Bitcoin Forum
June 29, 2017, 02:15:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 [675] 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 ... 834 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5234114 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 10:17:25 PM
 #13481

I recently noticed that if you generate a share over 1 billion, cgminer shows it like this:



Lol, what is that ?  1 Giga-difficulty?  Maybe a 'B' would be more suitable Wink

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metric_prefix Smiley

Edit: FYI https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/cgminer.c#L2052

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1498702536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498702536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498702536
Reply with quote  #2

1498702536
Report to moderator
1498702536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498702536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498702536
Reply with quote  #2

1498702536
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498702536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498702536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498702536
Reply with quote  #2

1498702536
Report to moderator
1498702536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498702536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498702536
Reply with quote  #2

1498702536
Report to moderator
1498702536
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498702536

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498702536
Reply with quote  #2

1498702536
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 11, 2013, 10:27:29 PM
 #13482

I recently noticed that if you generate a share over 1 billion, cgminer shows it like this:



Lol, what is that ?  1 Giga-difficulty?  Maybe a 'B' would be more suitable Wink

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metric_prefix Smiley

Edit: FYI https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/cgminer.c#L2052
As Kano linked in the wikipedia article, that is the correct official suffix for billion, you're just not used to seeing values that large suffixed with a letter.  Smiley

EDIT: Prefix/Suffix, whatever...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 986



View Profile
November 11, 2013, 11:02:08 PM
 #13483

I recently noticed that if you generate a share over 1 billion, cgminer shows it like this:



Lol, what is that ?  1 Giga-difficulty?  Maybe a 'B' would be more suitable Wink

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metric_prefix Smiley

Edit: FYI https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/cgminer.c#L2052
As Kano linked in the wikipedia article, that is the correct official suffix for billion, you're just not used to seeing values that large suffixed with a letter.  Smiley

EDIT: Prefix/Suffix, whatever...

Damn, I was hoping the guy who suggested it stood for Googol was right, and it was a REALLY big share Wink  Ah well...

EDIT:  I still think you guys have this one wrong.  We are all familiar with 'G' as the prefix for a billion in the context of a "giga<unit>" of anything - but in this case there is no unit.  It is just an abbreviation for (in this specific case) 1.31 billion.  Talking about a share of difficulty 1.31 'gigadiff' makes no sense at all.

That being said it is obviously just a nitpick.


Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
balanghai
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
November 11, 2013, 11:31:13 PM
 #13484

So sad it's coming to its end of support. Nevertheless we enjoyed the program so much.

⟳CAPTcoin
  Crypto-currency for everyone
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
  Get your free share (5% extra if you use this ref. link)
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 12:04:41 AM
 #13485

So sad it's coming to its end of support. Nevertheless we enjoyed the program so much.

You do mean to refer to Alt-Coin support? Correct?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 03:11:55 AM
 #13486

Just spotted a bug in 3.8.1 on Windows.

When entering server details on initial startup, if a mistake is made and characters deleted, those wrong chars and backspace control codes are saved in the cgminer.conf.  On next startup the .conf is declared corrupt.  

I'm pretty sure I noted that somewhere. cgminer won't allow any key stroke mistakes. I always end up going to the config file and clean the backspace charactors out and restart cgminer.


On another note WHEN THE FUDGE DID 3.8.1 COME OUT. I was just going to post my anger with 3.7.2 with my eroupter doing the solid light thing and I see that's out on the top of the forum. I'll brb later to see if it fixes it. I'm not getting errors in cgminer but they are doing something with 3.7.2

Edit:: btw what happend to cgminer-nogpu.exe 3.8.1. doesn't have it. How many pages do I have to go back to see what new commands I need to do? I've got this post set to email on update and I'm not getting updates.

edit edit::::: Apparently I just let it run it found the config file and went. I had this bad feeling I was going to have to look for how to disable cpu mining since I thought that was one reason they were separate.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 03:27:50 AM
 #13487

I'm pretty sure I noted that somewhere. cgminer won't allow any key stroke mistakes. I always end up going to the config file and clean the backspace charactors out and restart cgminer.


On another note WHEN THE FUDGE DID 3.8.1 COME OUT. I was just going to post my anger with 3.7.2 with my eroupter doing the solid light thing and I see that's out on the top of the forum. I'll brb later to see if it fixes it. I'm not getting errors in cgminer but they are doing something with 3.7.2

Edit:: btw what happend to cgminer-nogpu.exe 3.8.1. doesn't have it. How many pages do I have to go back to see what new commands I need to do? I've got this post set to email on update and I'm not getting updates.

edit edit::::: Apparently I just let it run it found the config file and went. I had this bad feeling I was going to have to look for how to disable cpu mining since I thought that was one reason they were separate.
CPU mining was taken out a long time ago so you'll never have to worry about that. The reason 3.8+ no longer has a separate nogpu executable is because GPU mining was taken out.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 04:50:56 AM
 #13488

Just spotted a bug in 3.8.1 on Windows.

When entering server details on initial startup, if a mistake is made and characters deleted, those wrong chars and backspace control codes are saved in the cgminer.conf.  On next startup the .conf is declared corrupt.  

I'm pretty sure I noted that somewhere. cgminer won't allow any key stroke mistakes. I always end up going to the config file and clean the backspace charactors out and restart cgminer.

Ok wasn't aware of that issue. Will look into it at some stage, but I'm trying VERY hard to not release anything new anytime soon.

