Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2024, 11:25:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 [361] 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805211 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:04:30 PM
 #7201

Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.

❘|❘ NEUFUND Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
1713957931
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713957931

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713957931
Reply with quote  #2

1713957931
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713957931
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713957931

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713957931
Reply with quote  #2

1713957931
Report to moderator
1713957931
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713957931

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713957931
Reply with quote  #2

1713957931
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:10:39 PM
 #7202

Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:40:36 PM
 #7203

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)

Oh, I thought "d" was for "desktop mode."

❘|❘ NEUFUND Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 10:44:06 PM
 #7204

Here is my guide for people like me who are not familiar with linux to get cgminer running on a Raspberry Pi.  Note that dlasher and burger did 99% of the work here.  I just verified it and added some comments.  Thanks guys!  

Of course, big thanks to ckolivas and kano for doing the other 99.99% of the work writing cgminer.   Grin  The first week of my mined bitcoins will be donated to you two.  (If you think it is worth adding all or part of this to the README, please do.  Or just a link to this post?)

Start with a fresh install of the Raspbian OS.  I used the 2012-09-18 release.
On first boot, configure the keyboard, password, locale and timezone as appropriate.
Optionally, change the memory_split, ssh and boot_behavior.  
Choose "update" to get any recent updates.
Choose <Finish> and reboot.   (type "sudo reboot" at command prompt)

A) If you have choosen boot_behavior to boot direct to desktop, open an LXterminal window.

B) If you have choosen boot_behavior to NOT boot direct to desktop, log in.  You now have 2 choices:
  1) (recommended) type "startx" to start the desktop then open an LXterminal window.
  2) use the command line directly


All of the following commands are typed at the command line.
Do NOT type anything on lines starting with "##" (including the "##") as these are comments for you.

Code:
## Install all required tools
sudo apt-get install build-essential git dh-autoreconf libcurl4-gnutls-dev libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-dev libncurses-dev libudev-dev yasm screen
## This will ask you:
##    Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
## Press Y and Enter   (Then wait many minutes for it to finish)

## Get the latest version of cgminer
cd /usr/src
sudo git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

## Set the flags for the compiler
CFLAGS="-g -O2 -W -Wall"

## Configure cgminer
## Do not type any un-used options.  See the README of cgminer for details.
## For example if you do not have any Butterfly Labs hardware, to not type "--enable-bitforce"
sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-scrypt --enable-bitforce --enable-icarus  --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --with-libudev
## I have a BFL single so I used:
##    sudo ./autogen.sh --enable-bitforce --with-libudev
## Again, wait many minutes for this to finish
## When done, you should see a block of text that starts with something like this:
##    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
##    cgminer 2.7.6
##    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
##
##    Configuration Options Summary:
##
## If you do not see that or the last line is an error, do not continue.


## build cgminer
sudo make clean
sudo make
## Again, wait many minutes for this to finish

## Connect and power up your FPGA hardware then run cgminer
## Substitute the proper values you use for yourpool, yourport, youruser, and yourpassword
/usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -S auto -o http://www.yourpool.com:yourport -u youruser -p yourpassword

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 11:08:31 PM
 #7205

Quote from: ckolivas link=topic=28402.msg1228581#msg1228581
If you set the 7950 to dynamic intensity mode, you will be able to game without a problem without needing to disable it.

How do I set up dynamic intensity mode on GPU 0, but leave GPU 1 at 16? (using scrypt) I checked the readme again and nada.

I want to assume it's --intensity 12-16,16 but don't want to try that before asking here.
--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
Same code manages dynamic on scrypt so theoretically should work just as well.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 28, 2012, 11:38:24 PM
 #7206

Is there even a normal zip of the new cgminer on here? I feel like throwing my computer through the wall every time I come here, for the new update.
Use 7-zip - it's free and you won't be breaking the winzip license like almost everyone does with winzip ...
http://www.7-zip.org/

Why would you be breaking the license? It's a free download. Installing a new compression software on a dozen computers for no purpose, is absurd.

So wait, you're happy to go to great lengths to set up your hardware to mine, install special software for it to do so, drivers sdk etc and configure them, and then you're happy to download my free software from my website that I pay for for you to have free unrestricted access to, and you're complaining because you have to install 7z?


That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 11:56:21 PM
 #7207

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:13:46 AM
 #7208

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
PandaMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:26:37 AM
 #7209

--intensity d,16
(but I have no idea how well dynamic intensity works with scrypt Tongue)
Same code manages dynamic on scrypt so theoretically should work just as well.
But when I put "d" it goes down to 8, but at 12 I can still watch 1080 video with no video lag (just mouse lag). Besides, at i12 I hash at 153-159, and at i8 it goes WAY down to 21-25kh which is unacceptable.

I'll just leave it at 12 while working/watching video, and kick it on 16 when i go to sleep. Thanks.

❘|❘ NEUFUND Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 12:26:53 AM
 #7210

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 12:33:42 AM
 #7211

Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything.

