Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2018, 01:25:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 [738] 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756954 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2014, 11:54:51 PM
 #14741

Sometimes I am getting this:

Just for the case it is miner issue not famous BFL.
It means you are getting corrupted messages from the device and cgminer is showing you how it's trying to work around it. Could be a problem with cables, temperature/cooling etc. If they only intermittently occur and it keeps mining ok then there's nothing to do about it. It does look on your stats like they're mining ok.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 12:47:12 AM
 #14742

Previous versions of CGMiner consumed 4 to 6MB RAM.  4.2 is now at 63MB, after 1 hour run time, and climbing steadily.  I had thought it was related to hotplug scanning the USB bus but after all AMU's were recognized I disabled Hotplug and it has continued to climb. 

Not a problem on my system at the moment, but it seems it could eventually cause a problem if it continues.
Thanks,
Sam

OK, I took my solo config out of my pool list completely, which was the Only GBT capable pool I have, and now after Hotplug has discovered all of my AMU's the memory utilization is solid at 8.172K and has not crept up since.  I did, again, disable hot plug after the last AMU was discovered.

So there seems to be a memory leak associated with GBT and/or Solo Mining.
It is normal for solo mining to use a busload extra ram because the protocol is very inefficient involving needing to store every single transaction's data from bitcoind. However it should stabilise after a period, depending on how many transactions are going through at any one time. I'll keep an eye on it but I didn't spot anything out of the ordinary in my testing, and currently am watching a rig with 42TH (not mine) solo mining without anything obvious.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 01:59:39 AM
 #14743

CKOlivias, you probably need to find that user that gave you a u1  and ask for a u2. I think cgminer is having trouble finding these u2 devices. Mine looks like its mining but I'm missing 2 devices which I presume is the 2 devices I have. I keep trying to unplug the last 2 I see on the list to reset figureing they are the devices causing trouble but I still end up with 6 of 8 bitmain devices.

When I check devices I get this

Code:
Select an option or any other key to return
 [2014-03-22 21:50:41] USB list: Failed to open 2

Will your debug give you any ideas if I mess with that?

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 02:04:58 AM
 #14744

Auspicious occasion, solo mining confirmed working (no it's not my block).

https://blockchain.info/tx/f335e79ce0a8130efca4dcf0efc6e05f9e616e63a89ed8c2747ddd8d5de09d9e

The coinbase gives away that it was mined with cgminer, see decoded Smiley

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 02:07:42 AM
 #14745

Previous versions of CGMiner consumed 4 to 6MB RAM.  4.2 is now at 63MB, after 1 hour run time, and climbing steadily.  I had thought it was related to hotplug scanning the USB bus but after all AMU's were recognized I disabled Hotplug and it has continued to climb. 

Not a problem on my system at the moment, but it seems it could eventually cause a problem if it continues.
Thanks,
Sam

OK, I took my solo config out of my pool list completely, which was the Only GBT capable pool I have, and now after Hotplug has discovered all of my AMU's the memory utilization is solid at 8.172K and has not crept up since.  I did, again, disable hot plug after the last AMU was discovered.

So there seems to be a memory leak associated with GBT and/or Solo Mining.
It is normal for solo mining to use a busload extra ram because the protocol is very inefficient involving needing to store every single transaction's data from bitcoind. However it should stabilise after a period, depending on how many transactions are going through at any one time. I'll keep an eye on it but I didn't spot anything out of the ordinary in my testing, and currently am watching a rig with 42TH (not mine) solo mining without anything obvious.

OK, I went back to testing solo mining about 3 hours ago and its now at 138MB of RAM.  Everything seems to be working great though.  I'll see if the RAM usage has stabilized by morning.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 02:38:14 AM
 #14746

CKolivas, you probably need to find that user that gave you a u1  and ask for a u2. I think cgminer is having trouble finding these u2 devices. Mine looks like its mining but I'm missing 2 devices which I presume is the 2 devices I have. I keep trying to unplug the last 2 I see on the list to reset figuring they are the devices causing trouble but I still end up with 6 of 8 bitmain devices.

When I check devices I get this

Code:
Select an option or any other key to return
 [2014-03-22 21:50:41] USB list: Failed to open 2

Will your debug give you any ideas if I mess with that?
Debug build won't help as that is for crashes, but starting cgminer with the extra -D option will give more information.

