Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:36:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 [658] 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818012 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 01:19:08 AM
 #13141

Edit: the chop1 test is interesting. No failures yet, one hour in. From time to time random LEDs put on a festive but somewhat scary display, for many seconds, often four or five at a time.
Also, the hash rate reported soars randomly from time to time, no apparent correlation with the LED lights. An AMU will show well over 400, sometimes well over 500 Mh/s, then slowly drift back to a normal 333 or so. I don't recall seeing this behavior before, but perhaps I've just missed it. The test continues.
Thanks.

If you didn't have enough to test, here's 2 more.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-zlp.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-zlpcps10.exe


The chop1 test is 3+ hours old and no failures yet. It just did something dramatic though - all 13 AMU LEDs came on at about the same time and the BAL fan throttled down and its hash rate dropped somewhat. A few seconds later everything was back to normal. No smoke, no flames, no melted solder - I'll stay with it a while unless it fails.       Smiley
Heh odd. The ZLP is likely a very real fix for an issue though, and hopefully it's a related issue to what's biting you and indirectly fixed with the chop1 executable. It still doesn't sound like normal behaviour even if it hasn't outright failed, though bear in mind a couple of pools are under ddos yet again so that might be related Tongue

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480934175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934175
Reply with quote  #2

1480934175
Report to moderator
1480934175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934175
Reply with quote  #2

1480934175
Report to moderator
1480934175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934175
Reply with quote  #2

1480934175
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934175
Reply with quote  #2

1480934175
Report to moderator
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 01:25:28 AM
 #13142

If its flashing than coming back on , did you notice if it said "new block detected , Pool requests restart". At least when I was using eclipseMC that would completely stop mining and then start back up for each block. Another pool does that but it doesn't restart . Eclipse found so many blocks at one point that I had to switch to another pool or just unplug my eroupters.

That's my easy excuse for the calming fans and lights.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 01:49:04 AM
 #13143

If its flashing than coming back on , did you notice if it said "new block detected , Pool requests restart". At least when I was using eclipseMC that would completely stop mining and then start back up for each block. Another pool does that but it doesn't restart . Eclipse found so many blocks at one point that I had to switch to another pool or just unplug my eroupters.

That's my easy excuse for the calming fans and lights.

As far as I can tell there has been only one message since startup (in the console window) for this run, and that was when Icarus hotplugged the last AMU. Each of these tests seems to have different patterns at startup. Sometimes they are all quick, sometimes there's a pause after a few, and sometimes it thinks it has to hotplug the last one or two. Anyway - no pool-requested restarts on this run that I know of. I have seen that kind of message in the past though. I've been using Slush for most of these tests, and stats there for my miners look pretty normal, within the usual error factors, I think.

Anyway, thanks for the tip and I'll keep my eyes open for pool restart messages. Another tester has been logging his tests (see upthread), so that might help pin things down too.
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 01:57:19 AM
 #13144

Edit: the chop1 test is interesting. No failures yet, one hour in. From time to time random LEDs put on a festive but somewhat scary display, for many seconds, often four or five at a time.
Also, the hash rate reported soars randomly from time to time, no apparent correlation with the LED lights. An AMU will show well over 400, sometimes well over 500 Mh/s, then slowly drift back to a normal 333 or so. I don't recall seeing this behavior before, but perhaps I've just missed it. The test continues.
Thanks.

If you didn't have enough to test, here's 2 more.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-zlp.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-zlpcps10.exe


The chop1 test is 3+ hours old and no failures yet. It just did something dramatic though - all 13 AMU LEDs came on at about the same time and the BAL fan throttled down and its hash rate dropped somewhat. A few seconds later everything was back to normal. No smoke, no flames, no melted solder - I'll stay with it a while unless it fails.       Smiley
Heh odd. The ZLP is likely a very real fix for an issue though, and hopefully it's a related issue to what's biting you and indirectly fixed with the chop1 executable. It still doesn't sound like normal behaviour even if it hasn't outright failed, though bear in mind a couple of pools are under ddos yet again so that might be related Tongue

OK. I'll set chop1 aside and try zlp next. Chop1 has gone almost 4 hours without failure, but it's lively to watch. I'll probably leave zlp unattended for the next 9 hours or so if it gets off to a good start.

Edit: Yikes - zlp is off to a very bad start. Tons of error messages, but they scroll quickly. Let's see - AMU0 Timeout sendwork took (about 2 seconds) but was (about 1 second) sendwork USB write error 7 LIBUSB_ERR_TIMEOUT - that's about all I can grab while it scrolls. It's all intermingled with "accepted" messages from the BAL unit. I've left it running for now in the hope that it might stabilize.

Edit: Did a quick test of zlpcps10 and got similar errors to zlp. I was in too much of a hurry though and didn't disconnect the hubs between tests, so I should test it again. I'm out of time right now though, so I have set it back to running chop1. I'll check the thread in about 10 hours.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 02:36:39 AM
 #13145

Yeah zlp were done blind. Seems they're broken so no one else should bother testing them.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 05:04:18 AM
 #13146

Next AMU windows test binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rs.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jesse11
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


Ants Rock


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:32:41 AM
 #13147


You still have: WTF RDLOCK ERROR ON LOCK! in the binary.

Mining with: BE's,BE Cubes, K16's, AntMiners U1's and AntMiners S1's
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 11:56:52 AM
 #13148


You still have: WTF RDLOCK ERROR ON LOCK! in the binary.
As I said, that was the AMU binary.