It's been a hell of a ride getting this far with massive overhauls in the last few months, but it's all about looking to the future. Just think, pretty much 99.9% of the bitcoin network hashrate contributed to by cgminer is coming from hardware that did not even exist one year ago. All of the FPGAs should be switched off by now due to inefficiency and by early next year, 1st generation ASICs will be unprofitable to run too. By the middle of next year, 28nm technology efficiency will be the minimum requirement to be worth mining bitcoin so I have to concentrate my development efforts accordingly.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
SkyNet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 08:34:29 AM
 #13489

Such a pitty to see scrypt mining gone.
Majority of Alt Coins is scrypt based - would there be any plans to support it again in the future?

GPU bitcoin mining doesn't make sense for a while now and it's obviously the way to go...

Tips: 1JmQ78JprWePM3EapnacPFfAtTrob8ofmU
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 08:42:53 AM
 #13490

Just spotted a bug in 3.8.1 on Windows.

When entering server details on initial startup, if a mistake is made and characters deleted, those wrong chars and backspace control codes are saved in the cgminer.conf.  On next startup the .conf is declared corrupt.  

I'm pretty sure I noted that somewhere. cgminer won't allow any key stroke mistakes. I always end up going to the config file and clean the backspace charactors out and restart cgminer.

Ok wasn't aware of that issue. Will look into it at some stage, but I'm trying VERY hard to not release anything new anytime soon.


It's no big tickle, just reporting it as I saw it.  Now I know about it, I can work around it by fixing the .conf manually.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 08:55:07 AM
 #13491

Such a pitty to see scrypt mining gone.
Majority of Alt Coins is scrypt based - would there be any plans to support it again in the future?

GPU bitcoin mining doesn't make sense for a while now and it's obviously the way to go...

No

I am making a conscious decision and taking a stance to only support bitcoin by doing this and will consider all discussions regarding alternative cryptocurrencies as offtopic from here on.

That should have already make it clear what my position is regarding altcoins. Deprecating GPU mining wasn't to get rid of the GPU bitcoin mining code.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1363


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 12:59:30 PM
 #13492

I got an unexpected result in a 3.8.1 test, possibly of interest, posted as an update a page or so back. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3547969#msg3547969

Edit: update - AMU5 went zombie about 7 hours into the present 3.8.1 test (Win7 64 executable). It stayed as AMU5 when unplugged and did not recover when replugged. A "Q" and restart fixed it - somewhat brute force though.

beekeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


LTC


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 01:06:01 PM
 #13493

I informed the authors.
I modified an old version of cgminer (3.2.0) to use it with FPGA boards for Litecoin. Source here:
http://ltcgear.com/download/cgminer-3.2.0_xB8_ltc_nodebug.rar

25Khs at 5W Litecoin USB dongle (FPGA), 45kHs overclocked
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310926
Litecoin FPGA shop -> http://ltcgear.com
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 05:59:48 PM
 #13494

ZOMBIES not restarted @Linux cgminer 3.8

Code:
AMU 10:                | 293.4M/323.9Mh/s | A:  5865 R:   45 HW: 459 WU:  4.3/m
 AMU  2:                | ZOMBIE/114.7Mh/s | A:  2317 R:   16 HW: 160 WU:  1.6/m
 AMU  3:                | ZOMBIE/115.1Mh/s | A:  2121 R:   32 HW: 209 WU:  1.5/m
 AMU  4:                | ZOMBIE/158.2Mh/s | A:  3162 R:   12 HW: 245 WU:  2.2/m
 AMU  6:                | ZOMBIE/66.72Mh/s | A:  1325 R:    8 HW: 112 WU:  0.9/m
any way that they restart automatic?
TIA

ProProfi.com
The first home improvement service cryptocurrency project
ICO | Discuss on Forum
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442


Ego auri metalla, ergo sum


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 06:33:02 PM
 #13495

I find I have to exit and restart my BFL Singles using 3.8.1 at least once a day or they sllooowwww down. I don't recall that happening with 3.7.2, I'll go back and try 3.7.2 again.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 07:54:17 PM
 #13496

Windows users with issues on 3.8.1 can just use 3.7.2. For most drivers it is trivially different except for the one change that might be the cause of your problems.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 13, 2013, 01:07:23 AM
 #13497

Ok, the max number of USB miners I can get to work on Win7 is 60.  The max I can get on Win Vista is 50.  I wish I knew why that might be?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
November 13, 2013, 02:10:10 AM
 #13498

I'm seeing a problem with 3.8.1 on an RPi running Rasbian.  Twice in the last 24 hours cgminer has stopped running.  It appears as if the "q" key was pressed even though I'm sure it was not.  This hardware has run solid for weeks before I upgraded to 3.8.1. 

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
chadtn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile
November 13, 2013, 03:48:05 AM
 #13499

I'm seeing a problem with 3.8.1 on an RPi running Rasbian.  Twice in the last 24 hours cgminer has stopped running.  It appears as if the "q" key was pressed even though I'm sure it was not.  This hardware has run solid for weeks before I upgraded to 3.8.1. 

I haven't had any problems with raspbian and 3.8.1 on my end so far.  I've got four instances of cgminer up on the same Rpi with each built for different hardware.  After I did an update & upgrade last week my Rpi started crashing when ever I tried mining on it.  The fix was to turn on some kind of memory debugging feature.

Chad
QiVX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
November 13, 2013, 04:07:30 AM
 #13500

I don't know if it's me or not.
Unzipped latest version of cgminer, and tried running cgminer.exe with --scrypt and it comes up with unrecognized parameter ?

Went back to 3.7.2 and all is fine. Can't seem to mine LTC with 3.8 c:
Pages: « 1 ... 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 [675] 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 ... 834 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!