Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:18:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 [685] 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828263 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2013, 02:41:03 AM
 #13681

Got hex2bin scan error with 3.8.3 on a Jalapeno, pretty sure I compiled everything correctly.
If you're getting hex2bin scan errors there is some kind of data corruption since it's only meant to have text characters and finding something else. One possibility is you're on a usb1 slot - are you using an ancient PC?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481458681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458681
Reply with quote  #2

1481458681
Report to moderator
1481458681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458681
Reply with quote  #2

1481458681
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481458681
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458681

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458681
Reply with quote  #2

1481458681
Report to moderator
Zich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 01, 2013, 03:50:21 AM
 #13682

Got the Fury working with 3.8.3 and now getting nearly 2 gh/s more per device.

That's nice.  Cheesy

Which fury did you use?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2013, 05:22:09 AM
 #13683

New release: Version 3.8.4, 1st December 2013

Another stable version update.


Human readable changelog:

- More fixes to make usb communications more forgiving and robust which may improve reliability and speeds.
- Timeout overruns won't show unless you have verbose mode on now.
- Voltage displayed for BFL SC devices is the 2nd voltage which is allegedly more relevant.
- API stats for BFL SC devices now show a nonce and hardware error count per core.
- Json API commands should work again.
- More fixes for upcoming hashfast hardware.
- Lowmem mode has been extended to use USB sync transfers
- BXF devices should align better with other devices on the display.
- Devices will now initialise before trying to connect to pools.


Full changelog:

- Deprecate the usb usecps function and just split up transfers equal to the
maxpacketsize on usb1.1 devices.
- Retry sending after successfully clearing a pipe error.
- Drop logging of timeout overrun message to verbose level.
- Use a much longer callback timeout for USB writes on windows only as a last
resort since cancellations work so poorly.
- Use vcc2 in bflsc voltage displayed.
- Increment per core errors on false nonces in bflsc and add per core statistics
to api stats, removing debugging.
- Store a per-core nonce and hw error count for bflsc.
- Fix json parsing in api.c
- Add debugging to hfa driver for how many jobs are being sent.
- Shut down the hfa read thread if the device disappears.
- Add debug output saying what frame command is being sent in hfa driver.
- Revert "Disable USB stats which were not meant to be enabled by default and
add extra memory for a memory error when stats are enabled."
- Reset work restart flag in hfa driver since we may check for it again in
restart_wait.
- Add more op usb init errors for hfa driver.
- Perform basic displaying of hfa notices received.
- Add hfa op usb notice macros.
- Update hf protocol header.
- Use sync usb transfers in lowmem mode.
- Go back to allowing timeout errors on USB writes to be passed back to the
driver without removing the device in case the driver wishes to manage them.
- Initialise more values for the hfa data structures.
- A USB control error must be < 0
- Simplify USB NODEV error checking to success only for writes and control
transfers, and success and timeout for reads.
- libusb error IO should be fatal as well if it gets through usb read and write.
- Allow IO errors in usb reads/writes to be ignored up to retry max times.
- Use correct padding for bxf temperature display.
- Initialise devices before attempting to connect to pools to allow their thread
prepare function to be called before having to connect to pools.
- Add hidden hfa options to set hash clock, group ntime roll and pll bypass,
fixing frame sent on reset to include extra data.
- Relax the timeouts for the slower usb devices on linux.
- Add big endian hf protocol header to Makefile
- Check for correct big endian macro in hf_protocol
- Use an absolute timeout in hfa_get_header to cope with buffered usb reads
returning instantly confusing the 200ms counter.
- Update hfa_detect_one to use the new detect function API.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Beans
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469


View Profile
December 01, 2013, 06:43:30 AM
 #13684

My first rig runs r9 290's great with TC 30592. I have several other pc's which have the same cpu and ram and they just give memory buffer size errors. I tried lowering the TC and using 13 intensity but that gives HW errors. I'm not sure why the memory size is different on this one pc. Is there a solution for this?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2013, 07:27:16 AM
 #13685

My first rig runs r9 290's great with TC 30592. I have several other pc's which have the same cpu and ram and they just give memory buffer size errors. I tried lowering the TC and using 13 intensity but that gives HW errors. I'm not sure why the memory size is different on this one pc. Is there a solution for this?
GPU and scrypt mining is no longer supported by cgminer and offtopic on this thread.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Beans
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469


View Profile
December 01, 2013, 07:40:52 AM
 #13686

My first rig runs r9 290's great with TC 30592. I have several other pc's which have the same cpu and ram and they just give memory buffer size errors. I tried lowering the TC and using 13 intensity but that gives HW errors. I'm not sure why the memory size is different on this one pc. Is there a solution for this?
GPU and scrypt mining is no longer supported by cgminer and offtopic on this thread.

