Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 04:01:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 [687] 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756928 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1027
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 05, 2013, 03:55:13 PM
 #13721

Ok thank you to your help.
I can't compile it.

there are too many code incompatibility.

I try to compile bfgminer i can have more chance Smiley

There isn't any ports to miner software in FreeBSD ports Sad only one port to bitcoin software.

Why not just run a Linux binary?  FreeBSD has excellent Linux emulation.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532016070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532016070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532016070
Reply with quote  #2

1532016070
Report to moderator
1532016070
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532016070

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532016070
Reply with quote  #2

1532016070
Report to moderator
evolvia31
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 03:58:26 PM
 #13722

i don't find the cgminer linux binary 32 bits on the website Sad
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1027
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 05, 2013, 04:17:25 PM
 #13723

i don't find the cgminer linux binary 32 bits on the website Sad

Well, hell, I guess you're right Sad

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
evolvia31
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 04:23:05 PM
 #13724

bfgminer compilation works fine Smiley

I can install it and launch it but it didn't detect my usb erupter Sad

I'm very damned Sad Sad Sad

if you have any idea

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168174.msg3824128#msg3824128
CustomDesigned
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 06:56:17 PM
 #13725

i don't find the cgminer linux binary 32 bits on the website Sad
To run the binary on a foreign system, it probably needs to be statically linked.
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1027
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 05, 2013, 07:17:31 PM
 #13726

i don't find the cgminer linux binary 32 bits on the website Sad
To run the binary on a foreign system, it probably needs to be statically linked.

The FreeBSD Linux compatibility layer includes dynamic libraries.  A given binary may require that you also install any non-standard dynamic libraries required by that binary, of course.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
infofront
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1347


Shitcoin Minimalist


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 01:55:18 PM
 #13727

cgminer will only recognize  one of my GPUs. Going on a suggestion from someone, I used the --no-adl argument. Now, it seems adl is permanently disabled. How can I re-enable it?
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 04:26:57 PM
 #13728

Is there any way to disable the 5min pool stability check that was introduced in 3.5.1? It's playing havoc with multi pools that auto switch to the most profitable coin periodically, as the switch interrupts the stratum for 15-20sec which invokes the 5min stability check.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 12:12:18 AM
 #13729

cgminer will only recognize  one of my GPUs. Going on a suggestion from someone, I used the --no-adl argument. Now, it seems adl is permanently disabled. How can I re-enable it?

GPU support is not available for cgminer, and the authors only support the newest version of cgminer.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 01:04:49 AM
 #13730

I just encountered something a bit different in a 3.8.4 test (Win7 64). This run was uneventful except for an occasional zombie and I was mindlessly replugging them as they occurred and they always restarted. Eventually one did not restart and I found it was flagged in the display as "dead" rather than "zombie". I pressed Q and the LEDs came on for all the others as expected and the BAL fan shut down, suggesting that cgminer accepted the command, but cgminer itself did not shut down and appeared to have frozen. I killed it with a Windows "close window" command. On restart, everything looks normal and the formerly "dead" AMU device is now hashing as usual. I should read up on necromancy to prepare for the next one.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 01:11:29 AM
 #13731

I just encountered something a bit different in a 3.8.4 test (Win7 64). This run was uneventful except for an occasional zombie and I was mindlessly replugging them as they occurred and they always restarted. Eventually one did not restart and I found it was flagged in the display as "dead" rather than "zombie". I pressed Q and the LEDs came on for all the others as expected and the BAL fan shut down, suggesting that cgminer accepted the command, but cgminer itself did not shut down and appeared to have frozen. I killed it with a Windows "close window" command. On restart, everything looks normal and the formerly "dead" AMU device is now hashing as usual. I should read up on necromancy to prepare for the next one.

That means the command went out to the device and it got stuck somewhere in the operating system driver code (i.e. outside cgminer) and never returned.

Interestingly - and related - I've been doing some reading about usb hubs that don't have separate transaction translators for usb1.1 devices and wonder if all the flakiness isn't just dodgy hubs with a shared TT and all these usb devices being usb1.1. It's rather annoying that usb2 is a decade old and people are still making 1.1 devices because they can use the cheapest nastiest communication chip money can buy in their devices. What USB hub do you have? I don't even know if hubs are still made with single transaction translators any more or not, but it would be interesting to find out.

See this interesting and ancient comparison of a single TT hub to a multi TT hub:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/usb-technology,677-3.html

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 01:16:20 AM
 #13732

Interestingly - and related - I've been doing some reading about usb hubs that don't have separate transaction translators for usb1.1 devices and wonder if all the flakiness isn't just dodgy hubs with a shared TT and all these usb devices being usb1.1. It's rather annoying that usb2 is a decade old and people are still making 1.1 devices because they can use the cheapest nastiest communication chip money can buy in their devices. What USB hub do you have? I don't even know if hubs are still made with single transaction translators any more or not, but it would be interesting to find out.

