Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2018, 11:14:17 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 [706] 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761951 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2014, 07:03:16 PM
 #14101

Huh Just got the new version on cgminer (3.10.0) and I currently run 3 BFL jalapenos. I finally figured out how to get it to recognize the 3 jalapenos(old version I had used --disable-gpu, but now I have to use --usb :3), If there is another way like the old please let me know. Now my problem is that I can not figure out how to set the Intensity like I could in the old cgminer using --intensity d. Please help. Thanks in advance.
You can't set intensity because there's no GPU mining in 3.10.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
1537485257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537485257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537485257
Reply with quote  #2

1537485257
Report to moderator
1537485257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537485257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537485257
Reply with quote  #2

1537485257
Report to moderator
1537485257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537485257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537485257
Reply with quote  #2

1537485257
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Portender
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 07:20:26 PM
 #14102

Huh Just got the new version on cgminer (3.10.0) and I currently run 3 BFL jalapenos. I finally figured out how to get it to recognize the 3 jalapenos(old version I had used --disable-gpu, but now I have to use --usb :3), If there is another way like the old please let me know. Now my problem is that I can not figure out how to set the Intensity like I could in the old cgminer using --intensity d. Please help. Thanks in advance.
You can't set intensity because there's no GPU mining in 3.10.
So how can I mine with GPUs now? Is it just CPU?
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
January 19, 2014, 07:34:03 PM
 #14103

Huh Just got the new version on cgminer (3.10.0) and I currently run 3 BFL jalapenos. I finally figured out how to get it to recognize the 3 jalapenos(old version I had used --disable-gpu, but now I have to use --usb :3), If there is another way like the old please let me know. Now my problem is that I can not figure out how to set the Intensity like I could in the old cgminer using --intensity d. Please help. Thanks in advance.
You can't set intensity because there's no GPU mining in 3.10.
So how can I mine with GPUs now? Is it just CPU?

Use the old version which did GPU mine (3.7.2 I think it was), or use bfgminer which still does GPU mining.  Your choice.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 08:09:23 PM
 #14104

Huh Just got the new version on cgminer (3.10.0) and I currently run 3 BFL jalapenos. I finally figured out how to get it to recognize the 3 jalapenos(old version I had used --disable-gpu, but now I have to use --usb :3), If there is another way like the old please let me know. Now my problem is that I can not figure out how to set the Intensity like I could in the old cgminer using --intensity d. Please help. Thanks in advance.
You can't set intensity because there's no GPU mining in 3.10.
So how can I mine with GPUs now? Is it just CPU?

CGMiner is ASIC and Bitcoin only from now on.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Portender
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 11:03:54 PM
 #14105

Huh Just got the new version on cgminer (3.10.0) and I currently run 3 BFL jalapenos. I finally figured out how to get it to recognize the 3 jalapenos(old version I had used --disable-gpu, but now I have to use --usb :3), If there is another way like the old please let me know. Now my problem is that I can not figure out how to set the Intensity like I could in the old cgminer using --intensity d. Please help. Thanks in advance.
You can't set intensity because there's no GPU mining in 3.10.
So how can I mine with GPUs now? Is it just CPU?

CGMiner is ASIC and Bitcoin only from now on.
Thank you for the info. It seems I am getting a lot more HW errors now. Is there a way to stop that or at least not have so many? I get a lot very fast  Angry
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 12:26:46 AM
 #14106

Thank you for the info. It seems I am getting a lot more HW errors now. Is there a way to stop that or at least not have so many? I get a lot very fast  Angry
Did you restart the Jalapenos recently? I know my Jalapeno spews out all kinds of hardware errors if it's too warm when it starts up or whatever. First think you could try is unplugging the power cords for about 10 minutes and then plug 'em back in.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
doctormandrake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 250

Do what you will. Keep records.


