Bitcoin Forum
November 30, 2021, 12:58:09 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 [689] 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5802917 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 01:56:26 AM
 #13761

Hi there. I am here to report what looks to be a bug in cgminer. This bug manifests itself if you run cgminer pointed at the stratum port of the bfgminer proxy. This has been reported by numerous users, usually trying to point their KnC miner at the bfgminer proxy:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=370365.msg3970326#msg3970326
I've been drowning in moving houses and having no stable internet. I'll look into this when time permits, thanks.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638277089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638277089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638277089
Reply with quote  #2

1638277089
Report to moderator
1638277089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638277089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638277089
Reply with quote  #2

1638277089
Report to moderator
1638277089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638277089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638277089
Reply with quote  #2

1638277089
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3668
Merit: 1551


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 03:01:34 AM
 #13762

anyway to use cgminer with blades yet?    Huh
There is no way to have a miner mine on a blade.
Blades have their own crappy internal last generation getwork miner.
All you can use is a getwork proxy or a getwork pool.

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1002


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 03:33:32 AM
 #13763

Hi there. I am here to report what looks to be a bug in cgminer. This bug manifests itself if you run cgminer pointed at the stratum port of the bfgminer proxy. This has been reported by numerous users, usually trying to point their KnC miner at the bfgminer proxy:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=370365.msg3970326#msg3970326
I've been drowning in moving houses and having no stable internet. I'll look into this when time permits, thanks.

I appreciate that Con. Kano's only response was to question my personal motivations for posting the bug. Which is awesome...

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
helmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 440
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 11:44:38 AM
 #13764

please help admin eligius pool solve bug cgminer with kncminers nov jupiter
many HW

looking job
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 04:14:34 PM
 #13765

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.

Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???  Why does Windows Device recognize all 7 cards.

I believe the bug is in cgMiner 3.7.2

ghghghfgh
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 04:18:41 PM
 #13766

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.
Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???
Maybe because not everyone uses Windows?  Huh

Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 04:46:57 PM
 #13767

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.
Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???
Maybe because not everyone uses Windows?  Huh

Except the vast majority of the world.

ghghghfgh
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 05:06:30 PM
 #13768

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.

Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???  Why does Windows Device recognize all 7 cards.

I believe the bug is in cgMiner 3.7.2

Could just as easily be a problem with the AMD drivers.  They aren't known for their stellar performance and proper behavior in all circumstances.

Regardless scrypt mining is no longer supported in cgminer.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 05:12:40 PM
 #13769

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.

Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???  Why does Windows Device recognize all 7 cards.

I believe the bug is in cgMiner 3.7.2

Could just as easily be a problem with the AMD drivers.  They aren't known for their stellar performance and proper behavior in all circumstances.

Regardless scrypt mining is no longer supported in cgminer.

M

Why do only people that have no knowledge of the question answer???

ghghghfgh
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 05:16:49 PM
 #13770

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.

Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???  Why does Windows Device recognize all 7 cards.

I believe the bug is in cgMiner 3.7.2

Could just as easily be a problem with the AMD drivers.  They aren't known for their stellar performance and proper behavior in all circumstances.

Regardless scrypt mining is no longer supported in cgminer.

M

Why do only people that have no knowledge of the question answer???

Why do people ask questions there are no answers for?

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1057
Merit: 1030



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 05:22:31 PM
 #13771

This guy claims that the 11.12 or 12.1 driver can support up to 8 cards on Win7 or Win8.  I haven't tried it, so I have no idea if this is accurate or not:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=296581.msg3182604#msg3182604

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
SM411
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 07:37:48 PM
 #13772

Can anyone confirm that it is the WU that pays, and that I should choose the pool which give me the highest WU? I have noted some realtivly big difference from pool to pool.
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 07:54:05 PM
 #13773

Can anyone confirm that it is the WU that pays, and that I should choose the pool which give me the highest WU? I have noted some realtivly big difference from pool to pool.
The WU is what pays, but pools running stratum protocol have precisely ZERO effect on your WU. When your hardware remains the same, any change you see in WU is local luck and nothing to do with the pool.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3668
Merit: 1551


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 09:59:52 PM
 #13774

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.
Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???
Maybe because not everyone uses Windows?  Huh

Except the vast majority of the world.
Well, since only about 1/3 of the world has internet access, I'd be surprised if a vast majority of the world actually uses windows - since I'm pretty sure that it would be incorrect to even say that a vast majority of the world even has a computer.

