Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2021, 08:52:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 [676] 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5802925 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 02:32:48 AM
 #13501

Based on your config file info, you seem to be running that binary on an RPi? The KnC devices come with a beaglebone built in, so what is this combination? Have you built a custom one plugging the GPIO pins of an RPi to the KnC hardware? There's an awful lot more to running those devices than just cgminer, if I'm not mistaken. The firmware does a lot more than just run cgminer on a beaglebone.

Sorry, I should have given more details, it is on a begelbone black running Arch;-

uname -a
Linux minepeon 3.12.1-1-ARCH #1 SMP Wed Nov 20 20:27:04 MST 2013 armv7l GNU/Linux

I have enabled the spi's and i2c,  I am also looking through their firmware to see what needs to be done, I was just wondering if you had a sort of 'cheat sheat' to get them going.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
1638651179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638651179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638651179
Reply with quote  #2

1638651179
Report to moderator
1638651179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638651179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638651179
Reply with quote  #2

1638651179
Report to moderator
1638651179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638651179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638651179
Reply with quote  #2

1638651179
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638651179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638651179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638651179
Reply with quote  #2

1638651179
Report to moderator
1638651179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638651179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638651179
Reply with quote  #2

1638651179
Report to moderator
1638651179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638651179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638651179
Reply with quote  #2

1638651179
Report to moderator
vayvanne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 100

GPG ID 48298AFC


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 02:45:27 AM
 #13502

In two my laptops (Samsung and Toshiba) the BEs in Tecknet USB 3.0 10 port hub works stable only if hub is connected to one of USB port and does not using another.
Write timeouts appears there. What it can be the difference in laptops USB ports?
WinUSB driver 6.1.7600.16385 is in use, set up by zadig utility. OSes are different, win 8 x64 and win 7 x64.
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 1362


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 02:53:16 AM
 #13503

In two my laptops (Samsung and Toshiba) the BEs in Tecknet USB 3.0 10 port hub works stable only if hub is connected to one of USB port and does not using another.
Write timeouts appears there. What it can be the difference in laptops USB ports?
WinUSB driver 6.1.7600.16385 is in use, set up by zadig utility. OSes are different, win 8 x64 and win 7 x64.
USB 3 drivers on windows are inconsistent and have conflicts with the usb1.1 devices (like BEs) and the libusb library we use to talk to them. USB2 slots are infinitely more compatible (or use linux).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nov
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433
Merit: 251


Independent crypto developer


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 06:25:18 AM
 #13504

Thank you for the update.

Do you think this version should help with my USB device in use issue?

Quote
I use Raspberry PI and ASIC Butterfly 30 GHs.

I have configured auto start of cgminer 3.8.2, which works perfectly.

But it always reports "USB device in use" type of message, if I remove power cord and put it back in this case. (My test of auto recovery.)
I need to manually delete /tmp/cgminer-usb-1-4 file then to cgminer be able to access the ASIC USB device.

Could you advice how to automate process the way that the cgminer will always have access to USB device?

New release: Version 3.8.3, 23rd November 2013

Minor driver update and bugfixes.

Human readable changelog:

- Average hashrate shown for BF1 and BXF devices will now rise quickly on startup.
- The bi*fury device in its release form had different firmware from my development one so the driver has been updated to work with it.
- Fixed the bxf device to align in the display column if temperature went above 100 degrees.
- Don't keep displaying json auth failed on stratum pools that are misbehaving except at verbose logging level.
- Very small improvement in hardware error rate on some USB devices due to the way return messages are handled.
- Fix a memory leak when json is used to communicate with the RPC API
- Avalon improvements to fix the sudden drops in hashrate (these fixes are all already in the last avalon firmware I uploaded).
- Unlimited re-hotplugging of devices that have USB failures and turn into zombies but have had their USB reset by the operating system.


Full changelog:

- Set the bitfury device start times from when we first get valid work.
- Fix stack corruption of zeroing too much in bf1 driver.
- Make usb_detect return the cgpu associated with it to check if it succeeds to
decide on whether to increment the device count or not.
- Set tv work start time for bxf driver.
- Age the bxf work items over 90 seconds, not the bf1 work items.
- Zero the read buffer in _usb_read to avoid stale data and only use stack
memory instead of using the bulkbuf since it is only used in _usb_read.
- Leave room for temperatures above 100 degrees and pad consistently for bxf
statline.
- Drop json stratum auth failed message log level to verbose.
- Change the processed value not the bufsiz in response to an end of message
marker.
- Don't lose data beyond the end of message in a usb read.
- Silence irrelevant warning.
- Only check strlen on end if end exists.
- Simplify the end of message detection in _usb_read and allow it to return
without doing another read if the message is already in the buffer.
- Increase work ageing time to 90 seconds for bxf driver to account for firmware
changes.
- Use the age_queued_work function in the bitfury driver.
- Provide a function to discard queued work based on age.
- The json_val in api.c is a borrowed reference, not a new one so don't decref
it.
- Decrement json references in api.c to not leak memory.
- line 2913 added urlencode
- With reliable writes to the avalon there is no need for the sleep delays
between writes.
- There is no need to limit usb write transfers to maxpacketsize and it's
harmful for large transfers on slow devices such as wrt routers.
- Disable USB stats which were not meant to be enabled by default and add extra
memory for a memory error when stats are enabled.
- Set limit and count to integers to not overflow during failed hotplug attempts
and then not trying again.
- Update api example compilation instructions.


