Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 12:33:36 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 [673] 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5802914 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
November 17, 2013, 10:01:41 AM
 #13441

I have an old Nvidia GE Force 580 with 1.5GB of memory on it and wanted to see what I would get in hashing with it. I downloaded the latest release and couldn't get anything started. I had to download 3.6.6 to get things going for some reason. Any newer version would just get stuck at 0 hashing power and stay there. The older versions would kick right in and start hashing. Using all defaults, nothing special. Surprisingly that little card was getting 150Mh/s and temps were pretty good. Are there known issues with Nvidia or special tricks to get them started with cards like this?


GPU mining is no longer supported on this software.

Hey, that would do it! What is the latest version GPU hasing would work?
go with something 3.7 or earlier

Message me if you have any problems
1638016416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638016416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638016416
Reply with quote  #2

1638016416
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638016416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638016416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638016416
Reply with quote  #2

1638016416
Report to moderator
1638016416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638016416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638016416
Reply with quote  #2

1638016416
Report to moderator
btc_uzr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


let's have some fun


View Profile
November 17, 2013, 12:55:48 PM
 #13442

Yesterday there was another discussion about how to configure cgminer on KnCMiner hardware in order to do successfull solo-mining ?
There is this "Pool 0 not providing work fast enough" issue.

How to Set queue work size to which value?
Are there any other relevant parameters ?

Thank you very much in advance.

..and Thou shalt spread the coin in the name of cryptography for eternity
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
November 17, 2013, 01:05:05 PM
Last edit: November 20, 2013, 06:14:20 PM by aigeezer
 #13443

AMU10 has gone zombie about one hour in to a 3.8.2 run.

Hot-swap did not fix it, but Q and a restart did. (Win7 64 zipped version).

I believe I've finally found out why they weren't hotplugging again, and it would affect any operating system, not just windows. I have committed a fix for it into master git, and here's a binary to try out:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-undead.exe

OK, thanks - I'll switch to "undead" now. My present run of 3.8.2 has gone 23 hours error-free - these zombies sure know how to hide.

Edit: "undead" version is going well, 7 12 24 hours into the run. Somewhere along the way AMU 4 and 11 got reallocated to 13 and 14 - I'm guessing these were zombie wannabes that got "cured". Best version yet, it seems.

Edit: after about 31 hours, "undead" got its first zombie, but it hot-plugged and resumed hashing with no other intervention. The naming seemed a bit odd. The zombie was flagged as AMU4 (but see edit line above). It was reallocated to 16 when it restarted. Names are presently AMU0 1 2 3 5 7 8 10 12-16, with BAL1 (never 0?) between AMU12 and 13.

Edit: over 48 75 hours into the run now. No new incidents. I switched another machine to "undead" about 12 36 hours ago - it has had a couple of zombies but they could be hot-plugged with no other problems. Best version yet, for my purposes.

Edit: One hour later, AMUs 4,6,7 and 8 were flagged as zombies. Great excitement - none of them would hot swap. Windows gave never-before-seen error messages about hardware errors on USB devices and tried unsuccessfully to install drivers. Disconnecting the hubs and replugging them brought everything back to normal, with the AMUs now allocated as 17-29. The (undead) run continues.

 



georgem
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1003


spreadcoin.info


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 03:55:49 PM
 #13444

I am using ubuntu 13.04 with the newest cgminer 3.8.2 64bit.

I connected my bitburner XX device and it recognizes it as
a BTB0 device when I start cgminer. So far so good.

When I connect to my pool, it just keeps on increasing the LW value.
NB keeps on increasing slowly to..

But what I don't get is, it keeps on saying that I have 0.000 h/s.

And chminer keeps on posting every 5 mins or so that
BTB0: Idled 1 miners
New block detected on network before longpoll
GBT LONGPOLL from pool 0 requested work restart


The bitburnerXX gets warm and the LEDs indicate that it is
working fine and is sending data back.

Sorry for my noob question, but what now?
Is this normal behaviour?
Does it have to download the block chain first before it can mine?

georgem
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1003


spreadcoin.info


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 04:38:48 PM
 #13445

do I have to compile the newest cgminer with -enable-avalon to be able to make it work?
Or should the newest 3.8.2 tar.bz2 for 64bit already have this functionality activated?

georgem
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1003


spreadcoin.info


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 05:13:30 PM
 #13446

I am having problems compiling the newest version with -enable-avalon activated.

What's with this file located here in the avalon folder?
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131116/

How I am supposed to use this file bin?

openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Thank you.

Zich
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 11:55:13 PM
Last edit: November 18, 2013, 09:58:57 AM by Zich
 #13447

I am having problems compiling the newest version with -enable-avalon activated.

