Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:54:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 [681] 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824876 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:45:43 AM
 #13601

In two my laptops (Samsung and Toshiba) the BEs in Tecknet USB 3.0 10 port hub works stable only if hub is connected to one of USB port and does not using another.
Write timeouts appears there. What it can be the difference in laptops USB ports?
WinUSB driver 6.1.7600.16385 is in use, set up by zadig utility. OSes are different, win 8 x64 and win 7 x64.

Is the non working port blue?  I have yet to get cgminer to work with a usb minor on a usb 3.0 (blue) port.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
1481298843
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298843

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298843
Reply with quote  #2

1481298843
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481298843
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298843

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298843
Reply with quote  #2

1481298843
Report to moderator
1481298843
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298843

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298843
Reply with quote  #2

1481298843
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 11:47:39 AM
 #13602

Wasn't there a scrypt readme somewhere? I can't find it anymore  Lips sealed
No scrypt support any more.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 01:56:40 PM
 #13603

So, having returned from holiday leaving "ymmv" running unattended for 2 weeks, I found 1 reported zombie and another 4 or 5 AMUs which had a very low WU, and had obviously been doing nothing for a while.  While I was away I was monitoring my pool hash rate and noticed that it slowly dropped from an expected 11 Gh/s to around 9.x over the two weeks which ties in with the above findings.

I restarted "ymmv" but got several random LEDs coming full on for a few seconds at a time then going off again. Obviously not happy, so I then reverted to running 3.5.1 which ran perfectly and has been doing so all night with no zombies and all WU's between 4.6 - 4.8.  This build is so stable!

I guess I will try 3.8.3 next unless there are other suggestions?
randoint
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 05:00:39 PM
 #13604

Just curious as to if anyone has tried this with Klondike units. The change log didn't provide specific references to them and I'm not home to test it out.
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 05:51:22 PM
 #13605

Capitalising on the fact that I saw that dud cores are better disabled, here's an experimental binary that tunes things fairly aggressively:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

First it enables all cores on startup (so it can take a while before it starts mining!)
Then it will disable cores after only 3 hw errors in a row, but staggers disabling of cores 5 seconds apart.
Then it tries re-enabling cores after only another minute, but staggers re-enabling them.
If the cores fail 3 times in a row, they're decommissioned at that point.



Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2

Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:42:58 PM
 #13606

Quote
Random quote that appears to have nothing to do with the actual question.
Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2
Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?

Did you try a valid command?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 07:23:24 PM
 #13607

Is there a way to force cgminer to ignore a specific device? I use a FTDI based USB to serial convertor to control an RS232 Power Distribution Unit. It doesn't seem to affect the mining, but it's pretty annoying to have constant Incorrect Driver messages scroll across the screen.
soapmodem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:13:57 PM
 #13608

Quote
Random quote that appears to have nothing to do with the actual question.
Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2
Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?

Did you try a valid command?
This version of cgminer takes 10-15 seconds to boot up, because of the enabling of cores beforehand (presumably)...  'screen -rd' works, you just have to wait a while for it to launch.

Also, ckolivas, would it be possible to make available the previous kncminer 3.8.2 (without the tuning)? I was getting better hashrates overall on both of my machines with that one, for whatever reason. Thanks.
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:38:52 PM
 #13609

Quote
Random quote that appears to have nothing to do with the actual question.
Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2
Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?

Did you try a valid command?
This version of cgminer takes 10-15 seconds to boot up, because of the enabling of cores beforehand (presumably)...  'screen -rd' works, you just have to wait a while for it to launch.

Also, ckolivas, would it be possible to make available the previous kncminer 3.8.2 (without the tuning)? I was getting better hashrates overall on both of my machines with that one, for whatever reason. Thanks.

I'm trying the same commands as I did with version 3.8.1 like "pools", "summary", and others
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 04:19:48 AM
 #13610

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 04:21:44 AM
 #13611

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:06:44 AM
 #13612

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Well here's a screen capture.