WowDoge - DogeCoin Lightweight Wallet DOGE: DLoawzLvw5WvvpGUkSTxrwMgKhkamsqFo7
Vertigo - VertCoin Lightweight Wallet VTC: VertGv5nVwYYR7mTmDDeAP9et1NJyAsC9P | Exelite - ExeCoin Lightweight Wallet EXE: ELiteWbMDwX95YZj5Jf5BkHS54qbH7wpXg | Lightweight Wallet Creation Service
MultiCoin - Multiple Crypto Coin Lightweight Wallet in Development BTC: 1EKT9uaaDbTRuwjttFQbfax7KmGNZX32HP | BitcoinViewer - Bitcoin Balances & Transactions on iPhone/iPad BTC: 1NEvfbiA5Bs2sG2jqRdCidGUjLD5JjAjEZ
PenAndPaper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 07:10:06 AM
 #13505

Wasn't there a scrypt readme somewhere? I can't find it anymore  Lips sealed
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:45:43 AM
 #13506

In two my laptops (Samsung and Toshiba) the BEs in Tecknet USB 3.0 10 port hub works stable only if hub is connected to one of USB port and does not using another.
Write timeouts appears there. What it can be the difference in laptops USB ports?
WinUSB driver 6.1.7600.16385 is in use, set up by zadig utility. OSes are different, win 8 x64 and win 7 x64.

Is the non working port blue?  I have yet to get cgminer to work with a usb minor on a usb 3.0 (blue) port.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 1362


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 11:47:39 AM
 #13507

Wasn't there a scrypt readme somewhere? I can't find it anymore  Lips sealed
No scrypt support any more.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 01:56:40 PM
 #13508

So, having returned from holiday leaving "ymmv" running unattended for 2 weeks, I found 1 reported zombie and another 4 or 5 AMUs which had a very low WU, and had obviously been doing nothing for a while.  While I was away I was monitoring my pool hash rate and noticed that it slowly dropped from an expected 11 Gh/s to around 9.x over the two weeks which ties in with the above findings.

I restarted "ymmv" but got several random LEDs coming full on for a few seconds at a time then going off again. Obviously not happy, so I then reverted to running 3.5.1 which ran perfectly and has been doing so all night with no zombies and all WU's between 4.6 - 4.8.  This build is so stable!

I guess I will try 3.8.3 next unless there are other suggestions?
randoint
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 05:00:39 PM
 #13509

Just curious as to if anyone has tried this with Klondike units. The change log didn't provide specific references to them and I'm not home to test it out.
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 05:51:22 PM
 #13510

Capitalising on the fact that I saw that dud cores are better disabled, here's an experimental binary that tunes things fairly aggressively:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

First it enables all cores on startup (so it can take a while before it starts mining!)
Then it will disable cores after only 3 hw errors in a row, but staggers disabling of cores 5 seconds apart.
Then it tries re-enabling cores after only another minute, but staggers re-enabling them.
If the cores fail 3 times in a row, they're decommissioned at that point.



Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2

Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 1077


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:42:58 PM
 #13511

Quote
Random quote that appears to have nothing to do with the actual question.
Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2
Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?

Did you try a valid command?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 07:23:24 PM
 #13512

Is there a way to force cgminer to ignore a specific device? I use a FTDI based USB to serial convertor to control an RS232 Power Distribution Unit. It doesn't seem to affect the mining, but it's pretty annoying to have constant Incorrect Driver messages scroll across the screen.
soapmodem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:13:57 PM
 #13513

Quote
Random quote that appears to have nothing to do with the actual question.
Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2
Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?

Did you try a valid command?
This version of cgminer takes 10-15 seconds to boot up, because of the enabling of cores beforehand (presumably)...  'screen -rd' works, you just have to wait a while for it to launch.

Also, ckolivas, would it be possible to make available the previous kncminer 3.8.2 (without the tuning)? I was getting better hashrates overall on both of my machines with that one, for whatever reason. Thanks.
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:38:52 PM
 #13514

Quote
Random quote that appears to have nothing to do with the actual question.
Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2
Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?

Did you try a valid command?
This version of cgminer takes 10-15 seconds to boot up, because of the enabling of cores beforehand (presumably)...  'screen -rd' works, you just have to wait a while for it to launch.

Also, ckolivas, would it be possible to make available the previous kncminer 3.8.2 (without the tuning)? I was getting better hashrates overall on both of my machines with that one, for whatever reason. Thanks.