Here's one for you:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-nogpu.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:06:16 PM
 #13149

Yeah zlp were done blind. Seems they're broken so no one else should bother testing them.

Whew - I was afraid I'd done something goofy - I was in a big rush at the time. No problem, where were we?... I'll stop the chop1 test now. It ran for about 10 hours and has (only) one zombie.

I'll test the "rs" version shortly.


jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:16:06 PM
 #13150


If you didn't have enough to test, here's 2 more.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-zlp.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-zlpcps10.exe

EDIT: Broken, don't bother.

OK, so a bit more testing done this morning on the following 3 builds, using 34 Erupters on 3 Anker 10-port hubs plus a 4-port Silvercrest oldie, all hubs powered off/on before each test, results as follows:

cgminer-cwa16: The first solid LED on an AMU came on after about 30 minutes. No zombie reported - just the
                       hash count slowly declining to zero.  Loads of timeout errors scrolling up the console.

cgminer-chop1: First zombie after about 22 minutes and the usual timeout errors from others.

cgminer-rs:       Three zombies within 10-14 minutes and other AMUs with zero hash count. Loads of timeouts.

Logfiles (without --debug) here if required:
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-cwa16.txt
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-chop1.txt
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-rs.txt


So I'm back to mining on 3.3.1 after completing the above tests and everything is running perfectly.  I would stick with 3.3.1 except that it doesn't always show all the devices on startup, and doesn't handle hot-plugging as well as the later builds.  Perhaps we can't have everything?!





-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 12:17:40 PM
 #13151

So I'm back to mining on 3.3.1 after completing the above tests and everything is running perfectly.  I would stick with 3.3.1 except that it doesn't always show all the devices on startup, and doesn't handle hot-plugging as well as the later builds.  Perhaps we can't have everything?!
Why the fuck not goddamnit Sad

And why 3.3.1? Did it break precisely at 3.3.2?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:23:58 PM
 #13152

Puzzling that chop1 was almost error-free for me (if you don't count the festive LED displays) but fairly poor for jmc1517. Messy stuff.

"rs" is looking good for me, 10 minutes in.

Edit: Oops, AMU8 went zombie, 15 minutes in.

techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 12:25:07 PM
 #13153

Maybe that's the last one to support windows xp. There's at least one poster posting problems with xp.

Feel free to change the words for what you feel.


Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 12:29:24 PM
 #13154

And here's two more.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rs8.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-rs10.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:34:55 PM
 #13155

So I'm back to mining on 3.3.1 after completing the above tests and everything is running perfectly.  I would stick with 3.3.1 except that it doesn't always show all the devices on startup, and doesn't handle hot-plugging as well as the later builds.  Perhaps we can't have everything?!
Why the fuck not goddamnit Sad

And why 3.3.1? Did it break precisely at 3.3.2?


Good question!  The answer is - I don't know as I went directly from 3.3.1 to 3.6.4 which was the latest at that time.

I had taken my eye off software-updates as I had 3.3.1 working perfectly (except for the "sometimes not showing all the devices when starting up" problem, and the "unable to recover an AMU by unplugging/replugging" problem).  But since I get hardly any problems with AMUs going down under 3.3.1, the hotplug problem isn't really a concern, just a "nice-to-have."

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if they are still available, and if it would help?

Edit:  Currently running 3.3.4.  I'll do a 2 hour test on selected builds until I hit the one where it breaks Smiley 
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:41:05 PM
 #13156


Running rs8 now.

Edit: zombie about 15 minutes into the run. Trying rs10 shortly.

Edit: zombie from rs10 about 10 minutes into the run. I'll leave rs10 running.

Edit: it couldn't recover so I restarted and got 4 zombies within 6 minutes. "rs10" isn't my fave among the recent candidates.       Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 12:55:40 PM
 #13157

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help? 
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:58:11 PM
 #13158

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help?  
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).
I'll try to find it.  Seems like as good a plan as any.  Starting with 3.3.4...  Cool
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 01:10:31 PM
 #13159

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help?  
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).
I'll try to find it.  Seems like as good a plan as any.  Starting with 3.3.4...  Cool


I'm fairly sure the bug was present in 3.4.3, fwiw.
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 05:26:41 PM
 #13160

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help?  
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).
I'll try to find it.  Seems like as good a plan as any.  Starting with 3.3.4...  Cool

I'm fairly sure the bug was present in 3.4.3, fwiw.
Hmmm, interesting. I'm not seeing that.  It seems to have occurred much later for me.

I'm doing binary chop testing to localise the onset of the bug among the 11 releases between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4.  Initially just running a 2-hour (maximum) test on each version, but stopping immediately I get a zombie. I will go back and verify with a longer run as soon as I find the last "perfect" version!

Results so far:

3.3.1 - ok
3.3.4 - ok
3.4.0 -
3.4.1 -
3.4.2 -
3.4.3 - ok
3.5.0 -  
3.5.1 - ok
3.6.0 - does not run. All AMU LEDS full on. No AMUs detected?
3.6.1 - ZOMBIE
3.6.2 -
3.6.3 -
3.6.4 - ZOMBIE
3.6.6 - ZOMBIE

Edit: 3.5.1 ran for 2 hours, no problems.  3.6.0 will not start for me - it does not seem to "see" the AMUs at all.
       3.6.1 runs but gives zombies, so it looks as if the bug was introduced (probably) at the 3.6.x build.

I am currently running 3.5.1 as a long term test to ensure it is as stable as 3.3.1 is (for me).  2012-10-30 @ 19:20
Pages: « 1 ... 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 [658] 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!