I had moved the Jalapeno to an old low power machine and got this.  On my normal rig it works fine.  So I'm not sure it's not a problem on my old machine.

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.3 - Started: [2013-11-23 22:47:12]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:9  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 23  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 4 with stratum as user os2sam_Jalape
 Block: 6eb3b7ad...  Diff:609M  Started: [22:47:12]  Best share: 0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAJ 0:  max 25C 3.49V |  0.000/ 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 WU:0.0/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-23 22:47:02] Started cgminer 3.8.3
 [2013-11-23 22:47:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] Pool 2 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-11-23 22:47:14] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:16] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:18] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:19] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:22] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:10x0aCOUNT:20x0a9FF7FB8
A5F26106934BA7BA68FEB1F1D693B8B1`636DD791B2F53AAAE3CEDB,FEA0DFDF529185321907
,00x0a57C7A36DC1291`574DA63990BBCC160x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:31] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:39] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 05:09:44 AM
 #13613

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Well here's a screen capture.

I had moved the Jalapeno to an old low power machine and got this.  On my normal rig it works fine.  So I'm not sure it's not a problem on my old machine.

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.3 - Started: [2013-11-23 22:47:12]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:9  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 23  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 4 with stratum as user os2sam_Jalape
 Block: 6eb3b7ad...  Diff:609M  Started: [22:47:12]  Best share: 0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAJ 0:  max 25C 3.49V |  0.000/ 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 WU:0.0/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-23 22:47:02] Started cgminer 3.8.3
 [2013-11-23 22:47:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] Pool 2 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-11-23 22:47:14] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:16] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:18] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:19] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:22] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:10x0aCOUNT:20x0a9FF7FB8
A5F26106934BA7BA68FEB1F1D693B8B1`636DD791B2F53AAAE3CEDB,FEA0DFDF529185321907
,00x0a57C7A36DC1291`574DA63990BBCC160x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:31] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:39] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
Ah I see. The BAJ should only respond with text data that is in hexadecimal form and is sending back corrupted data that is not so it can't decipher the messages. Might happen on startup with an indeterminate device state with old data or with usb corruption.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:15:45 AM
 #13614

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Well here's a screen capture.

I had moved the Jalapeno to an old low power machine and got this.  On my normal rig it works fine.  So I'm not sure it's not a problem on my old machine.

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.3 - Started: [2013-11-23 22:47:12]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:9  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 23  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 4 with stratum as user os2sam_Jalape
 Block: 6eb3b7ad...  Diff:609M  Started: [22:47:12]  Best share: 0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAJ 0:  max 25C 3.49V |  0.000/ 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 WU:0.0/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-23 22:47:02] Started cgminer 3.8.3
 [2013-11-23 22:47:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] Pool 2 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-11-23 22:47:14] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:16] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:18] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:19] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:22] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:10x0aCOUNT:20x0a9FF7FB8
A5F26106934BA7BA68FEB1F1D693B8B1`636DD791B2F53AAAE3CEDB,FEA0DFDF529185321907
,00x0a57C7A36DC1291`574DA63990BBCC160x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:31] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:39] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
Ah I see. The BAJ should only respond with text data that is in hexadecimal form and is sending back corrupted data that is not so it can't decipher the messages. Might happen on startup with an indeterminate device state with old data or with usb corruption.

So it sounds like it's not a CGMiner problem then.  So I'll just keep it on my regular rig until I build a newer, more current machine.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 12:31:38 PM
 #13615

So, having returned from holiday leaving "ymmv" running unattended for 2 weeks, I found 1 reported zombie and another 4 or 5 AMUs which had a very low WU, and had obviously been doing nothing for a while.  While I was away I was monitoring my pool hash rate and noticed that it slowly dropped from an expected 11 Gh/s to around 9.x over the two weeks which ties in with the above findings.

