Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:06:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 [639] 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824272 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
pepto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 06:46:55 PM
 #12761

'Usually you remove all of your BE's but one, have Zadig install the WinUSB driver for it and then add your remaining BE's and they should all default the the WinUSB driver after that.'

I haven't tried that but will. Probably be tomorrow till I report again.
If it works, what should I expect if I need to restart, will I have to do the one at a time thing every time?
1481263569
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263569

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263569
Reply with quote  #2

1481263569
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263569
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263569

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263569
Reply with quote  #2

1481263569
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 07:00:34 PM
 #12762

If it works, what should I expect if I need to restart, will I have to do the one at a time thing every time?

You only need to run Zadig to install the WinUSB driver once.  On reboot they should come up to WinUSB every time.  If you need to use a different driver you can run Zadig again and select a different driver.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
pepto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 08:14:55 PM
 #12763

You only need to run Zadig to install the WinUSB driver once.  On reboot they should come up to WinUSB every time. If you need to use a different driver you can run Zadig again and select a different driver.

Holy Moly, I was good until now. What does it  mean 'if I need to select a different driver'? I have a choice?
I'm windows 7. I need WinUSB. Hopefully you're referring to drivers for linux et al.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 08:33:18 PM
 #12764

You only need to run Zadig to install the WinUSB driver once.  On reboot they should come up to WinUSB every time. If you need to use a different driver you can run Zadig again and select a different driver.

Holy Moly, I was good until now. What does it  mean 'if I need to select a different driver'? I have a choice?
I'm windows 7. I need WinUSB. Hopefully you're referring to drivers for linux et al.



Sorry!

All I was trying to say was *If* you wanted to use some other driver for *anything* you changed with Zadig you could always change it to something else.

You should never need to change the driver again.  As far as I know.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 09:01:47 PM
 #12765

mdude77 says "Zadig is needed for 3.1.1.  It will prevent 3.5.0 from working.  Depending on your hardware, you may be able to run 3.5.0 w/o zadig.  Some hardware just isn't recognized by cgminer (I'm about 50/50 with my hardware).

Also, I tried 3.5.0 briefly and ran into errors (didn't have a chance to look closer).  Using 3.4.2 or 3.4.3 right now w/o zadig."

Using without Zadig?
How can this be?


I'm sorry, I misstated.  I meant 3.1.1 needs the USB to UART driver in addition to Zadig (winUSB). 

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
pepto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 09:18:34 PM
 #12766

3.1.1 needs the USB to UART driver in addition to Zadig (winUSB). 

You can't have both, even though I do. Each is resident but you have to choose one or the other.
From my view, If devices and printers shows com numbers for all be's, then you have silabs in charge.
If all be's are present with no com numbers, WinUSB is in charge.
Neither selection is working for me.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 09:55:56 PM
 #12767

3.1.1 needs the USB to UART driver in addition to Zadig (winUSB).  

You can't have both, even though I do. Each is resident but you have to choose one or the other.
From my view, If devices and printers shows com numbers for all be's, then you have silabs in charge.
If all be's are present with no com numbers, WinUSB is in charge.
Neither selection is working for me.

You *can* have both.  Both use WinUSB (put there by Zadig).  However 3.1.1 uses COM ports, so you need Silab to map that USB to a COM port.

For 3.4.3+, you don't want the Silabs there, as cgminer can theoretically use the WinUSB driver directly.

You are correct, if you see COM ports for each of your BEs, you need to be using 3.1.1.  If you see USB entries for BE, you need to be using 3.4.3+.

I've tried cgminer on 4 computers now, all with different motherboards.  Two 3.4.3 sees them just fine.  Two they do not.  One of those two I'm running 3.1.1 with Silabs, the 4th one I haven't tried.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Wipeout2097
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 10:05:43 PM
 #12768

May I suggest a donation mining option for cgminer?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 10:23:19 PM
 #12769

May I suggest a donation mining option for cgminer?

Because..., it was such a huge success the last time it was tried?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2013, 10:44:04 PM
 #12770

Re: Zadig

Most of the confusion stems from the fact people think of it as a driver when it is not.

Zadig is a tool to associate a driver with a device and it comes prepackaged with the WinUSB driver which is what cgminer uses with all USB devices.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 12:02:19 AM
 #12771

I have been running BLT and AMU devices on Fedora Core 17 using cgminer 3.2.0 but even a fresh clone of the github repo, which builds as 3.5.0, does not work for my AMU devices. It detects my BLTs but not the AMUs. I for now I have had to go back to using the old 3.2.0.

(I even tried bfgminer again, but a git pull of that to get its latest code results in one that wont' detect my BLTs as well as not detecting  my AMUs so for me bfgminer is still looking less useful than cgminer because at least the ancient 3.2.0 of cgminer will run my eruptors and lancelots.

