Bitcoin Forum
February 07, 2023, 09:27:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 [678] 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5804612 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1701


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 12:23:32 AM
 #13541

I am using minepeon (cgminer3.6.4) with a Jalapeno and observing that DAcc (Difficulty Accepted) is 60-85% when mining with the eligius pool and 100-105% when mining with BTCguild. (both pools had min difficulty set to auto, but even when I changed BTCguild to 8+GH/s, the difference in percentage roughly stayed the same)
Can someone elaborate a bit on the Dacc calculation and the difference I am observing between the two pools, does it affect my share contribution accordingly???
I checked github, but I was a bit lost. I also asked at the minepeon forum but the dev just parsed the DAcc value and could not elaborate on the calculation method.

Thank you in advance

Have I asked in the wrong thread? :-)
Please advise if so...
DA is the value in 1diff of all shares accepted.
If you submit 10 50diff shares and all are accepted then DA would be 500

I've no idea what you mean those % numbers are.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675762074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675762074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675762074
Reply with quote  #2

1675762074
Report to moderator
1675762074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675762074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675762074
Reply with quote  #2

1675762074
Report to moderator
1675762074
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675762074

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675762074
Reply with quote  #2

1675762074
Report to moderator
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 12:12:53 PM
 #13542

Can you try fff again and this time when it gets into the loop of errors, enable debug in the display menu and continue logging for a bit please?

OK, done.  Aside: The previous overnight run of 3.5.1 went for 14 hours, no faults.

Started cgminer-fff again.  After about 3 hours I got several LEDs full on for a few seconds. Two of them went out and resumed mining but the 3rd appeared in the display as a zombie.  I was sitting next to the PC at the time, so turned on debug straight away.  I left it running for a further 5 minutes then stopped it.

Logfile here, but I suspect it's not going to help:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-fff2.txt

And...... Back to 3.5.1 again :/

Thanks very much for that. Believe it or not I am (very slowly) making progress.

Here's the next test please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-ffs.exe

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
November 27, 2013, 02:09:00 PM
 #13543

are vga still supported?

and why i can't copy past anymore with cgminer?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3556
Merit: 1081


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 03:06:56 PM
 #13544

are vga still supported?

New release: Version 3.8.1, 10th November 2013

GPU mining in any form is gone. Long live GPU mining (see previous post). New hardware support in this release and massive change with removal of GPU mining, but only bugfixes to the remainder of the code so to existing users this should be a safe upgrade, in keeping with even number releases sounding more stable.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3094
Merit: 1057



View Profile
November 27, 2013, 04:07:37 PM
 #13545

yeah, i searched for it after my post
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 06:59:34 PM
 #13546


Thanks very much for that. Believe it or not I am (very slowly) making progress.

Here's the next test please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-ffs.exe

OK, tested!  Aside [again] The previous run of 3.5.1 lasted 25 hours without problems, although I do remember seeing a few AMU LEDs come on yesterday for a couple of seconds and I noticed some messages which were something like the following (completely from memory, as no logging enabled, can't remember the exact mS timings):
  [2013-11-xx xx:xx:xx] TIMEOUT AMUx something took xxx mS, was xxx mS
  [2013-11-xx xx:xx:xx] TIMEOUT AMUy something took xxx mS, was xxx mS
The above disturbances didn't cause any problems, so it may just be normal network problems, but I haven't noticed them before, so perhaps it's important, perhaps not.

Anyway, the test of cgminer-ffs ran for almost 2 hours, then a zombie appeared.  I turned on debug from the display and let run for a further 5 minutes, then stopped it.

Logfile is here:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-ffs.txt

And.... back to 3.5.1 for the evening!
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 08:45:17 PM
Last edit: November 27, 2013, 09:25:17 PM by ckolivas
 #13547

OK, tested!  Aside [again] The previous run of 3.5.1 lasted 25 hours without problems, although I do remember seeing a few AMU LEDs come on yesterday for a couple of seconds and I noticed some messages which were something like the following (completely from memory, as no logging enabled, can't remember the exact mS timings):
  [2013-11-xx xx:xx:xx] TIMEOUT AMUx something took xxx mS, was xxx mS
  [2013-11-xx xx:xx:xx] TIMEOUT AMUy something took xxx mS, was xxx mS
The above disturbances didn't cause any problems, so it may just be normal network problems, but I haven't noticed them before, so perhaps it's important, perhaps not.

