Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 06:50:10 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 [742] 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805214 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
everest556
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 08, 2014, 11:24:09 PM
 #14821

I think that's a patch from the official Technobit site, not a third-party patch:
http://technobit.eu/index.php?controller=attachment&id_attachment=23
1714330210
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714330210

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714330210
Reply with quote  #2

1714330210
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 12:00:38 AM
 #14822

I think that's a patch from the official Technobit site, not a third-party patch:
http://technobit.eu/index.php?controller=attachment&id_attachment=23
Sure but they've not tried submitting it for inclusion. You seem to be missing how the process works despite me describing it a few times.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692
Merit: 502


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 07:22:58 PM
 #14823

I am having a problem with rejected duplicate shares, which is weird, because there is no way that could happen:
Code:
wr_lock(&cgpu->qlock);
HASH_ITER(hh, cgpu->queued_work, work, tmp) {
if ( !work->stale && !(work->tv_work_start.tv_sec) ) {
cgtime(&work->tv_work_start);
wr_unlock(&cgpu->qlock);
return work;
}
1. Iteration is inside a wr_lock
2. Once accepted the work is marked as used/started again inside the lock
3. The whole function is called inside a thread private lock and no other thread is calling that function at all
4. Adding a job to the queue is also done under the same private lock

but still there are duplicates returned from different chips (if the same chip that may be just delayed chip scanning and work reuse), which points to the same work being returned in two consecutive calls or sending a work to the wrong chip.

Any pointers how to debug this?
Is the (struct work) job_id unique enough to identify that or subid (any driver as example?) should be used instead?

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 09:34:20 PM
 #14824

I am having a problem with rejected duplicate shares, which is weird, because there is no way that could happen:
Code:
wr_lock(&cgpu->qlock);
HASH_ITER(hh, cgpu->queued_work, work, tmp) {
if ( !work->stale && !(work->tv_work_start.tv_sec) ) {
cgtime(&work->tv_work_start);
wr_unlock(&cgpu->qlock);
return work;
}
1. Iteration is inside a wr_lock
2. Once accepted the work is marked as used/started again inside the lock
3. The whole function is called inside a thread private lock and no other thread is calling that function at all
4. Adding a job to the queue is also done under the same private lock

but still there are duplicates returned from different chips (if the same chip that may be just delayed chip scanning and work reuse), which points to the same work being returned in two consecutive calls or sending a work to the wrong chip.

Any pointers how to debug this?
Is the (struct work) job_id unique enough to identify that or subid (any driver as example?) should be used instead?
Is this in your own code because that doesn't look familiar. It doesn't look like you're actually removing the work item from the hash list before unlocking the write lock, you're only finding it so the work remains on the hash list.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
JPoet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 12:51:59 AM
 #14825

Hello,

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine Zetacoins using "cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:17335 -u xxx -p xxxx".  Everything worked ok I mined over 60 Zetacoins.

A week later I went back to Zetacoin after a break pool mining bitcoins.

Now I get an error "bit coin address is invalid 15qSxp..." seems to be the default address for a mandatory field.

So now I am getting back blockchain size and diff but am not mining.

So I set btc-address to the address in my Zetacoin wallet from the receive menu. I do not understand the instruction to set it to bitcoind.

So now I can't solo mine, can anybody help?  Thanks
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:13:18 AM
 #14826

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine Zetacoins

I understand it was one page back, so I'll quote it for you:

We don't care about anything but bitcoin.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692
Merit: 502


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:32:49 AM
 #14827

Is this in your own code because that doesn't look familiar. It doesn't look like you're actually removing the work item from the hash list before unlocking the write lock, you're only finding it so the work remains on the hash list.
Yes, this in my own code and I am not removing the work (by design), just mark it as started (tv_work_start) and send it to the chip, by keeping a pointer to it inside the chip data structure. Later on when chip is done with the job, I call work_completed() under the same private lock and request a new work.
This approach allows to avoid keeping another list, but just a pointer to the queue.
My plan is to set subid to the chip number which will work on it, so i can detect if the job is somehow sent to another chip ... it seems to be safe to have duplicate subid, as it is not used anywhere except from the driver