What's with this file located here in the avalon folder?
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131116/

How I am supposed to use this file bin?

openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Thank you.

That was image for flashing TPLINK TL-WR703N with openwrt.
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2013, 11:58:49 PM
 #13448

I wanted to get out one last good new avalon firmware before these devices become irrelevant due to rising difficulty:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131118/

I finally tracked down the regression that was preventing the avalon from being reliable with the newer versions of cgminer and have built new firmware based on the latest cgminer 3.8.2 git checkout 390ac7062663c688b656cf0dc893163cd7a852b3


Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nov
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433
Merit: 251


Independent crypto developer


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2013, 02:30:18 PM
 #13449

Thank you, was able to resolve the usb in use issue.

WowDoge - DogeCoin Lightweight Wallet DOGE: DLoawzLvw5WvvpGUkSTxrwMgKhkamsqFo7
Vertigo - VertCoin Lightweight Wallet VTC: VertGv5nVwYYR7mTmDDeAP9et1NJyAsC9P | Exelite - ExeCoin Lightweight Wallet EXE: ELiteWbMDwX95YZj5Jf5BkHS54qbH7wpXg | Lightweight Wallet Creation Service
MultiCoin - Multiple Crypto Coin Lightweight Wallet in Development BTC: 1EKT9uaaDbTRuwjttFQbfax7KmGNZX32HP | BitcoinViewer - Bitcoin Balances & Transactions on iPhone/iPad BTC: 1NEvfbiA5Bs2sG2jqRdCidGUjLD5JjAjEZ
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1006


View Profile
November 18, 2013, 03:20:01 PM
 #13450

Anyone else with BitBurner noticing random full stops in hashing? Only noticed on 3.8.2. Will try with 3.8.1 and will update here.

aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 18, 2013, 03:31:01 PM
 #13451

I wanted to get out one last good new avalon firmware before these devices become irrelevant due to rising difficulty:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131118/

I finally tracked down the regression that was preventing the avalon from being reliable with the newer versions of cgminer and have built new firmware based on the latest cgminer 3.8.2 git checkout 390ac7062663c688b656cf0dc893163cd7a852b3


Thanks con!
3.8.2 running stable for ~ 2hrs now, looks like a slight increase in hashrate and WU with smaller memory usage... still at 127% since starting.
Very nice!   Grin

ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2776
Merit: 1020


View Profile
November 18, 2013, 07:16:57 PM
 #13452

solo mining:
SOLVED 79 BLOCKS!

Code:
Pool: http://localhost:8332
SOLVED 79 BLOCKS!
Does not have own long-poll support
 Queued work requests: 522982
 Share submissions: 0
 Accepted shares: 0
 Rejected shares: 0
 Accepted difficulty shares: 0
 Rejected difficulty shares: 0
 Efficiency (accepted / queued): 0%
 Items worked on: 356890
 Discarded work due to new blocks: 166088
 Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0
 Unable to get work from server occasions: 0
 Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0
what does this mean?
I have solved 0 Block...
TIA
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 985
Merit: 500


DIV - Your "Virtual Life" Secured and Decentralize


View Profile
November 18, 2013, 10:37:08 PM
 #13453

solo mining:
SOLVED 79 BLOCKS!

Code:
Pool: http://localhost:8332
SOLVED 79 BLOCKS!
Does not have own long-poll support
 Queued work requests: 522982
 Share submissions: 0
 Accepted shares: 0
 Rejected shares: 0
 Accepted difficulty shares: 0
 Rejected difficulty shares: 0
 Efficiency (accepted / queued): 0%
 Items worked on: 356890
 Discarded work due to new blocks: 166088
 Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0
 Unable to get work from server occasions: 0
 Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0
what does this mean?
I have solved 0 Block...
TIA
From the looks of the info I would note that no shares are sent successfully to your localhost. I wouldn't think the work was intentionally discarded being high enough for a block. Possibly the difficulty calculation was a little off. I know more knowledgeable people can tell you for sure. If you run with --no-submit-stale it could cause this.

I am not 100% sure as I don't mine locally at enough hashrate to ever make a block.  Well that isn't technically true but I currently am only gambling on the results locally.