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 08:11:44 AM
 #14107

Huh Just got the new version on cgminer (3.10.0) and I currently run 3 BFL jalapenos. I finally figured out how to get it to recognize the 3 jalapenos(old version I had used --disable-gpu, but now I have to use --usb :3), If there is another way like the old please let me know. Now my problem is that I can not figure out how to set the Intensity like I could in the old cgminer using --intensity d. Please help. Thanks in advance.
You can't set intensity because there's no GPU mining in 3.10.
So how can I mine with GPUs now? Is it just CPU?

CGMiner is ASIC and Bitcoin only from now on.

asic and sha256 or asic and bitcoin only?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1053


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:31:47 AM
 #14108

...

asic and sha256 or asic and bitcoin only?
Altcoin discussion in here gets your post removed or deleted.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 05:03:18 PM
 #14109

Just a note that I installed Fedora 18 on a Pogoplug (256MB armv5tel w/ 4 USB2.0 ports), and compiled cgminer-0.8.4 with the SRPM from Fedora on Intel - and it worked perfectly!  The pogoplug has now taken over mining chores with my 4 block erupters.  My modest block erupter + hub investment has now paid for itself after 8 weeks at current BTC prices.  I sent a small donation to celebrate.  (The pogoplug was no longer needed for its previous role as VPN concentrator.)

I would highly recommend the pogoplug for USB mining - except that Fedora no longer supports ARM with software floating point (i.e. all the kirkwood systems like pogoplug, guruplug, etc).  There are other linux distros that continue to support kirkwood, however.  I like for "plug" formfactor because there is no video hardware, or anything extraneous.  Just USB ports (and a serial port for debugging booting problems) and an ethernet port.  Once your system is loaded on a USB memory stick, just plug it in and away it goes.  I used a USB hard drive for compiling, since memory sticks are somewhat slow.
iano128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 08:43:50 PM
 #14110

Hi guys, I just added a mini rig to my setup and have been getting intermittent errors to do with usb I think. I have linked some screenshots of the output cgminer is giving. I am using the latest version on windows 7 x64. I already had a single and 50 Block Erupters running but when I added the mini rig cgminer kept crashing so I took one of the usb hubs out and connected the mini rig straight to the motherboard this stopped the crashes but I am now seeing the attached errors. Any help would be great.

Btw the hubs are all usb 3 and there are 7 of them with 6 miners each.

http://imgur.com/a/fHR6b/embed
One USB connection still appears to be flaky and one of the subdevices appears to be flat out frying. I know of people opening them up and replacing hubs and/or cables to fix them.

So how would i go about finding the bad hub or device?
Unplug each while it's running and see which gets unplugged in cgminer.

Solved the issue by removing the shitty unpowered 14 port hub bfl use for their mini rig and replaced with two usb3 powered hubs with 4 connections going to each no more usb errors in cgminer and much more consistent hashing rate.

Cheers ckolivas
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 08:46:49 PM
 #14111

I have a Ubuntu Linux server with all the current updates, running a variety of miners plugged into it on cgminer 3.10.0

I plugged a nanofury NF1 into a usb hub that has a few block erupters in it and the NF1 would only mine at just less than1GH/s.

I removed the block erupters and the NF1 started mining at full speed. Even if I add just one block erupter the NF1 instantly halves it's speed. The block erupter mines at full speed only the NF1 is effected, neither reports any errors that I can see.The power pack for the hub is 2.1Amps so it should be able to handle that, so I think it might be a conflict of some sort.
Erupters run at usb1.1 speed and protocol and perhaps are having some communication interaction making everything work in the same crap manner - depends greatly on how usb hubs manage different speed devices. Try them on separate hubs.
Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected. Same setup runs bfgminer fine.


HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
January 20, 2014, 08:56:17 PM
 #14112

Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected. Same setup runs bfgminer fine.