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
Michael_KMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:10:01 AM
 #14828

Hi, I just compiled cgminer 4.2.3 on Linux Mint with the additional technobit drivers. After starting cgminer I cant see the status window, also i cant interact with cgminer via the console. Same problem with cgminer 3.12.3. Raspberry Pi works great...

can someone help me?

thanks in advance!
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 08:12:04 AM
 #14829

Hi, I just compiled cgminer 4.2.3 on Linux Mint with the additional technobit drivers. After starting cgminer I cant see the status window, also i cant interact with cgminer via the console. Same problem with cgminer 3.12.3. Raspberry Pi works great...

can someone help me?

thanks in advance!
Well, you're asking for help with something you patched that isn't our code... However your problem is the classic one of not installing the  libncurses development library prior to building it.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Michael_KMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:40:29 AM
 #14830

Hi, I just compiled cgminer 4.2.3 on Linux Mint with the additional technobit drivers. After starting cgminer I cant see the status window, also i cant interact with cgminer via the console. Same problem with cgminer 3.12.3. Raspberry Pi works great...

can someone help me?

thanks in advance!
Well, you're asking for help with something you patched that isn't our code... However your problem is the classic one of not installing the  libncurses development library prior to building it.

And I really appreciate your help! Thanks a lot.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1800


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 10:32:38 AM
 #14831

Is this in your own code because that doesn't look familiar. It doesn't look like you're actually removing the work item from the hash list before unlocking the write lock, you're only finding it so the work remains on the hash list.
Yes, this in my own code and I am not removing the work (by design), just mark it as started (tv_work_start) and send it to the chip, by keeping a pointer to it inside the chip data structure. Later on when chip is done with the job, I call work_completed() under the same private lock and request a new work.
This approach allows to avoid keeping another list, but just a pointer to the queue.
My plan is to set subid to the chip number which will work on it, so i can detect if the job is somehow sent to another chip ... it seems to be safe to have duplicate subid, as it is not used anywhere except from the driver
Unless you invalidate the work when it finds one nonce (which of course you can't since it can find multiple nonces) then of course a duplicate share is possible if the driver or device can return duplicate nonces.

Quite normal for Bitfury chips since it is hard to ensure you don't lose work without getting lots of HW errors ... why my BaB driver has such a good error rate, but on occasion I get duplicate shares.
The only way, in this case, to avoid duplicate shares, would be to keep a history of valid nonces per work item and don't submit the duplicates.
Hmm yeah I can add that to the BaB driver easily enough!
Heh funny how while explaining something (as is common) you can see something you missed before Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692
Merit: 502


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:21:42 AM
 #14832

Unless you invalidate the work when it finds one nonce (which of course you can't since it can find multiple nonces) then of course a duplicate share is possible if the driver or device can return duplicate nonces.
In my driver i know when the chip has switched to the next job and then I call work_completed for the old one ... i don't see how the same job could be processed again

Quote
Quite normal for Bitfury chips since it is hard to ensure you don't lose work without getting lots of HW errors
Not exactly ... when the chip switches to the new job - the next nonces will never be from the old one, so it's safe to drop it and not loose nonces.

Quote
The only way, in this case, to avoid duplicate shares, would be to keep a history of valid nonces per work item and don't submit the duplicates.
Duplicates should not happen (in my driver logic) except when the chip has started working on the same job, because it was asked to ... then again i don't see how that could happen except if i missed a whole work and the job was switched twice
 ... hmm this may happen when there are few bad reads caused by hardware problems, which may well be my case, as there are some bad chips in the chain

Quote
Heh funny how while explaining something (as is common) you can see something you missed before
Seems to be the same here thanks Wink

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
thrym
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:41:17 AM
 #14833

Hi all, and hi ckolivas - thank you for your excellent work. Smiley

I have been using cgminer for a while on my raspberry pi with 8 Antminers U1 and U2 mixed.

