Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:26:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 [686] 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821976 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 12:01:24 AM
 #13701

Help plz, if I have a laptop connected to several bfl asics, how do I open one window of cgminer for each?
Each use:
--usb BAS:1

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1481149593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149593
Reply with quote  #2

1481149593
Report to moderator
1481149593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149593
Reply with quote  #2

1481149593
Report to moderator
1481149593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149593
Reply with quote  #2

1481149593
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 863


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 12:05:12 AM
 #13702

Any chance of getting the Drillbit thumbs integrated? For some reason when I run 2 instances of cgminer, 1 for my BE's and 1 for DB thumbs, my laptop will crash. Not an issue with the laptop, it has been running for over a month with cgminer for the BE's and stratum proxy. 
Haven't got one yet - I'll probably be visiting him soon Smiley
So I've no idea what's required to make them work.

No problem. Just curious. Keep up the good work!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 01:26:41 AM
 #13703

My first rig runs r9 290's great with TC 30592. I have several other pc's which have the same cpu and ram and they just give memory buffer size errors. I tried lowering the TC and using 13 intensity but that gives HW errors. I'm not sure why the memory size is different on this one pc. Is there a solution for this?
GPU and scrypt mining is no longer supported by cgminer and offtopic on this thread.

It's still cgminer, so I would say that is on topic. What thread do you think I just downloaded it from. You should have renamed it and started a new thread. Then again you always were a jerk.

Be nice.  It's free.  And it's still the best around. 

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
December 03, 2013, 01:31:17 AM
 #13704

I am making a conscious decision and taking a stance to only support bitcoin by doing this and will consider all discussions regarding alternative cryptocurrencies as offtopic from here on. It is absolutely clear that we are in a stage where only ASICs matter in mining bitcoin, and cgminer is moving with the rapidly changing landscape that is bitcoin mining.
I for one was not sorry to read this, and fully support your decision. TY for all you do, and for taking a stance.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 01:52:31 AM
 #13705

Thanks. Next test, 3.8.4 please.

Happy to oblige as always.  Test ran for just under 2 hours before a zombie (AMU16) appeared.  Did the usual thing with debug, then stopped the test.

Logfile here:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-3.8.4.txt



Similar results here - 2 Win7 machines, each got zombies from time to time. In fact, each got a cluster of them at different times - haven't seen that behavior in a while. Both machines are fine with 3.8.4 at the moment.

 
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 01:58:54 AM
 #13706

Similar results here - 2 Win7 machines, each got zombies from time to time. In fact, each got a cluster of them at different times - haven't seen that behavior in a while. Both machines are fine with 3.8.4 at the moment.
Thanks. Yes that's the typical windows fail I've been trying to work around: When there's some kind of usb communication lag it affects everything on the bus. To be clear, when you get zombies, do they eventually re-hotplug for you? They do not for JMC

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 02:58:50 AM
 #13707

Similar results here - 2 Win7 machines, each got zombies from time to time. In fact, each got a cluster of them at different times - haven't seen that behavior in a while. Both machines are fine with 3.8.4 at the moment.
Thanks. Yes that's the typical windows fail I've been trying to work around: When there's some kind of usb communication lag it affects everything on the bus. To be clear, when you get zombies, do they eventually re-hotplug for you? They do not for JMC

They have been re-plugging very smoothly for the last few releases, but not so for these "cluster zombies" under 3.8.4 (one cluster of several zombies on each machine, at different times) - each seemed to need a hub replug, but with just the two samples I might not be reporting it precisely enough. No other anomalies for a while though, and no dynamic AMU reallocations since the clusters.
TwinTurbo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 08:40:22 AM
 #13708

I recently tried to flash my 2nd Gen 3-card Avalon with the latest CGMiner firmware, but after restarting the box it doesn't seem to start hashing. I finally just reverted back to the August firmware and restarted the box. Everything started hashing immediately again.

Did something change in the latest version that requires the configuration parameters to change or something? Perhaps is the November firmware not intended for the 2nd gen avalon?

Any pointers greatly appreciated!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 08:47:50 AM
 #13709

I recently tried to flash my 2nd Gen 3-card Avalon with the latest CGMiner firmware, but after restarting the box it doesn't seem to start hashing. I finally just reverted back to the August firmware and restarted the box. Everything started hashing immediately again.

Did something change in the latest version that requires the configuration parameters to change or something? Perhaps is the November firmware not intended for the 2nd gen avalon?

