Bitcoin Forum
August 14, 2018, 08:01:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 [645] 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5760317 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
October 17, 2013, 09:33:37 PM
 #12881

With --usb you can say how many devices to find or how many each driver should find
So for each cgminer
 --usb BAS:1
would grab only one BAS device.
If you use
 --usb :1
it would grab the first device of any USB mining devices that you have. (this also has the minor advantage that it stops polling for hot-plugged devices until the current device disconnects)
Kano, Thanks!!! This has been the best tip for running Block Eruptors. I was constantly loosing them one by one and then restarting cgminer. But when I added --usb :29 it finds all my BEs and then if one stops it finds it again and it reappears with a higher AMU number, but every time I look since I added than command I find all 29 running!!!

Is there a conf file syntax for this or command-line only? (I like to keep everything in one place.)

Does hotplug polling have much cost? Just curious.

Also, I rolled back to cgminer-nogpu.exe 2.5.1 and BFLs and BEs run fine. My GPU miners don't care 2.6.2 or whatever.

ghghghfgh
1534276899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534276899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534276899
Reply with quote  #2

1534276899
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1046


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 17, 2013, 10:00:10 PM
 #12882

With --usb you can say how many devices to find or how many each driver should find
So for each cgminer
 --usb BAS:1
would grab only one BAS device.
If you use
 --usb :1
it would grab the first device of any USB mining devices that you have. (this also has the minor advantage that it stops polling for hot-plugged devices until the current device disconnects)
Kano, Thanks!!! This has been the best tip for running Block Eruptors. I was constantly loosing them one by one and then restarting cgminer. But when I added --usb :29 it finds all my BEs and then if one stops it finds it again and it reappears with a higher AMU number, but every time I look since I added than command I find all 29 running!!!

Is there a conf file syntax for this or command-line only? (I like to keep everything in one place.)

Does hotplug polling have much cost? Just curious.

Also, I rolled back to cgminer-nogpu.exe 2.5.1 and BFLs and BEs run fine. My GPU miners don't care 2.6.2 or whatever.
In the config file
"usb" : ":29",

USB polling is ok for most people, but some see weird side effects on things like keyboards and mice.
(libusb must be doing something at a low level on windows that can cause this for some people?)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 01:26:55 AM
 #12883

Hey, 3.6.3 just had a memory error again Embarrassed. I was able to close cgminer by pressing q but still ended up closing and moving back to 3.5.1 Sad

It ran for what seemed all night and then I had to close it for whatever reason and I saw the no memory flickering in my screen Shocked Shocked Shocked.

I hope you can eventually find a work around or permanent fix for this and make it "pretty" again Kiss Wink Wink [without requiring the need to dump windows].

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 01:30:00 AM
 #12884

Hey, 3.6.3 just had a memory error again Embarrassed. I was able to close cgminer by pressing q but still ended up closing and moving back to 3.5.1 Sad

It ran for what seemed all night and then I had to close it for whatever reason and I saw the no memory flickering in my screen Shocked Shocked Shocked.

I hope you can eventually find a work around or permanent fix for this and make it "pretty" again Kiss Wink Wink [without requiring the need to dump windows].
Woah woah, believe it or not this is good news (I think). I have an idea, and will post some experimental exes again shortly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 01:48:47 AM
 #12885

Hey, 3.6.3 just had a memory error again Embarrassed. I was able to close cgminer by pressing q but still ended up closing and moving back to 3.5.1 Sad

It ran for what seemed all night and then I had to close it for whatever reason and I saw the no memory flickering in my screen Shocked Shocked Shocked.

I hope you can eventually find a work around or permanent fix for this and make it "pretty" again Kiss Wink Wink [without requiring the need to dump windows].
Woah woah, believe it or not this is good news (I think). I have an idea, and will post some experimental exes again shortly.
They're up in the usual place:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 02:00:21 AM
 #12886

I just need the no-gpu file I use right?

I let you know in the morning if I don't awake to errors. At least the eroupters go bright green when then poop out.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 02:38:13 AM
 #12887

I just need the no-gpu file I use right?

