Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:22:07 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 [747] 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822298 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 09:34:20 PM
 #14921

I am having a problem with rejected duplicate shares, which is weird, because there is no way that could happen:
Code:
wr_lock(&cgpu->qlock);
HASH_ITER(hh, cgpu->queued_work, work, tmp) {
if ( !work->stale && !(work->tv_work_start.tv_sec) ) {
cgtime(&work->tv_work_start);
wr_unlock(&cgpu->qlock);
return work;
}
1. Iteration is inside a wr_lock
2. Once accepted the work is marked as used/started again inside the lock
3. The whole function is called inside a thread private lock and no other thread is calling that function at all
4. Adding a job to the queue is also done under the same private lock

but still there are duplicates returned from different chips (if the same chip that may be just delayed chip scanning and work reuse), which points to the same work being returned in two consecutive calls or sending a work to the wrong chip.

Any pointers how to debug this?
Is the (struct work) job_id unique enough to identify that or subid (any driver as example?) should be used instead?
Is this in your own code because that doesn't look familiar. It doesn't look like you're actually removing the work item from the hash list before unlocking the write lock, you're only finding it so the work remains on the hash list.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481170927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170927
Reply with quote  #2

1481170927
Report to moderator
1481170927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170927
Reply with quote  #2

1481170927
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481170927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170927
Reply with quote  #2

1481170927
Report to moderator
JPoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 12:51:59 AM
 #14922

Hello,

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine Zetacoins using "cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:17335 -u xxx -p xxxx".  Everything worked ok I mined over 60 Zetacoins.

A week later I went back to Zetacoin after a break pool mining bitcoins.

Now I get an error "bit coin address is invalid 15qSxp..." seems to be the default address for a mandatory field.

So now I am getting back blockchain size and diff but am not mining.

So I set btc-address to the address in my Zetacoin wallet from the receive menu. I do not understand the instruction to set it to bitcoind.

So now I can't solo mine, can anybody help?  Thanks
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:13:18 AM
 #14923

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine Zetacoins

I understand it was one page back, so I'll quote it for you:

We don't care about anything but bitcoin.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:32:49 AM
 #14924

Is this in your own code because that doesn't look familiar. It doesn't look like you're actually removing the work item from the hash list before unlocking the write lock, you're only finding it so the work remains on the hash list.
Yes, this in my own code and I am not removing the work (by design), just mark it as started (tv_work_start) and send it to the chip, by keeping a pointer to it inside the chip data structure. Later on when chip is done with the job, I call work_completed() under the same private lock and request a new work.
This approach allows to avoid keeping another list, but just a pointer to the queue.
My plan is to set subid to the chip number which will work on it, so i can detect if the job is somehow sent to another chip ... it seems to be safe to have duplicate subid, as it is not used anywhere except from the driver

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
Michael_KMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:10:01 AM
 #14925

Hi, I just compiled cgminer 4.2.3 on Linux Mint with the additional technobit drivers. After starting cgminer I cant see the status window, also i cant interact with cgminer via the console. Same problem with cgminer 3.12.3. Raspberry Pi works great...

can someone help me?

thanks in advance!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 08:12:04 AM
 #14926

Hi, I just compiled cgminer 4.2.3 on Linux Mint with the additional technobit drivers. After starting cgminer I cant see the status window, also i cant interact with cgminer via the console. Same problem with cgminer 3.12.3. Raspberry Pi works great...

can someone help me?

thanks in advance!
Well, you're asking for help with something you patched that isn't our code... However your problem is the classic one of not installing the  libncurses development library prior to building it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Michael_KMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:40:29 AM
 #14927

Hi, I just compiled cgminer 4.2.3 on Linux Mint with the additional technobit drivers. After starting cgminer I cant see the status window, also i cant interact with cgminer via the console. Same problem with cgminer 3.12.3. Raspberry Pi works great...

can someone help me?

thanks in advance!
Well, you're asking for help with something you patched that isn't our code... However your problem is the classic one of not installing the  libncurses development library prior to building it.

