Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:36:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 [671] 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821708 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 01:22:48 AM
 #13401

Do you have "usb" : ":60" in your conf file? That's been the best thing for keeping all my BEs running.

So are you over 60 BE's?  I had trouble with the 60th too.  Mining with 59 at the moment.
No, I only have 49 BEs, but, I have a dozen PC miners and I spread them over several so I can read the bottom of the cgminer screen. Leave no USB unplugged  Grin

Just a thought, have you tried running 30 in one instance of cgminer and the other 30 in a second instance?

Not yet.  I was hoping to get another 49 port hub so that I wouldn't need to use my Rosewills and Ankers for mining anymore.  But I'm not so excited about that hub at the moment.  I'll give it a try though.  It's hard to tell where the problem is since those Ankers are so flaky and finicky.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481135799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135799
Reply with quote  #2

1481135799
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 01:26:52 AM
 #13402

You should never need to touch the queue setting when mining at a stratum pool no matter what the hashrate.

Deepbit doesn't use stratum, yet.  Increasing the queue does seem to help there and with solo mining.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 02:26:04 AM
 #13403

Just a thought, have you tried running 30 in one instance of cgminer and the other 30 in a second instance?

60 USB Miners work 61 does not.  It doesn't matter how you split them up in multiple instances.  If I plug in 61 devices and start CGMiner it says no USB Devices found.  If I remove one then it takes off and starts mining.  So I seem to max out with 59 BE's in one instance and 1 Jalapeno in another.

Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 03:25:36 AM
 #13404

Anyone know why KLN devices would show up but mine at 0 on latest Ubuntu?  Sometimes they work, but mostly not. I'll have a few up then restart cgminer or the computer and then different ones will be at 0. Annoying.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2013, 03:31:17 AM
 #13405

Anyone know why KLN devices would show up but mine at 0 on latest Ubuntu?  Sometimes they work, but mostly not. I'll have a few up then restart cgminer or the computer and then different ones will be at 0. Annoying.
Power?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 04:14:34 AM
 #13406

Anyone know why KLN devices would show up but mine at 0 on latest Ubuntu?  Sometimes they work, but mostly not. I'll have a few up then restart cgminer or the computer and then different ones will be at 0. Annoying.
Power?

Yeah that would make sense, so I've tried with different hubs and power setups and get the same results. So, since they are in Florida, and there is always plenty of lightning, I'm going to try that as a power source next. At least that will be entertaining  Tongue

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=326985.0

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2013, 04:17:10 AM
 #13407

Anyone know why KLN devices would show up but mine at 0 on latest Ubuntu?  Sometimes they work, but mostly not. I'll have a few up then restart cgminer or the computer and then different ones will be at 0. Annoying.
Power?

Yeah that would make sense, so I've tried with different hubs and power setups and get the same results. So, since they are in Florida, and there is always plenty of lightning, I'm going to try that as a power source next. At least that will be entertaining  Tongue

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=326985.0
Hmm that might just give them enough power to recoup their costs.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Gixer1970
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 07:05:38 AM
 #13408

So is it there fore possible to queue work independant to each pool in the bat file instead as a whole ? I was unaware this could be done. I will give it a go and see if it is possible.
Many thanks.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2013, 07:19:33 AM
 #13409

I keep getting asked about the HEX16A driver. At the risk of sounding like a broken record, neither I nor Kano have one so we're not writing drivers for them, and no active maintainer has stepped up to try to push code to us and have us audit that the code is satisfactory enough to include, so there will be no driver for it for the foreseeable future.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 07:37:04 AM
 #13410

So is it there fore possible to queue work independant to each pool in the bat file instead as a whole ? I was unaware this could be done. I will give it a go and see if it is possible.
Many thanks.
Sorry I mis-typed. I ment Quota. I am sorry for the confusion I will undoubtedly cause. The post was edited to fix my mistake.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
branehans
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 02:42:49 PM
 #13411

Absolutely the best on the market for now
fydel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


Hasta la Bitcoin siempre!


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 06:22:17 PM
 #13412

Does sgminer run with Nanofury NF1 USB-sticks?

If yes - how can i get it to work?
No

No chance you will implement nanofury support in the near future?

I really don't want to use the evil twin of cgminer.  Wink
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2013, 08:32:08 PM
 #13413

Does sgminer run with Nanofury NF1 USB-sticks?

If yes - how can i get it to work?
No

No chance you will implement nanofury support in the near future?

I really don't want to use the evil twin of cgminer.  Wink
I'll be sent one in the future, and then a driver will be developed for it. No idea of timeframe.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dragon695
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 08:36:02 PM
 #13414

Thanks for the work on fixing scrypt share difficulty. For the most part, it has been working fine. However, I've been having issues with Novacoin p2pools.

I have been mining Novacoin through stratum p2pool at http://fsb4000.no-ip.biz:8336. It requires a public key (instead of the usual wallet address) for the username, check the Novacoin altcoin thread for further details.