Anyway, the test of cgminer-ffs ran for almost 2 hours, then a zombie appeared.  I turned on debug from the display and let run for a further 5 minutes, then stopped it.

Logfile is here:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-ffs.txt

Thanks for that. No you were getting the timer overruns previously as well. I saw them on your successful logging when you put it up so even when it's "fine" it's not entirely fine, it's just that it sort of recovers.

Next!
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w00t.exe

EDIT: And one greater than 9000:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-9001.exe

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 03:28:46 AM
 #13548

MrTeal and I have developed mining hardware called Chili using BFL chips and it uses the BLF driver.  The driver interface / protocol defines a command (ZTX) that allows cgminer to request three voltages from the hardware.  The 3 values are typically  3.3V, 1.0V, and 12V.  cgminer displays the 3.3V value on the screen but in my opinion this is the least interesting voltage value.  I would prefer it to show the (nominal) 1.0V value as this directly impacts hashing speed and power.  On other BFL hardware, this value is fixed at the factory, but on a Chili, it is configurable by software allowing automatic overclocking.  Thus the interest in displaying this value.

Please consider this reply a formal request to change the displayed value from the 3.3V value to the 1.0V value.  If you have enough screen real estate, it should show 3 digits to the right of the decimal point.  Ex: 1.057V  Thank you.

BTW - We have added a new field to the ZCX command to distinguish our hardware apart from BFL hardware:
Code:
"MANUFACTURER: MrTeal and ChipGeek\n"

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2013, 04:32:47 AM
 #13549

MrTeal and I have developed mining hardware called Chili using BFL chips and it uses the BLF driver.  The driver interface / protocol defines a command (ZTX) that allows cgminer to request three voltages from the hardware.  The 3 values are typically  3.3V, 1.0V, and 12V.  cgminer displays the 3.3V value on the screen but in my opinion this is the least interesting voltage value.  I would prefer it to show the (nominal) 1.0V value as this directly impacts hashing speed and power.  On other BFL hardware, this value is fixed at the factory, but on a Chili, it is configurable by software allowing automatic overclocking.  Thus the interest in displaying this value.

Please consider this reply a formal request to change the displayed value from the 3.3V value to the 1.0V value.  If you have enough screen real estate, it should show 3 digits to the right of the decimal point.  Ex: 1.057V  Thank you.

BTW - We have added a new field to the ZCX command to distinguish our hardware apart from BFL hardware:
Code:
"MANUFACTURER: MrTeal and ChipGeek\n"

We're not as scary as we may appear. If you push code via github to cgminer that doesn't affect other drivers, we will probably give you some basic changes we'd prefer before merging the code with cgminer, but are happy to include code with the master cgminer code if you do it that way and are happy to support it. Ideally we prefer to get the hardware ourselves so we can extend/develop/bugfix/support the code for the hardware ourselves until the hardware is no longer relevant, but if not, I'm happy to merge code from you while you personally support the code unless it interferes with other drivers or the code stops being supported as bugs appear (which they always do).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1701


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 05:21:42 AM
 #13550

MrTeal and I have developed mining hardware called Chili using BFL chips and it uses the BLF driver.  The driver interface / protocol defines a command (ZTX) that allows cgminer to request three voltages from the hardware.  The 3 values are typically  3.3V, 1.0V, and 12V.  cgminer displays the 3.3V value on the screen but in my opinion this is the least interesting voltage value.  I would prefer it to show the (nominal) 1.0V value as this directly impacts hashing speed and power.  On other BFL hardware, this value is fixed at the factory, but on a Chili, it is configurable by software allowing automatic overclocking.  Thus the interest in displaying this value.

