Bitcoin Forum
November 29, 2021, 12:36:29 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 [717] 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5802916 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 09:21:40 AM
 #14321

Hello and thanks for the new release,

but I have also many HW Errors with this version?

I start the device with this command:

Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run
cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf --icarus-timing=short --quiet --anu-freq 200

HW Errors are between 2 - 5% Is this OK??

greets
You no longer need icarus timing with this release so remove it. HW errors are device dependant and 2-5% at frequency 200 (which is the default frequency anyway) that does seem a little high, but if your hashrate is consistent with frequency 200 (which is just under 1.6GH) then you can just ignore the errors. Most will run well at 250 without significantly more errors, but if your hashrate doesn't rise when you raise the frequency, don't do that. My particular one runs well at 275 but generates a lot of errors which I ignore since it still generates 2.2GH of good hashes.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638189389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638189389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638189389
Reply with quote  #2

1638189389
Report to moderator
1638189389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638189389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638189389
Reply with quote  #2

1638189389
Report to moderator
1638189389
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638189389

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638189389
Reply with quote  #2

1638189389
Report to moderator
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1586


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:27:23 AM
 #14322

Hello and thanks for the new release,

but I have also many HW Errors with this version?

I start the device with this command:

Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run
cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf --icarus-timing=short --quiet --anu-freq 200

HW Errors are between 2 - 5% Is this OK??

greets
You no longer need icarus timing with this release so remove it. HW errors are device dependant and 2-5% at frequency 200 (which is the default frequency anyway) that does seem a little high, but if your hashrate is consistent with frequency 200 (which is just under 1.6GH) then you can just ignore the errors. Most will run well at 250 without significantly more errors, but if your hashrate doesn't rise when you raise the frequency, don't do that. My particular one runs well at 275 but generates a lot of errors which I ignore since it still generates 2.2GH of good hashes.

Thanks,

i will test with these settings, and report at evening my experience Wink
Code:
cd c:\programme\CGMiner-run cgminer.exe -c c:\programme\CGMiner-run\cgminer.conf  --quiet --anu-freq 200

config:

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333",
"user" : "xxx",
"pass" : "egalo",
"pool-priority" : "0"
}
],
"api-allow" : "W:127.0.0.1",
"api-listen" : true,
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"hotplug" : "5",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"shares" : "0",
"no-pool-disable" : true
}

greets

Grinners
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:32:21 AM
 #14323

Downloaded the zip file.

Now I am confused... Do I not just run "C:\Chris\cgminer 3\cgminer_keccak-master\cgminer --keccak -o stratum+tcp://maxpool.1gh.com:17333 -u mJ75whnUbeJfu8dbqomn8ekEJ2aRUhwTkJ -p x" in command prompt?

"cgminer is not recognized" in command prompt...?

Yes super noob here Cheesy
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 09:35:43 AM
 #14324

Downloaded the zip file.

Now I am confused... Do I not just run "C:\Chris\cgminer 3\cgminer_keccak-master\cgminer --keccak -o stratum+tcp://maxpool.1gh.com:17333 -u mJ75whnUbeJfu8dbqomn8ekEJ2aRUhwTkJ -p x" in command prompt?

"cgminer is not recognized" in command prompt...?

Yes super noob here Cheesy
You are in completely the wrong place as this is the main forum thread for the master cgminer code which is purely for bitcoin mining ONLY. We have no keccak code and wherever you downloaded that from is where you need to seek help.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 10:58:30 AM
 #14325

It would be nice if folks who are using forked miners (basically anything recent with GPU/scrypt support) would ask the developers of their version to rename the software, so it's clear it's no longer the mainline cgminer.

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
February 08, 2014, 11:38:48 AM
 #14326

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

The Antminer U1 support isn't very stable either, mine all crapped out after an hour or so, I ended up with 50-odd as they dropped out and came back on.  I have 10 of them on a Anker hub, running off a PC running Debian Wheezy.

I'll update the error messages when they happen again, I'm on an intermittent SSH connection through my phone from work at the moment.
Hmm I can try reinstating the attempted reset but I'm not sure it's going to fix that... How much were you overclocking them?


