓▒▒██▒
                ░▓██▒▒▒███░
                   ▒███▒














-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 09:21:40 AM
 #14414

Hello and thanks for the new release,

but I have also many HW Errors with this version?

I start the device with this command:

Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run
cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf --icarus-timing=short --quiet --anu-freq 200

HW Errors are between 2 - 5% Is this OK??

greets
You no longer need icarus timing with this release so remove it. HW errors are device dependant and 2-5% at frequency 200 (which is the default frequency anyway) that does seem a little high, but if your hashrate is consistent with frequency 200 (which is just under 1.6GH) then you can just ignore the errors. Most will run well at 250 without significantly more errors, but if your hashrate doesn't rise when you raise the frequency, don't do that. My particular one runs well at 275 but generates a lot of errors which I ignore since it still generates 2.2GH of good hashes.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


AeP3ZvJ5u4oEyQxeWXLmrZMGhGAKnWXe4a


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 09:27:23 AM
 #14415

Hello and thanks for the new release,

but I have also many HW Errors with this version?

I start the device with this command:

Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run
cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf --icarus-timing=short --quiet --anu-freq 200

HW Errors are between 2 - 5% Is this OK??

greets
You no longer need icarus timing with this release so remove it. HW errors are device dependant and 2-5% at frequency 200 (which is the default frequency anyway) that does seem a little high, but if your hashrate is consistent with frequency 200 (which is just under 1.6GH) then you can just ignore the errors. Most will run well at 250 without significantly more errors, but if your hashrate doesn't rise when you raise the frequency, don't do that. My particular one runs well at 275 but generates a lot of errors which I ignore since it still generates 2.2GH of good hashes.

Thanks,

i will test with these settings, and report at evening my experience Wink
Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf  --quiet --anu-freq 200

config:

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333",
"user" : "xxx",
"pass" : "egalo",
"pool-priority" : "0"
}
],
"api-allow" : "W:127.0.0.1",
"api-listen" : true,
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"hotplug" : "5",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"shares" : "0",
"no-pool-disable" : true
}

greets

                                
           ░▓█████████████████▓░
          ▒▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒██▓▒░
      ░▒▓███▓                 ▒██▓▓▒░░    ░
▓▒███████▓▒        ░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░    ░▓▓▓██▓▓▓▒▓
▒░██▒░░         ▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▓██▓▒     ░ ▒▓▓░▓
░▒▓█▒         ▒█▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓████▓▓▒   ▒█▓▒▒
 ▒░██        ██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░██▒   ██▒▒
 ▓░▓█▒      ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░░▒▒▒░░▒▓██▓   ▒██░▒
 ░▓░█▓     ▓█▓▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒   ██░▓░
  ▓▒▒█▓  ▓▒█▓▒▒▓▓▒░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ █▒  ██▓░▓
   █░▒█▓ ▓███▓▒▒░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░ ▓█  ██▓ ▓
    █░▓█▓ ░██▓███▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓██  ██▓░▓
    ░█░▒██  ░ ░▓███████▓██████▒  ██▒░▓
      █▒░██▓      ░▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒░   ▓██░▒▓
       ▓▓░▒██▒               ▒██▓░▓▓
        ░█▓░▓██▒           ▒██▓░▓█░
          ▒█▓░▓██▓       ▓██▓▒▓█▒
            ▒█▓▒▒███░ ▒███▒▒▓█▒
              ▒██▓▒▓███▓▒▒██▒
                ░▓██▒▒▒███░
                   ▒███▒














Grinners
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:32:21 AM
 #14416

Downloaded the zip file.

Now I am confused... Do I not just run "C:\Chris\cgminer 3\cgminer_keccak-master\cgminer --keccak -o stratum+tcp://maxpool.1gh.com:17333 -u mJ75whnUbeJfu8dbqomn8ekEJ2aRUhwTkJ -p x" in command prompt?

"cgminer is not recognized" in command prompt...?

Yes super noob here Cheesy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 09:35:43 AM
 #14417

Downloaded the zip file.

Now I am confused... Do I not just run "C:\Chris\cgminer 3\cgminer_keccak-master\cgminer --keccak -o stratum+tcp://maxpool.1gh.com:17333 -u mJ75whnUbeJfu8dbqomn8ekEJ2aRUhwTkJ -p x" in command prompt?

"cgminer is not recognized" in command prompt...?

Yes super noob here Cheesy
You are in completely the wrong place as this is the main forum thread for the master cgminer code which is purely for bitcoin mining ONLY. We have no keccak code and wherever you downloaded that from is where you need to seek help.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 10:58:30 AM
 #14418

It would be nice if folks who are using forked miners (basically anything recent with GPU/scrypt support) would ask the developers of their version to rename the software, so it's clear it's no longer the mainline cgminer.

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 11:38:48 AM
 #14419

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

The Antminer U1 support isn't very stable either, mine all crapped out after an hour or so, I ended up with 50-odd as they dropped out and came back on.  I have 10 of them on a Anker hub, running off a PC running Debian Wheezy.

I'll update the error messages when they happen again, I'm on an intermittent SSH connection through my phone from work at the moment.
Hmm I can try reinstating the attempted reset but I'm not sure it's going to fix that... How much were you overclocking them?


Sorry, only got back to this thread.  2GH, which they've been stable with.  They do run basically OK with BFG at 2.2GH (one or two of them run at 10% HW error as reported by BFG), but I tried knocking them down to 2GH to see if that would help.

Overnight I now have 20 ANU devices reported by the API, when I actually only have 10. 
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 11:43:40 AM
 #14420

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

The Antminer U1 support isn't very stable either, mine all crapped out after an hour or so, I ended up with 50-odd as they dropped out and came back on.  I have 10 of them on a Anker hub, running off a PC running Debian Wheezy.

I'll update the error messages when they happen again, I'm on an intermittent SSH connection through my phone from work at the moment.
Hmm I can try reinstating the attempted reset but I'm not sure it's going to fix that... How much were you overclocking them?


Sorry, only got back to this thread.  2GH, which they've been stable with.  They do run basically OK with BFG at 2.2GH (one or two of them run at 10% HW error as reported by BFG), but I tried knocking them down to 2GH to see if that would help.

Overnight I now have 20 ANU devices reported by the API, when I actually only have 10. 
But they're still mining right? So the die - zombie - hotplug is just an ugly cosmetic issue, not that they have failed and stopped mining indefinitely. I've been running mine at 275 (2.2GH) which has been stable but I doubt they're all stable at that speed.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 [721] 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 ... 838 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!