I'm seeing the same.  2xNanofury and 1xBitburner Fury.  cgminer 3.10.0 just quits at random intervals.  Running on Debian Wheezy on BeagleBone Black, and same issue on Debian Wheezy on PC.  cgminer runs for days on the same machine when not running the Nanofurys.

ipoomyself
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 09:09:30 PM
 #14113

bfgminer wont overclock antminer u1 to 2.2gh/s

it works at 2gh/s using freq 0981

however

when i use freq 0A81 it defaults to 1.6gh/s WTF?

is it because i used a letter and the program doth not recognise it?

currently using bfg 3.10.0 software and antminer 1.6 (overclock 2.2) hardware.


should i invest more money into this or is this just another long term ponzi pyramid scheme that will be the death of us all i nee d input
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 21, 2014, 12:05:36 AM
 #14114

bfgminer wont overclock antminer u1 to 2.2gh/s

it works at 2gh/s using freq 0981

however

when i use freq 0A81 it defaults to 1.6gh/s WTF?

is it because i used a letter and the program doth not recognise it?

currently using bfg 3.10.0 software and antminer 1.6 (overclock 2.2) hardware.


should i invest more money into this or is this just another long term ponzi pyramid scheme that will be the death of us all i nee d input

Well first things first, maybe you should ask this in the BFGMiner thread instead of the CGMiner thread.

It's like walking into a Church and asking where the Satanic Ritual is being held tonight.  Or vice versa. Wink

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1142


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 12:17:59 AM
 #14115

Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected.


I'm seeing the same.  2xNanofury and 1xBitburner Fury.  cgminer 3.10.0 just quits at random intervals.  Running on Debian Wheezy on BeagleBone Black, and same issue on Debian Wheezy on PC.  cgminer runs for days on the same machine when not running the Nanofurys.


You see this comment earlier: ?

There's a bug in the 3.10.0 release that crashes when a device is (effectively) unplugged that was fixed immediately after in git, so grab a git tarball from master or build from git.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
chek2fire
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1045


Intergalactic Conciliator


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 12:20:07 AM
 #14116

I have a Ubuntu Linux server with all the current updates, running a variety of miners plugged into it on cgminer 3.10.0

I plugged a nanofury NF1 into a usb hub that has a few block erupters in it and the NF1 would only mine at just less than1GH/s.

I removed the block erupters and the NF1 started mining at full speed. Even if I add just one block erupter the NF1 instantly halves it's speed. The block erupter mines at full speed only the NF1 is effected, neither reports any errors that I can see.The power pack for the hub is 2.1Amps so it should be able to handle that, so I think it might be a conflict of some sort.
Erupters run at usb1.1 speed and protocol and perhaps are having some communication interaction making everything work in the same crap manner - depends greatly on how usb hubs manage different speed devices. Try them on separate hubs.
Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected. Same setup runs bfgminer fine.




I run cgminer in xubuntu 13.10 and with 1 in usb of laptop and the other nanofury in a anker usb hub and i have no crashing problems. In the same hub i have a bifury and a redfury and all run perfect.

http://www.bitcoin-gr.org
4411 804B 0181 F444 ADBD 01D4 0664 00E4 37E7 228E
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 12:37:37 AM
 #14117

I have a Ubuntu Linux server with all the current updates, running a variety of miners plugged into it on cgminer 3.10.0

I plugged a nanofury NF1 into a usb hub that has a few block erupters in it and the NF1 would only mine at just less than1GH/s.

I removed the block erupters and the NF1 started mining at full speed. Even if I add just one block erupter the NF1 instantly halves it's speed. The block erupter mines at full speed only the NF1 is effected, neither reports any errors that I can see.The power pack for the hub is 2.1Amps so it should be able to handle that, so I think it might be a conflict of some sort.
Erupters run at usb1.1 speed and protocol and perhaps are having some communication interaction making everything work in the same crap manner - depends greatly on how usb hubs manage different speed devices. Try them on separate hubs.
Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected. Same setup runs bfgminer fine.




I run cgminer in xubuntu 13.10 and with 1 in usb of laptop and the other nanofury in a anker usb hub and i have no crashing problems. In the same hub i have a bifury and a redfury and all run perfect.