Any pointers greatly appreciated!
Yes, the firmware parameters are not compatible so you'd either have to try changing settings and saving them (not sure if this is enough), or resetting settings to default and setting your machine up from scratch (including the whole network setup part).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Notanon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Pastor of Muppets


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 09:21:26 AM
 #13710

Any chance of getting the Drillbit thumbs integrated? For some reason when I run 2 instances of cgminer, 1 for my BE's and 1 for DB thumbs, my laptop will crash. Not an issue with the laptop, it has been running for over a month with cgminer for the BE's and stratum proxy. 
Haven't got one yet - I'll probably be visiting him soon Smiley
So I've no idea what's required to make them work.

https://github.com/drillbitsystems/cgminer/releases/latest

That's a link to a forked version of 3.8.1 that Drillbit came up with, that might help to speed things up a bit. Smiley

AMHash
ASICMINERROCKMINER ● Purchase from: AMHash (20Th/s min) ● Havelock (1Gh/s min)
Cloud-mining contracts: 0.0012 BTC per Gh ● Maintenance fee: $0.001551 per Gh per day ● Upto 6% Christmas Bonus

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 10:14:48 AM
 #13711

Since the topic of other drivers is coming up more and more often, let me clarify/reiterate the situation regarding mainline cgminer driver support and new devices. If a regular contributor was to come along and prove themselves by extensive repeated quality code contribution to cgminer, I would be happy to include them amongst the official devs for cgminer and add them to the people with git push access to cgminer which currently numbers only the two of us.

If Kano and/or I have been offered new hardware, or offered support to develop drivers for hardware, we will develop and include the code in cgminer and actively maintain and develop it. With various manufacturers we have been engaged on this level at wildly different stages in development. Some very early in hardware development (like cointerra and hashfast), some just before distribution of the product (like BFLSC and bi*fury devices), some after the fact when manufacturer code and hardware has been out for a while (like kncminer and much later for avalon). These examples by no means include everyone. Our involvement in the driver has been proportional to the duration of our involvement.

If someone wishes to develop their own driver and are happy to maintain it for cgminer, they are welcome to submit a pull request for their code to the cgminer git tree - Note that it will not be instantly accepted but usually it's simply a matter of making their code consistent with cgminer and Kano and/or I will provide comments about what changes need to be made for the code to be included. While I can keep the code building satisfactorily with changes to cgminer, the onus will then fall upon the person who pushed the original code to maintain it and keep it up to date since neither Kano nor I can test changes to the driver without actually having the hardware ourselves. If down the track the original maintainer has not been keeping up to date with cgminer, and users report that the driver has stopped working, the original driver author will be contacted for fixes. If no fixes are forthcoming, the driver will then be removed from cgminer (this happened in the case of the ztex driver). With the very rapid pace of development of code in cgminer lately, this can happen all too easily. Historically this sort of code does not stand the test of time.

If there are drivers out there based on forked earlier cgminer code that we have never heard about, and the original author makes no attempt to get the code incorporated into cgminer, that code cannot be meaningfully incorporated into cgminer even if we're made aware of its existence for the same reason we cannot maintain code for hardware we don't have.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Zich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 03, 2013, 01:27:56 PM
 #13712


Bitburner Fury, getting roughly 52~54 gh/s.


I see  Smiley . I was dreaming for nanofury to work on Pi with cgminer
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 02:06:07 PM
 #13713

Similar results here - 2 Win7 machines, each got zombies from time to time. In fact, each got a cluster of them at different times - haven't seen that behavior in a while. Both machines are fine with 3.8.4 at the moment.
Thanks. Yes that's the typical windows fail I've been trying to work around: When there's some kind of usb communication lag it affects everything on the bus. To be clear, when you get zombies, do they eventually re-hotplug for you? They do not for JMC
Yes that's correct with the later versions (zombies stay as zombies), although sorry to labour the point, but they usually do re-plug automatically with 3.5.1 and earlier. Usually but not always!  I do get the occasional permanent failure with 3.5.1, but it is quite rare.  Also in 3.5.1, very occasionally an AMU just falls behind and/or just stops handling traffic (Accepted shares stops increasing and/or WU slowly decreases).  Just to clarify Smiley
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 02:42:17 PM
 #13714

ckolivas,

Would you please update KNC version of cgminer to 3.8.4.

Thank you
Done

I have been testing 3.8.4 version of cgminer miner for KNC.

It keeps crashing every so often.

Last time it crashed, it threw this error message: "*** Error in `/usr/bin/cgminer': malloc(): smallbin double linked list corrupted: 0xad2387a8 ***"

I would provide more details or core dumps if you tell me how
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 03:38:59 PM
 #13715

Similar results here - 2 Win7 machines, each got zombies from time to time. In fact, each got a cluster of them at different times - haven't seen that behavior in a while. Both machines are fine with 3.8.4 at the moment.
Thanks. Yes that's the typical windows fail I've been trying to work around: When there's some kind of usb communication lag it affects everything on the bus. To be clear, when you get zombies, do they eventually re-hotplug for you? They do not for JMC
Yes that's correct with the later versions (zombies stay as zombies), although sorry to labour the point, but they usually do re-plug automatically with 3.5.1 and earlier. Usually but not always!  I do get the occasional permanent failure with 3.5.1, but it is quite rare.  Also in 3.5.1, very occasionally an AMU just falls behind and/or just stops handling traffic (Accepted shares stops increasing and/or WU slowly decreases).  Just to clarify Smiley


We still seem to have differing behaviors. I just got one repluggable zombie in my 3.8.4 run, about 26.5 hours in.

