Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:10:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 [652] 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828040 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 03:52:24 AM
 #13021

Sure, but just be aware that many distros include libusbx and not libusb native, and that libusbx is LESS reliable despite being a later version which is precisely why I include the one that I want people to use in-tree.

Oups. then maybe we should report that to the maintainer as this is precisely what all ArchLinux users are using with cgminer binary package:

Code:
lano1106@whippet2 /var/abs/community/cgminer $ pacman -Qs libusb
local/libgusb 0.1.6-1
    GLib wrapper around libusb1
local/libusbx 1.0.17-1
    Library that provides generic access to USB device

Indeed, especially since I spent a lot of time trying to shoehorn it into the build process seamlessly considering I can't seem to make heads or tails out of autotools after all these years...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 11:01:32 AM
 #13022

TeckNet USB3.0 hub, BFL Jala 7.5GH, 8 BEs, Win7 x64, got zombied BEs few times. Was ok with 3.5.1.
Did you try experimental .exes in the temp directory? Some fixes there.
Tried, zombies with them too. All 3.6.x has this issue.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 11:14:27 AM
 #13023

TeckNet USB3.0 hub, BFL Jala 7.5GH, 8 BEs, Win7 x64, got zombied BEs few times. Was ok with 3.5.1.
Did you try experimental .exes in the temp directory? Some fixes there.
Tried, zombies with them too. All 3.6.x has this issue.
* ckolivas laughs hysterically as he completely loses his marbles

I can't believe it. I spend ages fixing a billion problems with windows for some people, and somehow the solution presents a problem in windows for someone else...

Try newer exes just uploaded in temp directory please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1281


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 11:53:56 AM
 #13024

TeckNet USB3.0 hub, BFL Jala 7.5GH, 8 BEs, Win7 x64, got zombied BEs few times. Was ok with 3.5.1.
Did you try experimental .exes in the temp directory? Some fixes there.
Tried, zombies with them too. All 3.6.x has this issue.
* ckolivas laughs hysterically as he completely loses his marbles

I can't believe it. I spend ages fixing a billion problems with windows for some people, and somehow the solution presents a problem in windows for someone else...

Try newer exes just uploaded in temp directory please.

Just started the new ones, working fine in the first few minutes. Like some other posters, I've been having random zombies for a while, 3.4.x IIRC, including with the previous experimental exes.
Looking good right now though, but it often takes many hours before the first zombie appears.

Thanks for working on it - nasty challenge!

Edit: 3 minutes later, first zombie just appeared. Sorry.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 12:13:22 PM
 #13025

腹切り
切腹

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 12:39:34 PM
 #13026

Edit: 3 minutes later, first zombie just appeared. Sorry.
Run it in full debug mode storing the log somewhere until the zombies appear to see what it might be that provokes them.

i.e. start it with the extra commands: -D 2>log.txt
and send me the log.txt file.

Note that if, despite all the absurd extra code I put in, you are still having problems, it may not be code at all, so check connections, power cables, adequate power, OS etc.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 12:53:38 PM
 #13027

Minor heads up, there is a newer version of zadig, and I have uploaded it to my website, BUT it contains the same version of the WinUSB driver so it will not change the performance or the behaviour of the drivers once they're installed/assigned.

I was hoping it would have. I want more programs to see my devices on windows.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1281


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 01:25:34 PM
 #13028


Note that if, despite all the absurd extra code I put in, you are still having problems, it may not be code at all, so check connections, power cables, adequate power, OS etc.

I know, and I keep trying to isolate such things but no clear result yet other than - one of my machines ran 24/7 for weeks without a single anomaly, no zombies or crashes, on 3.1.something but two of my machines started to have random zombies on all versions from 3.4 on. I'm not saying cgminer is flawed - the later versions might have uncovered some previously unseen Windows bug, for instance, but the problems (for me) seemed to start after 3.1.

Because of this, I'm fairly sure it's not most of the things you list, but it could certainly be OS, which for me is latest Win7 64.

Gotta do some dirtspace things for most of the day, but I'll get a log Real Soon Now and also set a machine back to 3.1 and see if it becomes stable again.

Edit: changed to 3.1 from incorrect 3.3 in several places.
 

josephliton
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 01:56:49 PM
 #13029

can anyone  help me out please,I am using cg miner ,I want to split my hashing asic power in two different mining pool but in one pool it will be 1 GHz and other pool will have the rest of the hashing power,is there any way do to do this.

Thanks.

twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 03:32:23 PM
 #13030

can anyone  help me out please,I am using cg miner ,I want to split my hashing asic power in two different mining pool but in one pool it will be 1 GHz and other pool will have the rest of the hashing power,is there any way do to do this.