Please consider this reply a formal request to change the displayed value from the 3.3V value to the 1.0V value.  If you have enough screen real estate, it should show 3 digits to the right of the decimal point.  Ex: 1.057V  Thank you.

BTW - We have added a new field to the ZCX command to distinguish our hardware apart from BFL hardware:
Code:
"MANUFACTURER: MrTeal and ChipGeek\n"

Yep I'll change it in the next few days Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
PenAndPaper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 07:10:12 AM
 #13551

Wasn't there a scrypt readme somewhere? I can't find it anymore  Lips sealed
No scrypt support any more.

Maybe you want to reconsider that given the latest boom in price, although i don't know the reasons that you stopped in the first place.
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 28, 2013, 11:45:59 AM
 #13552

Wasn't there a rather big donation to get scrypt support in cgminer in the first place?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2013, 11:49:49 AM
 #13553

Wasn't there a rather big donation to get scrypt support in cgminer in the first place?
Yes, that's why I wrote it -as pure mercenary work- and maintained it for a year and gracefully offered to hand it off, even handholding various people on how to fork the existing code. But it's just a burden on the current code and has nothing in common with bitcoin mining on asics and now earns me nothing but headaches. Plus I don't believe in altcoins of any sort so it's hypocritical of me to maintain it.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1701


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 12:18:13 PM
 #13554

Wasn't there a rather big donation to get scrypt support in cgminer in the first place?
You donated?

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 01:22:55 PM
 #13555

I'm trying to use JSON API with the following command sent over RPC:
{"command":"pools"}

I'm getting .."status":"E","When":11/28/2013 07:18:45","Code":14","Msg":"Invalid command","Description":"cgminer 3.8.3"...

API works however with regular text request/response and the same call is working fine for cgminer 3.8.1

Did something changed? or is it a bug?


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 28, 2013, 01:38:49 PM
 #13556

Wasn't there a rather big donation to get scrypt support in cgminer in the first place?
You donated?
No. Why do you ask?

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 01:56:59 PM
 #13557

i have API issues with cgwatcher too. I think the least version [or even 2 last ones] are crushed with API ussage.

yolo
Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375
Merit: 250


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 02:10:16 PM
 #13558

CG miner isn't displaying any text for me I am on windows 8.1 only way for it to display text is to do -T in the startup parameters without that the windows is completely blank.

Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2013, 02:37:19 PM
 #13559

I'm trying to use JSON API with the following command sent over RPC:
{"command":"pools"}

I'm getting .."status":"E","When":11/28/2013 07:18:45","Code":14","Msg":"Invalid command","Description":"cgminer 3.8.3"...

API works however with regular text request/response and the same call is working fine for cgminer 3.8.1

Did something changed? or is it a bug?
Looks like a bug with fixing the memory leaks of json usage in the API, thanks, will investigate.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 06:56:11 PM
 #13560


Thanks for that. No you were getting the timer overruns previously as well. I saw them on your successful logging when you put it up so even when it's "fine" it's not entirely fine, it's just that it sort of recovers.

Next!
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-w00t.exe

EDIT: And one greater than 9000:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-9001.exe

OK, tests done. Usual aside: Previous run of 3.5.1 stopped after 18 hours. No faults.

Test of cgminer-w00t started at 12:50. After about 5 minutes one LED (AMU 16) came on solid but no zombie was reported in the screen display.  I turned on debug and let it run for a few minutes, then I intended to re-plug the offending AMU and continue, but unfortunately I accidentally hit the power button on the hub and turned the whole thing off. D'oh! Test stopped at that point.  I'll run it again if you need more information.

Test of cgminer-9001 started at 13:01.  It ran for over 5 hours before a zombie (AMU27) appeared.  Turned on debug and let it run a bit more, then stopped the test at 18:45.  This one was looking quite promising until the fault popped up. Pity.

Logfiles are here:
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-w00t.txt
  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-9001.txt

And.... Back to 3.5.1 Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 [678] 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!