I let you know in the morning if I don't awake to errors. At least the eroupters go bright green when then poop out.
Yes, just replace the exe you normally use with the equivalent one from in there. Thanks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 03:17:05 AM
 #12888

Just updated to windows 8.1 and my BFL SC Jalepeno would no longer work.

Heads up for anyone else having issues, the problem is not with cgminer but the USB driver. You just need to open zadig again and apply the WinUSB driver.

X

 
USB problems?

Buy a $40 raspberry Pi, grab one of the mining-pre-loaded distros like

 MiningPeon -- http://minepeon.com/index.php/Main_Page
 PiMiner -- http://learn.adafruit.com/piminer-raspberry-pi-bitcoin-miner/

And don't worry about windows broken-ness any more... totally worth it.


opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 06:11:49 AM
 #12889

When using with Eligius it tells me to use this line:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u YourAddress -p x -I 9

Towards the end of that line, can someone let me know what the "x -I 9" means? I can't seem to find it in any of the readme files.


Thanks

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 06:59:23 AM
 #12890

When using with Eligius it tells me to use this line:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u YourAddress -p x -I 9

Towards the end of that line, can someone let me know what the "x -I 9" means? I can't seem to find it in any of the readme files.


Thanks
The "x" would be your password (preceded by the -p flag) and the "-I 9" would set your GPU intensity to 9, assuming you're mining with a GPU. If you're not GPU mining, the intensity flag is unnecessary.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 08:41:23 AM
 #12891

Hey, 3.6.3 just had a memory error again Embarrassed. I was able to close cgminer by pressing q but still ended up closing and moving back to 3.5.1 Sad

It ran for what seemed all night and then I had to close it for whatever reason and I saw the no memory flickering in my screen Shocked Shocked Shocked.

I hope you can eventually find a work around or permanent fix for this and make it "pretty" again Kiss Wink Wink [without requiring the need to dump windows].
Woah woah, believe it or not this is good news (I think). I have an idea, and will post some experimental exes again shortly.
They're up in the usual place:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/
Just died about now. 5-6 devices showed as sick and one as zombie. cgminer had a caption trying to restart. Apparently it didn't. I did try to back run to 3.5.1 and now it doesn't recognize 2 devices saying incorrect driver. I'm going to pull them in the morning and  pop them back in  then restart.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 09:17:03 AM
 #12892

Hey, 3.6.3 just had a memory error again Embarrassed. I was able to close cgminer by pressing q but still ended up closing and moving back to 3.5.1 Sad

It ran for what seemed all night and then I had to close it for whatever reason and I saw the no memory flickering in my screen Shocked Shocked Shocked.

I hope you can eventually find a work around or permanent fix for this and make it "pretty" again Kiss Wink Wink [without requiring the need to dump windows].
Woah woah, believe it or not this is good news (I think). I have an idea, and will post some experimental exes again shortly.
They're up in the usual place:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/
Just died about now. 5-6 devices showed as sick and one as zombie. cgminer had a caption trying to restart. Apparently it didn't. I did try to back run to 3.5.1 and now it doesn't recognize 2 devices saying incorrect driver. I'm going to pull them in the morning and  pop them back in  then restart.
Thanks for testing. I'm going to be brave and say this is unrelated since it's a totally different type of failure, suggestive of hardware failure, perhaps usb perhaps heat. Once you get them going again could you please retry the experimental exe you downloaded?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 11:00:20 AM
 #12893


Completely at a loss of how to fix this.
json_decode() is corrupting the data, and it's a built-in feature of PHP (5.2 in my case).
Googling around, I'm not seeing anyone else with the same problem.

absolutely stumped :/
Does miner.php work OK?

Nope, it's php issue.

I''ll see if I can upgrade php.
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 11:52:04 AM
 #12894

They all seemed to come back up when I replugged them. I was hoping you found a way to catch it and stop calling the device when it thought I was out of memory and clean the memory out.

I'm going to run it for a few hours and see what happens. I hope nothings going bad  CryHuh....

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
CeeCee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 12:05:06 PM
 #12895

just saw this right now at kncminers homepage:
Quote
All,
 
We have our source code here for those of you who are intrested, We will most likely open up a public github when our engineers have time, but until then you can download the source code from the links below
www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/cgminer_knc.zip
www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/cgminer_knc.tgz
 
These links will also be availble under our Support page
 
Thanks
 
KnCMiner Team
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 12:09:48 PM
 #12896

They all seemed to come back up when I replugged them. I was hoping you found a way to catch it and stop calling the device when it thought I was out of memory and clean the memory out.