Sorry, only got back to this thread.  2GH, which they've been stable with.  They do run basically OK with BFG at 2.2GH (one or two of them run at 10% HW error as reported by BFG), but I tried knocking them down to 2GH to see if that would help.

Overnight I now have 20 ANU devices reported by the API, when I actually only have 10. 
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 11:43:40 AM
 #14327

WARNING:  There may be a problem with cgminer 3.12.1 that makes it stop retrieving work. I will investigate further and possibly release a fix in the next 24 hours. In the meantime I suggest users do not upgrade.

Sigh.

The Antminer U1 support isn't very stable either, mine all crapped out after an hour or so, I ended up with 50-odd as they dropped out and came back on.  I have 10 of them on a Anker hub, running off a PC running Debian Wheezy.

I'll update the error messages when they happen again, I'm on an intermittent SSH connection through my phone from work at the moment.
Hmm I can try reinstating the attempted reset but I'm not sure it's going to fix that... How much were you overclocking them?


Sorry, only got back to this thread.  2GH, which they've been stable with.  They do run basically OK with BFG at 2.2GH (one or two of them run at 10% HW error as reported by BFG), but I tried knocking them down to 2GH to see if that would help.

Overnight I now have 20 ANU devices reported by the API, when I actually only have 10. 
But they're still mining right? So the die - zombie - hotplug is just an ugly cosmetic issue, not that they have failed and stopped mining indefinitely. I've been running mine at 275 (2.2GH) which has been stable but I doubt they're all stable at that speed.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
fastcore
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 01:24:11 PM
 #14328

Trend identified cgminer.exe as a virus and wiped it off my computer, blah!
Dunkelheit667
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1045
Merit: 1157


no degradation


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 01:32:51 PM
 #14329

First of all, thanks a bunch for the Antminer U1 support. Smiley

3.12.3 running stable for two hours on my rpi. So far so good.

Just a thought, would be nice to have 12.5 MHz increments, allowing more specific fine tuning with +/- 100 GHash/s steps. Guess it's not that difficult implementing those values into the freq. table?

freq_hex freq_mhz ghash_s
0781   200.0   1.600
0801   212.5   1.700
0881   225.0   1.800
0901   237.5   1.900
0981   250.0   2.000
0A01   262.5   2.100
0A81   275.0   2.200

etc.

"And the machine keeps pushing time through the cogs, like paste into strings into paste again, and only the machine keeps using time to make time to make time.
And when the machine stops, time is an illusion that we created free will.
" - an unnamed Hybrid
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 02:40:11 PM
 #14330

Unofficial Mac binaries have been updated for v3.12.3 and are available here. Cheesy

These are precompiled universal binaries that support Mac OS X 10.5.8 through 10.9+.

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 04:14:15 PM
 #14331

First of all, thanks a bunch for the Antminer U1 support. Smiley

3.12.3 running stable for two hours on my rpi. So far so good.

Just a thought, would be nice to have 12.5 MHz increments, allowing more specific fine tuning with +/- 100 GHash/s steps. Guess it's not that difficult implementing those values into the freq. table?

freq_hex freq_mhz ghash_s
0781   200.0   1.600
0801   212.5   1.700
0881   225.0   1.800
0901   237.5   1.900
0981   250.0   2.000
0A01   262.5   2.100
0A81   275.0   2.200

etc.
The documentation specifies only certain numbers, have you seen anywhere the values you mention? It's easy to hack the code if you wish to try them and report back Wink

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Dunkelheit667
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1045
Merit: 1157


no degradation


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 04:51:55 PM
 #14332

First of all, thanks a bunch for the Antminer U1 support. Smiley

3.12.3 running stable for two hours on my rpi. So far so good.