And I really appreciate your help! Thanks a lot.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 10:32:38 AM
 #14928

Is this in your own code because that doesn't look familiar. It doesn't look like you're actually removing the work item from the hash list before unlocking the write lock, you're only finding it so the work remains on the hash list.
Yes, this in my own code and I am not removing the work (by design), just mark it as started (tv_work_start) and send it to the chip, by keeping a pointer to it inside the chip data structure. Later on when chip is done with the job, I call work_completed() under the same private lock and request a new work.
This approach allows to avoid keeping another list, but just a pointer to the queue.
My plan is to set subid to the chip number which will work on it, so i can detect if the job is somehow sent to another chip ... it seems to be safe to have duplicate subid, as it is not used anywhere except from the driver
Unless you invalidate the work when it finds one nonce (which of course you can't since it can find multiple nonces) then of course a duplicate share is possible if the driver or device can return duplicate nonces.

Quite normal for Bitfury chips since it is hard to ensure you don't lose work without getting lots of HW errors ... why my BaB driver has such a good error rate, but on occasion I get duplicate shares.
The only way, in this case, to avoid duplicate shares, would be to keep a history of valid nonces per work item and don't submit the duplicates.
Hmm yeah I can add that to the BaB driver easily enough!
Heh funny how while explaining something (as is common) you can see something you missed before Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:21:42 AM
 #14929

Unless you invalidate the work when it finds one nonce (which of course you can't since it can find multiple nonces) then of course a duplicate share is possible if the driver or device can return duplicate nonces.
In my driver i know when the chip has switched to the next job and then I call work_completed for the old one ... i don't see how the same job could be processed again

Quote
Quite normal for Bitfury chips since it is hard to ensure you don't lose work without getting lots of HW errors
Not exactly ... when the chip switches to the new job - the next nonces will never be from the old one, so it's safe to drop it and not loose nonces.

Quote
The only way, in this case, to avoid duplicate shares, would be to keep a history of valid nonces per work item and don't submit the duplicates.
Duplicates should not happen (in my driver logic) except when the chip has started working on the same job, because it was asked to ... then again i don't see how that could happen except if i missed a whole work and the job was switched twice
 ... hmm this may happen when there are few bad reads caused by hardware problems, which may well be my case, as there are some bad chips in the chain

Quote
Heh funny how while explaining something (as is common) you can see something you missed before
Seems to be the same here thanks Wink

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
thrym
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:41:17 AM
 #14930

Hi all, and hi ckolivas - thank you for your excellent work. Smiley

I have been using cgminer for a while on my raspberry pi with 8 Antminers U1 and U2 mixed.

There is no big Problem, especially at startup everything works fine - but after a while (5min-1Hour) I get this:

Code:
[2014-04-10 10:16:01] ANU 8: No valid hashes for over 53 secs, attempting to reset
[2014-04-10 10:16:01] ANU 8 attempted reset got err:(0) LIBUSB_SUCCESS
[2014-04-10 10:17:23] ANU 8: No valid hashes for over 53 secs, attempting to reset
[2014-04-10 10:17:24] ANU 8 attempted reset got err:(0) LIBUSB_SUCCESS
[2014-04-10 10:18:24] ANU 8: Device failed to respond to restart
[2014-04-10 10:18:24] ANU 8 failure, disabling!
The device is then listed as OFF.

Interrestingly enough, when I press U + U + 8 (in this case it was Cool it redetects the miner without problem and hashes away happily for the next 1-10 hours.

I suspected the power supply on my USB-Hubs, but no matter wich one or how many (I have 3 hubs with 3.5Amp supply per hub) I use, I keep running into that error. Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?

Also @ckolivas, is it possible to automize the USB-Unplug for disbled devices somehow?

Thanks in advance for any replies.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 11:43:13 AM
 #14931

Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?
This.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
JPoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:05:54 PM
 #14932

Hello, I apologize of I did this wrong, I am new and have tried to mine bitcoins solo, to see it work.