I'm going to run it for a few hours and see what happens. I hope nothings going bad  CryHuh....
The idea is that it isn't supposed to run out of memory instead.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 12:58:26 PM
 #12897

just saw this right now at kncminers homepage:
Quote
All,
 
We have our source code here for those of you who are intrested, We will most likely open up a public github when our engineers have time, but until then you can download the source code from the links below
www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/cgminer_knc.zip
www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/cgminer_knc.tgz
 
These links will also be availble under our Support page
 
Thanks
 
KnCMiner Team
That's nice to see their sauce at last. Furthermore, KFC have finally decided to engage us (well just me) and are sending me a unit. Unfortunately for KFC users, I am currently being paid by other manufacturers to work on their drivers, so modifying the KFC driver will go lower priority than those other manufacturers, but I will get around to it eventually. [sic]

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604
Merit: 1121


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 01:06:05 PM
 #12898

New version: 3.6.4 - 18th October 2013

Thank you for your patience through this rough ride of changes in 3.6. Hopefully we're close to a stable release on all OSes now. There are actually some other bugfixes in this one besides more libusb massaging.


Human readable changelog:

- Found the source of the memory leak on windows AND the source of the too many files open error on OSX. Both have been rectified, and fully asynchronous transfers are used on all OSes.
- Fixed numerous causes of problems on shutdown.
- Fixed some BFLSC parameters not being read properly.
- Fixed the problem of lost communications and lots of errors on devices on shutdown and possibly unsuccessful shutdown/reset.
- Fixed a bug where  bogus work was being generated at extreme hashrates.
- Decreased the overhead in generating more work for queued devices (eg BFLSC).
- Fixes to klondike driver



Full changelog:

- Fixing the memory leak for remaining semaphores means we can go back to using
async transfers on other OSes with our own timeout management again.
- Use the forcelog function on shutdown to cope with indeterminate console lock
states due to killing of threads.
- Add a forcelog variant of applog which invalidates any console lock to force
output.
- Send pthread_cancel to failed completion_timeout that has timed out.
- Simplify queued hashtable by storing unqueued work separately in a single
pointer.
- bflsc use getinfo chip parallelization if it is present
- bflsc - fix brackets so [Chips] isn't always null
- Remove unused variables.
- Use cgcompletion timeouts for the unreliable shutdown functions on kill_work.
- Fix cgcompletion return code and free on successful completion.
- Provide a cg_completion_timeout helper function for unreliable functions that
takes arbitrary functions and parameters and reliably returns.
- Perform sync transfers on shutdown to allow final transfers to complete.
- Destroy cgsems used after transfers to not leave open files on osx.
- klondike rewrite work control
- allow __work_complete() access
- miner.h allow devices to tv_stamp work

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
btc_uzr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


let's have some fun


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 01:08:02 PM
 #12899

just saw this right now at kncminers homepage:
Quote
All,
 
We have our source code here for those of you who are intrested, We will most likely open up a public github when our engineers have time, but until then you can download the source code from the links below
www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/cgminer_knc.zip
www.kncminer.com/userfiles/file/cgminer_knc.tgz
 
These links will also be availble under our Support page
 
Thanks
 
KnCMiner Team
That's nice to see their sauce at last. Furthermore, KFC have finally decided to engage us (well just me) and are sending me a unit. Unfortunately for KFC users, I am currently being paid by other manufacturers to work on their drivers, so modifying the KFC driver will go lower priority than those other manufacturers, but I will get around to it eventually. [sic]
In hope it pushes the priority a little I'd like to mention that buyers of KFC's 'ultimate boxes' will donate for improvements made on KFC sauce  Wink

..and Thou shalt spread the coin in the name of cryptography for eternity
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 02:23:19 PM
 #12900

I'll try 3.6.4 when I get home. Good you found the problem. Just makes me wish I could direct update from my phone right now.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
Pages: « 1 ... 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 [645] 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!