Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:19:08 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 [655] 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826039 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 01:03:31 PM
 #13081


So I'm assuming that turning debugging on is having some subtle effect on timing, slowing down writes to the device or something like that, and is indirectly making your devices more stable. So that gives me some other avenues to check out. Give the bugfix a try and I'll make some other binaries trying other shit out, thanks.

Yes, that's how it feels to me.

The bugfix version is up and running now, without logging. It's been fine for the first 10 minutes. If it fails, I'll restart it with logging on.

Edit: AMU 8 went zombie 14 minutes into the run. I'll rerun with logging and see if anything shows up.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481361548
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361548

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361548
Reply with quote  #2

1481361548
Report to moderator
1481361548
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361548

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361548
Reply with quote  #2

1481361548
Report to moderator
1481361548
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361548

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361548
Reply with quote  #2

1481361548
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 01:15:13 PM
 #13082

If the latest buglet fix does not fix the problem, here are some other binaries to try with various experiments.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-4444.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-allrw.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-allwrites.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-oh.exe

Thanks Smiley

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 01:17:26 PM
 #13083

Edit: AMU 8 went zombie 14 minutes into the run. I'll rerun with logging and see if anything shows up.
Nope, more important to try the other experiments please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 01:46:59 PM
 #13084

Edit: AMU 8 went zombie 14 minutes into the run. I'll rerun with logging and see if anything shows up.
Nope, more important to try the other experiments please.

OK. The logged "little buglet" version has been fine for 32 minutes - shutting it down now to try the other stuff.
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 01:50:37 PM
 #13085


I've been using cgminer-nogpu. Are these all replacement candidates for it?

Edit: Ah, they must be, judging by the file size. I had been comparing them to an earlier smaller cgminer-nogpu.

Anyway, now running the 4444 version as cgminer-nogpu within 3.6.6 and no problems in the first few minutes.

Edit: I left the room for a while and when I came back AMUs 3,4,5,6 and 12 were zombies. Elapsed time of run about one hour but I don't know exactly when the failures happened.
I'll try the allrw version next.


jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 04:17:19 PM
 #13086

I can confirm aigeezer's experience so far, and a bit more:

cgminer-4444 : 6 zombies in 1.5 hours
cgminer-allrw : 1 zombie after 9 minutes

logfiles (without --debug) here if required:
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-4444.txt
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-allrw.txt

And so, on to the next one...
 
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 04:27:36 PM
 #13087

I can confirm aigeezer's experience so far, and a bit more:

cgminer-4444 : 6 zombies in 1.5 hours
cgminer-allrw : 1 zombie after 9 minutes

logfiles (without --debug) here if required:
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-4444.txt
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-allrw.txt

And so, on to the next one...
 

Yup, my allrw has one zombie now, AMU 11, after an hour unattended. Not sure when it happened.

Crowdsource debugging - wish I'd had that back in the day.

Trying allwrites next.

Edit: update, 4 zombies in quick succession after about 20 minutes using allwrites (AMU 9-12). On to the "oh" test.

Edit: update, 1 zombie after 7 minutes using "oh" (AMU 10).

I guess I'll turn logging on, superstitiously hoping that will keep the zombie horde at bay until there's some new development.





jmc1517
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 05:20:13 PM
 #13088

Yep - There were no zombies when I had logging and --debug on with the new "bugfix" build.  May be that's the way to go.

Edit: Two more results, both no-go's:

cgminer-allwrites : 3 zombies in 38 minutes
cgminer-oh         : 1 zombie in 5 minutes

logfiles here (without --debug), if required:
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-allwrites.txt
 https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44240170/logfile-oh.txt

Back to 3.3.1 for me then Sad
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 05:29:12 PM
 #13089

I`m still running previous one w/o any trouble 7hrs now. 2x usb erupter directly to PC + 30GH/s BFL.
Should I try another one?

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
EfterlysT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 07:57:44 PM
 #13090

I have a question because i dont get it to work.

I just setup some USB Erupters for mining PPC instead of PPC.

This is the command line i use right now:
cgminer -o http://stratum.d7.lt:3333 -u user -p pass

Everything runs ok but my GPU also starts to mine. What do i add to disable my GPU from mining ?
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 08:00:22 PM
 #13091

I have a question because i dont get it to work.

I just setup some USB Erupters for mining PPC instead of PPC.

This is the command line i use right now:
cgminer -o http://stratum.d7.lt:3333 -u user -p pass

Everything runs ok but my GPU also starts to mine. What do i add to disable my GPU from mining ?