What does "cgminer -n" show when you're not mining? Have you tried swapping  devices to see if it always maxes at 6? Do you have enough power to run all 8?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 02:56:35 AM
 #14747

Auspicious occasion, solo mining confirmed working (no it's not my block).

https://blockchain.info/tx/f335e79ce0a8130efca4dcf0efc6e05f9e616e63a89ed8c2747ddd8d5de09d9e

The coinbase gives away that it was mined with cgminer, see decoded Smiley

First one ever in the UK?  Cheesy Cheesy

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 03:02:33 AM
 #14748

Auspicious occasion, solo mining confirmed working (no it's not my block).

https://blockchain.info/tx/f335e79ce0a8130efca4dcf0efc6e05f9e616e63a89ed8c2747ddd8d5de09d9e

The coinbase gives away that it was mined with cgminer, see decoded Smiley

First one ever in the UK?  Cheesy Cheesy
Heh, well that just tells us the first node that relayed the transaction, not where it originated from. I'm pretty sure it was actually from North America.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
artpego
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 07:28:01 AM
 #14749

...
I also now noticed there is a bug in LSTime that was mentioned earlier, the time isn't displayed properly.

Thanks for the update Smiley
Yeah a fix for that is looking unlikely now ... I've been looking into it in the last few hours ...

They changed the code that outputs the "Last Share Time" somewhere recently between Ant S1 versions.

So it makes it a bit beyond silly having the API break it's extremely reliable backward compatibility for a silly change like that ...
If it was a new field, that's no issue to add to my API hack/fix, but changing an existing field from a unix time number to a h:m:s string is a problem.

The new binary works great!

I got it back to a normal appearance rather than just the UNIX timestamp.

vi /usr/lib/lua/luci/controller/cgminer.lua

Find the part where it says: "--lst_date = os.date("%c", lst)" and get rid of comment (the --).

Had to do a reboot to get the change to show, buy you guys here probably know a better solution to reload luci/lua/whatever it is. I'm very new to all of this so hope it was somewhat helpful.

From:
         if lst == "0" then
            lst_date = "Never"
         else
            --lst_date = os.date("%c", lst)
           lst_date = lst
         end

To:

         if lst == "0" then
            lst_date = "Never"
         else
            lst_date = os.date("%c", lst)
            --lst_date = lst
         end

Sharecoin: SXSF59ftgKPZ1iDo4NiM9iP43HjBWC5vSe
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 11:52:31 AM
 #14750

CKolivas, you probably need to find that user that gave you a u1  and ask for a u2. I think cgminer is having trouble finding these u2 devices. Mine looks like its mining but I'm missing 2 devices which I presume is the 2 devices I have. I keep trying to unplug the last 2 I see on the list to reset figuring they are the devices causing trouble but I still end up with 6 of 8 bitmain devices.

When I check devices I get this

Code:
Select an option or any other key to return
 [2014-03-22 21:50:41] USB list: Failed to open 2

Will your debug give you any ideas if I mess with that?
Debug build won't help as that is for crashes, but starting cgminer with the extra -D option will give more information.

What does "cgminer -n" show when you're not mining? Have you tried swapping  devices to see if it always maxes at 6? Do you have enough power to run all 8?

I think at least the u1's were 2 watts each and that the eroupters I replaced the u2's with are 2 watts so I think I should be fine. I have all set at 250.

Here the devices. When I run it there should be 8 anu's and 3 amu's among other devices and an unsupported tecnobit device(*yes theres an unsupported patch but compiling has been a pain so far).
Code:
[2014-03-23 07:46:18] USB all: found 26 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 1 Device 10 ID: 03eb:2404
  Manufacturer: 'Drillbit Systems'
  Product: 'Thumb'
.USB dev 1: Bus 1 Device 18 ID: 03eb:2404
  Manufacturer: 'Drillbit Systems'
  Product: 'Eight'
.USB dev 2: Bus 1 Device 3 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 3: Bus 1 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 4: Bus 1 Device 7 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 5: Bus 1 Device 8 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 6: Bus 1 Device 9 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 7: Bus 1 Device 14 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 8: Bus 1 Device 15 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 9: Bus 1 Device 16 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 10: Bus 1 Device 17 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 11: Bus 1 Device 19 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 12: Bus 1 Device 20 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
 [2014-03-23 07:46:18] 13 known USB devices

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 11:56:52 AM
 #14751

I think at least the u1's were 2 watts each and that the eroupters I replaced the u2's with are 2 watts so I think I should be fine. I have all set at 250.