There is no big Problem, especially at startup everything works fine - but after a while (5min-1Hour) I get this:

Code:
[2014-04-10 10:16:01] ANU 8: No valid hashes for over 53 secs, attempting to reset
[2014-04-10 10:16:01] ANU 8 attempted reset got err:(0) LIBUSB_SUCCESS
[2014-04-10 10:17:23] ANU 8: No valid hashes for over 53 secs, attempting to reset
[2014-04-10 10:17:24] ANU 8 attempted reset got err:(0) LIBUSB_SUCCESS
[2014-04-10 10:18:24] ANU 8: Device failed to respond to restart
[2014-04-10 10:18:24] ANU 8 failure, disabling!
The device is then listed as OFF.

Interrestingly enough, when I press U + U + 8 (in this case it was Cool it redetects the miner without problem and hashes away happily for the next 1-10 hours.

I suspected the power supply on my USB-Hubs, but no matter wich one or how many (I have 3 hubs with 3.5Amp supply per hub) I use, I keep running into that error. Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?

Also @ckolivas, is it possible to automize the USB-Unplug for disbled devices somehow?

Thanks in advance for any replies.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 11:43:13 AM
 #14834

Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?
This.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
JPoet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:05:54 PM
 #14835

Hello, I apologize of I did this wrong, I am new and have tried to mine bitcoins solo, to see it work.

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine bitcoins using "cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:xxxx  -u xxx -p xxxx".  Everything worked ok I got the messages as per the cgminer output. 

A week later I went back to bitcoin after a break pool mining bitcoins.

Now I get an error "bit coin address is invalid 15qSxp..." seems to be the default address for a mandatory field.

So now I am getting back blockchain size and diff but am not mining.  I no longer see the messages" accepted ccccc from anu0". For example.

So I set btc-address to the address in my bitcoin wallet from the receive menu. I do not understand the instruction to set it to bitcoind.

So now I can't solo mine, can anybody help?  Thanks

Basically what btc-address do I use as the default no longer seems to work.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 01:08:39 PM
 #14836

Hello, I apologize of I did this wrong, I am new and have tried to mine bitcoins solo, to see it work.

Three weeks ago I used cgminer to mine bitcoins using "cgminer.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:xxxx  -u xxx -p xxxx".  Everything worked ok I got the messages as per the cgminer output. 

A week later I went back to bitcoin after a break pool mining bitcoins.

Now I get an error "bit coin address is invalid 15qSxp..." seems to be the default address for a mandatory field.

So now I am getting back blockchain size and diff but am not mining.  I no longer see the messages" accepted ccccc from anu0". For example.

So I set btc-address to the address in my bitcoin wallet from the receive menu. I do not understand the instruction to set it to bitcoind.

So now I can't solo mine, can anybody help?  Thanks

Basically what btc-address do I use as the default no longer seems to work.
Just pick any valid btc address that you own. It does not even matter if the wallet that contains that address isn't on the bitcoind you are mining to.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
thrym
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:34:44 PM
 #14837

Currently I use version 4.1.0

Anyone got an Idea what to check next?
This.

stupid me.

Upgraded the little bugger to 4.2.3, will report results.
thrym
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:24:19 PM
 #14838

stupid me.

Upgraded the little bugger to 4.2.3, will report results.

AAAnd we have a Winner! Smiley

Thank you very much!

Code:
[2014-04-10 16:19:16] ANU 4: Device failed to respond to restart
[2014-04-10 16:19:16] ANU 4 failure, disabling!
[2014-04-10 16:19:21] Hotplug: Icarus added ANU 9
GigaWave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 06:06:30 PM
 #14839

Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=514758.msg6159291#msg6159291
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=441465.msg6159311#msg6159311
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 09:35:39 PM
 #14840

Kano, would like to know if you have any input on this issue of pool hash rate  being only %1 of cgminer hash rate. Providing links below to 'posts' as the text is on the larger side.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=514758.msg6159291#msg6159291
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=441465.msg6159311#msg6159311
This is their custom fork of cgminer + driver. They do not have proper diff checking in their code. That's the sort of thing you get with a poorly done custom driver by a manufacturer. Tell them to fix their driver. In the interim try to use a pool that allows you to use a fixed diff that matches whatever the device is set to.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 [742] 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!