I would like to be able to update though. Does anyone know why more-recent versions than 3.2.0 do not work?

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 02:55:25 AM
 #12772

I have been running BLT and AMU devices on Fedora Core 17 using cgminer 3.2.0 but even a fresh clone of the github repo, which builds as 3.5.0, does not work for my AMU devices. It detects my BLTs but not the AMUs. I for now I have had to go back to using the old 3.2.0.

(I even tried bfgminer again, but a git pull of that to get its latest code results in one that wont' detect my BLTs as well as not detecting  my AMUs so for me bfgminer is still looking less useful than cgminer because at least the ancient 3.2.0 of cgminer will run my eruptors and lancelots.

I would like to be able to update though. Does anyone know why more-recent versions than 3.2.0 do not work?

-MarkM-

Bizarre. Nothing in the new code that shouldn't detect what the old code could. Check your permissions and udev rules file and that you built in full support since you're compiling it for yourself.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 03:42:17 AM
 #12773

Someone told me how to switch to the 3.5.1 branch since I had only been getting 3.5.0; the 3.5.1 works fine.

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 03:47:31 AM
 #12774

Code:
[2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB scan devices: checking for ICA devices
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] ICA looking for ICA 067b:2303 but found 10c4:ea60 instead
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] ICA looking for and found AMU 10c4:ea60
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB lock Icarus 20-9
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] RES: Icarus (20:9) lock=1
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB res lock Icarus 20-9
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] RES: Icarus (20:9) lock ok=1
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB init, claim ifinfo 0 interface 0 failed, err -3 - AMU device 20:9
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB free AMU
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] Icarus detect (20:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB unlock Icarus 20-9

what does this mean on a mac?

also getting:
Code:
[2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB scan devices: checking for BF1 devices
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] BF1 looking for and found BF1 03eb:204b
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB lock bitfury 20-7
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] RES: bitfury (20:7) lock=1
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB res lock bitfury 20-7
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] RES: bitfury (20:7) lock ok=1
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB init, claim ifinfo 0 interface 1 failed, err -3 - BF1 device 20:7-i1
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB free BF1
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] bitfury detect (20:7) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB unlock bitfury 20-7
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] BF1 looking for BF1 03eb:204b but found 05ac:0252 instead
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] RES: bitfury (20:7) lock=0
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] BF1 looking for BF1 03eb:204b but found 0424:2513 instead
 [2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB res unlock bitfury 20-7

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 03:57:25 AM
 #12775

Someone told me how to switch to the 3.5.1 branch since I had only been getting 3.5.0; the 3.5.1 works fine.

-MarkM-

It still shouldn't have been a problem on the master branch... (which still reads 3.5.0 but is actually the branch under active development).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 04:52:52 AM
 #12776

Code:
[2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB init, claim ifinfo 0 interface 0 failed, err -3 - AMU device 20:9

what does this mean on a mac?

also getting:
Code:
[2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB init, claim ifinfo 0 interface 1 failed, err -3 - BF1 device 20:7-i1
I wish I knew. -3 is an access permissions problem, whatever the heck that means on osx.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 05:28:07 AM
 #12777

Code:
[2013-10-12 23:39:07] USB init, claim ifinfo 0 interface 0 failed, err -3 - AMU device 20:9

what does this mean on a mac?

also getting:
Code:
[2013-10-12 23:34:49] USB init, claim ifinfo 0 interface 1 failed, err -3 - BF1 device 20:7-i1
I wish I knew. -3 is an access permissions problem, whatever the heck that means on osx.

could it be due  to the kernel usb to serial drivers?

*dont hit me*

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
Picmin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 04:12:00 PM
 #12778

Just built from git on my raspberry pi.
Version is listed as 3.5.0.

Downloaded one of your compiled versions for windows.
Version is 3.5.1.

Did I build from the wrong branch with git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer?
git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer --branch 3.5

Oh thanks !

Does the the master branch include someone42 pull requests? i have installed with git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer on minepeon and the '--bitburner-voltage' parameter doesn't work anymore.
Always set to max : 1100mv on a Bitburner Fury.

Wipeout2097
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 07:18:24 PM
 #12779

Let's try this again ...
May I suggest a donation mining option for cgminer?

Because..., it was such a huge success the last time it was tried?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 07:40:58 PM
 #12780

Let's try this again ...
May I suggest a donation mining option for cgminer?

Because..., it was such a huge success the last time it was tried?

My snarky remark wasn't wasn't meant to imply that I thought it was a bad idea.  And if they incorporated it into CGMiner again I would certainly use it.

But, if I remember correctly, it ended up increasing the development workload for ckolivas dramatically more than the revenue it brought in was worth plus it ticked off allot of people.

But maybe it would be a different story now with the increased value of bitcoin and the stratum protocol?

I just would hate to see ckolivas and kano's workload increase with little or no benefit.  But hey who knows.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 [639] 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!