Here the devices. When I run it there should be 8 anu's and 3 amu's among other devices and an unsupported tecnobit device(*yes theres an unsupported patch but compiling has been a pain so far).
Code:
[2014-03-23 07:46:18] USB all: found 26 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 1 Device 10 ID: 03eb:2404
  Manufacturer: 'Drillbit Systems'
  Product: 'Thumb'
.USB dev 1: Bus 1 Device 18 ID: 03eb:2404
  Manufacturer: 'Drillbit Systems'
  Product: 'Eight'
.USB dev 2: Bus 1 Device 3 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 3: Bus 1 Device 4 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 4: Bus 1 Device 7 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 5: Bus 1 Device 8 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 6: Bus 1 Device 9 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 7: Bus 1 Device 14 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 8: Bus 1 Device 15 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 9: Bus 1 Device 16 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 10: Bus 1 Device 17 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 11: Bus 1 Device 19 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
.USB dev 12: Bus 1 Device 20 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'Silicon Labs'
  Product: 'CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller'
 [2014-03-23 07:46:18] 13 known USB devices
They're all seen there so it's not a usb recognising issue. Amuse me and run them at default clock without specifying 250 since you are then overclocking them compared to the default.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 12:37:14 PM
 #14752

Auspicious occasion, solo mining confirmed working (no it's not my block).

https://blockchain.info/tx/f335e79ce0a8130efca4dcf0efc6e05f9e616e63a89ed8c2747ddd8d5de09d9e

The coinbase gives away that it was mined with cgminer, see decoded Smiley

He was rewarded 25 BTC = $14 000 USD

Just a little bit of money Wink
Well he was mining with almost 200TH (aimed at just one bitcoind!) confirming nicely the scaleability of cgminer's solo mining. And here's another just for good measure:
https://blockchain.info/tx/1f59b91615ea0f9e6c633f7c426daa367cde119b03a36ad235def2236b9c0f7d

There are a number of small improvements/fixes going into the solo mining code as a consequence of this testing which should be wrapped up into a minor bugfix release soon. There is one showstopper that makes solo mining not work properly on big endian machines (like antminers) which warrants this release. The other limitation is that bitcoind does not like a lot of persistent connections at the same time so I have reworked the code to drop connections as much as possible allowing multiple cgminer instances to connect to the one bitcoind.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 12:48:21 PM
 #14753

CKOlvias its wierd that at least for the moment under both conditions they were all detected on this turn. Whatever the deal they are almost imediatly in both situations being piped to the end of the list

I got 1 anu listed device showing its only had 2 sharse to work on and zero hardware errors and one with 146 with 2 errors that just zombied with the overclock its showed about 7 minutes in the zombie. They're both mostly doing the normal blinking but no continous solid green light. When I see a light go on I cant corespond it to any errors on the screen.

In verbatim I think when one of them goes solid for a moment its getting discarded work. The zombie one is still in a work state(not solid green) but doing nothing.

All I know for certain is I got nothing from them when I place them in my aitech 3.0 hub with 5 anus and a drill bit thumb and I've got about the same on my roswill 2.0 device. Each have 10 ports and 4 amps to spare.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 01:59:49 PM
 #14754

There are a number of small improvements/fixes going into the solo mining code as a consequence of this testing which should be wrapped up into a minor bugfix release soon.

If there is going to be an update soon could I ask for

1.  Bitcoin Address displayed to verify which address the block reward would go to?  I saw that you said you would add this.

2.  Ability to sign the block?

I'm pretty happy with my testing so far.  But the memory utilization is still climbing, 408MB so far.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 02:07:38 PM
 #14755

The other limitation is that bitcoind does not like a lot of persistent connections at the same time so I have reworked the code to drop connections as much as possible allowing multiple cgminer instances to connect to the one bitcoind.

Would this include the connections to the Bitcoin network?  My Bitcoin client currently has 70 connections.  Should I be restricting the max connections in the client itself?

Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 02:08:48 PM
 #14756

I do have two different machines I'm mining with and 4.2 seems to be working pretty good on one.  But the other machine if when I try to run any 4.x version a bunch of AMU's get turned off and mining is very erratic.  It's a low end P3 with 512MB RAM but it works fine with CGMiner versions 3.11 and earlier.  Currently running 3.9 with 31 BE's.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 23, 2014, 02:10:50 PM
 #14757

Edit: there's a later 4.3.2a update here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg6533537#msg6533537

Here's another new AntS1 binary.

An endian issue was found in the solo code for the ant (no issue for desktop computers), so this update includes the fix for that.
I've removed both old AntS1 binaries

This uses the same patch as before for the luci display.
My source for this version is here:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/tree/ants1-4.2.0-00567a4

The binary and README are in my cgminer-binaries git here:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1  <-- Follow this link to get the new binary

Read the README on the screen there for how to replace the /usr/bin/cgminer binary in your AntS1 with the new one.