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 11:15:38 PM
 #13775

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.
Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???
Maybe because not everyone uses Windows?  Huh

Except the vast majority of the world.
Well, since only about 1/3 of the world has internet access, I'd be surprised if a vast majority of the world actually uses windows - since I'm pretty sure that it would be incorrect to even say that a vast majority of the world even has a computer.

I knew some grammer-nazi would whine about my saying people instead of PC-users  Roll Eyes

I contacted MSI tech support and apparently it's the MB to blame. They sell the Z87-G45 saying it can run multiple video cards. It has three 16x PCIe slots and four 1x PCIe slots. One of the "PCIe" slots is really a 32-bit PCI in the guise of a 1x connector. I'm returning it for a refund as being SNAD.

Has anybody tried the new ASRock BitCoin MB  Huh

ghghghfgh
jborkl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 246
Merit: 250


Team Heritage Motorsports


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 11:23:40 PM
 #13776

The best way to get those to run 7 cards is

 Press Down, R, Up, L, Y, B on controller two at the scrypt selection screen

Fletch
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


I'll have a steak sandwich and a... steak sandwich


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 08:13:15 PM
 #13777

Sorry if this has been discussed earlier in this topic, but it's almost 700 pages long and I couldn't find anything while searching.

My question is regarding the --no-submit-stale option. Forgive my ignorance, but why would you ever want to submit a stale?

HashPeak - GPU mining hashrate peak detector
BTC: 1FLETCHvcUKosefrcZCLUQTtvx4WvgnYMC
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 18, 2013, 08:24:09 PM
 #13778

Sorry if this has been discussed earlier in this topic, but it's almost 700 pages long and I couldn't find anything while searching.

My question is regarding the --no-submit-stale option. Forgive my ignorance, but why would you ever want to submit a stale?

It depends on the pool.  On some pools, for example p2pool, a stale share may still be a valid block and so if you don't submit stales, you risk missing out on BTC.  Historically, there have also been pools that paid for stale shares and so you always wanted to submit them.  I don't know that any current pools still do that though.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Fletch
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


I'll have a steak sandwich and a... steak sandwich


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 09:26:38 PM
 #13779

It depends on the pool.  On some pools, for example p2pool, a stale share may still be a valid block and so if you don't submit stales, you risk missing out on BTC.  Historically, there have also been pools that paid for stale shares and so you always wanted to submit them.  I don't know that any current pools still do that though.
Ok, thanks. That clears it up a bit. I'm not sure how a stale share can be a valid block though. If I'm not mistaken, a stale share is the result of an "old job" from the pool. In other word, a job that was submitted after someone else had already solved the block.

HashPeak - GPU mining hashrate peak detector
BTC: 1FLETCHvcUKosefrcZCLUQTtvx4WvgnYMC
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
December 18, 2013, 09:53:00 PM
 #13780

1. I'm trying to get an MSI Z87-G45 mb running Win8.1 to mine with 7 cards but it only mines with 5.  Windows Device Manager recognizes all 7 cards.  Any ideas on how I can get cards 6 and 7 to mine  Huh
Use Linux, Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs.
Funny then, why are there several motherboards made expressly to run 7 graphics cards???
Maybe because not everyone uses Windows?  Huh

Except the vast majority of the world.

Whatever you want - chase your tail.  Windows doesn't support 7 GPUs, period.  Whatever you think doesn't change that fact.

Motherboards may have 7 PCI-E slots, doesn't mean they're made to run 7 GPUs.  Other things use PCI-E - RAID cards, sound cards, NICs...

So, yeah, use Linux.
Pages: « 1 ... 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 [689] 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!