Try cgminer-nogpu instead of cgminer

EfterlysT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 08:09:50 PM
 #13092

I have a question because i dont get it to work.

I just setup some USB Erupters for mining PPC instead of PPC.

This is the command line i use right now:
cgminer -o http://stratum.d7.lt:3333 -u user -p pass

Everything runs ok but my GPU also starts to mine. What do i add to disable my GPU from mining ?


Try cgminer-nogpu instead of cgminer


Thanks, that solved it.

Now i feel like a retard to Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 08:20:50 PM
 #13093

I`m still running previous one w/o any trouble 7hrs now. 2x usb erupter directly to PC + 30GH/s BFL.
Should I try another one?

Nono, if it's working fine for you, stick with it. These are attempts to find the problem with aigeezer's

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 08:23:31 PM
 #13094

Thanks very much for trying all those, guys. I'll see what else I can come up with, but this will be the only way I'll be able to find it since you can reproduce it so easily.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 09:11:51 PM
 #13095

Thanks very much for trying all those, guys. I'll see what else I can come up with, but this will be the only way I'll be able to find it since you can reproduce it so easily.

Here's another please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-chop.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 09:37:55 PM
 #13096

Thanks very much for trying all those, guys. I'll see what else I can come up with, but this will be the only way I'll be able to find it since you can reproduce it so easily.

Here's another please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-chop.exe

Starting "chop" test now. The "oh" version was still running fine with log/debug on after 4.25 hours. Looks like that pattern is holding.

I love the names for the various test versions - fun to imagine what they might stand for.

Edit: just 5 minutes into the "chop" test one LED came on for a couple of seconds but it didn't go zombie. I don't think I've ever seen that before - maybe one second at the most. May not be relevant, but it was unusual.

Edit: Breakthrough? LEDs are going on all over the place but then they go out again, often after 10 seconds or more. No zombies flagged. Every one recovers so far. Run is about 14 minutes old.

Edit: AMU 5 finally went zombie about 35 minutes into the run.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 10:13:29 PM
 #13097

I have a question because i dont get it to work.

I just setup some USB Erupters for mining PPC instead of PPC.

This is the command line i use right now:
cgminer -o http://stratum.d7.lt:3333 -u user -p pass

Everything runs ok but my GPU also starts to mine. What do i add to disable my GPU from mining ?


Try cgminer-nogpu instead of cgminer


Or add the -G option to the GPU version to disable GPU mining

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 10:27:16 PM
 #13098

Thanks very much for trying all those, guys. I'll see what else I can come up with, but this will be the only way I'll be able to find it since you can reproduce it so easily.

Here's another please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-chop.exe

Starting "chop" test now. The "oh" version was still running fine with log/debug on after 4.25 hours. Looks like that pattern is holding.

I love the names for the various test versions - fun to imagine what they might stand for.

Edit: just 5 minutes into the "chop" test one LED came on for a couple of seconds but it didn't go zombie. I don't think I've ever seen that before - maybe one second at the most. May not be relevant, but it was unusual.

Edit: Breakthrough? LEDs are going on all over the place but then they go out again, often after 10 seconds or more. No zombies flagged. Every one recovers so far. Run is about 14 minutes old.

Edit: AMU 5 finally went zombie about 35 minutes into the run.


Thanks a lot, it is suspicious that something's changing. Maybe we can combine some of these experiments then. More soon.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2013, 11:15:52 PM
 #13099

Thanks a lot, it is suspicious that something's changing. Maybe we can combine some of these experiments then. More soon.
Here's another:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-cwa2.exe

Thanks!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1280


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 27, 2013, 11:18:06 PM
 #13100

Thanks a lot, it is suspicious that something's changing. Maybe we can combine some of these experiments then. More soon.
Here's another:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-cwa2.exe

Thanks!


OK, I'll try cwa2 in a moment. "Chop" is still running. It only had two zombies despite all the bright lights. I could hot-swap both and it recovered. Run time about 1.5 hours.

Edit: the cwa2 test has been interesting. It ran for about 20 minutes with several heart-stopping LED incidents of 10-12 seconds each. All recovered though until one stayed on for even longer. I looked at the display expecting to see a zombie but instead saw the hashrate counter decrementing slowly. It took the poor thing about three minutes to get all the way down to zero, where it has stayed for a while. I'll see if I can hot-swap it now.

Edit: Yes, the display changed to zombie as soon as I unplugged it, the rate started to climb back up from zero and then the device got reallocated to AMU13. The test continues with no other quirks so far.

Pages: « 1 ... 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 [655] 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!