It's still cgminer, so I would say that is on topic. What thread do you think I just downloaded it from. You should have renamed it and started a new thread. Then again you always were a jerk.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2013, 07:42:47 AM
 #13687

Then again you always were a jerk.
Quoted for posterity. Appreciated.

EDIT: I believe in bitcoin and I'm sorry but this is my thread for my software and I gave plenty of warning about GPU and scrypt being deprecated, and even helped and encouraged people to fork and take over the existing code. Amazing how quickly people turn to personal attacks when you don't support their cause (i.e. litecoin).

EDIT2: No I do not really appreciate being called names. It fucking hurts and my response was purely to try and deflect the pain.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Beans
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469


View Profile
December 01, 2013, 09:15:45 AM
 #13688

Then again you always were a jerk.
Quoted for prosperity. Appreciated.

EDIT: I believe in bitcoin and I'm sorry but this is my thread for my software and I gave plenty of warning about GPU and scrypt being deprecated, and even helped and encouraged people to fork and take over the existing code. Amazing how quickly people turn to personal attacks when you don't support their cause (i.e. litecoin).

It's not hard to start a new thread. That's what everyone else does. Your assistance isn't needed to keep the thread going. Plenty of people still use cgminer for gpu mining. Not to mention the software still refers to this thread and is still downloaded from here. I don't really care if you think it's on topic or not.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2013, 09:17:44 AM
 #13689

It's not hard to start a new thread. That's what everyone else does. Your assistance isn't needed to keep the thread going. Plenty of people still use cgminer for gpu mining. Not to mention the software still refers to this thread and is still downloaded from here. I don't really care if you think it's on topic or not.
Then this thread wouldn't belong here since this is the bitcoin mining software section, and it would be moved to altcoins, whereas I am maintaining cgminer as an ASIC bitcoin miner. Honestly, I suggest you go looking at the litecoinforum instead where they've forked the code and are developing on it.
https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php?board=3.0

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2013, 09:23:30 AM
 #13690

OK, here are the results.  All arrived at fairly quickly because they all produced a zombie - some sooner rather than later.

Test of cgminer-tok     started at 11:36. First zombie (AMU26) appeared after 20 minutes.
Test of cgminer-cb5k   started at 12:06.  First zombie (AMU27) appeared after 30 minutes.
Test of cgminer-t5cb5  started at 12:39. First zombie (AMU11) appeared after 38 minutes.
Test of cgminer-t20cb5 started at 13:26. First zombie (AMU23) appeared after about 4.5 hours.

Turned on debug and let run for a few more minutes in each case, then hit 'Q'

Logfiles here:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-tok.txt
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-cb5k.txt
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-t5cb5.txt
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-t20cb5.txt
Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 01, 2013, 11:19:24 AM
 #13691

My first rig runs r9 290's great with TC 30592. I have several other pc's which have the same cpu and ram and they just give memory buffer size errors. I tried lowering the TC and using 13 intensity but that gives HW errors. I'm not sure why the memory size is different on this one pc. Is there a solution for this?
GPU and scrypt mining is no longer supported by cgminer and offtopic on this thread.

It's still cgminer, so I would say that is on topic. What thread do you think I just downloaded it from. You should have renamed it and started a new thread. Then again you always were a jerk.
Well oddly enough cgminer used to also have CPU mining code in it.
Even more oddly enough, no we don't support CPU mining any more and that is also off topic in here.