Nor does he owe you anything...
Seriously, if you're so hung up about the compression format, don't use cgminer.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
http://www.fileserve.com/file/9S2RQxa/cgminer-2.7.6-win32.zip

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:34:00 AM
 #7212

I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.
You mean you don't download the same linux .iso files over and over, just because you can?! Then what fun is the internet?!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4466
Merit: 1798


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:52:47 AM
 #7213

...

That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.

Here's a zip copy. So no need to install 7z on every mining rig.
Move along nothing to see here

Downloading a windows executable zip from from a random irate user of free software - bad idea for anyone considering it ...

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
burger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:56:02 AM
 #7214

Thanks to dlasher, SAC, burger, and especially ckolivas and kano; my BFL single is now running on my R-Pi!  Soon I will re-post dlasher's guide with the corrections I used to make it work for me.  (First I will test with a fresh Raspbian install.)

Code:
cgminer version 2.7.6 - Started: [2012-09-28 13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):433.4 (avg):714.6 Mh/s | Q:4  A:12  R:0  HW:0  E:300%  U:17.1/m
 TQ: 0  ST: 2  SS: 0  DW: 1  NB: 2  LW: 15  GF: 0  RF: 0  WU: 18.5
 Connected to http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 with LP as user <myusername>
 Block: 00000038ba38b354b3fd8173cd55cebb...  Started: [13:26:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BFL 0:  45.7C         | 771.9/918.7Mh/s | A:13 R:0 HW:0 U:18.54/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2012-09-28 13:26:27] Started cgminer 2.7.6
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Probing for an alive pool
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Long-polling activated for http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337/LP
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 0 http://us1.eclipsemc.com:8337 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] New block detected on network before longpoll
 [2012-09-28 13:26:28] Pool 1 http://us.ozco.in:8331 alive
 [2012-09-28 13:26:33] Accepted 00e6e730 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:38] Accepted 09631bd0 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a45652a8 Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:43] Accepted a79f96ba Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0
 [2012-09-28 13:26:48] Accepted 280b28cf Diff 1 BFL 0 pool 0

Nice that you got it working!

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 02:33:17 AM
 #7215

Maybe you could've extracted it onto a flash drive from one computer and then just plug it into each miner? Seems easier than whining about the format.

... or unzip it and store on one machine, and copy the folder to the others ...

M
I just said that. Huh

Also, it'd be easier on ckolivas' server than redownloading it over and over.

You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 02:52:52 AM
 #7216

You said USB key.  There are inherent dangers with doing that, not to mention it requires walking around. Smiley

M
Yeah, how else are you going to get it onto the other machines? Dangers?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 03:45:18 AM
 #7217

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

Pretty much everyone's needs something that supports zip and rar files. Not sure why you assume I use winzip, but I don't. I do think its better to use a compression everyone already needs support for, unless there is a reason to do otherwise.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1090


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 04:34:50 AM
 #7218


That's exactly what I'm saying. Installing a special compression software for no purpose, is a waste of time. While I appreciate your efforts, I don't owe you anything. If your looking for compensation put a remote access app in the app store or something. Jumping through hoops just to satisfy someones ego is not on my agenda. It might make sense, if you gained something by using it.


Are you kidding me?

It makes sense because it creates an archive 1/3 the size of a .zip file.  Enough said.  A good compression/archival program is not exactly a special piece of software.  If it is too difficult for you maybe you should just turn your computer off and take it back to Wal-Mart.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:23:56 AM
 #7219

Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.

farfie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 05:36:29 AM
 #7220

I'd argue that you'd still have to install 7z or some program that can deal properly with zip files. While I haven't tried Vista's and 7's implementation, at least XP's was pretty broken. (Stuff like random error messages for proper zip files or files in an archive being silently ignored.)
I have a friend who stopped supporting people who used windows' zip to extract his program because he knew that'd fail. So, please, if you want to continue using that POS, go ahead, but do stop spamming this thread about it... Sad

Pretty much everyone's needs something that supports zip and rar files. Not sure why you assume I use winzip, but I don't. I do think its better to use a compression everyone already needs support for, unless there is a reason to do otherwise.

Off-topic, but like ck was saying, I can't believe someone that's so ahead of the curve technology wise (by even USING bitcoin) would be so against this. And then he goes on saying how there's "no point to using 7z". But there is a point, it's a better program, and the files it generates are better in every way, not to mention how lightweight 7z is in the first place.

Do you still use XP? A dumbphone? CRT television? Even if you do, it doesn't make you right, and doesn't mean you're making the right choice. Technology won't stagnate just because you're unwilling to move forward with the rest of us. That's the whole point of technology in the first place, since it seems you have forgotten. But then you also had the gall to come in here with your ignorance, complain about 7z while arguing with multiple people as if you knew it wasn't a good program. Does it ever end?

Hey guys,

I can't seem to run CGMiner with the --scrypt option.
I always run into the following error, followed by CGMiner disabling all GPUs and the crashing (dialog of the program is not responding comes up).

Anyone know why?
I have 3 5970s.

http://i45.tinypic.com/11hwjr7.png

Sorry if this is obvious, but first, try using the latest cgminer.
Also, that little echo script thing you have goin on is mega cute bro. Mad props.
Pages: « 1 ... 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 [361] 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!