          ▄▄
        ▄█▀▀█▄
      ▄█▀ ▄▄ ▀█▄
      ▀ ▄████▄ ▀
   ▄▀ ▄ ▀████▀ ▄ ▀▄
 ▄▀ ▄███▄ ▀▀ ▄███▄ ▀▄
█  ███████  ███████  █
 ▀▄ ▀███▀ ▄▄ ▀███▀ ▄▀

   ▀▄ ▀ ▄████▄ ▀ ▄▀
      ▄ ▀████▀ ▄
      ▀█▄ ▀▀ ▄█▀
        ▀█▄▄█▀
          ▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀▀▀████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀███████
██████            ▀████████     ████     █████    █████     ███████
██████     ▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██████     █████    ████      ████    ████████
██████     ██████▄    █████     █████    ▀██▀  ▄▄  ▀██▀    ████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████    ██   ██   ██    █████████
██████     ███████    █████     ██████     █   ██   █     █████████
██████     █████▀    ██████     ███████       ████       ██████████
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████            ▄████████     ████████     ██████     ███████████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.DIWtoken.com.
▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
......SECURITY DECENTRALIZED...
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2013, 11:09:07 PM
 #13454

solo mining:
SOLVED 79 BLOCKS!

Code:
Pool: http://localhost:8332
SOLVED 79 BLOCKS!
what does this mean?
I have solved 0 Block...
TIA
Are you attempting to mine something not bitcoin, and are you on the latest version?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2013, 11:42:45 PM
 #13455

must be on testnet.

Some devs on the bitcoin mailing list were complaining recently that someone is spamming the network with an insane number of new discovered blocks!

BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 04:24:43 AM
Last edit: November 19, 2013, 04:47:28 AM by CustomDesigned
 #13456

AMU10 has gone zombie about one hour in to a 3.8.2 run.

Hot-swap did not fix it, but Q and a restart did. (Win7 64 zipped version).

I believe I've finally found out why they weren't hotplugging again, and it would affect any operating system, not just windows. I have committed a fix for it into master git, and here's a binary to try out:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-undead.exe

Is there a patch I can add to my 3.8.2 RPM?  Or is a new release impending?

I can find the diffs on github: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/compare/v3.8.2...master
But there is no button I can see to download in diff format.  Does github (as opposed to git cmdline tool) really expect you to retype the changes?  

SOLVED: secret API - append .patch to URL
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 05:04:27 AM
 #13457

Hmm, the changes to 3.8.2 seem to concern avalon, and I have Icarus.  So it likely won't help me, but I'll give it a try on next restart.

I have 4 USB ASIC Miners, which cgminer detects at Icarus.  It runs for 2-4 hours before half the units are disabled with a message like the following:

 [2013-11-18 17:49:20] AMU 4 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2013-11-18 17:49:20] AMU4: Comms error (werr=-7 amt=22)
 [2013-11-18 17:49:20] AMU 4 failure, disabling!

For a while, the failed units are discovered again via hotplug:

 [2013-11-18 17:49:23] Hotplug: Icarus added AMU 5

But hotplug eventually fails to rediscover failed units.  However, restarting cgminer does rediscover them.
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2013, 05:11:41 AM
 #13458

Hmm, the changes to 3.8.2 seem to concern avalon, and I have Icarus.  So it likely won't help me, but I'll give it a try on next restart.

I have 4 USB ASIC Miners, which cgminer detects at Icarus.  It runs for 2-4 hours before half the units are disabled with a message like the following:

 [2013-11-18 17:49:20] AMU 4 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2013-11-18 17:49:20] AMU4: Comms error (werr=-7 amt=22)
 [2013-11-18 17:49:20] AMU 4 failure, disabling!

For a while, the failed units are discovered again via hotplug:

 [2013-11-18 17:49:23] Hotplug: Icarus added AMU 5

But hotplug eventually fails to rediscover failed units.  However, restarting cgminer does rediscover them.
Yes that's the issue I posted about earlier that is only in the latest git and not in 3.8.2. Some zombies would never be resuscitated.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
3ds
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 07:58:20 AM
 #13459

I don't know if it's me or not.
Unzipped latest version of cgminer, and tried running cgminer.exe with --scrypt and it comes up with unrecognized parameter ?

Went back to 3.7.2 and all is fine. Can't seem to mine LTC with 3.8 c:

I think you missed this a few pages back... https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3538435#msg3538435

We discuss it further here:
https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6925.0.html

Others are going to pick up the pieces and continue development here: https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6994.0.html
Seems that the cgminer README doesn't updated with this information.
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3416
Merit: 1359


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2013, 08:03:14 AM
 #13460

I don't know if it's me or not.
Unzipped latest version of cgminer, and tried running cgminer.exe with --scrypt and it comes up with unrecognized parameter ?

Went back to 3.7.2 and all is fine. Can't seem to mine LTC with 3.8 c:

I think you missed this a few pages back... https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3538435#msg3538435

We discuss it further here:
https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6925.0.html

Others are going to pick up the pieces and continue development here: https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6994.0.html
Seems that the cgminer README doesn't updated with this information.
...cgminer doesn't support litecoin nor scrypt nor GPUs so there is no need to say anything about them in the documentation.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 [673] 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!