Lulz sounds like: "I want help and you must give it to me coz I say so you jerk" Cheesy Cheesy

Let me respond appropriately "Go fuck yourself" Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
chr0me
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
December 01, 2013, 02:22:49 PM
 #13692

Got hex2bin scan error with 3.8.3 on a Jalapeno, pretty sure I compiled everything correctly.
If you're getting hex2bin scan errors there is some kind of data corruption since it's only meant to have text characters and finding something else. One possibility is you're on a usb1 slot - are you using an ancient PC?

Nah, using a raspi. 3.5.x and 3.6.x find the Jala, it's just 3.8 that won't. I think it might be because I have a shitty USB hub. But then it wouldn't work with 3.5 and 3.6...

Got the Fury working with 3.8.3 and now getting nearly 2 gh/s more per device.

That's nice.  Cheesy

Which fury did you use?

Bitburner Fury, getting roughly 52~54 gh/s.

- I do translations! PM me if interested -
19sfw2W3dAFrzerkxLS26aL4HuYGpN1LNP
giveBTCpls
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
December 01, 2013, 03:21:43 PM
 #13693

I dont know if anyone reported this, but I left my computer on all night like i've been doing for weeks mining, then I woke up and I saw Malwaresbyte reporting cgminer-nogpu.exe as a trojan, specifically "Trojan.Bitminer". Im CPU mining with 3.7.2 so I was using cgminer.exe. Anyway, I disconnected and ran a complete scan, I detected Trojan.Winload on Winload-Loader-v2.2.1.zip which I guess is a false positive from Daz's Windows activator for Win7, and that's about it.
To be sure, I downloaded again http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/3.7/cgminer-3.7.2-windows.7z scanned it and found again "Trojan.Bitminer" on cgminer-nogpu.exe.

Im asuming Malwarebytes has included that exe as a trojan because people has been installing it around to secretly mine with other people's computers. False positive?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 02, 2013, 04:58:28 AM
 #13694

I dont know if anyone reported this, but I left my computer on all night like i've been doing for weeks mining, then I woke up and I saw Malwaresbyte reporting cgminer-nogpu.exe as a trojan, specifically "Trojan.Bitminer". Im CPU mining with 3.7.2 so I was using cgminer.exe. Anyway, I disconnected and ran a complete scan, I detected Trojan.Winload on Winload-Loader-v2.2.1.zip which I guess is a false positive from Daz's Windows activator for Win7, and that's about it.
To be sure, I downloaded again http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/3.7/cgminer-3.7.2-windows.7z scanned it and found again "Trojan.Bitminer" on cgminer-nogpu.exe.

Im asuming Malwarebytes has included that exe as a trojan because people has been installing it around to secretly mine with other people's computers. False positive?
README FAQ answers that.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 02, 2013, 05:49:28 PM
 #13695

Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.

Happy to oblige as always.  Test ran for just under 2 hours before a zombie (AMU16) appeared.  Did the usual thing with debug, then stopped the test.

Logfile here:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-3.8.4.txt

kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
December 02, 2013, 06:12:02 PM
 #13696

ckolivas,

Would you please update KNC version of cgminer to 3.8.4.

Thank you
HappyS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
December 02, 2013, 06:14:31 PM
 #13697

Help plz, if I have a laptop connected to several bfl asics, how do I open one window of cgminer for each?

Нам нужны ботинки для гольфа, иначе мы отсюда не выберемся.
13H5Cu9ixeud7kiD52mDXrR7NWgc2PERdJ
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2013, 08:08:40 PM
 #13698

ckolivas,

Would you please update KNC version of cgminer to 3.8.4.

Thank you
Done

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 863


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
December 02, 2013, 11:28:54 PM
 #13699

Any chance of getting the Drillbit thumbs integrated? For some reason when I run 2 instances of cgminer, 1 for my BE's and 1 for DB thumbs, my laptop will crash. Not an issue with the laptop, it has been running for over a month with cgminer for the BE's and stratum proxy. 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 02, 2013, 11:59:47 PM
 #13700

Any chance of getting the Drillbit thumbs integrated? For some reason when I run 2 instances of cgminer, 1 for my BE's and 1 for DB thumbs, my laptop will crash. Not an issue with the laptop, it has been running for over a month with cgminer for the BE's and stratum proxy. 
Haven't got one yet - I'll probably be visiting him soon Smiley
So I've no idea what's required to make them work.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 [685] 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!