I restarted "ymmv" but got several random LEDs coming full on for a few seconds at a time then going off again. Obviously not happy, so I then reverted to running 3.5.1 which ran perfectly and has been doing so all night with no zombies and all WU's between 4.6 - 4.8.  This build is so stable!

I guess I will try 3.8.3 next unless there are other suggestions?

3.8.3 is the next one to test...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 12:33:48 PM
 #13616

Thank you for the update.

Do you think this version should help with my USB device in use issue?

Quote
I use Raspberry PI and ASIC Butterfly 30 GHs.

I have configured auto start of cgminer 3.8.2, which works perfectly.

But it always reports "USB device in use" type of message, if I remove power cord and put it back in this case. (My test of auto recovery.)
I need to manually delete /tmp/cgminer-usb-1-4 file then to cgminer be able to access the ASIC USB device.

Could you advice how to automate process the way that the cgminer will always have access to USB device?
It's supposed to be automated... Seems to be that the restart never works on these devices. Only quit followed by starting cgminer again does. Are you using the restart command or doing quit followed by starting it again?

EDIT: Are you SURE there isn't another cgminer running? That's what that's there for in the first place...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 03:04:12 PM
 #13617

So, having returned from holiday leaving "ymmv" running unattended for 2 weeks, I found 1 reported zombie and another 4 or 5 AMUs which had a very low WU, and had obviously been doing nothing for a while.  While I was away I was monitoring my pool hash rate and noticed that it slowly dropped from an expected 11 Gh/s to around 9.x over the two weeks which ties in with the above findings.

I restarted "ymmv" but got several random LEDs coming full on for a few seconds at a time then going off again. Obviously not happy, so I then reverted to running 3.5.1 which ran perfectly and has been doing so all night with no zombies and all WU's between 4.6 - 4.8.  This build is so stable!

I guess I will try 3.8.3 next unless there are other suggestions?

3.8.3 is the next one to test...
Started the test of cgminer-3.8.3 at 13:57. First zombie (AMU20) appeared briefly at 14:05 but it auto-started working again as AMU34.  Two more zombies appeared at 14:12 and 14:24 (AMU10 and AMU13) and they did not recover.

I stopped the test at 14:49 as there didn't seem to be much point in continuing.  The previous run of 3.5.1 was rock-solid for 13 hours, and I've included a screenshot of it at the top of logfile-3.8.3.  All looks well with that run to me - no anomalies.  Unfortunately I didn't manage to produce a screenshot of 3.8.3 before stopping it as the CMD window seemed to be continually refreshing and it wouldn't "hold" a selection to enable copying.

Logfile is here (without --debug):
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-3.8.3.txt

Back to 3.5.1 for the time being then...
hhs99
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

I also do 3D printing for BTC


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 07:08:04 PM
 #13618

I have a machine with 2 nvidia cards in it and i get this when I try to run it. I want to play around with cgminer before my new cards get here.

Quote
cgminer: /usr/lib/nvidia-current/libOpenCL.so.1: no version information available (required by cgminer)
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] Error -1001: clGetPlatformsIDs failed (no OpenCL SDK installed?)
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable             
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] 0 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] USB all: found 10 devices - listing known devices       
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] No known USB devices
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 07:19:33 PM
 #13619

I have a machine with 2 nvidia cards in it and i get this when I try to run it. I want to play around with cgminer before my new cards get here.

Quote
cgminer: /usr/lib/nvidia-current/libOpenCL.so.1: no version information available (required by cgminer)
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] Error -1001: clGetPlatformsIDs failed (no OpenCL SDK installed?)
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable             
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] 0 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] USB all: found 10 devices - listing known devices       
 [2013-11-24 14:06:06] No known USB devices


cgminer no longer supports GPU mining.  you need an earlier version for that. 

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
hhs99
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

I also do 3D printing for BTC


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 07:48:08 PM
 #13620

Im using 3.1.3045 from the ubuntu ppa
Pages: « 1 ... 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 [681] 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!