This binary includes all cgminer changes up to 4.2.0 and forward after that up to:
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/cec48cee5f1759e5996de5339537fab4aeff416c

The previous report of having trouble with running the binary turned out to be caused by incorrectly specifying cgminer options.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
canford
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2014, 09:39:21 PM
 #14758

Thank you kano for the S1 binary, running successfully on two S1s and using your luci pool password hack to pass temp params to cgminer.  Thank you artpego for the last share time fix, also working on both ants.  Thank you ckolivas for cgminer 4.2.0 working on win7 with 12 BE's and the Avalon 4.2.0 image running on a Mini.  The Mini is running at 59 gh/s clocked at 400, turns out miner 15 has failed, but 1-14 and 16 are working.  It might be a loose connection, but I'm not sure it's worth attempting to disassemble the Mini to check.   

Пользуйтесь бесплатно и пишите что вам нужно улучшить:trd.ai
Видео, как пользоваться проектом:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNhx715vOOk&feature=youtu.be
artpego
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 01:15:48 AM
 #14759

Glad to help, was an easy tweak to grep out "lastsharetime" recursively down the lua/luci dir chain and work back from there. Like I said, I am new to all this (mining) and have 3 Antminer S1's running kano's great stuff (thanks mucho kano, i will be sending some coin your way), running real stable at low temps 200GH/s with nice low temps, but I am also a hacker at heart and these little rigs are proving fun for the interface side and cgminer side. This little test seems to be earning it's keep so-far (initial hardware costs and recurring electricity cost vs the payout I'm seeing)... but we'll see at the next difficulty increase... which is all too quickly approaching ... and the erratic bit-coin pricing. Anyway, long term investment, we'll see how it works out.

My "day job" these past 12 years has been writing enterprise software (shop floor controls, low level machine control for component placement, health system logs to pull/burn onto ROMS/B2B,ERP, web reporting & eCommerce) all day long for a PCBA fabrication facility, systems integration factory, engineering and program management site, our eCommerce group, and an a couple of RMA facilities (1 man "manager of 1", waaaaayyyyyy many hats)..... with a wife who designs the boards in the engineering wing of the same company (won't mention any names, but we make just about some percentage everyone's retail stuff they sell like servers, PC's, phones, etc... , they just have us design it and then re-brand or we build on their specs as a CM).... if anyone ever wants to design and build a "better ant", maybe we can figure something out and come up with a team... pretty sure I can do NPI's and get PCB's (since we own a PCB fab as well) without any hassles Smiley Weekdays suck for comms, but nights and weekends are usually free to mess around in my hardware lab all day.

Sharecoin: SXSF59ftgKPZ1iDo4NiM9iP43HjBWC5vSe
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2014, 03:28:27 AM
 #14760

New version: 4.2.1, 24th March 2014

Bugfixes.


Human readable changelog:

- Bitcoind did not like lots of persistent connections at once meaning it would fall over if more than one cgminer instance was trying to mine at the same time from the one bitcoind instance. Cgminer now opens and closes the connection every time it talks to bitcoind allowing any number of cgminer instances to mine solo from the one instance. Confirmed working with 200TH of miners aimed at the one bitcoind...
- Big endian hosts (like the antminer S1, avalon) did not work with solo mining.
- Solo mining setups will not mine unless a btc address is specified now, and the address is displayed on startup if it exists.
- Solo mining disconnections to bitcoind are handled better, not spawning more polling threads every failure.
- Low level optimisations for solo mining
- AntminerS1 fixes to decrease CPU usage and actually honour overheat conditions.
- Network diff when submitting a block is shown correctly on screen when >2billion.
- Build fixes for avalon2
- miner.php improvements


Full changelog:

- Fix various ava2 build issues generically
- Minimise the amount of heap memory allocations/frees when submitting gbt
shares.
- Make varint in gbt submission a stack object.
- Fix big endian problems with gbt submissions.
- Fix 32bit overflow on relative diff shown.
- ants1 - stop results read hard looping
- ants1 - slow down mining if overheat occurs
- miner.php allow gen before (bgen) and after (gen) grouping
- Change default solo mining to failing when no btc address is specified.
- Use upgrade cglock variants in get_gbt_curl
- Provide a cg_uilock to unlock the intermediate variant of cglocks.
- Use the one curl instance for all gbt solo operations, protecting its use with
a bool set under gbt lock.
- Only start block detection with gbt solo if setup succeeded
- One less block detection message
- Toss out the curl handle after each solo poll
- Don't reuse any curl handles for solo mining and break out of the lp thread if
the pool is removed.
- Make sure to only start the lognpoll thread once on gbt solo.
- Don't keep RPC connections open for solo mining since bitcoind doesn't like
having many persistent connections.
- GBT solo pools should be considered localgen pools.
- miner.php - speed up formatting and allow calc on gen fields
- Always show the address we're solo mining to to avoid confusion for when no
address is set.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 [738] 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!