I am using Xubuntu 13.10 on amd64 with 3 Sapphire 7950s using fglrx-updates 2:13.101-0ubuntu3 and gcc 4:4.8.1-2ubuntu3.

It more or less works nicely at git revision 8e5dc21ea68d3ec4198e577a1073a32fcddcbcb9, generating shares as expected and finally reporting >0 stats. However, it spams about finding blocks, which is wrong, but that is only a minor annoyance.

Pulling past that point results in core dumps, except in the case of the very latest pulls, which--for Novacoin p2pools only--results in 100% false positives for hardware errors on all GPUS. hard resetting back to 8e5dc21ea68d3ec4198e577a1073a32fcddcbcb9 yields a working cgminer for Novacoin p2pools).

Here is the output of cgminer compiled from the latest git pull on the aforementioned Novacoin p2pool:
Code:
[2013-11-08 14:43:52] Started cgminer 3.7.2
 [2013-11-08 14:43:54] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-08 14:43:55] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 0.000697
 [2013-11-08 14:43:56] Network diff set to 313
 [2013-11-08 14:43:56] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2013-11-08 14:43:59] GPU2: invalid nonce count - HW error
 [2013-11-08 14:43:59] GPU1: invalid nonce count - HW error
 [2013-11-08 14:43:59] GPU0: invalid nonce count - HW error
 [2013-11-08 14:44:01] GPU2: invalid nonce count - HW error
 [2013-11-08 14:44:01] GPU0: invalid nonce count - HW error
 [2013-11-08 14:44:01] GPU1: invalid nonce count - HW error
The output continues with not a single good share being accepted.

I suspect the issue has to do with the share difficulty being very low, but that is how they (the Novacoin developers) want the p2pool configured. I will continue to use 8e5dc21ea68d3ec4198e577a1073a32fcddcbcb9 as it seems to work well enough, but hopefully this can be resolved in future cgminers.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2013, 08:40:01 PM
 #13415

Scrypt and opencl support is being deprecated in the near future, and development for other coins is not going to happen, so sorry but there is no plan for improving support for other coins.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 08:55:49 PM
 #13416

Just a thought, have you tried running 30 in one instance of cgminer and the other 30 in a second instance?

60 USB Miners work 61 does not.  It doesn't matter how you split them up in multiple instances.  If I plug in 61 devices and start CGMiner it says no USB Devices found.  If I remove one then it takes off and starts mining.  So I seem to max out with 59 BE's in one instance and 1 Jalapeno in another.

Thanks,
Sam

os2sam: What operating system ?. There was a fella on irc talking to conman who is able to run 243 AMUs on one instance of cgminer.
dragon695
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 08:57:29 PM
 #13417

Scrypt and opencl support is being deprecated in the near future, and development for other coins is not going to happen, so sorry but there is no plan for improving support for other coins.
Might as well rename it assminer then.  Roll Eyes

Seriously, though, mining BTC is dead for most except those lucky enough to have lots of BTC already or lots of disposable income to waste on over-priced embedded junk. Oh well, guess that's my problem.

I don't see why you drop scrypt, but that's your choice. No point in donating now, I suppose.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 10:20:53 PM
 #13418

Scrypt and opencl support is being deprecated in the near future, and development for other coins is not going to happen, so sorry but there is no plan for improving support for other coins.
Might as well rename it assminer then.  Roll Eyes

Seriously, though, mining BTC is dead for most except those lucky enough to have lots of BTC already or lots of disposable income to waste on over-priced embedded junk. Oh well, guess that's my problem.

I don't see why you drop scrypt, but that's your choice. No point in donating now, I suppose.

"The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few or the one."

He is not getting any substantial donations to maintain the scrypt code and GPU mining is pretty much dead.

It is the correct decision IMO.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
dragon695
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 11:15:48 PM
 #13419

"The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few or the one."

He is not getting any substantial donations to maintain the scrypt code and GPU mining is pretty much dead.

It is the correct decision IMO.
Are you seriously suggesting that nobody is mining altcoins? Just because GPU mining BTC isn't profitable doesn't mean shit. Hell, even with the drop in price, Litecoin mining can still net you a couple hundred a month with just two GPUs. Also, don't many ASIC miner rigs come with their own built-in mining software? Anyway, I highly doubt that maintaining and even tweaking scrypt support that is only a thousand lines of code is so arduous as to require substantial donations, but that is his choice. Someone will pick up the slack.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2013, 11:35:05 PM
 #13420

Someone will pick up the slack.
That would be fine by me. I write software either because I enjoy doing it, or I earn money for it, or both. I'm writing/maintaining cgminer because I believe in bitcoin and I like to earn bitcoin. I unashamedly wrote the scrypt support for a generous bitcoin fee a long time ago so it was purely for the payment. I have no interest in altcoins so someone else should be maintaining it. Just because others have an interest in altcoins doesn't mean that I have to.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 [671] 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!