Just a thought, would be nice to have 12.5 MHz increments, allowing more specific fine tuning with +/- 100 GHash/s steps. Guess it's not that difficult implementing those values into the freq. table?

freq_hex freq_mhz ghash_s
0781   200.0   1.600
0801   212.5   1.700
0881   225.0   1.800
0901   237.5   1.900
0981   250.0   2.000
0A01   262.5   2.100
0A81   275.0   2.200

etc.
The documentation specifies only certain numbers, have you seen anywhere the values you mention? It's easy to hack the code if you wish to try them and report back Wink
Below the freq. table there is some additional information how to 'build your own' freq. hex values. Played around with the formular and found these values. Can confirm the additional mentioned 0801, 0901 and 0A01 working fine with Bitmain's cgminer fork, at least on my Antminers. Would be a pleasure testing a modified version (on a rpi or Windows PC) and reporting back. Smiley

"And the machine keeps pushing time through the cogs, like paste into strings into paste again, and only the machine keeps using time to make time to make time.
And when the machine stops, time is an illusion that we created free will.
" - an unnamed Hybrid
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 05:35:33 PM
 #14333

No more locking issues works perfect Cheesy
Thank you Con!

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1586


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 05:42:52 PM
 #14334

@ckolivas

as promised my impression, the new cgminer runs very well but the hardware error remain at approximately around 1%, the clock rate does not matter if 1.6 or 2.0!



greets

HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
February 08, 2014, 05:55:42 PM
 #14335


But they're still mining right? So the die - zombie - hotplug is just an ugly cosmetic issue, not that they have failed and stopped mining indefinitely. I've been running mine at 275 (2.2GH) which has been stable but I doubt they're all stable at that speed.

Yeah, they are still mining OK, it's just filling up the API with zombie miners.  I'll try upgrading to the latest version and see if it's any better. Smiley
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 05:59:31 PM
 #14336

@ckolivas

as promised my impression, the new cgminer runs very well but the hardware error remain at approximately around 1%, the clock rate does not matter if 1.6 or 2.0!



greets
1% and you are not happy wired Huh
It is absolutely normal dude. You are golden. Hw errors are always there no matter what you do.

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 06:02:46 PM
Last edit: February 08, 2014, 08:14:13 PM by PSL
 #14337

Information from ASIC-README:
Quote
--anu-freq <arg>    Set AntminerU1 frequency in hex, range 150-500 (default: 200)

This is not correct. Your parameter Frequency is in MHz.
Frequency in hex for 200 MHz is 0x0781 and AntMinerU1 has hash rate 1600 MHash/s at that frequency...

Could be a table with frequencies added to the ASIC-README?
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
February 08, 2014, 06:07:21 PM
Last edit: February 08, 2014, 06:29:12 PM by Krak
 #14338

Updated my Pi to 3.12.3 and it's not recognizing my U1s. My Jalapeño is still mining fine on the same USB hub, but the U1s are just giving me green lights every few seconds at the same time. They're not showing up in cgminer at all. Switched 'em back to my desktop and they're mining nicely, even at 275MHz.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
February 08, 2014, 07:02:30 PM
 #14339

Upgraded to 3.12.3, and seems to be running fine now.
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 08:10:52 PM
Last edit: February 08, 2014, 08:45:37 PM by PSL
 #14340

First of all, thanks a bunch for the Antminer U1 support. Smiley

3.12.3 running stable for two hours on my rpi. So far so good.

Just a thought, would be nice to have 12.5 MHz increments, allowing more specific fine tuning with +/- 100 GHash/s steps. Guess it's not that difficult implementing those values into the freq. table?

freq_hex freq_mhz ghash_s
0781   200.0   1.600
0801   212.5   1.700
0881   225.0   1.800
0901   237.5   1.900
0981   250.0   2.000
0A01   262.5   2.100
0A81   275.0   2.200

etc.
The documentation specifies only certain numbers, have you seen anywhere the values you mention? It's easy to hack the code if you wish to try them and report back Wink
Below the freq. table there is some additional information how to 'build your own' freq. hex values. Played around with the formular and found these values. Can confirm the additional mentioned 0801, 0901 and 0A01 working fine with Bitmain's cgminer fork, at least on my Antminers. Would be a pleasure testing a modified version (on a rpi or Windows PC) and reporting back. Smiley

That is COOL! It means that "HEX frequency" 0x1305 configures AntMinerU1 clock to run at 243.75 MHz and hash rate is about 1950 MHash/s! Tested with bfgminer that works with HEX frequency...

AntMiner clock can be tuned in 0.12 MHz steps, hashrate increased by 25 MHash/s.
Pages: « 1 ... 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 [717] 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!