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine bitcoins using "cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:xxxx  -u xxx -p xxxx".  Everything worked ok I got the messages as per the cgminer output. 

A week later I went back to bitcoin after a break pool mining bitcoins.

Now I get an error "bit coin address is invalid 15qSxp..." seems to be the default address for a mandatory field.

So now I am getting back blockchain size and diff but am not mining.  I no longer see the messages" accepted ccccc from anu0". For example.

So I set btc-address to the address in my bitcoin wallet from the receive menu. I do not understand the instruction to set it to bitcoind.

So now I can't solo mine, can anybody help?  Thanks

Basically what btc-address do I use as the default no longer seems to work.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 01:08:39 PM
 #14933

Hello, I apologize of I did this wrong, I am new and have tried to mine bitcoins solo, to see it work.

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine bitcoins using "cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:xxxx  -u xxx -p xxxx".  Everything worked ok I got the messages as per the cgminer output. 

A week later I went back to bitcoin after a break pool mining bitcoins.

Now I get an error "bit coin address is invalid 15qSxp..." seems to be the default address for a mandatory field.

So now I am getting back blockchain size and diff but am not mining.  I no longer see the messages" accepted ccccc from anu0". For example.

So I set btc-address to the address in my bitcoin wallet from the receive menu. I do not understand the instruction to set it to bitcoind.

So now I can't solo mine, can anybody help?  Thanks

Basically what btc-address do I use as the default no longer seems to work.
Just pick any valid btc address that you own. It does not even matter if the wallet that contains that address isn't on the bitcoind you are mining to.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
thrym
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:34:44 PM
 #14934

Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?
This.

stupid me.

Upgraded the little bugger to 4.2.3, will report results.
thrym
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:24:19 PM
 #14935

stupid me.

Upgraded the little bugger to 4.2.3, will report results.

AAAnd we have a Winner! Smiley

Thank you very much!

Code:
[2014-04-10 16:19:16] ANU 4: Device failed to respond to restart
[2014-04-10 16:19:16] ANU 4 failure, disabling!
[2014-04-10 16:19:21] Hotplug: Icarus added ANU 9
GigaWave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 06:06:30 PM
 #14936

Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=514758.msg6159291#msg6159291
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=441465.msg6159311#msg6159311
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 09:35:39 PM
 #14937

Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=514758.msg6159291#msg6159291
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=441465.msg6159311#msg6159311
This is their custom fork of cgminer + driver. They do not have proper diff checking in their code. That's the sort of thing you get with a poorly done custom driver by a manufacturer. Tell them to fix their driver. In the interim try to use a pool that allows you to use a fixed diff that matches whatever the device is set to.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
GigaWave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244


View Profile
April 11, 2014, 02:07:49 AM
 #14938

Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=514758.msg6159291#msg6159291
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=441465.msg6159311#msg6159311
This is their custom fork of cgminer + driver. They do not have proper diff checking in their code. That's the sort of thing you get with a poorly done custom driver by a manufacturer. Tell them to fix their driver. In the interim try to use a pool that allows you to use a fixed diff that matches whatever the device is set to.

Someone with reading comprehension...amazing. Excuse me, Just sick of no one reading what I write and then telling me I'm wrong.

The diff. was set to '1000', I lowered it to '256' and it seems to be working petty good. I may lower it to '128', to see if it gives a more stable result. I have next to no idea how stratum works, so feel free to give any further advice how ever small it may be. If they will fix it, I bet it won't be for a while. I will pass this along though.

Thanks!
rgr_rgr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
April 11, 2014, 12:56:32 PM
 #14939

Is it possible to extend cgminer to switch of the led of a nanofury not using? It would be easier to find the faulty one.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 09:53:18 AM
 #14940

Is it possible to extend cgminer to switch of the led of a nanofury not using? It would be easier to find the faulty one.
Doesn't really make sense since if it can talk to it, it will mine on it.
If it can't mine on it, then that would be coz it can't talk to it thus it can't tell it to turn the led off.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 [747] 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!