Thanks.


Yes, you can do this.  Read the README document.  Search for the section 'QUOTAS'.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README


Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
josephliton
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 04:27:23 PM
 #13031

can anyone  help me out please,I am using cg miner ,I want to split my hashing asic power in two different mining pool but in one pool it will be 1 GHz and other pool will have the rest of the hashing power,is there any way do to do this.

Thanks.


Yes, you can do this.  Read the README document.  Search for the section 'QUOTAS'.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README



Thank you .

Blisk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 05:32:41 PM
 #13032

What i mostly miss in this mining software is central managed clients software where i can manage a client from one comuputer.
for instance, Like I have 10 client computers where all are in network connected to server, so I have on server an administration software to define when cgminer is runned on client computer with pre defined intensity. So in morning hours intensity is low when people work on computers and out of working hours intensity is high when nobody works on them. On administration software I can see a video card, temperatures, etc. for each client and can set for each client differend setting for differend hours. I will pay for that software like 3$ per client licence. I am soure many other wil do too.
I know many companies where computer are newer turned off, so why can't someone use it for mining at that time?
And we all knows that many use that computer to mine. Bitcoin is almost over but there are new currency which will go on. And script mining have some flaws, like dynamic intensity doesn't work well.
And I have permission from company ovner to use those 10 computers to mine after working hours.
So what I need is client software and administration software for client. Maybe is there someone which will do that?

vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 05:41:11 PM
 #13033

Edit: 3 minutes later, first zombie just appeared. Sorry.
Run it in full debug mode storing the log somewhere until the zombies appear to see what it might be that provokes them.

i.e. start it with the extra commands: -D 2>log.txt
and send me the log.txt file.

Note that if, despite all the absurd extra code I put in, you are still having problems, it may not be code at all, so check connections, power cables, adequate power, OS etc.
Latest binaries are ok for last 4 hours for me. Still logging just in case.
By the way is that only me using --text-only to get proper debug.log?
That -D 2 > log.txt does not work in windows for me. Is there a way to log and keep console updating in windows?
PS. That was great to know about quotas Smiley
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 05:50:15 PM
 #13034

So CGMiner isn't going to support the 290X and similar cards, correct?
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 941



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 05:56:07 PM
 #13035

腹切り
切腹


I put this in Google translate, and it said:

Belly cut ri
Seppuku

Are you threatening suicide here?  Shocked




Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 06:03:37 PM
 #13036

腹切り
切腹


I put this in Google translate, and it said:

Belly cut ri
Seppuku

Are you threatening suicide here?

:O
Dealing with Windows can make anyone feel suicidal. He's obviously joking though. Tongue

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 08:46:22 PM
 #13037

Edit: 3 minutes later, first zombie just appeared. Sorry.
Run it in full debug mode storing the log somewhere until the zombies appear to see what it might be that provokes them.

i.e. start it with the extra commands: -D 2>log.txt
and send me the log.txt file.

Note that if, despite all the absurd extra code I put in, you are still having problems, it may not be code at all, so check connections, power cables, adequate power, OS etc.
Latest binaries are ok for last 4 hours for me. Still logging just in case.
By the way is that only me using --text-only to get proper debug.log?
That -D 2 > log.txt does not work in windows for me. Is there a way to log and keep console updating in windows?
PS. That was great to know about quotas Smiley
Note that "-D 2>log.txt" works in windows as well, and does not need to be in text only mode. Note also there is no space after the 2. However the windows log file might not flush until cgminer shuts down due to the way windows writes to files so it may look zero sized indefinitely.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:04:36 PM
 #13038

can we manually edit the config file and have it still work? V3.3.1

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 09:06:59 PM
 #13039

can we manually edit the config file and have it still work? V3.3.1
Of course. If you're lucky you can also hit restart and it will pick up the config changes and restart... though restart hasn't been entirely reliable for some versions (hopefully that will be fixed in the next version due out later today).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:16:05 PM
 #13040

can we manually edit the config file and have it still work? V3.3.1
Of course. If you're lucky you can also hit restart and it will pick up the config changes and restart... though restart hasn't been entirely reliable for some versions (hopefully that will be fixed in the next version due out later today).

ok,thanks. can't hit restart. both my main and fallback pools are coming up unavailable. so i can either let it try every 15 sec.s or quit. Since i'm running ubuntu 12.4 i can't seem to upgrade to the newer versions. This was a case of "if it ain't broke..." Today it feels like everything i have is broke. Tongue

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Pages: « 1 ... 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 [652] 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!