How strange, I even tried editing the driver and reducing the number of bits in case it was being overclocked too much by default.
I have tried Ubuntu 13.10 (on two machines) and Scientific Linux 6.4 and they all do it, my Nanofury is an NF1 as designed by vs3



chek2fire
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1045


Intergalactic Conciliator


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 12:40:00 AM
 #14118

I have a Ubuntu Linux server with all the current updates, running a variety of miners plugged into it on cgminer 3.10.0

I plugged a nanofury NF1 into a usb hub that has a few block erupters in it and the NF1 would only mine at just less than1GH/s.

I removed the block erupters and the NF1 started mining at full speed. Even if I add just one block erupter the NF1 instantly halves it's speed. The block erupter mines at full speed only the NF1 is effected, neither reports any errors that I can see.The power pack for the hub is 2.1Amps so it should be able to handle that, so I think it might be a conflict of some sort.
Erupters run at usb1.1 speed and protocol and perhaps are having some communication interaction making everything work in the same crap manner - depends greatly on how usb hubs manage different speed devices. Try them on separate hubs.
Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected. Same setup runs bfgminer fine.




I run cgminer in xubuntu 13.10 and with 1 in usb of laptop and the other nanofury in a anker usb hub and i have no crashing problems. In the same hub i have a bifury and a redfury and all run perfect.

How strange, I even tried editing the driver and reducing the number of bits in case it was being overclocked too much by default.
I have tried Ubuntu 13.10 (on two machines) and Scientific Linux 6.4 and they all do it, my Nanofury is an NF1 as designed by vs3





Maybe is the hub you are using?

http://www.bitcoin-gr.org
4411 804B 0181 F444 ADBD 01D4 0664 00E4 37E7 228E
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1142


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 12:40:40 AM
 #14119

I have a Ubuntu Linux server with all the current updates, running a variety of miners plugged into it on cgminer 3.10.0

I plugged a nanofury NF1 into a usb hub that has a few block erupters in it and the NF1 would only mine at just less than1GH/s.

I removed the block erupters and the NF1 started mining at full speed. Even if I add just one block erupter the NF1 instantly halves it's speed. The block erupter mines at full speed only the NF1 is effected, neither reports any errors that I can see.The power pack for the hub is 2.1Amps so it should be able to handle that, so I think it might be a conflict of some sort.
Erupters run at usb1.1 speed and protocol and perhaps are having some communication interaction making everything work in the same crap manner - depends greatly on how usb hubs manage different speed devices. Try them on separate hubs.
Turns out that 3.10.0 is crashing on the nanofury after a random period of time. Even on a separate linux box with nothing else connected. Same setup runs bfgminer fine.




I run cgminer in xubuntu 13.10 and with 1 in usb of laptop and the other nanofury in a anker usb hub and i have no crashing problems. In the same hub i have a bifury and a redfury and all run perfect.

How strange, I even tried editing the driver and reducing the number of bits in case it was being overclocked too much by default.
I have tried Ubuntu 13.10 (on two machines) and Scientific Linux 6.4 and they all do it, my Nanofury is an NF1 as designed by vs3
Which particular problem are you talking about now? The slowdown with erupters (chek2fire confirmed it worked better by running the erupter on a separate hub). Or the crashing at random intervals (which as I said is due to a bug in 3.10.0 from effectively unplugging of the device when conditions are flaky which is fixed in git post 3.10.0).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 12:50:58 AM
 #14120


Which particular problem are you talking about now? The slowdown with erupters (chek2fire confirmed it worked better by running the erupter on a separate hub). Or the crashing at random intervals (which as I said is due to a bug in 3.10.0 from effectively unplugging of the device when conditions are flaky which is fixed in git post 3.10.0).

I took your advice and kept the nanofury away from other usb devices, but that didn't fix the crashing problem. My subsequent tests were with the nanofury alone and I used the usbutils.c file from github. Are there any other files I also needed to replace from github?



/EDIT
Ok, the plot thickens, the crash occurs after a stratum disconnect when the pool establishes contact again after a failover, normally you would get the testing stability message but it seg faults just before that gets displayed.

I tested it on a multi pool that does a short stratum disconnect every 20min when it coin switches, enough to trigger the failover.
Pages: « 1 ... 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 [706] 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!