Edit: just got another, also repluggable, a few minutes later.

Edit: and another, about 30 hours in. To summarize, I've had a few repluggable zombies and one cluster of several at once that appeared to require replugging the whole hub. My sense is that 3.8.4 is not reallocating any on-the-fly. My allocations now are AMU15-21, 23-25 and 28-30. I'm pretty sure the reallocation 15-n happened when I replugged the hubs (daisy-chained) and that the few reallocations since then have come from my replugging individual zombies, rather than cgminer detecting and reallocating on its own the way it did in other recent releases.

Edit: Something a bit different. At about 32 hours, the LED came on for AMU29 and I watched its hash rate dwindle to zero on the display. It was not flagged as a zombie though. I waited a few minutes then unplugged it, which caused it to be flagged as AMU0 and labelled a zombie. On replugging, it became AMU31 and the hash rate climbed back to normal. The run continues.

Edit: I eventually had to reboot for unrelated reasons. The followup run gets occasional zombies, all repluggable so far. Recently it had one unit flagged as a zombie and at the same time another with zero hashrate but not flagged. LEDs were on for both and both were repluggable.




evolvia31
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 11:29:33 AM
 #13716

Hi,

I have problem to compile cgminer Sad
Could you help me.

My system is FreeBSD 8.x

I have install all dependencies.
When i execute "./configure --with-system-libusb --enable-icarus", all works fine., i obtain this output:
Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.8.4
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  libcurl(GBT+getwork).: Enabled: -L/usr/local/lib -lcurl
  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses

  Avalon.ASICs.........: Disabled
  BlackArrow.ASICs.....: Disabled
  BFL.ASICs............: Disabled
  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  BitFury.ASICs........: Disabled
  Hashfast.ASICs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.ASICs/FPGAs...: Enabled
  Klondike.ASICs.......: Disabled
  KnC.ASICs............: Disabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -g -O2
  LDFLAGS..............:  -lpthread
  LDADD................: -ldl -L/usr/local/lib -lcurl  compat/jansson-2.5/src/.libs/libjansson.a -lpthread    -lm -lusb -lrt

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'sudo')
  prefix...............: /usr/local

But, when i execute make, i have this error:
Code:
xxxxx# make
make  all-recursive
Making all in lib
  GEN    signal.h
  GEN    string.h
make  all-recursive
  CC     memmem.o
  AR     libgnu.a
Making all in compat
Making all in jansson-2.5
"Makefile", line 825: Need an operator
make: fatal errors encountered -- cannot continue
*** Error code 1

Stop in /tmp/cgminer-3.8.4/compat.
*** Error code 1

Stop in /tmp/cgminer-3.8.4.
*** Error code 1

Stop in /tmp/cgminer-3.8.4.

BitCoin: 1Q5cDpQUrPi629FV1NfjFvuc6xN3Aw5ELe
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 11:32:11 AM
 #13717

Hi,

I have problem to compile cgminer Sad
Could you help me.

My system is FreeBSD 8.x

I have install all dependencies.
When i execute "./configure --with-system-libusb --enable-icarus", all works fine., i obtain this output:
Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.8.4
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  libcurl(GBT+getwork).: Enabled: -L/usr/local/lib -lcurl
  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses

  Avalon.ASICs.........: Disabled
  BlackArrow.ASICs.....: Disabled
  BFL.ASICs............: Disabled
  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  BitFury.ASICs........: Disabled
  Hashfast.ASICs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.ASICs/FPGAs...: Enabled
  Klondike.ASICs.......: Disabled
  KnC.ASICs............: Disabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -g -O2
  LDFLAGS..............:  -lpthread
  LDADD................: -ldl -L/usr/local/lib -lcurl  compat/jansson-2.5/src/.libs/libjansson.a -lpthread    -lm -lusb -lrt

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'sudo')
  prefix...............: /usr/local

But, when i execute make, i have this error:
Code:
"Makefile", line 825: Need an operator
It will only build with gcc. Are you trying to build with a different compiler?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
evolvia31
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 11:37:27 AM
 #13718

No,
I use gcc:

Code:
xxxxx# gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 4.2.1 20070719  [FreeBSD]
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.


BitCoin: 1Q5cDpQUrPi629FV1NfjFvuc6xN3Aw5ELe
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 11:38:54 AM
 #13719

No,
I use gcc:

Code:
xxxxx# gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 4.2.1 20070719  [FreeBSD]
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

No idea then sorry.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 939



View Profile
December 05, 2013, 12:00:04 PM
 #13720

No,
I use gcc:

Code:
xxxxx# gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 4.2.1 20070719  [FreeBSD]
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.


It's been a lot of years since I ran FreeBSD, but as I recall, the default 'make' command they use is BSD-specific and not compatible in all ways with the Gnu make that comes with GCC, so you typically have to tell it to use gmake explicitly when using some Gnu make makefiles.  I think if you type 'MAKE=gmake; gmake' it will probably work.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
Pages: « 1 ... 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 [686] 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!