I'm trying the same commands as I did with version 3.8.1 like "pools", "summary", and others


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 1077


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 04:19:48 AM
 #13515

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 1362


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 04:21:44 AM
 #13516

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 1077


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:06:44 AM
 #13517

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Well here's a screen capture.

I had moved the Jalapeno to an old low power machine and got this.  On my normal rig it works fine.  So I'm not sure it's not a problem on my old machine.

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.3 - Started: [2013-11-23 22:47:12]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:9  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 23  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 4 with stratum as user os2sam_Jalape
 Block: 6eb3b7ad...  Diff:609M  Started: [22:47:12]  Best share: 0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAJ 0:  max 25C 3.49V |  0.000/ 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 WU:0.0/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-23 22:47:02] Started cgminer 3.8.3
 [2013-11-23 22:47:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] Pool 2 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-11-23 22:47:14] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:16] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:18] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:19] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:22] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:10x0aCOUNT:20x0a9FF7FB8
A5F26106934BA7BA68FEB1F1D693B8B1`636DD791B2F53AAAE3CEDB,FEA0DFDF529185321907
,00x0a57C7A36DC1291`574DA63990BBCC160x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:31] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:39] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 1362


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 05:09:44 AM
 #13518

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Well here's a screen capture.

I had moved the Jalapeno to an old low power machine and got this.  On my normal rig it works fine.  So I'm not sure it's not a problem on my old machine.

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.3 - Started: [2013-11-23 22:47:12]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:9  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 23  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 4 with stratum as user os2sam_Jalape
 Block: 6eb3b7ad...  Diff:609M  Started: [22:47:12]  Best share: 0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAJ 0:  max 25C 3.49V |  0.000/ 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 WU:0.0/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-23 22:47:02] Started cgminer 3.8.3
 [2013-11-23 22:47:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] Pool 2 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-11-23 22:47:14] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:16] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:18] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:19] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:22] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:10x0aCOUNT:20x0a9FF7FB8
A5F26106934BA7BA68FEB1F1D693B8B1`636DD791B2F53AAAE3CEDB,FEA0DFDF529185321907
,00x0a57C7A36DC1291`574DA63990BBCC160x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:31] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:39] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
Ah I see. The BAJ should only respond with text data that is in hexadecimal form and is sending back corrupted data that is not so it can't decipher the messages. Might happen on startup with an indeterminate device state with old data or with usb corruption.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 1077


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 24, 2013, 05:15:45 AM
 #13519

What does

hex2bin scan failed

mean?  Using 3.8.3 with my Jalapeno.
Sam
That's bad, mmkay. Some code screw up on my part. Got some more output so I can figure out where the fuckage happened?

Well here's a screen capture.

I had moved the Jalapeno to an old low power machine and got this.  On my normal rig it works fine.  So I'm not sure it's not a problem on my old machine.

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.3 - Started: [2013-11-23 22:47:12]
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:9  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 23  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 4 with stratum as user os2sam_Jalape
 Block: 6eb3b7ad...  Diff:609M  Started: [22:47:12]  Best share: 0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAJ 0:  max 25C 3.49V |  0.000/ 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:9 WU:0.0/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-23 22:47:02] Started cgminer 3.8.3
 [2013-11-23 22:47:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4
 [2013-11-23 22:47:12] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:13] Pool 2 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-11-23 22:47:14] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:15] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:16] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:17] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:18] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:19] hex2bin scan failed
 [2013-11-23 22:47:22] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:10x0aCOUNT:20x0a9FF7FB8
A5F26106934BA7BA68FEB1F1D693B8B1`636DD791B2F53AAAE3CEDB,FEA0DFDF529185321907
,00x0a57C7A36DC1291`574DA63990BBCC160x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:31] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
 [2013-11-23 22:47:39] BAJ0: empty result (INPROCESS:00x0aCOUN0x00) ignored
Ah I see. The BAJ should only respond with text data that is in hexadecimal form and is sending back corrupted data that is not so it can't decipher the messages. Might happen on startup with an indeterminate device state with old data or with usb corruption.

So it sounds like it's not a CGMiner problem then.  So I'll just keep it on my regular rig until I build a newer, more current machine.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 1362


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 12:31:38 PM
 #13520

So, having returned from holiday leaving "ymmv" running unattended for 2 weeks, I found 1 reported zombie and another 4 or 5 AMUs which had a very low WU, and had obviously been doing nothing for a while.  While I was away I was monitoring my pool hash rate and noticed that it slowly dropped from an expected 11 Gh/s to around 9.x over the two weeks which ties in with the above findings.

I restarted "ymmv" but got several random LEDs coming full on for a few seconds at a time then going off again. Obviously not happy, so I then reverted to running 3.5.1 which ran perfectly and has been doing so all night with no zombies and all WU's between 4.6 - 4.8.  This build is so stable!

I guess I will try 3.8.3 next unless there are other suggestions?

3.8.3 is the next one to test...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 [676] 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!