It's a neat idea ... except I got zombies with the same hardware (same erupters, same hubs) that worked fine on another rig.  I'm down to 1 USB erupter, and it's happily chugging along at 335mh/s on main PC.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 02:01:40 AM
 #13733

Interestingly - and related - I've been doing some reading about usb hubs that don't have separate transaction translators for usb1.1 devices and wonder if all the flakiness isn't just dodgy hubs with a shared TT and all these usb devices being usb1.1. It's rather annoying that usb2 is a decade old and people are still making 1.1 devices because they can use the cheapest nastiest communication chip money can buy in their devices. What USB hub do you have? I don't even know if hubs are still made with single transaction translators any more or not, but it would be interesting to find out.

It's a neat idea ... except I got zombies with the same hardware (same erupters, same hubs) that worked fine on another rig.  I'm down to 1 USB erupter, and it's happily chugging along at 335mh/s on main PC.

M
The PC's own hubs also include transaction translators by the way.


Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 02:29:12 AM
 #13734

What USB hub do you have?

I'm using two powered Anker USB 3.0 hubs daisy-chained and going to a mobo USB 2.0 socket. I think we all found out early on that USB 3.0 (blue) sockets don't work with the Eruptors but the hubs allegedly downgrade from 3.0 to 2.0 without hassle and I think a lot of people use them that way for mining. My other machine that tends always to have similar cgminer issues (but never the "dead" label) also uses an Anker USB 3.0 powered hub connected to a USB 2.0 socket.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 02:54:43 AM
 #13735

What USB hub do you have?

I'm using two powered Anker USB 3.0 hubs daisy-chained and going to a mobo USB 2.0 socket. I think we all found out early on that USB 3.0 (blue) sockets don't work with the Eruptors but the hubs allegedly downgrade from 3.0 to 2.0 without hassle and I think a lot of people use them that way for mining. My other machine that tends always to have similar cgminer issues (but never the "dead" label) also uses an Anker USB 3.0 powered hub connected to a USB 2.0 socket.

Interesting. Perhaps the USB3 hubs that don't work have virtually no USB1.1 TTs, and yours going through a USB2 socket is basically sharing the one TT on the USB2 socket. Also some people with USB3 slots on windows can't even see their devices. I think linux has some kind of software TT to compensate within the kernel so perhaps the operating system is actually working around them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 03:19:07 AM
 #13736

Ok, new experiment for the windows+amu fail:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-sw.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 03:22:17 AM
 #13737

Interestingly - and related - I've been doing some reading about usb hubs that don't have separate transaction translators for usb1.1 devices and wonder if all the flakiness isn't just dodgy hubs with a shared TT and all these usb devices being usb1.1. It's rather annoying that usb2 is a decade old and people are still making 1.1 devices because they can use the cheapest nastiest communication chip money can buy in their devices. What USB hub do you have? I don't even know if hubs are still made with single transaction translators any more or not, but it would be interesting to find out.

It's a neat idea ... except I got zombies with the same hardware (same erupters, same hubs) that worked fine on another rig.  I'm down to 1 USB erupter, and it's happily chugging along at 335mh/s on main PC.

M
The PC's own hubs also include transaction translators by the way.

Another thing I thought of ... is there were multiple issues.  I think you fixed the ones affecting me, now I just have the USB 3.0 problem.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
CustomDesigned
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 03:30:04 AM
 #13738

Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.
Compiled and ran 3.8.4 on Fedora 19.  It ran for 68 hours, before running out of file descriptors.  At that point, it can no longer replug zombies.  It could probably run indefinitely if those file descriptors could get closed somehow.   Next time, I'll remember to run lsof to see what all those file descriptors are referencing...

 [2013-12-06 22:25:29] SEM: Icarus USB open failed '/tmp/cgminer-usb-1-64' err (24) Too many open files
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 03:57:17 AM
 #13739

Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.
Compiled and ran 3.8.4 on Fedora 19.  It ran for 68 hours, before running out of file descriptors.  At that point, it can no longer replug zombies.  It could probably run indefinitely if those file descriptors could get closed somehow.   Next time, I'll remember to run lsof to see what all those file descriptors are referencing...

 [2013-12-06 22:25:29] SEM: Icarus USB open failed '/tmp/cgminer-usb-1-64' err (24) Too many open files

Found how this might happen. Try latest git please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1426
Merit: 1009


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 02:25:38 PM
 #13740

Ok, new experiment for the windows+amu fail:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-sw.exe


My most recent normal 3.8.4 test ran about 12 hours without incident - no zombies at all. I've just run the "sw" test and it has one zombie after about an hour, AMU5.

Edit: another zombie with the "sw" test, about 5 hours into the run. Curiously, this one was also reported as AMU5 although it wasn't the same physical device as above. Unplugging it did not change its status to AMU0, unlike many of the earlier versions. On replug it was reallocated to AMU14 and the numbering overall suggests it had actually been AMU7 that went zombie this time. Present numbering is AMU0-4, 6, 8-14 so I think the first zombie, AMU5, was reallocated to AMU13 on replug. The "sw" run continues.

I found an Amazon (Canada) listing for the hubs I'm using, fwiw: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B009Z9M3DY

I just noticed this phrase in the blurb for them "Smart chip power management allows devices to communicate idle states and latency tolerance for progressively lower power states and subsequently increased performance and power efficiency". Don't know if it's relevant.

Pages: « 1 ... 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 [687] 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!